BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Tarter Brothers Mechanical, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (217) 735-4117Fax: (217) 732-8490602 Broadway St, LincolnIL 62656-2722http://www.tarterbrothers.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Tarter Brothers Mechanical, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Tarter Brothers Mechanical, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Tarter Brothers Mechanical, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
08/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
failure to completely fix well pressure problem
I called Frontier phone service to get the exact dates I called but the phone number is not listed on my bill. I called Tarter Bros. answering service and asked them what the phone number switched to and he would not tell me that number.My dates are approximate on the phone calls to Tarter Bros. On about May 1st I called the Lincoln, Il phone number for Tarter Bros. They initially put my well in about 7 years ago. I talked w/the answering service (a real person)and left a msg. About a week later, after no phone call, I spoke with the answering service again and left another msg. About a week or two after that I called a THIRD time and asked why nobody was returning my call. I finally got a call back and 2 guys came out on 6-3-14. They were here 1 1/2 hrs and charged $150 labor and $105 for a constant pressure switch. Less than a month later, my hot water pressure would go way down when the air conditioning turned on-I have a geothermal system. I called them and the female in lincoln who answered the phone during business hours told me the guys refused to service me. I asked to call him direct. She would not give me his number. I asked how to get a hold of him and she said they are refusing service because they cannot make me happy. I told her this is the first time I have called since they were here and they didn't fix the problem! Within 30 days no less. She said she didn't want to be put in the middle but wouldn't give me the guy's name who worked on my well.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of the labor or come fix the problem.

Business Response
over the years we have been put in the middle of geo people and him. He never seams happy and complains. Over 5 employees have been sent over the years and do not want to go back. I asked him to have geo contractor deal with issues. The last 2 were sub contracted from a Pekin well co, as I cannot get my employees to go. I do not know what else I can do. By not returning a service call doesnt seam to work so I am willing to return 50% of labor charges to erase the complaint.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
If I had to call them back so many times, maybe it was the quality or lack thereof, of the labor. My geo people told me to call them to fix things since they installed it. I now remember one time the line had to be replaced because it was split, how is that my fault? When they spell the word 'seems' wrong twice, I question the knowledge of their work. I will accept their offer to find someone to fix this problem once and for all.

02/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Employee was rude on phone when asked if the well pump was rebuilt or new. Demanded the bill is $2000 and pay that day and job wasn`t finished yet.
Called business on a Saturday evening when we discovered we had no water. Man came out and said only way to find out was to pull well pump up. My fiance` helped pull the pump up. Man said it was bad and had to locate a pump and would be out next day. Came back out next day with extra man and replaced pump with another that my fiance` said looked rebuilt because it had rust oon it like was down in a well before. Also said our pressure tank was bad. Said they would come back Wed or Thurs. No phone call so I called on Friday talked to employee and he sounded frustrated when i talked and got very upset when I asked if pump was rebuilt. He said what are you accusing me of. I asked a legitimate question was all. He automatically said the bill was $2000 and had to be paid today. I asked secretary if i could pay half and the rest in 3 months same as cash because i had them put a pump in Dec. 2001. She said No because of the economy. I had to use a credit card on the spot to pay bill in full and they hadn`t been out yet to finish job. I called the next day for a better itemized bill and recieved one the next day to have a balance due of $75 because the employee charged the wrong overtime rate. I feel like i was raked over the coals so to speak because they already new what the total bill was before they came out to finish the job. I understand they had a lot of heat calls by the secretary but that is no reason to take frustration out on another customer. I feel they should have taken in to consideration that my fiance` helped pull the well pump up the night that they sent out one man and the next day provided them with a ladder and air compressor in the Snow storm too. I understand they would charge an overtime rate but $125 to $150 per hour. Also recieved another page with bill for an estimate on part of the job they did that was only a temporary fix. Never asked for a bid and wasn`t told they did a temporary fix to stop ground water infiltration into well . I am not a plumber but this information should have been told to me while i was watching them do the job. I don`t feel as though I should pay another $75 when they demanded job be paid that day on phone before they had even come out to finish putting pressure tank, switch ,etc in. I have a job that requires me to be out in the elements of the weather, So i do understand their job is frustrating at times; but I feel that the bill was very high and No option for payment.

Desired Settlement
I feel an apology and bill of a 0 balance should be acknowledged. A customer should be allowed to ask whether a part was rebuilt or new without the employee automatically saying the customer was accusing. I feel that the employee admitted guilt by getting upset when the question was asked. I feel the bill was enlarged in overtime rates because the question of rebuilt was asked and I also asked for the ground water liscence Number. Never received the ground water liscence on my printed bill. They should also give a payment option of half up front and the rest over 3 to 6 months. I feel during this economy that is a reasonable request. It`s hard for someone to pay $2000.00 on the spot, Especially during this time of the economy. I don`t feel i was treated fairly.

Business Response
Most info is correct. She had called on Saturday saying they had no water. Tech went on Saturday and determined a new pump was needed. We had to go get a new pump which we got on Sunday. I was out with tech on Sunday a.m. they called more than once as to where we were. Sunday was the start of blizzard. We put pump together at shop as temps were too cold and with wind problems getting torch to stay lit outside we put heat shrink wire together, cut wire off 1000 ft roll all in shop had to stop to return her call this took longer. People were urged to stay home but we still went to get them water. Two people are needed for safety and speed. We are out in field no wind brake putting pump in well The pump was new, she was given the manufacture date showing the pump was new. The fiancé stated they had been having a problem with the pump for some time. We made a temporary repair at that time and told her we would be back. We were inundated with emergency calls and couldn't get right back out there. She had water, others had broken/frozen pipes. We didn't know we would need an air pump and ladder and did not load same in the truck. They had an air pump and ladder for us to use so we didn't have to go back to town. Because we were pressured by other calls and again she had water, we told her we would be back to finish as soon as we could. She asked for a verbal bid which we gave her, but the actual time and materials were more than quoted. She was told that it was payment on completion. She wanted to put on credit card and we informed her we would have to have that before we came out as we can't do credit cards in the field only in the office. Then she wanted to do payments, half down and rest monthly payments for three months. We told her we cannot operate that way.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My bill was paid in full by credit card, then why did I receive a bill in the mail February 6 for a balance of $75. I don't think it's good business when your demanded to pay bill in full and days later receive a bill for $75 more because they didn't charge the correct overtime rate. I don't feel i should have to pay this bill.
This current response by Tarter Bros was my bill was paid in full. I would appreciate a $0 balance statement. Like I said my bill was paid in full.

Final Business Response
New pump installed; unable to rebuild 3" pumps must be new. Bill paid in full by credit card.

Thank you!

**** ******
Tarter Brothers Mechanical, Inc

Industry Comparison| Chart

Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Furnace Cleaning, Furnace Sales & Service, Water Well Drilling Equipment & Supplies, Furnaces - Industrial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Water Well Drilling & Service, Plumbing - Renovation & Repair, Electricians, Plumbing - Contractor, Contractor - Electrical, Heating Contractors, Plumbers, Mechanical Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/05/2010Business started: 08/01/1979
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Il Department of Public Health
535 W Jefferson St
Springfield, IL 62761-0002
(217) 782-4977

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 2004, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gregory T Tarter (Vice President)Ms. Judy Caldwell (Bookkeeper)
Number of Employees

8

Business Category

Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Furnace Cleaning, Furnace Sales & Service, Water Well Drilling Equipment & Supplies, Furnaces - Industrial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Water Well Drilling & Service, Plumbing - Renovation & Repair, Electricians, Plumbing - Contractor, Contractor - Electrical, Heating Contractors, Plumbers, Mechanical Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Service Area

Mascon, Logan, southern Tazewell Counties

Alternate Business Names
Tarter Brothers, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Tarter Brothers Mechanical, Inc.

602 Broadway St

Lincoln, IL 62656-2722

To | From

LocationsX

4 Locations

  • 600 W 3rd St 

    Delavan, IL 61734-9612(309) 244-8000

  • PO Box 781 

    Delavan, IL 61734-0781

  • 602 Broadway St 

    Lincoln, IL 62656-2722(217) 735-4117
    Fax: (217) 732-8490

  • 16415 County Road 2600 E 

    Topeka, IL 61567-9486(309) 543-4060
    Fax: (309) 543-6957
    Fax: (309) 562-7348

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Tarter Brothers Mechanical, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.tarterbrotherslincoln.com
  • www.welldrillinglincolnil.com
  • www.airconditioninglincolnil.com
  • www.welldrillinghavana.com
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Geothermal Heating & Cooling

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.