BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2011

TruGreen

Phone: (309) 697-0944Fax: (309) 697-4201301 N Commerce Pl, PeoriaIL 61604-5289

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2011

BBB has determined that TruGreen meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised TruGreen's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues4
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
12/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
work done that was never approved
over charges credit card misuse
three charges in one month $210 too high




10.2013 credit card charges unauthorized 10/08 for $36.90 10/25 for $146.70 and 10/29 for $59.82 prices seem to vary at their wim and no monthly charge was consistent

Desired Settlement
$300 refund

Business Response
Customer set service on June 17th for 5 lawn applications at $59.82 per application and a fall aeration overseeding for $146.70.

A lime application was approved by customer on 9/18 for $36.90.

The amounts that the customer is stating are for 1 of the 5 lawn applications for $59.82, the fall aeration completed for $146.70 and the lime application for $36.90.

Credit card charges were completed with customer approval of easy pay process. No applications or charges have been applied to the account that where not approved by customer.

The price difference is due to 3 different types of service being provided.

11/19/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cancelled service twice. Put into collections twice for services not ordered. Yes they were notified more than once.
2012 I advised TruGreen their services were no longer needed. Nov 2012 I get a collection letter from them for two applications not ordered. This was my 4th or 5th year as a customer. I paid the bill to have it removed from my credit record. Fast forward to July 2013,TruGreen provided my so called 1st lawn app of the season. I was stunned to see their sign right next to my current services within a 24 hr time frame. I called immediately and was told to call a 800 number where I again was asked if I cancelled my service. Yes I did "We'll look into it" was the reply. Several ignored calls later from me and their debt collectors here we are in collection? Mid July first app? How about my over burnt yard do to their negligence on their behalf? What do I have to do as a consumer to get this resolved and stop this from happening to others.
Just an FYI, I understand lawn applications very well as former owner of a commercial lawn service for 14 years. This is very unethical business in my opinion.

Customer # XXXXXXXXXX
Billing dates:
10/11/13 TruGreen Serv: Custom Lawn Plan Amount $56.18
10/11/13 TruGreen Serv Grub Control $79.00

Desired Settlement
Bills discharged and removed from collections.
Stop services already cancelled.

Business Response
Customers account was credited on 10/11/2013 for both services. One credit for $56.18 and one credit for $79.00

TruGreen apologises for any inconvenience we have caused the customer due to corporate over-site. Account is in-active and will remain so.

06/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Prepaid for tree/shrub and lawn services that have not been performed.
On 12/1/12 I prepaid $194.90 for tree and shrub service for 2013 and have yet to receive a single treatment so far this year. On 5/6/13 I prepaid $392.43 for lawn service and have yet to receive a single treatment so far this year. I called the toll free number for Trugreen three times this month-on 5/6/13 I spoke with Kathy, on 5/16/13 I spoke with ********, and on 5/22/13 I spoke with ****** Each time I called, I was told someone would call me to schedule the tree/shrub and lawn services. No one has returned any of my calls and no one has shown up to provide any treatments. During my last call, I advised I was going to contact the BBB if my call wasn't returned that day. That didn't seem to provide any incentive for TruGreen to contact me or perform the pre-paid services.

Desired Settlement
At this point I would prefer a complete refund of my prepayments ($587.33) as it seems quite clear Trugreen is not willing to perform the services I paid for.
I also plan to contact the Attorney General of IL about this issue.

Business' Initial Response
Customer was scheduled for same day as this complaint was opened. TruGreen representative spoke with customer at their home. Manager has spoken with customer and complaint has been cleared up.

TruGreen apologises for any inconvenience caused to the customer and will provide better communication and service in the future.

12/30/2013Problems with Product / Service
05/14/2013Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 2
11/01/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
TruGreen performed an unrequested & unauthorized service on my lawn. They attempted to bill my credit card & are now sending me "past due" invoices.
Customer# XXXXXXXXXX

I was previously a customer of TruGreen but had discontinued my service in 2012 and received no service in 2013 up until the problem date.

On 8/22/13, I received an email that service had recently been performed on my lawn. I was out of town but immediately responded that I did not order the service. I received a system generated email that I would be contacted within two business days but I never got a response.

My credit card was then charged $112 for the aeration service that was reportedly performed on 8/21/13 by Adrian Perez. I contested the credit card charge on the grounds that I had not authorized the service. The credit card company cancelled the charges.

I then received an invoice in the mail. On 9/27/13, I spoke with ***** in the TruGreen call center (309-697-0944). After explaining the situation to him, he apologized for the error and told me the charges had been cancelled.

Today (10/28/13) I received a past due reminder indicating that I still owe $112 and they may schedule collection efforts.

Desired Settlement
I would like TruGreen to cancel the charges and update their files to reflect that they are not authorized to perform any future service on my lawn. I would like both of these in writing.

Business Response
Due to errors at corporate billing customer was charged for service that should have not been preformed.

Customer was refunded around Aug 30th. However charge was placed back on account due to processing error.Account is in the process of being credited to zero balance and customer owns nothing.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I appreciate the quick response and the intent to correct the error. However, TruGreen has told me this before and yet the issue persists. I would like them to provide in writing that (1) I do not owe them any money (2) my account is closed and (3) they are not authorized to perform any future services on my property. Thank you!

06/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Tru Green in short sprayed there customer yard and didn't observe wind direction and damaged significantly my crop next to what they sprayed.
I am a farmer from Morton, Illinois that has farm ground next to ******** of ****** **** **** ********* this past summer they hired True Green of 301 N. Commerce, Peoria, IL 61604 to maintain their lawn service. On one of True Green spraying application, the chemical drifted into my bean field and damaged some of the crop. I informed ********* who then told me True Green did their services. ******** informed me that they are a reputable company and shouldn't have a problem. I then contacted *** ****** sales manager, about the claim and informed him that we need to have a meeting to discuss the damages. At the time he was busy and I granted him that time, I then tried six other occasions but the same thing, when fall came, I asked him we need to meet and discuss the damages. *** over the phone, told me that he is way too busy and just bill the damages and they would take care of the matter. I then called *** ******* of ********* ********** in ********** ** who does both lawn care and crop applications. ***, made the assessment that it was a Dicamba product that inflicted damages on the beans and it was quite obvious it was by the lawn care service applied to ********* I sent the bill assessed by *** to ***, *** then later complained about the significant damage amount to the beans. I informed him I had a third party come in and assessed the damages. He said he would have to take this matter to upper management. I then called him in Jan. after two mo. of late charges. He replied that because of holiday seasons they have been too busy to make out a payment. I sent a third invoice in Feb. and still no payment, as of today I have not received payment, I am quite shocked this reputable company on a drought year, which was one of the worse crop years in 30 years would refuse to pay for the damages. With this letter I hope it shines light on future customers that this is not a company that can be trusted.
Thank you,

Desired Settlement
Tru Green had a minimum of 2500 dollar damage. I had a yield monitor access the damage and it showed more damages than what the crop consultant report. I had a crop specialist come out and he assessed a fair dollar amount that was damaged, which was at $2500.00. All I want is the damages done to my field, what upsets me the most was the dishonesty of Tru Green. Tru Green admitted there mistake and waited till crops removed and then they ignored my invoices and telephone calls. I have farmed for thirty years, in that time, I have done damages of spraying done to other farmers also and vice versa. Never have I experience what I have happened with Tru Green. Us farmers are very apologetic when we damage each other cropa and we make it more than right. I expected the same with Tru Green, but unfortunately not true. I am writing this so that this does not happen to someone else. Differently I would of had the Ill. Dept. of Agriculture involved and they could of settled the differences.

Business' Initial Response
The figure that Mr. ****** requested for damages is for over 2 acres. The area that was investigated was not anything of this size.

TruGreen has never stated to "just bill the damages and they would take care of the matter". The site was investigated and the request for yield information was made by TruGreen when the crop was harvested. Mr. ****** never provided this information except to verbally tell us that his yields were down over the questioned area as well as once harvest started an area of 2 acres. He then stated that he was just writing off the 1ss entire area in question to compensate for 2nd area that we were never made aware of until after harvest.

The 3rd party "investigation" was a generic invoice with *** ********** name stating that in his opinion the damage was caused by us. There were no lab test nor any other information provided.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Dear BBB,

I was happy to see that TruGreen actually responded to you as this is the first reply I have received from Mr. ***** since January of this year. Unfortunately, much of what they have said in there reply is at odds with our prior conversations and the facts. During my last conversation with Mr. ****** he told me payment was on its way and was delayed because of the holidays. As the promised payment never arrived, I continued to send numerous invoices and placed phone calls. Despite my efforts I never received a response. On my last invoice I stated if no reply is made, I will draft a letter to the BBB and the Ill. Dept. Of Agriculture stating such disrespect we both received. My next step was to have the land owner of a highly reputable national business, who has half interest in this crop also, contact Mr. ***** to find out what the holdup was. This person I will call ***, got a hold of Mr. ****** but Mr. ***** could not talk long because of a meeting he had to go too. *** requested Mr. ***** to call him back because this matter will not go away. Mr. ***** then promised he would call him back before the end of the week. After two weeks without a return call, *** attempted to contact him again. Sadly, Mr. ***** would never take his calls which only solidifies there is a problem with his integrity. *** has over 40 years of experience in a nationally known business and he stated that he has never been treated in this matter. *** also is willing to state in a letter to the Better Business Bureau the handlings of Mr. ***** in this case.
In the regards to the statement made regarding a generic invoice from ***** **** *********** I would call to your attention that this company has over 50 years of experience in lawn and crop services. They are a highly respected business that I brought in to access the damage. They commercially spray over 100,000 acres per year and have vast knowledge of all chemical products. I informed Mr. ******* of ***** **** of the problems that I was having with TruGreen and he too is willing to put in writing that clearly the damage to our crop was caused by TruGreen and chemicals they used. TruGreen inflicted damage along our field that joined the lot of ******** that ran over 1300 feet. The first 6 rows (15 feet) were completed dead, the next forty feet had significant damage with damage going further past the end rows. Mr. ******* also states that only the beans next to the lot which was sprayed was the only damaged beans in the entire field. It was obvious that TruGreen used a product that caused significant damage to our beans and in his opinion no test was required as the visual evidence was more than sufficient to validate the cause of the crop damage. In his statement he will point out that he has made numerous estimates of damages to crops due to spray drift. Mr. ***** was notified that Mr. ******* was making the assessment but he declined to show because he had a prior appointment.
As I have continued this effort to recoup my losses, I met a home owner next to **** **** and the ground we farm and he asked why the beans along **** **** were damaged. After I explained to him the situation, he showed me his garden and I found that his garden had the same damage signs as our damaged beans. This home owner was quite upset with what has happened and he too is willing to put in writing how Tru Green did the damages to our field and his garden.
The problem with this whole matter was the lack of communication of Mr. ****** The reply I just received from this email is the first I ever heard of the demands of Mr. ***** and Tru Green. If Mr. ***** would of requested what he stated in the above statement I would of gladly sat and talked with him and gave him more information. I do have yield maps of this farm but the proposal that Mr. ******* made is by far fairer than the yield maps. I have farmed this particular tract for over 30 years. I would of gladly revealed this information if they requested it. The year of 2012 was one of the worse and hottest summer in the last 50 years. It's hard enough to grow a crop and make a financial living during these times. This whole episode could have been avoided if the applicator of TruGreen would of monitored the wind direction of that day. What makes it more insulting, is the company stonewalling and not answer calls. This is a financial loss due there negligence and it's ethically wrong the way Mr. **** and I have been treated. Why, Mr. ***** did you not spend any time and meet with me on this matter? I live a quarter mile away and could of met anytime, but you always seem too busy to address this matter.
I also had showed the management of **** ***** the damages that were caused by Tru Green. He agreed it was TruGreen services that did the damages. Since it was quite evident to him that the damages were caused by TruGreen, the board of **** **** (the company that TruGreen did services for) said if TruGreen does not pay for the damages they caused, ******** will pay for the damages. While we appreciate their show of integrity at **** ****, *** and I feel it is a matter of principal that TruGreen be held accountable for their negligence and continued avoided communication in the hopes that the problem would "go away". I hope with all the evidence and all the testimonies that I have presented, TruGreen will pay for the damages that they inflicted upon our crop and keep their reputation of a reputable company. Please let me know if there is anything you need from me to help resolve this matter.

Sincerely,

**** ******

Business' Final Response
TruGreen would have no response different than our original response

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn Maintenance, Tree Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/21/2001Business started: 01/01/1975
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Gregg Jacobs (General Manager)
Number of Employees

41

Business Category

Lawn Maintenance, Tree Service

Products & Services

This company offers lawn and landscape service

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for TruGreen

301 N Commerce Pl

Peoria, IL 61604-5289

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 301 N Commerce Pl 

    Peoria, IL 61604-5289(309) 697-0944

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*TruGreen is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Lawn Maintenance

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.