BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/16/1981

Rainguard Seamless Gutters

(309) 633-13834901 S. Becker Dr., BartonvilleIL 61607

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/16/1981

BBB has determined that Rainguard Seamless Gutters meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Rainguard Seamless Gutters' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
01/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Rainguard installed gutters and downspouts on my house September 23rd 2014. First off, the gutters were not installed level from front to back. The gutters have almost as much pitch as the roof. Second, there were water deflectors installed on front gutters which were never discussed or even mentioned over the phone when the estimate was done. Third issue is the rear gutter on the southeast corner of the house. The last two or three feet of gutter pitches away from the downspout. After seeing the poor workmanship I called Rainguard and was requested to send pictures, which I did. Of course they did not call after receiving the photos, I had to call them. Their response was; because of the way the house was built, the wedges would not make up the difference to have the gutters level. My question was, why was I not told this and offered another option. And if they could not do the work correctly, it would give me the option to hire another company since I'm the one paying for this. Rainguard stated that they would see if there was anything else available to level the gutters. This was over a week ago and no return call from them. Also I would like to add that when I was at work they tried to contact me by phone because they were having an issue with the gutters on the front of the house. Since I was not available, I called them back at lunch time. They said don't worry, we got it taken care of. I asked them if they were still at the house, no were over by Kickapoo. Wow, complete gutters and downspouts installed on a two story house in less than a morning.
Product_Or_Service: Gutters and downspouts installed
Order_Number: Invoice XXXXX

Desired Settlement
I feel that I should not have to pay the bill because of such poor workmanship. I just spent $32,000.00 on the outside of the house with new windows, siding, soffet, facia, and roof.

Business Response
When we first arrived on the job there were no gutters on the house. We noticed the fascia was newly covered with aluminium and the fascia was the old style that slanted back toward the wall. There are two procedures for installing gutters on such a fascia including strap hanging the gutter from the roof or using wedges. Strap hanging gutters from the roof requires that the straps be nailed through the shingles which is not the best installation. Using wedges allows us to hang the gutter on the fascia board without nailing through the roof. Depending on the slope of the fascia board will determine whether the gutters hang perfectly straight or not. They will still function, however, they are slanted.
Upon hearing from Mr. ******** that he did not like the slanted gutters we told him that we would do some research to determine how to solve the problem. We called him to let him know that we could design a system that would allow us to lengthen the wedges thus straightening out the gutters. He asked us to send a diagram describing what we were going to do and we agreed. This procedure took a little longer than we anticipated however we had no intention of ignoring Mr ********' concerns.
As far as the water deflectors are concerned this is a normal installation for an inside mitre. The deflectors prevent any water from running over the mitre. These can be easily removed.
We have been working with Mr ******** and intend do so whatever it takes to satisfy his concerns.
Sincerety,
***** ********
President
4901 S. Becker Dr., Bartonville, IL 61607 o Ph (XXX) XXX-XXXX o Fax (XXX) XXX-XXXX www.rainguardinc.com

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Part of the business response is true. I did contact them and told them about the slanted gutters. I spoke with *** at Rainguard and he told me that they would look into trying to find thicker wedges or try and find a different solution to correct the slanted gutters. He said it was no problem to remove the deflectors. I said fine, let me know. I never did hear back from anyone at Rainguard. She said they (called)contacted me to let me know that they could design a system to lengthen the wedges to level the gutters. I was never contacted. I did not hear back from Rainguard until they were contacted by phone from the BBB on Oct. 30th or 31st. Prior to that, the BBB had not received a response from Rainguard. That's when *** called me on the following Monday, November 3rd. I was at work so I could not take the call. I returned their call on Nov. 4th., the following morning and spoke to ***** because *** was not there. ***** told me that they could mount brackets on the roof that was underneath the shingles and it would move the gutters out to where they are suppose to be and also level them at the same time. I said great, explain to me how the bracket mounts to the gutter. He tried to explain but I was not following him. I asked if he could e-mail me pictures of the mounting brackets. He said sure, I will try and send pictures. That is the last time I have heard from them and today is November 20th. No e-mails or follow up phone calls, nothing. She states that we have been working with Mr. ******** to correct his issue, I have to disagree with that.

12/12/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Gutters & Downspouts, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/01/1974Business started: 02/01/1974
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Debra Belfield (President)Mr. Steven Belfield (Vice President)
Number of Employees

15

Business Category

Gutters & Downspouts, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors

Products & Services

This company offers exterior home improvements including gutters and downspouts, siding, replacement windows, insulation, storm doors and entry doors.

Alternate Business Names
Dashco, Inc.
Industry Tips
Home Improvement

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Rainguard Seamless Gutters

4901 S. Becker Dr.

Bartonville, IL 61607

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4901 S. Becker Dr. 

    Bartonville, IL 61607(309) 633-1383

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Rainguard Seamless Gutters is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Gutters & Downspouts

Home Improvement
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.