BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Illinois

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1993

Greentree Waterproofing, Inc.

Phone: (217) 525-2224Fax: (217) 525-8037View Additional Phone Numbers300 North 17th Street, SpringfieldIL 62702-5705

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Founded in 1992, Greentree Waterproofing is one of Central IL., largest basement, crawl space and slab repair companies. They are family owned and devoted to client satisfaction. They provide free estimates to home and business owners! They come equipt with client referrals.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1993

BBB has determined that Greentree Waterproofing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Greentree Waterproofing, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
05/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: They installed a sump pump, incorrectly, then it only lasted a few months and they **** not attempt to correct the problem. attempting to upsale
Here are the events as they have unfolded.
4-20-13 - pumped water out - we paid for rental pump as their pump wasn't working fast enough to pump the water out so had to rent one?
X-XX-XX - Sun installed new pump - recvd & PAID invoice for $614.20 (installed Zoeller 115V .3HP pump) invoice # 474

we noticed loud gushing sounds but didnt know if it was just the new pump sound, even though had never heard it before. house smells of mold.

5-24-13 - I called office and told them I had water spraying out from the pump on the floor joists and someone needed to come ASAP as I had water everywhere in crawl which created a mold problem...(my air conditioning guy noticed and told me they had installed it incorrectly and I had a big mess in the crawl ) 2 different guys came and they re-installed the pump! They told me they couldn't believe how the first 2 guys installed it.... yes it was wrong and created the spraying water on the floor joists!

On Friday, 4-4-14 -Noticred that our pump was the only one on the street not pumping out water during a wet spell so we called office & spoke with receptionist and **** the owner explaining the crawl had water and we needed them to come and check out the pump as a new pump was installed last year. **** said yes, we just installed it last year and then asked if we had lost power in the crawl area...I reminded him of the problem we had with the pump the spraying of the water which resulted in the mold...of course he didn't remember that part and said it wasn't in the computer! They sent techs out but could not go down because too much water, they offered to pump out the water for $175!! . My friends son **** who was home at the time said no to them pumping it out for $175! They said they would call us and come back soon. Never heard from them again!!!!

4-28-14 I called and talked with **** who originally installed the pump in April 2013, he remembered us and the house but of course he didn't remember the problems with the water and the pump! I asked when they could come out and look at the pump he asked if the water was gone and I said yes. He said they were really busy right now. He said they could call me later and schedule something. I asked if there was a service fee and I advised I wasn't paying as this was a new pump last year. He said he had to call me back. He called back and said they installed it in April of last year. I advised him of the problem and they had to re-install it. He said he was the one that installed it and I said yes and someone had to come and correct it. He said he had to check and call me back as this was not in the computer. He called me back and said he could install a new pump for $385 and this pump would last 3 years! I asked if he found where they came and re-installed the pump he said yes in May but it wasn't a new pump and the warranty is still over and we would need a new pump! I said you are telling me I need a new pump and you haven't even looked at it. He said I remember you get a lot of water in your yard and it's been a year so I'm sure you need a new one! He said you really need to water proof your crawl space you are just wasting money on buying sump pumps! I replied funny I've lived here for 10 years with the same sump pump!!!!! I told him no, I do not want you to come and install a new pump and it's 7 days past the warranty date and you won't even think about honoring it???? Apparently we had even paid for a new pump in April that was not even new also. T

Initial Business Response
This client is not eligible for a 3 year warranty on a free sump pump knowing that our company has provided her "service only" on non-warrantied work. This client has been advised since 2007 to complete drain tile system work, but has not done so. Without ANY TYPE OF DRAIN TILE SYSTEM, in the crawl space we cannot provide warranty work knowing this crawl space will flood during heavy days of rain and during flash flooding due to clients home/crawl space predicament.

The clients home is situated in an unfortunate low position receiving water run-off from neighboring homes on top of the water table beneath her own crawl space thus increasing her water table.

On January 18, 2007, our company advised the client upon the initial inspection to have a drain tile system installed, but client advised the owner of the company that she could not afford a system.

January 27, 2007 our company installed an entrance opening to the crawl space in her garage to make it easier for the home owner or others to gain access to the sump pump in the crawl space per the clients request.

Six (6) years later & not ten (10) years as the client stated in her complaint on April 21, 2013 during the flooding from rainfall that hit our area in Illinois very hard, the clients crawl space flooded out, water was standing over the crawl space entrance inside the garage.

Our company responded to the clients distress call on 4/18/2013 knowing also that no warranty work existed. Yes, our company did in fact rent industrial size pumps in April 2013, (these were used maybe this is where the client was confused in thinking we installed a used pump) in order to pump out the water to a level where our workers could actually get inside the muddy crawl space. Client was charged $614.20 the industrial size pump rental fees and for a new sump pump installation. It's very unfortunate that this client **** continue to have problems with water, moisture, mold & mildew until a drainage system is put in place.

It **** not matter if this client seeks out another company to install a 1-3-5 year warranty pump as long as there is not a drain tile system in place the problem **** remain & her crawl space **** continue to be wet & **** flood again.

As far as, water spraying out from the pump on the floor joist we do drill a small vapor lock hole into the inch and one half discharge line to keep the pump from air locking which is standard procedure, but the clients complaint of mold and attempt to link the air lock hole has absolutely nothing to do with the results of the flash flooding aftermath in April 2013 which flooded out her crawl space. The tiny amount of water that may seep from this air lock hole follows down the discharge line back into the pit.

Client claimed we installed a "used" pump in April 2013 which was definitely not true, the sump pump was brand new. We are indeed professionals when it comes to installing sump pumps & systems, we have been doing this since 1992.

A stand alone sump pump and pit without a system can only do so much for the area it is in. No different than a sump pump in a basement without a drain tile system, if water is coming in on the opposite side of the basement what good is the sump pump/pit that's located on the other side of the basement other than to sweep the water into the pit.

Our company has provided service each time we've received a call from the client as recent as April 5, 2014 finding no one home and the crawl space with 1 1/2 feet of standing water in it. The entire conversation the client claimed to have with **** ***** and reference to him stating we installed a sump pump in May 2013 was all too very confusing and misquoted in the clients complaint.

Greentree **** replace the existing sump pump to appease this client but client **** pay our $85 service fee at the time of service. But, Greentree **** not provide future services for this client simply due to the fact that her crawl space **** continue to be wet, moist and a breeding ground for mold and mildew and **** flood upon heavy rains & definitely during flash flooding. We have done all that we can do as far as advising this client as we have done since 2007 to have a drainage system installed and better yet to consult with other reputable waterproofing companies that can provide the type of warranty work that she seeks for her current crawl space situation. We take great pride in the work that we do here at Greentree and to be accused of causing this client more water, mold and stress due to "our" incompetence is insulting considering our advice in helping this client to eliminate the mold, water & stress has been ignored since 2007.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: I was promised a "bone dry" crawlspace. But what I have is fungal growth, 25 moisture level, and floor isn't covered with visqueen.
January 6th, 2010 I signed a contract for $6,050 with Greentree Waterproofing from Springfield IL to do work on my crawlspace. According to the salesperson, Daniel Higgenbotham, I was told when they were done with my crawl space it would be bone dry and spray stuff to kill any fungal growth. While I was extremely disapointed with how long it took them to finish (close to a year I believe), they eventually told me they were done. Had to call them many times to come finish the job. Anyhow after they finally finished, I trusted that they were done being as how I know nothing about crawlspaces and I am not getting down in there.

Fast forward to July 2013, I have a person from ***** down in my crawlspace looking for termites. While he didn't find any termites, he said there was fungal growth all over the place in my crawl space and the moisture level was 25 which was way too high according to him. It should be 15 he said. He also said quite a bit of the floor was not covered with visqueen. He said it was really bad down there and he probably shouldn't have been down there without a mask. Who knows what kind of air I am breathing because Greentree did such a poor job. I am constantly conjested and so is my 7 month old son, I feel horrible for my son who was probably breathing in bad air because of Greentree. Anyhow, I told ***** guy that I spent over 6k to Greentree on my crawlspace and was promised it would be bone dry and that they sprayed stuff to kill fungal growth. While the person from ***** was reluctant to say anything bad about another company, he felt horrible for me for how much money I spent and basically only got a sump pump out of it, the rest was not done correctly. Needless to say, I was thrown back because I thought I would have had a bone dry crawl space with no fungal growth after spending $6,050 to Greentree. Because I refused to deal with Greentree again, I paid Orkin $3,400 to fix up my crawlspace correctly, dry it up, cover the floor, and spray stuff to kill the fungal growth. ***** did an amazing job, contract signed mid July, and they are already done, did not take around year like Greentree. Only had to come out 3 seperate days. The workers were extremely nice and courteous, didn't duck tape card board boxes to my floor like the people from greentree. I probably still have duck tap residue from that on my floor. I didn't have to call them to remind them to come back out and finish. This is the kind of customer service I would have expected from Greentree. It was always my fault according to Greentree, my fault my yard isn't sloped correctly, my fault the vents weren't open enough, my fault I didn't put fans down in crawl space, and they probably think it's my fault for them taking about a year to finish, my fault for having such a muddy crawlspace that they got mud all over my carpet that I had to replace because of that.

I wish I didn't have to complain. But spending another $3,400 to ***** on top of the $6,050 I already paid Greentree on what should have been a bone dry fungal growth free crawlspace is a good enough reason for me to file with the BBB. And who knows what kind of medical problems the fungal growth may have caused for my wife, son, and myself. And due to the moisture level being so high, who knows if I have rotting wood that I am going to have to deal with now. And finally having to replace the stained floor due to the mud. I just feel screwed, plain and simple. After Greentree finished, I just wanted to put things past me and not deal with them again, but I have no choice now but to complain. Again I am not an expert, I would not have known these problems were it not for me having another company down in my crawlspace.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** **********, Manage
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********************@comcast.net
This client has confused two totally different services he has received from ***** Pest Control July 2013 and our company 2/22/2010.****** technician checked for termites in the upper wood construction of the crawl space.****** technician uses a wood humidity probe specifically designed for wood to check humidity level inside the wood, which has nothing to do with humidity levels in the crawl space or the system our company installed.****** sprayed their own special chemical mix & sealer on the wood, covered this area of treatment with a plastic sheeting and lastly installed a dehumidifier. ***** DOES NOT PERFORM ANY WATERPROOFING SERVICES. At no time did this client claim that his crawl space was "wet" nor did he claim that the ***** technician state the crawl space was wet. The initial inspection performed on 1/06/2010 was the most severe case of crawl space flooding our company had ever seen since 1992. The crawl space had completely flooded out with standing water covering the entry way. The client didn't know how long the water had been in there either. Our crews work long miserable hours chest high in muddy water setting up sump pumps just to get this crawl space to the point where a drain tile system could be put in place. The process of drying this crawl space quite naturally took a lot of time from start to finish. A problem for this client was and obviously still is "home maintenance" While our system will handle ground water issues, it is the clients responsibility to periodically test his sump pump and replace it as needed. This client has been instructed repeatedly to make exterior repairs to his home and to perform routine maintenance. It is as the client indicated in his complaint "his fault" when he does nothing to correct a problem that he has been advised to correct. Our system was put in place to handle ground water issues as a result of a rising water table beneath the home. As far as surface water coming into his crawl space from other sources our company was not contracted to address or correct those issues, but we wouldn't be doing our job if we didn't advise the client to make these corrections, which ****** ************ did. The client was informed that he needed new vent wells along the north and south wall, grading with sloping towards the foundation corrected so rainwater will not flow towards the foundation. Client did finally have his gutters replaced, but his down spouts were still dumping right down the side of the foundation upon last service to lay vapor barrier. Since this client admits he will not go into the crawl space then how will he perform sump pump checks? Sure he can always check to see if water is discharging from the discharge line, but going into the your homes crawl space is something he should be able to do. If he doesn't check the discharge line for water exiting when the water table is high, Will he allow the crawl space to flood and then blame our company, probably so. As you will find out by calling any ***** Pest Control Company comparing what they do to what we do is like comparing apples to oranges which is a statement of fact. Our heart and prayers go out to this clients family and their 7 month old son that has been ill since birth that is a very serious matter and we dearly hope that he is getting the best medical attention available.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Responding to Greentree's reply. As for checking for humidity, where do you think that moisture in the wood came from in the first place? The air is where it came from. It is funny you say ***** does not provide any waterproofing services. They sure seemed to know a lot about drying out a crawl space. They said my crawlspace will not get dry without a dehumidifier. I guess having a dryer crawlspace has nothing to do with waterproofing according to Greentree. I guess only partially covering the floor with visqueen is Greentree's idea of waterproofing. ****** fully covered my crawlspace floor. I guess having Fungal Growth after 2 and half years is Greentree's idea of waterproofing. Maybe the only thing Greentree considers as waterproofing was installing a sump pump, but I am sure they will explain in their reply. As far as the crawlspace being wet, every person that has gone down in my crawlspace since Greentree apparently finished comes out muddy. If the floor was fully covered which Greentree was supposed to do, I would think they would be getting a lot less mud on their shoes and clothing. Unless mud can go through visqueen, I am no expert. Because the floor is not fully covered and they are getting mud on their shoes, so another clue it is wet down there. Not to mention the moisture level being 25 when it should be 15, sounds wet to me. As far as my crawlspace being the most severe case since 1992, irrelevant, funny how Greentree never said anything remolely close to this until I filed with the bbb. I refuse to believe they have never had a crawlspace with standing water like my crawlspace was, again irrelevant, but just replying to what they decided to reply with. I believe them when Greentree says they worked long miserable hours, irrelevant however. I work long miserable hours too sometimes to get the job done, plus I was paying them a lot of money to do this work. You said they were working chest high in muddy water, the water was about a foot high, a tad bit of an exaggeration. As far as it naturally taking a long time to dry, I believe you. But it didn't help that you had the water draining a foot away from my house. Where do you think all that water is going to go. I told Greentree to drain it to the road like was discussed when I signed the contract. It didn't help it took you several months to decide to put some fans down there to help dry it out. Then even when it was dry, you guys apparently forgot about me and didn't follow up call like you said you would. I called you after 3 more months went by to come back out and finish and Greentree refused to do any more work without me paying the remaining balance. This was not part of the initial agreement, the initial agreement would be that I would pay the remaining balance when they finished. 2 more months go by and after about a year from the initial contract, Greentree finally said they were finished. As for what they instructed me to do, it was not until after I signed a contract and paid Greentree a down payment and months later that they told me to put in new vent wells, fix the gutters, grade my lawn away from the house. How would you like it if you were told you would have a bone dry crawlspace and paid several thousand as a down payment only to have the contracter backtrack and make you feel trapped into spending more money to get what you were verbally told you would get in the first place. As far as me checking the sump pump, I know nothing about these things, hence we I paid you guys so much money to do this work in the first place. Like anyone who is not handy, I do the best I can to know from an amateur perspective if something is working as intended or not.

So in summarizing here are the facts, I will let whoever reads this to decide who they want to believe. I was verbally promised a bone dry crawlspace and paid $6,050 to Greentree for that. What I have less than 2 and half years later is a fairly muddy crawlspace floor, fungal growth, extremely high moisture levels, and only a partially covered floor with visqueen. Greentree contracters ruined/stained my carpet, had to replace that. It also took them an entire year to complete the job. I had to call them several times to remind them to come back out and work otherwise I am not convinced it would even be finished today. Multiple times they told me they would call in a month to follow up and do some more work and they would not, I would have to call them back because I never heard from them. Then at one point, they outright refused to finish unless I paid for what they had not completed which was not part of the deal. They duck taped cardboard boxes to my floor. I had duck tape residue all over my brand new laminate flooring which was a complete pain to remove. I was stuck in a contract and had already paid Greentree several thousand dollars and it felt like they were piling more expenses/excuses as to why my crawlspace wasn't dry on or they wouldn't finish. Good luck to whoever has to deal with Greentree. Beyond the facts and just in my opinion, if you have a contract with Greentree don't be surprised if they take a long time to finish, leave a mess in your house, make excuses, not do everything they said they would do and you find out later, make false promises of a bone dry crawlspace, and you have to call them repeatedly to finish.

So fast forward to the present, now I am spending another $800 to fully cover my crawlspace floor that Greentree did not cover. I am spending another $800 to spray and kill fungal growth because it is not dry down there. I am spending $1,800 to install a dehumdifier which probably should have been recommended to me by Greentree. I am told by another expert that it simply would not get dry down there without a dehumidifier. I spent $1,000 to replace my flooring that Greentree stained/ruined and I could not get the stain out. And it's impossible for me to quantify the health of my family due to the air quality from fungal growth but can you really put a price on your families health. That is why I am forking out an additional $3,400 listed above to get my crawlspace finally dry which Greentree did not. I really wanted to complain to the bbb about Greentree back in 2010, but I really just wanted to put this fiasco in my past and just move on. I especially did not want to have to deal with Greentree anymore, what a horrible experience that was. But only a few short years later finding out I have fungal growth, extremely high moisture levels, visqueen only partially covering my crawlspace floor and having to fork out another $3,400 to get my crawlspace dry is good enough excuse to complain. So be careful choosing Greentree.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

08/13/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Disputed warranty coverage and/or terms

Complaint: 4/2/2002:Waterproofing installed; Water seepage on inner wall 5/2002; 01/2005, 05/2013; Improper installation of backup pump; flood Apr & May 2013.
Consumer warranty #XXXXX rec'd 4/1/02; paid $5,645 with personal check; Greentree (GWI)Owner,**** **********, advised was not failur of system; he was liable; he could install 20' additional tile along South wall & connect to original tile for $750. I argued it should have been part or original system; **** agreed to only charge $250. Issue did not resolve water seepage in this area. 4/18/2013 lower level had 2-3" water due to backup pump not turning on; GWI Foreman advised float sensor was set to high/could not come on because of pit lid; GWI relocated, reset, retested & advised should be fine. 5/27/13 lower level flooded again because backup pump could not turn on because float sensor hit lid again. **** came/looked at backup pump 5/28/13 & agreed pump did not turn on because float hit lid; to date **** has not contacted us to correct the install; insists now pump is bad & he is not responsible/liable.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: Brenda **********, Manage
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********************@comcast.net
Greentree will summarize our 1st & ONLY complaint for 2013 by this client by addressing the facts, terms and condition which the client fails to understand or admit to. The 4/01/2002 customized waterproofing system which was correctly installed in 2002 and will continue to function correctly addressing the ground water seepage. The May 2002 corner seepage was addressed at no cost to the client, but a service call fee should have been charged since the problem stemmed from faulty guttering allowing water to dump down the interior corners of the foundation, client was advised to have them repaired. After flash flooding hit in Springfield/Sangamon County on 3 particular and separate occasions, this client wants to discredit the National Weather Service by excluding her home as not being a part of Springfield/Sangamon County area. On 1/19/2005 after a flash flood event the client developed a new area of seepage in front of the fireplace, an area where our system was not in place, nor was it an area of seepage in 2002, or covered under our 2002 warranty of work. This client insisted it was Greentree's responsibility to provide this additional work at no cost to her. To appease this client and to stop the emotional drama, that you now are experiencing, the owner of Greentree added additional system footage in front of the fireplace at the cost of materials only that appeased the client. In January 2005, the water table already high from rain fall and then more ground water pressure was added beneath the concrete floor from flash flooding water pressure can open new areas. This is the main reason why damages as a result of "Flash Flooding" is not covered under our warranty. Example: If a foundation shifts as a result of a drought and a crack develops in a wall, this client would assume our company would be liable for that as well. Not any different that a roofing contractor hired to replace a roof on a property and a tornado blows it off, the roofing contractor is not going to return and replace the roof when mother nature has caused the damage. In this case at no time did our system installed in 2002 or the additional 20 feet of system installed in 2005 fail. Our Terms and Condition clearly states #11 Contractor will not be responsible for any damages as a result of pump failures. The battery back up unit and sump pump were not under warranty when the client sustained damages in 2005 or 2013 nor at any time did the client take advantage of the additional sump pump warranty which is #13 on the Terms and Condition the client has in hand on her signed Agreement #XXXXX. When a power outage occurs the sump pump which is an electrical device will not operate, that's when you depend on the battery back up unit to kick in. Bottom line to this complaint is that maintenance is a must. The clients sump pump (manufacturer warranty one year)lived a long life of 11 years before Greentree replaced it 4/19/2013, this clients crawl space had to flood before we received a call for a new sump pump replacement. Average life of a battery for a back up unit is approximately 3 years, this client replaced the battery for the first time according to the receipt provided 6/2/2010 and replaced it again on their own 1/15/2013 showing the life span. The claim is that the back up unit (covered under a one year warranty) never worked or was installed improperly since 2002, 1/19/2005 working fine tested by **** ***** Foreman and if that was true our company would have received calls from this client other than those documented by our company and this client. In closing once our system is in place and accessories are set it is not advisable to tamper with them as Mr ***** had done when he sought **** **********'s assistance to make it work after its life was over. Nor does our company advise making any adjustments without taking responsibility. 4/19/2013 Foreman **** ***** was dispatched to replace the 11 year old sump pump which had failed, he also documented septic back up which the client also denies this client wants you to believe her statements of inaccuracy by Foreman **** ***** in reference to the clients back up system. Had the client requested a service call for the back unit there's no question that Foreman **** ***** would have replaced the non warrantied 11 year old Water Ace unit with a Watch Dog unit since our company no longer installs Water Ace back up units. Had the client asked for a replacement it would have been provided and charged for during the same service call without question. Exterior maintenance, replacing sump pumps, back up units and batteries timely will offer this client peace of mind.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is painfully obvious Greentree Waterproofing, Inc. (GWI) is not interested in trying to resolve the problem of the improperly installed backup pump. When **** Hoehn installed the main pump on 4/19/13, he said the backup pump did not need replaced because there was nothing wrong with it; the float sensor was set too high and the pump could not turn on. If GWI wants to lie about that, and can because no paperwork was provided by **** to indicate he had relocated the backup pump, reset the float sensor on it, and tested it to ensure it would work, then there is nothing I can do to prove otherwise.
When **** ********** came and looked at the backup pump on 5/28/13, he also said the backup pump did not turn on when needed on 5/27/13 because the float sensor was not properly set. Again, if he wants to lie about that, then so be it. Since looking at the backup pump on 5/28/12, GWI has not made any contact/effort to resolve this problem or even install a new pump, if he truly deemed that to be the problem.
Coming home to find two to three inches of water in your home is not a situation anyone would welcome. It is very disturbing and, yes, emotional. This is my HOME - I do not want water in my home so why would I NOT replace the backup pump if it was not working? Again, I invite anyone to come and witness the backup pump works if you lift the float sensor above the pit lid so it CAN turn on - just as it did when **** and **** checked/looked at it on 4/19 and 5/28.
The statement that **** "documented septic backup which the client also denies" is a flagrant lie by GWI. ******* did the cleanup 4/19/13 and 5/27/13. Neither time was there septic backup. If there had been ******* is required to use special treatment procedures - for obvious health and sanitary reasons. Again, if GWI only wants to make up lies rather than deal with, and try to resolve the problems, I refuse to deal with them any longer. This issue IS NOT resolved and I strongly discourage the general public from using this company.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company provided proper verification that indicated there was no obligation to resolve the issues of the complaint.

04/18/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Foundation Contractors, Deck Cleaning and Waterproofing, Mold & Mildew Remediation, Water Damage Restoration, Basement Waterproofing, Waterproofing Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/06/1992Business started: 10/08/1992
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Merrifield Sr. (President)
Number of Employees

20

Business Category

Foundation Contractors, Deck Cleaning and Waterproofing, Mold & Mildew Remediation, Water Damage Restoration, Basement Waterproofing, Waterproofing Contractors

Products & Services

This company offers subfloor and subsoil gravity flow systems for basements and crawlspaces. They also provide french drain systems, installation of sump pumps, sump pits, egress windows, cracks repair, wall bracing, crawl entries, battery back up units, thermovents and wall replacement.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMSat: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

Transferrable Life of the Foundation Warranties on subfloor and subsoil drainage systems

Service Area

Central IL serving a 90 mile radius around Springfield, IL

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

12 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Greentree Waterproofing, Inc.

300 North 17th Street

Springfield, IL 62702-5705

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 300 North 17th Street 

    Springfield, IL 62702-5705(309) 451-1138
    (309) 681-1345
    (800) 831-0112
    (217) 525-2224

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Greentree Waterproofing, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (309) 451-1138
  • (309) 681-1345
  • (800) 831-0112
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Foundation Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.