BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2011

Twin City Home Remodeling

Phone: (309) 275-8047

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
01/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Never repaired leak in the new roof they installed.
New roof was installed and completed March 26, 2014. I made payment in full on March 26, 2014 to **** ***, co-owner. Noticed roof leak in early October, 2014, had water damage in both 1st and 2nd story of home. Contacted contractor that day, he stopped by, saw result of leak, said his roofing contractor would repair next day or two. Never got a call or a visit from roofer. TC Remodeling then stopped accepting my phone calls, I emailed them on 11/05/2014. No response to my email.
I finally got **** of TC Remodeling to answer my phone call in late November, then heard from an employee of their roofing subcontractor that did the roofing job for me, Quality Construction and Exteriors. That person stopped by, verified that the leak was caused around the chimney, told us to buy a repair corner piece of vinyl siding, said he'd be back to fix the leak.
After numerous phone calls, he said he had to have his supervisor, "***", call me to schedule the repair. Never heard from ***, got ***'s phone number from TC Remodeling, and have left many voicemails with ***, he will not return my calls.
Have now given up and hired a new roofer to repair the roof this week at additional cost to myself. So TC Remodeling is also not honoring their work guarantee agreement. When the work is completed by the other roofer, I plan to pay the other roofer and ask TC Remodeling to reimburse me the cost. I do not want the same subcontractor doing the repair work, the new roofer showed me pictures of how there was bare wood exposed in two areas of the chimney, so the work performed was not up to code.

Desired Settlement
I want the business, either TC Remodeling or Quality Construction and Exteriors, to reimburse me the cost of repair by another roofer. The repair will be made soon, depending on weather.

Business Response
This response is given by **** ****. Co-owner Twin City Remodeling. We agree to pay a reasonable amount for the repairs. The material cost should be minimal and the time to do the repair should not take more than 2 hours. I agree to pay up to $300. If that is not enough then I would like to be present when the repair is done or do the repair personally

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept the business' response, because they are allowing me to use the contractor of my choice and have agreed to reimburse us for the cost of repair up to a reasonable amount.

04/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contractor did not properly fit trim after roof replacement. Contractor agreed to replace trim but has not returned for 1 year to do so.
Contractor did not properly fit trim after roof replacement. Contractor agreed to replace trim but has not returned for 1 year to do so. Shingling was completed and payment rendered on 4-17-13. Contractor was contacted at approximately 3 month intervals since then to complete the trim, on each occasion the owner Jeff promised to complete trim and has not done so. The last message to contractor on 3/14/14 has went unreturned. Contractor also agreed to reimburse homeowner for landscaping lights and fence damaged by his crew.

Desired Settlement
Complete promised trim repairs. Provide $200 reimbursement for damaged landscape lights and fence.

Business Response
Twin City Home Remodeling fully recognizes the validity of this complaint and has plans to resolve this matter within 2 weeks. We fully intended to complete this minor work last year but the weather got so bad, so fast we were not able to

Consumer Response
The business has not completed the repairs they promised to make, I do not want to close this complaint.

Final Consumer Response
The contractor has completed all outstanding commitments at this time. Please close the complaint, we are satisfied. Thanks.

04/08/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Windows - Installation & Service, Remodeling Services, Bathroom Remodeling, Construction & Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Deck Builder, Gutters & Downspouts, Basement - Finishing, Kitchen Remodeling

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.