BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/2010

Dave Appell Equipment

Find a Location

Phone: (309) 932-8220Fax: (309) 932-8209View Additional Phone Numbers1321 SE 2nd St, GalvaIL 61434

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/2010

BBB has determined that Dave Appell Equipment meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Dave Appell Equipment's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Dave Appell Equipment

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
06/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I put $1000 down on a truck that I was told was road ready and a good clean truck. A mechanic looked at it and said it was not.
Problem date: 5/28/14. I was looking to purchase a truck from this company. They had stated that the truck was road ready and a clean, good truck. I told them I was sending a mechanic to inspect the truck and was told that someone else was on their way to look at it. I was told that if the other person liked the truck that they would let them buy it unless a deposit was put down of $1000. The deposit was sent. The mechanic looked at the truck and said that the truck would not pass DOT inspection and therefore was not road ready. He said that there was a list of items that would have to be fixed before it passed. He also said that there were major repairs that needed to be done on the truck that would cost in excess of $10,000 to fix. He also said that because there was an air line that was split open there was potentially dirt in the engine and he couldn't verify the health of the engine without tearing the engine apart. He recommended that I not purchase the truck. I have an emailed list from the mechanic of all of the items that need to be addressed. It points out which items need to be fixed to pass DOT inspection, to be road ready. An invoice was faxed over for the deposit that said that it was non refundable that was supposed to be signed by me and sent back. I did not sign that document agreeing to the deposit being non refundable. I believe I was misled by their statements that the truck was road ready when in reality it is not. Had I known the true condition of the truck, I would not have sent the deposit.

Desired Settlement
I would like my $1000 deposit refunded.

Business Response
We took the 99 Freightliner ***** was interested in on trade in late April of 2014. The customer who traded it in drove over 1000 miles with a loaded trailer. He had been driving across country with it for several years. This is exactly what we told *****. We had another customer who purchases several trucks a year from us interested in the truck also. We told ***** and our other good customer the first person who pays for the truck is the one who will get to buy it that is the only fair way to do it. ***** then asked if he could put a deposit on the truck. We told him we do not like to take deposits and he was told specifically 5 times that if he chose to put a deposit on the truck it would be %100 nonrefundable. ***** sent a $1,000 deposit on 5/28/14. After we received the deposit we informed the other customer the truck was sold. A few days later ***** sent a mechanic to inspect the truck. We never heard anything from ***** or the mechanic. After several attempts we finally where able to contact ***** about 10 days later when he said he decided not to buy the truck and wanted his deposit back. We contacted our other customer who we do a lot of business with and told him the truck was available for sale. Unfortunately he had already gone to another dealer and purchased a truck. So we have lost a sale for taking a deposit. Please anyone reading this do not ask us if you can put a deposit on a truck unless you are %100 positive you are going to buy it. We have lost to many sales in the past by taking deposits.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I feel that the truck was misrepresented. The statement regarding the previous owner driving the truck loaded being told to me is accurate. However, I made it clear that I wanted to send a mechanic to ensure that the truck would pass DOT inspection to which I was informed that it was a good truck and it would pass. For that reason I am asking for the deposit back because I was assured that the truck would pass. The truck has issues that will prevent it from passing DOT inspection. The items that the mechanic said were wrong with the truck are: Pittman arm loose on steering box, may need steering gear box (selector shaft moves), left cab marker light out, both rear signals flash with left signal, air leak in dash on rec mode. The mechanic also said that air compressor clean air hose broken off letting dirt in compressor and engine. There is also a lengthy list of other items that the mechanic recommended need to be fixed to make the truck more operable that are in addition to the items that are needed to be fixed to pass DOT. The mechanic went 2 days after the deposit due to scheduling. There was 1 phone call made by the seller to me 6 days after the deposit. During this phone call, I was told there was an interested buyer in the truck but they wanted to check with me first to determine if I was purchasing the truck. I informed them that due to the truck not being able to pass DOT inspection as they said that it would, that I would not be purchasing the truck. I requested my deposit back due to the truck being misrepresented. The seller has refused to send the refund back.

08/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a truck and it broke down on the way home and have had nothing but trouble since. Have not even been able to work in the truck.
We purchased a 379 Peterbilt on July 8th. They knew trouble we had before and the salesman said that if we did not like it we could return it within thirty days. The truck broke down on way home, it acted like it was running out of fuel, we stopped at a garage and they had to change the fuel filter, which was completely plugged and milky. It has continued to not run right and we have not been able to work in it. It keeps getting fuel in the oil. We had to put new injectors in, change the oil three times, change the transfer pump and now just rebuilt the fuel pump and it still is not fixed. We have tried to contact them multiple times before the 30 days was up and they would not return any of our calls. When we brought it home also the leveling valve was hooked up wrong because a piece to the leveling valve was broke and they specifically told us that the leveling valve was just changed. The one piece was changed but not the broken piece. We have been unable to get in contact with them. Now today that our thirty days is past they finally came to the phone. Said they never make a deal of thirty days and said to get our lawyer. I am very displeased with this company and how they are handling their business. The truck was 19,500 and they said everything worked great on it that they just got done driving it, that they hauled their machines with it. They even spoke to our banker indicating the truck was ready to go and that there was no problems. They never mentioned the plugged steering tire or the broken piece to the leveling. The oil had not even been changed in the truck before we bought it.
We purchased the truck on July 8, 2013 and the problems began on the way home that day. We purchased it in Illionis and we live in Ohio. It is a 379 Peterbilt and we paid with a bank check.

Desired Settlement
We would like them to maybe consider on paying for the truck to get worked on by a Cat specialist to get the problem fixed. We have purchased the truck and put new parts in the truck along with a steering tire since it is illegal to drive it with a plugged tire. I believe they knew there was a problem and that is why they sold it. The fuel going into the oil was taking some time to do, so I believe they knew, now it is only taking hours and needs to be fixed.

Business' Initial Response
******* and ******* ******** asked if someone could stay a little late on 7/8/13 so they could pick up the truck they were buying. They finally arrived 2 hours after closing time. They looked the truck over for an hour only to tell the salesman that they were going to spend the night anyway. The next morning they came in and inspected the truck for another hour and decided to take it. We were asking $19,500 for the truck and gave a $1,000 discount so we sold it for $18,500. No one ever told them they had 30 days to return the truck. No one ever said that we hauled equipment with it. The truck ran and operated good when it was here. ******* called around July 22nd and said the truck needed a new turbo. I gave him my cell number and told him I would look into seeing if we could help even though the truck was sold AS/IS No warranty. ******* called back the next day and said that now it needed a new head,injectors,and injector cups. and he was not sure what else it would need. I called ******* on July 24th and told him there was nothing we could do to help him since we all ready discounted the truck $1,000 and they bought it AS/IS no warranty. No one ever told them they could return the truck with in 30 days. They are lying about that statement so I do not believe anything they have to say.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The information they stated is false. We had to stay because no one was in office to prove that our check was ligit. We have the proof of that since they spoke to our banker the next morning. We also have the proof of the break down on way home and the money we have put into truck and are still putting into it. The truck will not run since it is still getting fuel in the oil. Many parts have been changed and still doing it. Also when had the fuel pump rebuilt the cat mechanic said it looked like someone already tried that. I believe the truck to be a lemon since the leveling valve was hooked up wrong because a piece was broke, the fuel filter being so bad we coulndt make it home and with the fuel. The truck has not even been able to work because of the problems. We know what they told us.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Truck Dealers, Motorcycles - Dealers, Trailers - Truck, Trailer Sales

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/04/2004Business started: 01/01/1968
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dave Appell (Owner)Mr. Nick Appell
Number of Employees

8

Business Category

Truck Dealers, Motorcycles - Dealers, Trailers - Truck, Trailer Sales

Products & Services

This company offers used equipment sales including semi's, trailers and motorcycles. They also offer recycling services.

Alternate Business Names
Appell Auto Sales

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Dave Appell Equipment

1321 SE 2nd St

Galva, IL 61434

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1321 SE 2nd St 

    Galva, IL 61434(309) 932-8220
    (309) 932-8221

  • P.O. Box 146 

    Galva, IL 61434

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Dave Appell Equipment is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (309) 932-8221
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Truck Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.