BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1996

Heart Technologies, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (309) 427-7000Fax: (309) 427-7007View Additional Phone Numbers3105 N Main St, East PeoriaIL 61611-1716View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1996

BBB has determined that Heart Technologies, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Heart Technologies, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Heart Technologies, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
05/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After spending 4 hours in labor ($360) and $95 dollars in parts my computer is still not usable. They should not have attempted repair.
On 2/5, I was quoted $270 plus tax for the repair That was for 2 hours labor and parts. On 2/14, I was told that would not fix the problem and there would an additional 1 hours labor and $200 in parts. On 4/7, I was told that those parts did not fix the issue and they needed to order additional parts for $30. On 4/14, I was told that did not fix the problem and that they were just "spinning their wheels" but that I owed them an additional 2 hours labor. They were able to return most parts so at the end, I owed for 4 hours labor and one part for a total of $454.36. My computer still does not functional. I would have been off if I had never taken my computer to Heart Technologies.

Desired Settlement
I think a full refund is justified, I still have a non-working product and no repair. This was under warranty, and I could have had full replacement value but Heart Technologies said they could repair and only repair cost was authorized. Heart Technologies is now saying they can't repair. I can only have the full cost of the monitor replaced, so basically, I am out $500 because Heart Technologies can not repair when they said they could.

Business Response
Thunderbolt Display 27" Out of Warranty (May-2013)
Customer brought in iMac for the first time 2/5/14 with no power/black screen. $90.00 charge to diagnose. Customer was told the unit was out of warranty. Customer approved Power supply 250w to troubleshoot plus labor. Est.275.00 parts/labor total. PSU didn't provide power, still unable to troubleshoot problem. Per Apple, order Main logic board. Contacted customer with update and future estimates. Customer wanted to check with American Express before further repairs to verify if they would cover or not. Customer paid $274.36 and picked up computer. She has the estimate for future troubleshooting with MLB estimating $300.00. 4/2/14 customer brought it back to further troubleshoot with MLB. Still no change with MLB installed. Need to try a DC power cable also per Apple. This time with MLB and dc cable plus new power supply from first visit, there is power but no display. I updated customer and let her know we have power but still no display and future repairs were needed. Customer was upset to pay out part/labor with no results. I was able to get Apple to return MLB but not DC cable plus willing to take off 1 of the 2 hour labor involved in this troubleshooting and repairs. Customer would have paid estimating $370.00 instead only paying $120.21. I have attached documents of emails, steps we follow for apple guidelines and invoices to customer.

I will be sending attachments via email. Thank you

Industry Comparison| Chart

Telephone Communications, Computers Hardware, Software & Services, Computer Business Services, Computers - Networks, Security Cameras, Computers - Network Security

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/26/1996Business started: 04/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lance Lelm (President)Mr. Al Dix (CFO)
Number of Employees

65

Business Category

Telephone Communications, Computers Hardware, Software & Services, Computer Business Services, Computers - Networks, Security Cameras, Computers - Network Security

Products & Services

This company offers voice, data, video, fire, software and security technology solutions for the business enterprise.

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Heart Technologies, Inc.

3105 N Main St

East Peoria, IL 61611-1716

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 860 E. Pershing Rd. 

    Decatur, IL 62526(217) 872-1300

  • 3105 N Main St 

    East Peoria, IL 61611-1716(309) 427-7070
    (309) 427-7000
    (877) 494-3278

  • 301 E. Laurel St. 

    Springfield, IL 62703(217) 544-3100

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Heart Technologies, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (309) 427-7070
  • (877) 494-3278
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Telephone Communications

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.