BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1999

Diamond Windows & More Inc.

(888) 694-0831View Additional Phone Numbers3414 Meadows Ave., East PeoriaIL 61611

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1999

BBB has determined that Diamond Windows & More Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Diamond Windows & More Inc.'s rating include:

  • 5 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Diamond Windows & More Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Diamond Windows & More Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
01/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Diamond installed 21 new windows improperly, and have been made aware of the problem. After 6 weeks they still haven't fixed them.
In April of 2014, we had a contract with Diamond to side our house & install new windows. We purchased 21 windows which cost many thousands of dollars. I began called the company several weeks ago to inform them of a fly infestation & gaps around the windows. They have made no effort to fix the problem or even call to let us know what they plan to do. We not only have the fly infestation, but also heat loss since the windows don't fit properly.

Desired Settlement
Diamond sent a man from their company to look at the problem. He took pictures & said it was the worst fly infestation he had ever seen. He also told us the windows needed to be fixed due to the gaps. Diamond is telling us the window company is responsible, and Silver Line Window Company is saying Diamond is responsible. No one has been contacting us or trying to fix the problem. I've made numerous calls for over a month to try and resolve it.

Business Response
Diamond Windows and More Inc. have ordered all new full screens . We will continue to find a solution to this issue. Thank you to our Peoria Better Business Bureau . We appreciate your company and we appreciate our customers. We will find a resolution.

11/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We had our windows replaced last year and we are still waiting for force clips for north dining room window.
One of our windows installed had defective force clips. We were told they would be ordered and we paid in full. Someone did come out and finished installing the window. He had to take it out and reinstall. he had the incorrect force clips. we were told they would be ordered and we would get a call when they came in. A message was left and i returned the call to let Rhonda know we would be home that day and no one ever came. I got tired of trying to contact them and either getting no answer or getting the run around.

Desired Settlement
We just want the job finished.

Business Response
We would like the opportunity to solve this situation. Our service manager explained the service and he told us the clips had been sent out to our Homeowner house and the service was complete . We believed the service was complete . We will follow through and make sure this issue is solved. I hope they are willing to comply with the misunderstanding.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have still not heard from the company in regards to this complaint. They have our phone number so i look foward to hearing from them.

Final Business Response
Case # XXXXXXXX Urbank

I went to the Urbank residence on X XX XX after looking at there window i determined that it was a manufacture defect.I then sent the information to the silverline service dept. service manager ****** ******

Consumer Response
We thought the problem had been resolved,but t h e company never got back in touch with us after they said they would have the part shipped to them.

10/16/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
08/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
For at least 4 years, the roof of an addition built by this business in 2006 leaked. Other repairs that were needed have been ignored since 2006.
This business put a one-room addition/wider garage & deck on my small house in 2006. Its roof didn't start leaking immediately but other issues showed the extent of the poor quality of the work. When I cleaned my garage and removed all the stuff piled along the wall they had built, I could see outside at the bottom. The heating vent's metal inside was cut and fastened so poorly that air from outside came in with the air from the vent. They put Pergo floors down; some of the cuts were fine, some were nearly 1/2" away from the corner they should have met. The side of the kitchen counter on one wall fits snugly at the back, but slants until there's a 3/8" gap between the wall and the counter in front. On the builder's list, the owner told them to get an inside door between my room & the unheated garage. Four years later, one of their employees told me there should be an outside door put there. For 4 years, I couldn't lock the French doors leading outside to the deck. The attempts made to fix it 3 times didn't work until a "door guy" came over. He had it fixed in less than an hour & said the way the others had tried to repair it would never have worked. The doors to the deck, the garage and a small closet were hung so poorly that they stuck out from the door frame, one about an inch, and there were wide cracks between the top of the door and the door frame. Later, other problems began to appear: the siding melted & buckled in several places. The owner's daughter said she had to get the company that made the siding to fix it. As yet, it is untouched. The room settled and gaps appeared between the floor and the baseboards. The railings on the deck all split badly within a couple of years despite my sealing it. Several of them torqued and came loose from the posts. When the daughter (& somebody from another company) took a look, they let me know that there shouldn't be exposed screws at the bottom of each rail fastening them to the deck. The sink stuck up slightly; sealant was put there so it wouldn't leak. Caulking came loose on a window outside; it leaked inside & they replaced the whole wall under the window. The HUGE issue is the roof. A couple years--3 maybe--after it was built, the roof leaked at the place where my house and the addition/garage were connected. Diamond sent somebody out to put more tar under a few shingles--useless. It leaked, it streamed, it's moldy, I have big nasty stains on curtains, ceiling... My ceilings slant, the roof beams showing, with panels in between each. The low wall--the bottom of the slant--is the one connected to the addition & ONLY WHERE IT LEAKED. I asked my roofer to check my house roof; he said MY roof was fine but the roofs were joined incorrectly. The boss of the crew that put the addition on came to look at it. He believed the leak originated in my roof and ran down to leak where his addition started. I told everybody repeatedly that it didn't make sense: the roof was right above my ceiling yet not a drop or a water stain could be seen on my beams & panels. For 3 years they ignored me, until they came out ostensibly to re-roof the addition. The crew boss showed me the "wrong way" my roofer had put on his shingles--they didn't want to re-roof the addition if they had to connect their shingles to his work (it was the same work he HADN'T objected to when he put the addition roof on in 2006). But I finally caved, just to get a new addition roof. I told the owner's wife when I signed the contract that I didn't believe my roof was leaking & I felt coerced. But I signed: $2000 that day, 3 monthly payments of $500. A few days later it rained. The roof leaked as badly in the same places. They tried to fix it. Finally, the crew boss told the daughter the problem was up there where the roofs joined. I HAD NOT needed a new roof as I'd been telling them for 3 years. They said they'd be out in the spring to tear it off. It's July & I haven't seen them. Diamond windows & More cheated & lied to me.

Desired Settlement
I want the $2000 I paid them for a roof I knew I didn't need and told them repeatedly I didn't need, including just before I signed the contract for it. I was coerced into letting them put a new roof on my house and addition just to get them to re-roof the addition and I told them I knew it. I want to be held not responsible for the remaining $1500 they charged me for the roof. I want them to immediately tear the addition roof off and join the roofs together properly before re-roofing. If they can't manage it, I want them to pay another company to do it right. I want all the repairs I've mentioned finished within the month, professionally and correctly. When they tear the roof off, I want all the insulation replaced, including in the walls where it has leaked for at least 4 years. Once all the repairs are made or things are replaced to get them to professional standards, I want the cosmetic work to be done professionally so that no water stains are visible anywhere, the wood that has been bowed or split or stained replaced, the things replaced that looked like quarter-round but now has paper peeling off it, the kitchen counter replaced if that's what is needed to get my sink to fit correctly as well as the counter to fit snugly against the wall, an electrical outlet that pulls away from the wall when I unplug something replaced, pieces of poorly cut Pergo replaced, all the railing around the deck replaced and new railing installed correctly, the siding replaced, the vent fixed, and anything else that contributes to the sloppy look of their work re-done in a professional and timely manner, by which I mean before summer's end. I won't ask for any money for two sets of ruined curtains with water stains that won't come out. Last, I want my backsplash redone. I searched for just the right combination of colors for glass tiles & bought more than $100 worth--that the crew saw. When I realized they had started the backsplash before asking me how I wanted the tiles incorporated into it, I figured it was too late to change their pattern. They used 104 tiles out of the 432 I bought. I want them to use the tiles according to MY design.

Business' Initial Response
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to resolve Case # XXXXXXXX. Our goal is to continue a positive and professional relationship with the BBB. We recognize and are willing to address the concerns of ******* *****. Her concerns have not been ignored. Upon finishing the last repair, we wanted to verify the outside situation had been resolved. Diamond Windows and More has made phone calls to XXX-XXX-XXXX with no response. Our Service Technician has stopped by the ******* *****'s residence ***** W. ***** Ave., ************ IL with no answer. We would like to have an open line of communication during our business hours of 8am-5pm with ******* *****. Sincerely, Diamond Windows and More Inc.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The tone of Diamond Windows...' letter is exactly why it took me this long to try to get the work done at my house another way: cordial. But if I accepted that cordial answer, it would be exactly like accepting all the other cordial answers they've given me over the past 6 or 7 years that have had absolutely no follow-up. R___, the daughter, came out a couple years ago and went around the house taking pictures with her phone.
When she went to all that trouble, I wondered if it could possibly indicate they were going to do something. None of the pictures she took led to a repair of any kind. It was another piece of misdirection, evidently done to shut me up for a while about those defects.
The comment they made about calling XXX-XXX-XXXX but getting no answer is not true. I haven't heard from them since Dec. They have my cell phone number; they didn't call it. R___and I have texted each other many times during business hours. They did not text me. If a service man came to my house and I didn't answer, I WASN'T THERE. We've have open communication for years. To blame the lack of progress on not being able to reach me is disgustingly misleading.
The answer is true in one respect: they do recognize my concerns. They recognize them because they already know them. They acknowledge that they are legitimate concerns. The problem is not their denial of my legitimate concerns but a singular apathy toward doing anything about them.
I mentioned in my first letter that the French doors they installed to my deck wouldn't lock. Early on, a couple people tried to fix them. Because they couldn't, that was the end of their attempts for four more years. I have complained about the vent in the addition almost ever since it was put in. It certainly doesn't need outside resolution before it can be repaired! I told somebody, this time the crew boss, for the umpteenth time in Dec. how I knew it could be fixed. He agreed it would work. He said he'd ask D___, another guy in the crew, if he had a certain kind of hand saw. I've heard NOTHING since Dec. about my vent which, if it had been fixed, would have saved on heat (now A.C.)
I wrote about my buckled siding and how, in about three years of complaining, promises had been made but none ever kept. Within about ten days of posting this letter, the consultant from the company that will take care of the siding stopped by. Much to my outrage, I saw that his company is in East Peoria, just as Diamond is. He could have come out at any time but I had to write a complaint before they called him.
Waiting to see if the outside situation has been resolved is a little bit difficult when they know their addition requires a tear-off and a new roof before they can tell if the outside situation has been resolved and they've made no move to get that done. In Dec., the crew boss admitted that the $2000 roof that was put on my original house roof had not been leaking and that the problem was where the roofs connected as I have been telling them, with logic and my own roofer's opinion backing me up, for years. In Diamond's response, they make NO SPECIFIC RESPONSES TO ANY OF MY COMPLAINTS AND THE RESOLUTION I WANT. Without the specifics on how each of my complaints will be resolved and the time limit to resolve them OF COURSE I DON'T ACCEPT THEIR RESPONSE. It's a vague bunch of NOTHING.
One more thing. Your notice says not to put in any personally identifiable information. I see that they have given my full name, my address, even my phone number. Haven't they broken YOUR rules as well as all the rules of good business practice?

03/04/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Siding Contractors, Windows, Contractors - Gutters, Doors, Roofing Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/24/1997Business started: 01/15/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
320 W. Washington
Springfield, IL62786
(888) 473-4858
http://www.idfpr.com

BBB records show a license number of 104009488 for this company, issued by Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.idfpr.com. The expiration date of this license is 06/30/2015.

Type: State Roofing License

Check License Status: https://www.idfpr.com104009488

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Troy Duede (President)Ms Ronda Duede (Office Manager)Mr. Michael Watts (Sec./Tres.)
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

Siding Contractors, Windows, Contractors - Gutters, Doors, Roofing Contractors

Products & Services

This company offers exterior home improvements.

Industry Tips
Home Improvement

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Diamond Windows & More Inc.

3414 Meadows Ave.

East Peoria, IL 61611

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3414 Meadows Ave. 

    East Peoria, IL 61611(309) 694-0831
    (888) 694-0831

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Diamond Windows & More Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (309) 694-0831
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Siding Contractors

Home Improvement
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.