BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/29/1984

Fritch Heating & Cooling, Inc.

(309) 671-53601004 NE Adams St, PeoriaIL 61603-4002



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/29/1984

BBB has determined that Fritch Heating & Cooling, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Fritch Heating & Cooling, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Fritch Heating & Cooling, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
03/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Humidifier installed 11/11/2011; looked at 12-13 times; installed wrong; limed up twice/year; serviced 2/20/15 but didn't bring parts. Still waiting.
We bought a Lennox HCSteam-16 humidifier 11/11/2011. It hasn't worked for an entire season without malfunctioning. It made loud gurgling noises then shut off because of an error code and wouldn't restart without calling for service. It also filled up with lime about half way through the heating season and stopped working (when it wasn't gurgling and shutting off because of the error codes).

We finally found out in the fall of 2014 that it was installed incorrectly. This is after it's been installed by Fritch's men and looked at by Fritch's men at least three to four times a year since 2011. So they have been to look at it about 12-13 times before they figured out it was installed wrong. The last guy hooked it up like it said to do in the manual and it worked...for a while. At least the loud gurgling and error codes finally stopped.

Now it is limed up and quit working about half way through the season...again. Another service call. We had to wait a week after calling to get an appointment. The service tech came out, determined the problem to be a limed up canister, which it does twice a year. Did he bring one with him? No. The tech told me he would be back in a couple days with the part. We have been waiting two weeks with no word from Fritch. They did send me a bill for $99.

I called and was told I need to set up an appointment and it would be a week or more. What happened to the "couple days" I was promised to finish what they started?

I asked for ***, the owner, to call me and was told he was on vacation for two weeks in Florida. I asked them to have him call me on his cell phone but was told he couldn't do that. I guess his vacation is more important that a customer who spends multiple thousands of dollars with him so he can afford a vacation.

This is not the only service problem we have had with ******. Joe sold us a new furnace and air conditioner in 2011. The air conditioner would never cool the house below 83 degrees. It took ****** multiple service callsevery time the weather required the air conditioner to runbetween 2011 and 2014 before they finally figured out the duct work wasn't correct. They would come out three to four times a year and couldn't figure it out. When you install a furnace, don't you look to see that what hooks the furnace to the registers is balanced correctly?

They do this for a living, right? They are professionals and do this daily? Seems they are good at sales but not installation or maintenance.

Desired Settlement
I want my humidifier and air conditioner to work for a full season without begging for service and paying for labor for fix incorrectly installed products.

I paid the last time they were out in the fall of 2014 to correctly install the humidifier that was incorrectly installed in 2011. I understand paying for annual maintenance but I will not keep paying labor to fix incorrectly installed products.

Here is a novel idea:
Fritch and I both know the humidifier canister gets limed up in three months and has been doing that since 2011. Perhaps they could schedule me to receive a new canister about halfway through the heating season. They might even call Lennox to see if there is a solution to my canister getting limed up too quickly. It should only need to be replaced once per season, not twice. Surely Lennox has someone on staff that Fritch can consult.

I don't want to be unreasonable. Just do your job. It shouldn't take four years to figure out simple installation problems. My tolerance for mediocrity is getting very low.

Final Consumer Response
As an update on 3/11/15, **** from Fritch took an interest in our problem. He brought out a brand new humidifier, a different brand than the one we struggled with for four years, and installed it along with a water filter to slow down the lime problem. He also rewired the setup like it was supposed to be to begin with. The humidifier now works off our thermostat instead of me having to go to the basement to make adjustments. It now works whether the furnace is running or not. What a concept! **** was polite, extremely knowledgeable and efficient. I'll request him whenever I need help from Fritch. Hopefully, this will solve our problem. I thank them for their efforts.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/29/1984Business started: 04/01/1982
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael J. Fritch (President)Ms. Angela Fritch-Milton (General Manager)
Number of Employees

21

Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning

Products & Services

This company offers heating & cooling sales & service.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Fritch Heating & Cooling, Inc.

1004 NE Adams St

Peoria, IL 61603-4002

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1004 NE Adams St 

    Peoria, IL 61603-4002(309) 671-5360

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Fritch Heating & Cooling, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.