BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2013

EP Technology Corporation U.S.A

Find a Location

Phone: (866) 888-2452Fax: (217) 351-7825View Additional Phone Numbers1401 Interstate Dr, ChampaignIL 61822-1173View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2013

BBB has determined that EP Technology Corporation U.S.A meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised EP Technology Corporation U.S.A's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 28 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

28 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues8
Problems with Product / Service16
Total Closed Complaints 28

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on EP Technology Corporation U.S.A

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (28)BBB Closure Definitions
01/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered Zmodo NVR system and added two additional wireless cameras. Had issues with system since day one. Need to return for refund.
I ordered (Order# XXX-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXX) a "Zmodo Wireless Mini NVR Security Surveillance System With 2 Wi-FI Network IP Wireless Security Cameras With 2.5 inch 500GB Hard Drive" from ****** on August 25, 2014 price paid using my ****** **** ending in **** was $373.99 + taxes $22.44 = Grand Total: $396.43. Then on August 27, 2014, (Order# XXX-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXX) I picked up two of Zmodo wifi cameras "720P HD H.264 PoE IP Infrared Weatherproof Camera with QR Code Smartphone Setup" Sold by: xsecu. Amount paid was $149.98. I have had issues since day one with these items. I have called customer service with both ****** and with Zmodo. Zmodo tells me to return the items for a full refund to ******* ****** tells me to return to Zmodo. ****** tells me that I had until Sept. 25 to return the items. That time has passed. One of the issues I had was the NVR portion was not working properly. It took 6 weeks to send the NVR to Zmodo so they can troubleshoot it and send it back to me. Once I received it back, I still had issues. I was fed up and just wanted to return it for a refund. However, I learned my time was up. Very frustrated I tried to return the items at Zmodo. They told me to return to where I purchased so I am opening up this complaint with the BBB hoping that Zmodo will allow me to return the items. The items are in the original boxes and are in mint condition. They have been in the boxes since the day I gave up which was the first week of October. Someone told me to open a complaint with the BBB and just try to see what will happen. So I am trying and hoping for the best.

Desired Settlement
Total refund I am looking for from Zmodo is $546.41. This is for my two Amazon orders ($396.43) Order# XXX-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXX and ($149.98) Order# XXX-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXX. I will gladly return the items to wherever Zmodo wants me to return them to.

Business Response
Good afternoon,
My name is ****** ***** and I am happy to follow up with this case. I understand that **** ***** is asking the manufacturer for a refund for products purchased in August.

Since Mr. *****'s items were purchased from a 3rd party distributor, we unfortunately do not have the option to issue a refund even if the items were purchased more recently.

Zmodo products that are sold from an ****** vendor (or any other majoy distributor) are ordered in bulk from our Zmodo warehouse and shipped in large quantities to a distributor's warehouse not owned by Zmodo USA. The process for returning an item to a distributor involves shipping the item back to the distributor and not to Zmodo USA's warehouse. Distributors will periodically ship their entire inventory of returned Zmodo products to Zmodo USA for a credit toward future orders. The process for returning (for refund) a Zmodo product purchased from a distributor never involves the customer shipping items directly to Zmodo USA for a refund.

So I am sorry to say that we simply do not have the option to issue a refund toward items purchased from a distributor even if the items were purchased within the 30 day refund window.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Already received refund

01/12/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Zmodo and its vendors willfully cause the thirty day warranty to expire on faulty product, then tell you: "The warranty is expired; so no refund".
September 17th I purchased a surveillance system, I recieved the system aproximately Oct. 2nd. It was installed and I began having problems by October 7th. I had to return (1) camera. I was told by its Vendor Tiger Direct; to return it to Manufacturer for replacement. I received the replacement camera and it malfunctioned immediately. I returned it and one other camera that wasn't working, before the 30 day period; so after all the back and forth shipping and receiving and returning, now I am past the 30 expiration and Zmodo will not issue a refund.

Desired Settlement
please accept your system in its entirety and return my purchase price and shipping.

Business Response
My name is ****** ***** with Zmodo USA and I am happy to follow up with this case. I understand that Mr. ***** ****** is requesting a full refund for items purchased in Fall of 2014. Unfortunately since he purchased his items from the vendor Tiger Direct and not from Zmodo USA, we do not have his transaction and we are unable to issue him a refund.

Zmodo products that are sold from Tiger Direct are ordered in bulk from our Zmodo warehouse and shipped in large quantities to a distributor's warehouse not owned by Zmodo USA. The process for returning an item to Tiger Direct involves shipping the item to a Tiger Direct facility and not to Zmodo USA's warehouse. Tiger Direct will periodically ship their entire inventory of returned Zmodo products to Zmodo USA for a credit toward future orders. The process for returning (for refund) a Zmodo product purchased from Tiger Direct never involves the customer shipping items directly to Zmodo USA for a refund.

As the manufacturer, we are able to replace and repair any Zmodo items under the one year warranty. The warranty for Mr. ******'s items is valid until September 17th 2015, and we have communicated to Mr. ****** that we are happy to work with Mr. ****** to make sure that all of his Zmodo products are fully functional.

I see that Zmodo USA emailed pre-paid shipping labels to Mr. ****** for both warranty repair RMAs, and both paid shipping labels were not used. Therefore, we would be happy to refund the ground shipping cost to Mr. ******. He can call XXX-XXX-XXXX and reference RMA# XXXXX, then the agent will be able to officiate a refund check for ground shipping costs.

Best regards,

****** *****

08/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Surveillance cameras constantly freeze & cease to operate. Only way to revive is to reset power, however, the cameras again freeze up.
This order O-CCTV-4JXXXXXXXX-X was for the 4 wireless cameras with a Zmodo NVR purchased Oct 22, 2013. Since January, I have experienced considerable failures with the cameras (freezing up). The only way to restore them is to remove power for some considerable time to get them working again. I have been in almost constant contact with Zmodo support regarding this problem. One camera was shipped back and analyzed by Zmodo support. They shipped a new camera which was as bad as the inoperable one. I have on file 25 emails to their Tech support in attempts to fix these problems. Tech Support always gets the cameras operating again by remote controll of my computer. However, they just freeze up shortly after. If the cameras are not reset by removal of power, they will remain "frozen".

I can not expect reasonable camera operation so the system is worthless to me. The company has refused my request for a refund with the only promise to accept return for repair. However, I have no confidence in this approach since it did not work before.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund of the purchase price of $349.99 since the product is unreliable to the point of being non-useable.

Business Response
I am sorry to hear that Mr. ******'s NVR system has not been functioning correctly. I can see from the email correspondence that Mr. ****** contacted Zmodo support in January due to the fact that the cameras were inconsistently connecting to the router using the wireless signal, and some troubleshooting was done at that time. The next correspondence after January took place in June in which we were able to improve the power setup and determine that one camera had a completely defective wireless card. After replacing the defective camera, the replacement camera seemed to be connecting intermittently to the router over the wireless connection.

I am sorry to say that we are unable to issue a refund for a product that was purchased more than 30 days ago, we can only offer warranty repair and replacement up to one year after the original purchase date when necessary.

Based on the email correspondence, it looks like the cameras are borderline out of the WiFi range of Mr. ******'s router and WiFi extender. If the cameras are borderline out of WiFi range, it is normal to see the cameras lose connection and display the last recorded image on the screen until the cameras are power cycled.

My recommendation at this time would be to login to each of the four cameras using the ZViewer desktop program and enable the "Timed Reboot" feature. This feature will power cycle each camera every 24 hours which will help each of the cameras remain connected to the Wireless internet signal to the router. If Timed Reboot does not solve the issue, we would then recommend to either position the cameras closer to the wireless router or to run an Ethernet cable from each camera to the wireless router.

08/12/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i ordered a sony color outdoor security camera on 7-11-14 and never got it.
i ordered a sony color ccd outdoor security bullet camera with free power suppy and 30 ft of video power cable zmd -cnr bbs23nm-bk sony out door camera ps-115 12v 1,500ma power for security camera ,sku camkit1-zmd-cnr bbs23nm-bk-ps 115-w-vp1010.shipment #s- cctv-5g00029275 for order #o-cctv5g00129149 on 7-11-2014 i checked the tracking # and it said ups had delivered it to the front desk of an address with last name ****. MY last name is *******. i was there all day and i did not see any ups truck .i called the customer service of cctvhotdeals and explained it all to a man name (rahay).he said that he would turn it over to a girl name renay.in the mean time i was not given an answer if i was going to get my camera .the ups tracking number is 1ZX0646FXXXXXXXXXX,THEY suppose to be invesigating it.i have had problems with the last three times getting packages from united parcel service.i got one package on the bottom of my step left in feb 2014 and another one left at at a abandonded storage builing that no one lived at.now i didnt even get the 3rd package. i gave $27.99 FOR THE CAMERA ON MY VISA CARD .ID LIKE A CAMERA ,POWER CORD,30 FEET OF VIDEO CORD.LIKE I WHAT I ORDERED.MY ADDRESS ***** ******* *** ******** ***** ** ********* **** XXXXX PHONE XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
sony color ccd outdoor security bullet camera zmd-cnr-bbs23nm-bk sony out door camera power option - power ,with free power cord and 30 ft video cord.w-vpXXXX XX ft premade siamese cctv video + powe cable shipment # s-cctv-5gXXXXXXXX for order o-cctv-5gXXXXXXXXsku camkit1-zmd-cnr-bbs23nm-bk-ps 115-w-vp1010 qty 1 shipped by united parcel service.tracking # 1zx0646fXXXXXXXXXX .it was ordered on X-XX-XX by ************************************************************ home pnone XXX-XXX-XXXX i checked on the delivery date on X-XX-XX and by the tracking #.it stated it had been delivered to some on with last name ****.i called cctvhotdeals and spoke to a customer service man name (rohah) and explained this to him.my name is ************* and the camera was delivered to a person name ****.they said they would investigate it ,but did not tell me if i would get my camera.they said they would check on it. i paid $27.99 by visa account for the camera but didnt get it.now i iam being told to wait with out any guarantee id get my camera.i dont know whats truely going on ,so i decided to contact the bbb.

Business Response
Hello,
I am sorry that there was a delay in the initial shipping process for this order, and I would like to apologize for any inconvenience this has caused. Upon our being contacted by Mr. ******* on 7-15-14 we initiated an investigation with UPS to determine why the order had not been received when stated as delivered. Upon contacting UPS they determined that the package was not at the correct location. They were able to locate the package and they indicated that the package was then delivered to the correct address on 7/16/2014. The tracking number for this is 1ZX0646FXXXXXXXXXX.

07/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Product quality is not as expected
I have had problems with my PTZ Camera purchased in April 2013 most recently in February 2014. It no longer works. I finally was able to get through a CS Rep by phone (after several attempts being put on hold for long periods of time). I have also sent emails requesting assistance with the return of the defective camera and have also tried to contact CCTVHotDeals by chat, no response from them. When I did request a warranty return of the camera, I was denied because the time had passed to just over a year. The camera stopped working back in February 2014, I wasn't able to get through to a CS Rep. I'm disappointed that the product didn't last more than a year. I'm requesting that the camera be replaced at no charge. Thanks.

Desired Settlement
I'm requesting the camera be replaced because it stopped working back in February 2014.

Business Response
Hello,
I am sorry to hear that Mr. ******'s camera had stopped functioning correctly. I can see from the email communication that Zmodo RMA technicians were able to repair the damaged camera by using refurbished parts, and the original camera is currently in working condition. Since the camera's warranty had expired by 41 days at the time that we were notified of any malfunction, the RMA technicians did not have the option to replace the camera.

In the event that a defective item is returned to our warehouse after the warranty period is expired, the RMA technicians only have the option to either refuse the returned item or repair the returned item at the cost of labor and replacement parts. As of July 15th, the repair cost in the amount of $14.28 has been received from Mr. ******'s PayPal account, and the RMA has been updated so that we can ship out the repaired camera today.

I hope that this outcome has let to a satisfactory solution and that the camera will continue to serve its security needs for a long time to come.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I'm completely satisfied with the repair of the security camera. I appreciate their cooperation and their willingness to resolve my concern.

Page 1 of 4
08/01/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 9-13-2013 I purchase a 8 channel dvr security cameras system from amazon and on 7/7/14 the dvr system stopped working
The dvr stopped working so I contacted customer service to get tge dvr repaired and I am being told that I have to pay to send the camera system back to them for service when it dont state in their warranty that I have to pay and I found out that none of the cameras are working when I hooked it up to another dvr system

Desired Settlement
I want the dvr system replaced and the four dome cameras and four bullet cameras replaced

Business Response
Hello,
I am sorry to hear that Mr. *******'s DVR and cameras are no longer operating as intended. We would be happy to find a solution to this situation that quickly resolves the product issues that Mr. ******* is experiencing.

I was able to listen to the three phone calls that Mr. ******* made to Zmodo technical support, and I personally recommend that additional troubleshooting is done before any of the equipment is sent back for repair or replacement. Only in the the last out of the three phone calls did Mr. ******* mention that the DVR was no longer powering on, and during that phone call Mr. ******* did not seem to be willing to try a different power source to determine whether the problem was related to the DVR or related to an external factor.

Either of the 12V power adapters that were packaged with the cameras can be used to power the DVR for short periods of time, so we first recommend that Mr. ******* plug one of the 12V camera power adapters into the DVR to see if the camera power adapter successfully turns on the DVR. If the camera power adapter can power on the DVR, we can solve the issue by simply mailing out a replacement DVR power adapter.

If we can narrow down the underlying problem before Mr. ******* ships any equipment back for repair, this would help move the process along more efficiently because the repair technicians will not exchange or make any alterations to the original returned equipment if they are unable to reproduce any defects with the returned equipment.

In regards to Mr. *******'s complaint about repair costs, all costs of replacement parts and labor are completely covered under the one year warranty as stated on our Return Policy page at http://www.zmodo.com/rma/. The customer's only responsibility is to have the defective product(s) returned to the Zmodo repair facility using any preferred method of shipping.

At this time, we believe that the best action is for Mr. ******* to reach out to Zmodo technical support either by phone or email at support@zmodo.com so that we can help to determine the reason for the malfunction, and then we can act on that outcome appropriately.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In response to the letter from zmodo if in fact that he did listen the last call i made to the company gee would have had heard me going though the steps with them with even I did use another power source and in a different locayion with it not powering on and I went thought all the steps that the tech wanted me to do and if you read on the warranty card it doesn't say I have to post to ship the item to them it started that all parts and labor would be covered I am not Haiti Ruth this company and I still want my dvr and camera's replaced

06/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Zmodo Zsight android application is not working as it should be. I purchased 13 wireless IP cameras from Zmodo and they are not working as advertised
I purchased 13 Zmodo wireless IP cameras (at an average of $50 each)from October of 2013 to January of 2014. I purchased these cameras since they were advertised as being "plug and play" via their Zsight application. At first these cameras were easy to configure and worked great. Then the trouble started in about mid-January of this year (2014). The cameras would only show up on your cell phone when you were at home and on the same network as the cameras. You could no longer see them from anywhere else in the world like you were once able to. Zmodo said that there was no issue on their end and that it had to be an issue with my home network. I spent hours on the phone with the Zmodo tech group, my ISP, and even hired two different IT gurus to come to my house to see what was wrong. Nothing. About 2 weeks later the cameras magically started working again while outside my network. No explanation as to why. All was fine until early April when the whole thing started all over again. This time I managed to get in contact with a man in England who was having the exact same issues at exactly the same time. His cameras would stop working exactly the same day mine would and start working again the same day. Imagine that. I connected with him through the reviews section of the Zmodo Zsight application on the Google Android Play Store - where complaints about this exact same issue were and still are building. At this point I finally had one person from the Zmodo tech group admit to me (in an email dated April 9th) that these cameras route through a P2P server at Zmodo and this server was prone to failing and that they (Zmodo) had to take it down often for maintenance too. All the while their answer was for me to try using a different application (Zviewer). This application is much more cumbersome though and won't work correctly for my what I need. Again, I purchased these cameras because they advertise the Zsight application in their ebay auctions, on the boxes the cameras arrive in and in the instruction manual! Anyway, about 2 weeks later the cameras magically started working again.

Here we are in May of 2014 and the cameras stopped working outside of my network again and we are now going on 2 weeks and counting. Even today the tech groups answer (again) was to use the Zviewer application. NOT WHAT I BOUGHT THEM FOR! If Zsight is not working then why is it being used as bait to sell these cameras? All I would like is for Zmodo to openly acknowledge that they have issues with this Zsight application and for them to put a high priority on fixing this once and for all. I've even written a letter to the CEO of Zmodo and EP Technologies (Dr. ***** ***) expressing my disappointment about this entire nightmare but to no surprise it has yet to be acknowledged.

Desired Settlement
All I would like is for Zmodo to openly acknowledge that they have issues with this Zsight application and for them to put a high priority on fixing this once and for all. I don't believe that getting an application that was running fine up and running smoothly and consistently again is too much to ask.

Business Response
Hello,
I am sorry to hear that Mr. *** has experienced so much inconvenience in using the Zmodo Zsight mobile app. I can see from his original BBB complaint that the ZSight app seemed to work inconsistently and the Zmodo technicians did not provide a clear answer as to why ZSight would function inconsistently. I also see in some of Mr. ***'s emails to us that sometimes ZSight would connect successfully on one mobile device but it would not connect successfully on a different mobile device.

I understand that this must be very frustratingas your security system should be expected to be accessible at all times. The Zmodo P2P server did temporarily go offline for maintenance in April, but other than that we are showing consistent server functionality for the P2P server. The issue with P2P generally is that it is going to have a much slower connection than opening the cameras' ports (port forwarding) on the router that the cameras are connected to. Sometimes if the P2P connection is too slow, the connection will time out and ZSight will not connect to the camera.

The ZViewer mobile app that was recommended utilizes a port forwarded connection instead of the P2P connection. Port forwarding is going to connect much faster and more consistently because this type of connection creates a small secure hole in your router's infrastructure for the camera signal to use to access the internet. P2P connection links your camera signal to the internet by creating a path that connects the camera's signal to a website which then links the camera signal to the internet. Basically, the camera signal must travel a much farther distance when using P2P connection instead of port forwarding and this slows down the connection a great deal.

We recognize that the inconsistent connection is a problem for users who need to connect regularly to multiple cameras and NVRs. In the event that a customer is unable to connect consistently with ZSight, our tech support will recommend ZViewer as a backup option so that the customer can view their cameras even if the P2P connection is too slow.

In regards to prioritizing ZSight, I can say that this is currently our flagship product mobile app and the majority of our R&D resources are dedicated to improving products that use ZSight and P2P server stability. We conduct large scale home-tests & stress tests every time a new ZSight update is released or when an update is done to the P2P server, and we strive to make our that stress test & home test results improve with each update.

Consumer Response
An Android update was released on 5/26/14 that presented a complete new format on how Zsight looked and functioned. Unfortunately this did not change the core issue of the cameras no working remotely. Complaints continue to be posted on the review section of the Zsight app on the Android playstore because of this issue.

Final Business Response
Good afternoon,
I am sorry to see that Mr. *** continues to be unsatisfied with the ZSight application and the update that was published on May 27th.

I must also admit that I am at a loss as to what Mr. ***'s desired resolution is. In our original reply we stated that the P2P based ZSight application is both a high priority for continual improvement and an inherently slow connection type that may result in unsuccessful connection. The fact that a new ZSight update was published both on May 27th and on June 11th demonstrates that the improvement of this app is a large priority for Zmodo.

We also offered the solution of using a different app that Zmodo has developed that will connect successfully all the time if configured correctly.

Best regards,
******::

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Not satisfied. The Zsight application was working and working fine (outside of home networks) for months so what's the problem with getting it back online? It has not been working for well over a month now but meanwhile Zmodo / EP Tech continues to sell these wireless cameras under false pretenses that this application is working fine as they still advertise the Zsight application on their own ebay auctions and on the boxes the cameras come in. The people who buy these are literally being lied to every time they purchase one of these cameras.

This is the first time that I have ever felt the need to get help from the BBB and I will be very disappointed with this process if the BBB closes this case based on EP Technology saying that they're making this a priority.

JUST PUT EVERYTHING BACK TO WHERE IT WAS A COUPLE MONTHS AGO AND EVERYTHING WOULD BE FINE!

10/24/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Customer service would not honor warranty as stated 1 yr warrenty on new camera after on going issues with moisture build up
I have contacted the company numerous time in regarding CM-Z2213GY PTZ Dome Camera. Water/moisture builds up in lens. Many online forums are stating same issue. I returned first camera with email proof of brand new not refurbished in return, current camera has been up for one night and has moisture build up in lens once again. Clearly a manufacture defect.

Desired Settlement
I'm seeking a refund since company does not offer other cameras with same features.

Business Response
Hello,
I am sorry to hear that Mr. **********'s CM-Z2213GY PTZ camera is no longer operating as intended. According to our records, we only show one purchase for a CM-Z2213GY camera and that purchase took place on April 30th, 2012.

All Zmodo products come with a one year warranty, and unfortunately the camera purchased in April 2012 is no longer under warranty. The original camera was replaced with a new camera in October 2012, however this does not extend the original warranty period.

In the case that a product under warranty is found to be defective and the Zmodo RMA department is unable to replace that defective item, we do have the option to refund the value of that product to the client. Unfortunately in this case, we are unable to offer a refund because the warranty has expired for Mr. **********'s CM-Z2213GY camera.
If Mr. ********** calls Zmodo technical support at 866-551-6881, we would be happy to assist in any troubleshooting. We are also available by email at support@zmodo.com.

Final Consumer Response
According to Zmodo Warranty, All new products have a one year warranty. I was promised in writing that i would receive new camera due to first camera issue. I did read the warranty a few times over and their is no mention of warranty being transferred to refurbished or returned cameras. I will file a complaint with Attorney Generals office for breach of warranty. EP is simply trying to protect the company and does not care about the customer when they are in the right.

Final Business Response
Hello,
I am sorry to say that the warranty period only covers the first 12 months after the initial ship date after the product is originally purchased. The wording of the warranty is actually "All products carry a 1-year warranty unless otherwise indicated" (http://www.zmodo.com/faq-page/) There is no mention of the warranty being transferred in the case of a repair or exchange because there is no warranty transfer option. With all due respect, the omission of a warranty transfer statement does not express or imply that a warranty transfer would be granted in the situation that the original product was replaced under warranty. It is also stated in the warranty that Zmodo reserves the right to determine if the product is within warranty or not.

We are always happy to offer troubleshooting tips over email, livechat, or by phone if Mr. ********** would like any assistance in repairing the video image quality on his Z2213GY camera.

10/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have a product that was purchased and with-in 3 months the product has become defective, different components of the entire unit.
On June 23, 2013I purchased the ZMODO 8CH CCTV DVR & 8 480TVL 66ft IR Night Vision Security Cameras 500GB from a partnering company that sells the product. On the week of July 15-20 I had sent back 2 of the 8 cameras due to a "black out" on the cameras. By July 27, 2013 I had already had to send back 2 cameras, I had been on the phone with Zmodo tech support constantly, 11 times in that month totaling 154 minutes, according to my phone statement. Considering they are only open M-F, I had spent 1/2 the time I have had the unit on the phone with them trying to fix problems. I have spent numerous hours on the Knowledge Base website supplied by Zmodo to help with answers. i then had another call into customer support on 8/06/2013 for an issue with the Ethernet Port, which is part of the mother board and from what I was told, it has to be replaced. By September 16, 2013 I had 14 calls and over 300 minutes logged in with Zmodo. It was relayed that the unit will need to be replaced with out a doubt, no other way around it. But I am being told that I either have to disconnect my unit and mail it back with an RMA and wait for it to be fixed, or I have to put allow them to charge me $165.00 as a security deposit to have another unit sent to me. I speak to a supervisor, ****** ******* who stated that he was going to see what he can do about getting me another DVR unit without being out $165 deposit or security for my business.On September 17, 2013 I got the email stating he will not be able to do anything for me. I find this to be extremely poor business practice to require a customer who has problems with a product that they purchased to supply a deposit or do without until who knows when waiting for the repair. The problem lies in the fact that I did not break the unit. If I did, then yes, it is my responsibility to put down a deposit or do without. But it is a faulty unit. I should not be required to accommodate the company for their mishaps.

Desired Settlement
The problem is not the recording on this unit, so I still have recording for my business. The problem is the Ethernet port. It is not allowing me to view on my smart phone and it is not getting an IP Address. I am required to send my unit in for repair, thus leaving my business unprotected on security. Or I have to give the company a $165.00 hold for a unit to be sent to me and when I old unit gets back to them, they will release the hold. So, I am looking at 10-20 days. The problem lies in the fact that I did not break the unit. If I did, then yes, it would be my responsibility to put down a deposit or do without security while I wait for it to be repaired. But it is a faulty unit. I should not be required to accommodate the company for their products mishaps. I am asking that the company please send me a replacement unit at no charge or loss of security to me taking into consideration all of the problems I have had with this unit. I have not had this unit for 90 days and have already encountered more problems, more time, more phone calls, and more stress than any customer should have to experience when the unit has a 2 year warranty. I have exhausted all of my options dealing with the people answering the phones that I was forced to make a BBB complaint. I chose Zmodo after doing my research for a company with great tech and customer support and in leadership in the security and surveillance community. I am beginning to believe I made a mistake.

Business Response
Hello,
I am sorry to hear that a resolution has not yet been reached for Mr. ****** ****'s defective DVR unit. After reading through the notes on Mr. ****'s case number XXXXX, I agree that it is very likely that Mr. ****'s DVR is in need of repair or replacement because it is no longer able to generate a network connection when it is connected to a router. The usual procedure when a product is defective under warranty is for the client to ship the item back to the manufacturer Zmodo, and Zmodo will ship a repaired or replaced product back to the client.

Since Zmodo sells security hardware, we recognize the need to be able to offer an advanced replacement and ship out a replacement to the client before the client ships back the product. In order to officiate an advanced replacement, we require that we place a hold authorization on the client's credit cared for the value of the product that needs to be replaced. This hold authorization is insurance for Zmodo that the original defective product be sent back to us. This hold authorization is voided when we receive the original product back to us, so that the client is never charged for their advanced replacement. We do not have the option to send out a replacement product without either receiving the original product back or issuing a hold authorization on a client's credit card.

We are happy to resolve this issue and we are able to replace Mr. ****'s DVR either when we receive the original DVR back or when we receive a hold-authorization.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Please allow me this opportunity to thank the BBB staff for helping us resolve this matter. I refuse to accept this response as being true. And if it were indeed a true response, then in my numerous phone calls to the company have been lies. My last conversation with ****** ******* a supervisor, resulted with a comment like this, "Mr. ****, I have read the notes on this account and see you have had more than your share of problems with this product. Typically, w do not allow the replacement because we have lost money not getting the units returned to us which is why we do require the unit to be returned to us or a $165 authorization hold on your credit or debit card, that is released when our bad unit is returned, but we have done it before without either in some extraordinary cases like yours. It is not something I can authorize myself, I have to go to my manager. I am on my way to a meeting in 7 minutes but when I get out of that meeting I will get with my manager and see if I can't get this authorized for you." You state that it can not be done unless you have one of the two things your company requires but yet a supervisor was tiring to have it done without either. If it is not something your company allows, then why train your staff to go to higher management to get it approved? Or was I just lied to to shut me up? This is the email response I received from ****** Shultz: Good morning Mr. ****, My apologies for you not receiving an email last night. I had to leave the office early. It doesn't look like we are going to be able to ship the unit out without securing some funds on a credit card. I'm happy to put a rush on the replacement once we receive your unit. Feel free to call or email if you want to proceed with the replacement and I'll get it setup.
Now, it took me a month to get 2 cameras that I sent in for replacement and you want me to tie up $165 for that same time frame? Your company expects me to have to suffer hardship of freezing money or doing without a recording unit for something that your company did wrong? I did nothing wrong with the unit, if I did it would be on me to accommodate your company policy. Your unit is defective and I have been an unhappy camper since the purchase of this unit with my never ending phone calls to your company to fix problem after another. Of course now I am in a tighter spot than most because your company really does not care about me, the customer. You made your money of my purchase of the unit and because you only allow a 30 day money back return, I am unable to purchase a product from a different, more customer satisfying company, and return your product for a refund. So, I purchased a **** unit and I have to give company satisfaction to get it replaced. I thought it was customer satisfaction?? I do not feel I am asking for any unreasonable demands here. Send me a replacement unit and an RMA so that when the replacement unit arrives, I take it out and place the defective one in it's place and send it back.
It would be more understanding for me to abide by your "company rules" if this was first and only time dealing with the company. But I have hours of phone calls to your company from one problem to the next. I would also be more understanding if it were not for your company employees telling me things differently from what you are telling me.

Thank you!
****** ****

Final Business Response
Hello,
I am sorry to hear that we still have not found a solution for Mr. ****'s DVR replacement. From what I gather from Mr. ****'s response, Mr. **** is upset because he not only feels entitled to an advanced replacement with no credit card authorization, but also that he feels that Zmodo employees have fed him inconsistent information and/or false information.

At this time, we still do not have the option to send out a replacement unit without first receiving either the original defective unit back, or placing a hold authorization on a credit card for the value of the DVR unit.

According to the call recording that took place between Mr. **** and Support Lead Bryant Irwin on September 16th, Zmodo is no longer able to make any exceptions to our replacement procedure--and therefore we are unable to send out a replacement without either the original DVR or a hold authorization. Bryant let Mr. **** know that previous exceptions to this procedure would often result in the client never sending the original unit back. Bryant decided to offer this information to Mr. **** as an attempt to try to explain the reasons why we are unable to send an advanced replacement with no hold authorization.

When Support Director ****** ******* spoke with Mr. **** on September 17th, ****** also explained that Zmodo was no longer able to make any exceptions of this matter and that we were therefore unable to send an advanced replacement with no hold authorization. Despite our explanations, Mr. **** requested for ****** ******* to look into authorizing an advanced replacement with no credit card. Mr. ******* did so upon request, and was quickly denied approval to send an advanced replacement with no credit card authorization.

We would like to resolve this issue and replace Mr. ****'d defective product, and we regret that Mr. ****'s DVR unit has malfunctioned so soon after the purchase date. However, it is not common practice for a manufacturer to send out a new replacement piece of electronics with no insurance that the original piece of electronics will be returned to the manufacturer.

We are still happy to expedite the replacement process when the manufacturer either receives a credit card authorization or the original defective product returned to us, please let us know if there are any questions.

09/19/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Problem wit company's idea of replacement items. the conditions of the replacement delivered,the warrantee of the replacement items. No communication.
I have been having a problem communicating with EP Technology Corporation USA of Champion, IL.

I bought and paid through paypal a $279.85 dollar, Item# XXXXXXXXXXXX ZMODO 4CH Surveillance DVR 4 Outdoor Day Night Weatherproof Camera System 500GB through ebay back in Oct 2012. By the month of May or very end of April, the cameras were not showing signals on all for cameras feeding into my spare 57 inch TV. I made an appointment with a licensed electrician. I had a licensed electrician come in an check all connections and functions. He even brought over older black and white cameras that he owns and connected them to the DVR and they produced an image. He concluded that it was not the DVR, but the cameras themselves with the issue. On June 18th, 2013, I began communicating via email to the Zmodo customer service in regards to the warrantee which is honored for a year from the original purchase date OCT, 21, 2012. I received instructions on how to go about sending in the warrantee card by a person named ********** I then went on to explain to '*****' that all four cameras were not giving out a signal an image to the TV and that a licensed electrician tested them all. She gives me instructions via email on what to package up and send to there RMA department at EP Technology Corporation in Champion, IL. ***** then sends a RMA number RMA# RMA-4GXXXXXXXX-RE so I can have the items shipped to there RMA dept.. However, during the process, the cameras were shipped back to my front door. I notified the Zmodo customer service of this minor mishap. They respond in the positive. "That's ok" . I later received an email from the Zmodo CS stating that the items were delivered to them on July 26th, 2013.
Per the Zmodo return policy http://www.zmodo.com/rma/
I, the customer are to follow AND fulfill these Zmodo Guidelines for the company to proceed with there inspection of the items when delivered to the RMA dept in Champion, IL:RMA# RMA-4GXXXXXXXX-RE
Products must be complete with any standard certification labels (UL listing, capacity, brand name, UPC code) originally placed and not tampered with. Products must be free of any permanent alterations including, but not limited to paint, altered connection inputs, severed wires or cables, or indication of removed screws/fasteners or seals.

Products must be free from damage of any type, including, but not limited to dents, scratches, cracks, abuse, defacement or damage resulting from power surges. Products so labeled with a security seal, must have the seal intact and not tampered with."

I followed the instructions of the Zmodo CS dept. But, Zmodo did not. My money was neither refunded nor were the items I sent in repaired. I sent in cameras that were less than a year old. No physical or structural damage to the cameras. I even took pictures of the camera in the box while I was packaging them up in. In return, from Zmodo's RMA department at EP Technology Corp., I was sent REPLACEMENT cameras that were the opposite of what is required of the customer in there Inspection Criteria. The camera's I received on or about Aug 5th, 2013 appear to be scratched, cracked and abused, and the labels with the seals are not intact and appear to be tampered with. I notified the Zmodo CS of this for Zmodo has a policy in regard. I have not received a response yet. My first complaint of this occurred on the 8th of Aug., 2013. My electrician advised me to notify the about the conditions of the cameras, especially the camera with the cracked lens on delivery for it is probably no longer waterproof as the camera are marketed and manufactured to be.

What is my next step?

Zmodo has not returned any communications concerning the warrantee of the replacements or of the conditions in which the cameras were delivered to my home. I have every correspondence and image of the original cameras if needed. I also told Zmodo about this. No response.

Desired Settlement
I would either like another replacement of camera that were of the same quality of the cameras I sent. Not once was I notified of the cameras being delievered damamged structurally or physically as the replacements sent back to me. they are all tampered with as far as the labels,one rattles as if a screw is loose on the inside, the wires look abused, and a lens is completely cracked which probably means it is NOT waterproof as the product is supposed to be.

Business Response
Good afternoon,
I am sorry to hear that this RMA is yet to be resolved.


According to the technician notes on RMA-4GXXXXXXXX-RE, all four cameras operate as designed. The RMA technicians were unable to reproduce any problems or defects with the four cameras. In the event that the RMA technicians cannot replicate any problems at all with the returned items, they will ship the same original items back to the client.


They did note that they replaced the 12V 1A power adapter with a 12V 3A power adapter so to guarantee that the cameras receive enough voltage and amperage during use. The original 12V 1A power adapter was not defective, but pushing additional amperage to the cameras can help to improve the working lifetime of the cameras.


At this point, we recommend that the client contact Zmodo technical support either by email or by phone at XXX-XXX-XXXX to troubleshoot the camera connections. The last recorded phone conversation that we have with this client is on July 9th, and the last email that we have from ********@yahoo.com is from July 11th. We would be happy to discuss this matter further.

Best regards,
******


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all, I have emails dating back to June 18, 2013 with Zmodo. I initially inquired about the warrantee in which****** answered my questions. That same day, June 18, 2013,****** told me that I could send in the warrantee card to the address she provided EPTCO 1401 Interstate Drive Champaign, Il XXXXX and she stated "we will register it online for you." From June 18th, 2013 to July 1, 2013, I had not heard back from****** regarding the registration of the warrantee that I sent to the address provided by******. So, on July 1, 2013, I asked the Zmodo CS****** if they had indeed registered the cameras warrantee.****** answered on July 2,2013, and in that message,****** typed "If you need to contact us for any warranty REPAIRS, OUR RMA department will ask to see your invoice. It is not necessary for you to send us the warranty card." But, by that time, I had already sent in the card have photo evidence of filled out and envelope sent in
That answer regarding warrantee REPAIRS from****** was my segway into my next reason I was inquiring about the warrantee - ALl four cameras were not submitting a signal..
I reported this to Zmodo****** on July 7, 2013 although I had no signal for about a month. Unfortunately, was not able to get an appointment with my licensed electrician until then. I explained to****** that the electrician had brought over a set of HIS older model cameras and they submitted a signal just fine through the DVR which I never complained about or sent it with the 4 cameras.

Now, on July 8, 2013,****** states "I can setup an RMA for you if you'll just submit a copy of your receipt. Please advise and i'll be happy to help you." That same day, July 8, I sent****** the receipt from ebay for the purchase of the camera system by Zmodo.

It was****** that explained to me what an RMA was for and then she provided me with the RMA number on July 9th, 2013. That same day, almost immediately, I got an email from the RMA dept. I NEVER contacted the ebay store directly for shipment information or for any info. It was****** that set that up with Zmodo's RMA dept.

From July 9th, 2013, the correspondence began coming to me FROM Zmodo's RMA dept. and at the bottom of every email sent to me from Zmodo's RMA dept. is stamped: ebay trannvrs store/********.

Moreover, on July 9, 2013,****** Zmodo states "Please advise and I can process your RMA." Why is****** processing RMA's if Zmodo has nothing to do with ********? OR
How is it that ebay/**************** has nothing to do with Zmodo when its on every email sent to me from the RMA people along with where I can find the policies - http://www.zmodo.com/rma/??

Additionally, if I am NOT to correspond with ********, why send me correspondence from that source?? When I respond to email, I usually just hit the 'reply to sender' link. Besides, isn't the RMA dept. that does the repairs, replacement or refunds or does****** do the repairs, replacement or refund? Therefore, It was NOT I that initially contacted the ******** ebay store about sending cameras with no signal for repair, replacement or refund. It was******. Per******'s email to me, July 9, 2013: "Your RMA has been submitted for repair. You will receive another email from our RMA team explaining where to send your defective equipment. Please let me know if you have any questions."

Now, moving a little forward, on August 15, 2013 , I received an email from the RMA stating that "it is the power supply that is defective, so we replaced the power supply with a new." That would imply that there was something wrong with the cameras indeed. Wouldn't it? "it is the power supply that is defective" DEFECTIVE being the operative word here!!! how can something work with a defective power supply?

Additionally, throughout this whole ordeal, I was told several times that I will be receiving REPLACEMENT cameras. That would imply that the cameras I received are in fact different...unless your company has a another definition of REPLACEMNT.

Furthermore, I only complained of the camera's submitting no signal early July 2013. Two of the 4 cameras send to my home seem to be working fine as of late.

My MAIN complaint is that of the structural and cosmetic conditions of the cameras sent back to my home. They were all cosmetically damaged in some way. One has a significant crack in the lens which probably deems it NOT waterproof, one has a visible screw loose rattling around that obstructs part of the view and the others are chipped away at and all the labels are tampered with.
My other issue is why do you have the policies that are stated on the Zmodo website about sending back cameras to the Zmodo RMA dept in 'like new' conditions, but in return, you send the customer 'like old' stuff?? My cameras were brand new. Even the electrician noticed the difference. they were only on my home for about 4-5 months, but the cameras send back to me looked like they had been on someone else's home for 4-5 years NOT months.
This company is good at dancing and not good with customer service.



Final Business Response
Hello,
I am going to try my best to assess each point that Ms. ********* mentions in her complaint.

After some research, we've discovered that Ms. ********* has contacted the eBay store that the items were originally purchased from and has been communicating with the eBay store seller. The eBay seller "Coolpodz" was kind enough to forward all of Ms. *********'s correspondence to us so that we can better understand the situation.
The eBay store that the items were purchased from actually has no connection to the manufacturer Zmodo or EP Technology corporation.

***** from Zmodo was originally handling this RMA in which 4 cameras and one power adapter was shipped to the manufacturer for testing and repair/replacement if necessary. It looks like Ms. ********* stopped communicating with ***** from Zmodo on July 11th. The correspondence between Ms. ********* and Coolpodz took place from August 8th until Sept. 9th. Zmodo and EP Technology Corp was unaware of such correspondence with the eBay seller Coolpodz until today.

We highly suggest that all further communication regarding this issue be done with ***** at *******@zmodo.com and not with the eBay seller Coolpodz. Coolpodz merely sold the product, and is not required to honor warranty claims in the same way that the manufacturer (Zmodo) is responsible for honoring warranty claims.

The notes in the RMA indicate that all four cameras were non-defective and operate as designed. The RMA notes also indicate that the same four cameras that Ms. ********* shipped to us were shipped back to Ms. *********. There is no note indicating that any cameras had a damaged front lens cover, so either the camera arrived damaged and the RMA tech did not notice the damage, or the camera was damaged in shipping from Illinois to Connecticut.

We will call and email Ms. ********* on Sept. 17th to try to re-establish communication and solve the issue. My recommended resolution at this time is to replace the camera that arrived damaged at no cost to Ms. *********, and also to troubleshoot more thoroughly why the cameras are not displaying video.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers, Surveillance Equipment, Sales & Service, Security Cameras, Security Control Equipment & System Monitors, Electronic Equipment & Suppliers - Service & Repair

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/26/2010Business started: 08/07/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 2000, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeremy Schultz (Technical Services Director)Ms. Cynthia Wang
Number of Employees

100

Business Category

Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers, Surveillance Equipment, Sales & Service, Security Cameras, Security Control Equipment & System Monitors, Electronic Equipment & Suppliers - Service & Repair

Products & Services

This company offers the sales of digital video recorders, security cameras, and surveillance systems.

Alternate Business Names
CCTVHotDeals.Com, EP-Surveillance, Zmodo Technology, Home Security 361

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for EP Technology Corporation U.S.A

1401 Interstate Dr

Champaign, IL 61822-1173

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 1401 Interstate Dr 

    Champaign, IL 61822-1173(866) 888-2452
    Fax: (217) 351-7825

  • 1604 S Neil St 

    Champaign, IL 61820-7212

  • 1606 S Neil St 

    Champaign, IL 61820

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*EP Technology Corporation U.S.A is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (217) 351-2001
  • (217) 903-5675
  • (866) 551-6881
  • (866) 551-6881

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (217) 351-2929
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.