BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1994

Cellular One of East Central Illinois

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 413-2355Fax: (217) 465-3414 

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1994

BBB has determined that Cellular One of East Central Illinois meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
03/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In the below field is the exact letter I sent to Cellular One due to failure of properly porting 2 phone numbers to *******.
Hello,
I was a long term customer until just recently ending my account on Monday, February 24th 2014. When switching to ******* I requested two numbers to be ported ************* and XXX-XXX-XXXX) which has yet to be completed successfully. When we set up our account with ******* on the previous Saturday 22nd, we provided them with all the necessary information - including our Cellular One account #XXXXXX and password information ********* On Monday 24th I called Cellular One the also notify of ending our service and switch to ******* when asked for reason of ending service.
Since then our ******* phones are STILL not properly ported due to Cellular One not complying. I have contacted ******* on Monday 24th and Tuesday 25th, who has in turn contacted Cellular One to try to get this corrected for me. I was also on a three way call with *******, and spoke to Pat (lady) with Cellular One in the Porting Department on Tuesday 25th, who confirmed ******* has all the proper information to complete the porting process. By the end of the call with ******* I was informed it could still be another 4 to 24 hours before the process is completed - due to "Cellular One does not have an automated system to port numbers, they do it manually". Once our numbers are properly ported ******* will send a text to inform us port process is complete and we will need to re-set our phones - which has yet to happen.
This is also causing a HUGE operating problem with our ******* phones. Our signal is very low due to being split between two services. No one can call our phones, and we cannot set up or even use our voicemail!! We can call non-******* carriers or land lines, but we cannot call ANY ******* carriers - only text each other.
If there were any type of family / medical emergency our phones would be almost useless if needing to speak to one another. My wife's parents are both in poor health and on our ******* add a line. They do not know how to text and just want a cell phone for possible emergencies. If anything were to happen during this issue, this is basically on Cellular One and needs to be rectified ASAP.
On a side note, our current numbers originated from ******* when we were with them previously. They had absolutely NO issue porting our numbers with Cellular One when we switched, yet we have had nothing but problems when going back to *******. Very disappointing of Cellular One.
I feel my wife and I have been very patient and have waited long enough. The 24 hour time frame from Tuesday 25th would be approximate 12:00pm from when we last spoke. I am giving Cellular One to complete the porting process until I leave work Wednesday 26th at 4:00 pm CST. If I do not receive a confirmation text from ******* the porting process is completed I am turning Cellular One into the Better Business Bureau (BBB).
https://www.bbb.org/consumer-complaints/file-a-complaint/get-started
Regards,
***** W. *****

Desired Settlement
I simply want Cellular One to comply by porting the phone numbers as requested. Since delayed for so long, and my wife and I have only been able to text for the last 5 days I now believe we deserve monetary compensation as well removed from our phone bill, as we are unable to use the full service since switching to *******.

Final Consumer Response
Thank you for following up. However, Cellular One has never contacted me, but they did finally release our two cell numbers so ******* could port properly. In fact, it was corrected almost right after I contacted Cellular One to let them know I would be contacting BBB. Our phones have worked just fine since, but I can assure you I am done with Cellular One due to their poor business practice. After filing this complaint I became aware this seems to be common practice for CellOne when a customer decides to leave them to switch carriers. Kind of like a child throwing a tantrum if you ask me.

Regards,
***** *****

08/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Poor service quality resulting in having to restart my cellphone multiple times per day. Tried four phones, all have same problems
Since I first switched back to cellular one of east central Illinois, I have been having problems in regards to my cellphone service, ultimately resulting in multiple missed calls, texts, and voicemails, as well as having to constantly restart my phone at a bare minimum of 3 times a day. I have made several complaints to the business located in Marshall Illinois, but to no avail. I have tried multiple phones consisting of an iPhone 3GS, iPhone 4S, Pantech Flex, Motorola Atrix, Blackberry Tour, as well as low legacy devices. I have changed SIM cards 4 times now, and this does nothing to help at all, except take time out of my day. This has been going on for five months

Desired Settlement
I would like some form of a refund or some other form of restitution, whether it be a cellphone from Cellone to duplicate the issue, or a full refund for the five months of service I have NOT had but paid for. I have tried cellular ones $55 prepaid, $45 prepaid, but typically stay with the $55. Promises of the issue being resolved are never kept, so ultimately it led to this. I am a highly dissatisfied customer, and would not recommend cellular one to anyone..

Business' Initial Response
Hello,
I do aplogize for your service issues that you are having we have reviewed the account does look like there was a $55 credit posted to the acocunt yesterday and also on July 1st there was another $10 credit posted. There is a trouble ticket in regarding the issues and we are waiting to hear from our engneering team on what a resolution would be for your network issues. I do apoligize about ongoing issues you may have been having but I do know that our team is working on looking into it. Please let us know if you have any further questions.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Telephone Communications

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/01/1994Business started: 02/01/1991Business started locally: 05/06/1994
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Britta Baker (Manager)Ms. Cassie . (Assistant Manager)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Telephone Communications

Products & Services

This company offers sales & service of cellular phones.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Cellular One of East Central Illinois

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 28 Towne Centre 

    Danville, IL 61832(217) 442-2355

  • 440 W Jasper St 

    Paris, IL 61944-2046(800) 413-2355
    (217) 465-3414

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Cellular One of East Central Illinois is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Telephone Communications

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.