BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2013

EP Technology Corporation U.S.A

Find a Location

Phone: (866) 888-2452Fax: (217) 351-7825View Additional Phone Numbers1401 Interstate Dr, ChampaignIL 61822-1173View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2013

BBB has determined that EP Technology Corporation U.S.A meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

27 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues6
Problems with Product / Service19
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 27

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on EP Technology Corporation U.S.A

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (27)
10/11/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I bought a wired camera system from this company. Have been unable to get support from tech number. On hold several times with no success.
Have been on hold for more than one hour on several occassions with no help available. I even tried the call back option and no one called me back. I'm very frustrated with the support and they claim they have lifetime technical support. I need a competent tech person to call me asap (XXX) XXX-XXXX.

Desired Settlement
Need technical support asap

Business Response
Reached out to the number provided and left voice mails with the phone number and hours of support.

Consumer Response
The company's support rep left me a message on Friday asking to call them either early in the morning or later in the evening for a better support experience due to the hold times. I will try calling this week and see if I can get through and get the support I need.

05/19/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Defective camera sold to me. No reply from company when trying to resolve.
On 2/23/16 I purchases a zmodo security system model zm18q4-1t 8 channel 960h digital recorder with 4 x 600tvl cameras. On 4/6/16 I had the system installed by frys electronics. one of the cameras was defective and could not focus After repeated trying I spoke to a custome service representative who informed me to fill out a RMA request online which I did. I have never heard back from them and have tried for 2 weeks to get a hold of somebody at their company and no one ever answers the phone or the live chat online.

Desired Settlement
I just want a camera that works

Business Response
We reached out to the customer on 5/4/16 to setup a warranty replacement. The customer has received their 2 replacements cameras as of now. :******** ******* RMA.JPG:

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
They sent me a new camera.

01/05/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I have an issue with a new product I bought and I can't get ahold of anyone working for the company.
I bought a $600 camera and NVR system a few days ago and I'm having issues with the power supply. I can't get in touch with anyone from the company. Their website has a phone number listed for tech support. X-XXX-XXX-XXXX I called this number and it says to see their website at So, the phone number is useless. I tried their online chat. They are never "online". I tried for several days and at different times. I have emailed them at ******* and have not gotten any replies. Their tech support is non-existent. I can still return this item if needed, but I hate to return the $600 system for probably a $10 part that they can send me to resolve my issue. I setup a few days ago and it was working fine. I got home one day and the NVR won't come on. I unplugged it and tried another outlet and still doesn't come on. The power supply light used to be on, but now it's not. Maybe the power supply part went out? Is there a way I can test this? Other items work fine in that outlet, so that's not the issue.

This is the system I just bought...
***************************************************************************************** - Zmodo 8 Channel HDMI NVR Kit - 8 Outdoor 720P HD PoE IP Surveillance Security Camera System 1TB Hard Drive (Record up to 150 Days) - Quick Remote Access with Free APP - 3 Year Warranty.

I bought it over another brand because of the 3 year warranty. If I would have know how hard it was to get in touch with someone from the company, I would have bought another brand. If they can not get this fixed soon, I will just return it and buy another brand. I have already spent two days running all the wires in my attic to get this installed. If I have to return the whole thing, I will have to undo all of that work and then do it over again with another brand.

Desired Settlement
I would like a new power supply fairly soon before my time runs out to return this item from Amazon. I would like to get it up and running to see if there's anything else wrong with it. If not, I would like to return it. I would also like them to update their website where the chat works and they have a working phone number for tech support.

Business Response
Our apologies for the delay in responding to Mr. Cochran's request. We called him and confirmed he received a new power supply. The power supply resolved the issue with his NVR system. We have also confirmed our direct number is listed on our support website through the following link: phone support/

WE are happy to address any other concerns Mr. Cochran might have concerning this case.

Consumer Response
I have finally got a hold of someone and they have sent me a new power supply. So far it's working. Not sure how long it will last. This is the worst company's tech support I have ever had to deal with. Their website shows an 800 number. You call it and it says to visit their website. Their website says to email or use the online chat. The online chat is never "on-line". I have tried it for several weeks at various times of the day. You can leave a message, but I've never gotten a reply. After several emails, I finally got a replay a few weeks later. Horrible tech support. They should not be in business if they can't take care of their customers. Please get a phone number that actually goes to someone or even let you leave a message.

08/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I purchase a video survelliance system from this company, now I am unable to contact them by telephone.
We have had several issues with the video survielliance system we purchase from Zmodo, now when we call their listed number when you select the options you get a dial tone. I need them to contact me.

Desired Settlement
We need to speak to someone from their technical or warranty department. Cell number XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Business Response
My name is ******, and I would be happy to answer this inquiry. I am sorry to hear that our customer has been unable to contact our technical support by phone. I searched his provided phone number and I saw no attempted incoming calls from this number.

I have added our customer's inquiry to our tech support callback list and he will be receiving a call within the next business day.

I think it is likely that our customer was unable to contact us because he was trying the wrong phone number. If you go to then click on "Support" then click on "Call Us" the correct number that is listed for technical support is XXX-XXX-XXXX. Technical support agents monitor this phone line Monday - Friday from 8am-8pm CST.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

01/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Ordered Zmodo NVR system and added two additional wireless cameras. Had issues with system since day one. Need to return for refund.
I ordered (Order# XXX-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXX) a "Zmodo Wireless Mini NVR Security Surveillance System With 2 Wi-FI Network IP Wireless Security Cameras With 2.5 inch 500GB Hard Drive" from ****** on August 25, 2014 price paid using my ****** **** ending in **** was $373.99 + taxes $22.44 = Grand Total: $396.43. Then on August 27, 2014, (Order# XXX-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXX) I picked up two of Zmodo wifi cameras "720P HD H.264 PoE IP Infrared Weatherproof Camera with QR Code Smartphone Setup" Sold by: xsecu. Amount paid was $149.98. I have had issues since day one with these items. I have called customer service with both ****** and with Zmodo. Zmodo tells me to return the items for a full refund to ******* ****** tells me to return to Zmodo. ****** tells me that I had until Sept. 25 to return the items. That time has passed. One of the issues I had was the NVR portion was not working properly. It took 6 weeks to send the NVR to Zmodo so they can troubleshoot it and send it back to me. Once I received it back, I still had issues. I was fed up and just wanted to return it for a refund. However, I learned my time was up. Very frustrated I tried to return the items at Zmodo. They told me to return to where I purchased so I am opening up this complaint with the BBB hoping that Zmodo will allow me to return the items. The items are in the original boxes and are in mint condition. They have been in the boxes since the day I gave up which was the first week of October. Someone told me to open a complaint with the BBB and just try to see what will happen. So I am trying and hoping for the best.

Desired Settlement
Total refund I am looking for from Zmodo is $546.41. This is for my two Amazon orders ($396.43) Order# XXX-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXX and ($149.98) Order# XXX-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXX. I will gladly return the items to wherever Zmodo wants me to return them to.

Business Response
Good afternoon,
My name is ****** ***** and I am happy to follow up with this case. I understand that **** ***** is asking the manufacturer for a refund for products purchased in August.

Since Mr. *****'s items were purchased from a 3rd party distributor, we unfortunately do not have the option to issue a refund even if the items were purchased more recently.

Zmodo products that are sold from an ****** vendor (or any other majoy distributor) are ordered in bulk from our Zmodo warehouse and shipped in large quantities to a distributor's warehouse not owned by Zmodo USA. The process for returning an item to a distributor involves shipping the item back to the distributor and not to Zmodo USA's warehouse. Distributors will periodically ship their entire inventory of returned Zmodo products to Zmodo USA for a credit toward future orders. The process for returning (for refund) a Zmodo product purchased from a distributor never involves the customer shipping items directly to Zmodo USA for a refund.

So I am sorry to say that we simply do not have the option to issue a refund toward items purchased from a distributor even if the items were purchased within the 30 day refund window.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Already received refund

Page 1 of 2
06/23/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I have 4 Zmodo Cameras and only one of them will connect to my wifi. I have tried getting help but the replacements im being sent will not work either
I purchased a zmodo FUnlux camera from ebay and all was fine until the company sent a firmware update that ruined my camera. Myself along with others emailed and complained about this and the company did listen. they sent me a replacement camera that only connects half the time. they also sent 2 mini zmodo cameras and a bullet funlux camera all 3 will not connect. no matter what I do or their tech department can get it to work. they are sending me yet another replacement. I was robbed during the time my camera was down, I should hold zmodo responsible but I wont. i just want my property secured and monitored.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund. This is unacceptable & unprofessional.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** C. Support Lead
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX xt 5306
Contact Email: *******
Our company issued a return for refund to Mr. **** ****** on June 2, 2016 for the a replacement camera. On June 10, 2016, we were then informed that Mr. ****** would like to return for refund. We offered a shipping label and still have not received the cameras to refund him.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I won't accept this because me (along with HUNDREDS other customers) are outraged by the service we received from this company. Not only did they send an update that rendered my camera useless, they sent my personal email out to all their customers in a bulk email about the issue. I did not give my permission for them to do so and now my inbox is constantly full of spam and I had to change my password because Google informed me of someone trying to access it. I'm holding Zmodo responsible for this. After all this we were told we wouldn't have to send the camera back, so I didn't. Now a month later I still haven't received a refund and now all of a sudden they want me to send it back. It's poor customer service and this is the least they could do.

05/16/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

product issues, refund, customer service issues
I have been a victim of crime and relied on your system to help aid in surveillance. They system has not been functional for the past 3 months and no one will help. Live chat was no help, and no one answers the phone. Emails go unanswered

Desired Settlement
I want to be contacted asap.

Business Response
We contacted Mr. *** ******* on 5/3/16 and were told that he was able to resolve the issue on his own.

We offered additional support and he said he did not have any additional issues or questions.

03/28/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Promised 24 7 customer service it is only M-F. online said 8-8 no dates specified and they do not help anyone one weekends and never with live chat
I have had this product for about 7 years. I'm continuously told they will not help be because my system is out of date yet the system I just bought this year for my mother inlaw is nearly identical. I was promised 24/7 customer support (pdf proof) but the site said 8-8 no dates specified. but they don't work all days. they also claim to have live chat. but no one has ever rsvped or manned that booth when I have tried it not even during business hours. when I did get to tech support they were rude and demanded I use e-mail templates even though I clearly stated I did not understand enough of the lingo to get through them. each call was a new problem and I'm still having issues with my system and it's connection to the house router but I can see it off the property online so it's not the connection. so clearly their viewing software is faulty or they set it up wrong. but the customer service was disgustingly rude, pushy, rushed me and is not available as promised. I am tempted to buy from another company just so I never have to deal with Zmodo again.

Desired Settlement
full publication from bbb on the complaint site. an actual 24/7 tech support it is after all a china company so they can do that. manned live chat. rsvp's to ALL my emails and a phone call from Tech support on 2/28/16

Business Response
We reached out to Mrs. ******* and confirmed her product was working. We confirmed our chat service and email service has been responding to customer complaints. We apologize for any delay in responding to her requests.

03/15/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

I bought a ZP-NE14-5 in April of 2015. The product worked for a few months and now the unit will not power on.
The unit will not power on. Power supply is working fine. Unit is fried. I have tried the support chat several times and no response from company. I have also called several time and end up disconnecting after being on hold for over 30 minutes. I need this unit replaced or repaired ASAP. Several breakin issues in our area and my camera system ZMODO is defective.Please make this company stand by their warrenty. Or better yet , Can they respond to a customer. 32 minutes on hold without hearing a live person.........

Desired Settlement
Replace the defective unit.

Business Response
We contacted Mr. **** and confirmed that he had a warranty claim RMA created and confirmed that he would be sending his unit back for a replacement. Mr. **** should contact us if he has any other questions or concerns about the RMA process.

02/12/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Defective camera not replaced under warranty.
I purchase a Zmodo 720 POE four camera system with NVR form on August 8,2014. The system was installed and worked until one of the cameras stop working. I contacted Zmodo customer service and they walked me through a series of problem solving issues only to determine that the camera was defective. I was told to send in pictures, model numbers and any other paperwork I had and I would receive a new camera because this one was still under warranty. I sent in the information and forgot about the camera because of summer activities. On December 11,2015 I sent an email to Zmodo inquiring about my camera and this is what I received from ***** A in technical support.
Hello ***,
We received your RMA request on July 27, 2015 and emailed you on July 28, 2015 that the camera would need to be returned. You did not return the camera for repair and the RMA was closed after 30 days. Your warranty was expired as of August 8, 2015 and we can no longer offer any repairs or replacements at this time. If you'd like to order a replacement camera, I have included links below.
I responded back that I never received an email instructing me to return the camera otherwise I would have. I sent six emails explaining the situation and overtime ***** A responded with sorry even though you camera broke before the year warranty expired you needed to send it back to us before the warranty expired. I then requested to speak with her supervisor in four emails from December 14,2015 to January 6,2016 and she alway said he was away on a meeting or not in the office. She gave me the name of ****** and not a direct contact email or phone number. I called customer service and spoke to another technical support person named **** and he actually connected me to ****** and gave me his phone number. I left several messages and never received a phone call back from ******. On January 6,2106 at 242 pm ****** finally responded with an email which stated.

Hello Mr. *******,

Unfortunately due to the length of time from when you submitted your original RMA, your unit is now out of warranty and we will not be able to process the return. I apologize for any inconvenience this *** cause for you.

Kind Regards,

****** *******
Technical Services Director
EP Technology Corporation U.S.A.
1401 Interstate Dr. STE B. Champaign, IL 61822
EP Technology - Your Security, Our Priority

I sent ****** another email request for my camera today.

Desired Settlement
I would like a new 720 POE camera which is valued at $40 because my camera broke before the warranty expired.

Business Response
Mr. ******* purchased his camera system from Amazon on August 8th, 2014. On July 27th, Mr. ******* generated an Return Merchandise Authorization number from our online form and an email was sent to his email address ****** requesting that he send the camera back to us for replacement. The email included the address and his RMA number for returning the camera for replacement. At this time, Mr. *******'s product replacement would have been covered under his one (1) year manufacturer's warranty. Mr. ******* contacted us on December 11, 2015 requesting that we honor the RMA that was created in July.

Unfortunately because the warranty period ended on August 8th and Mr. ******* contacted us over three months after the RMA was originally issued, we will be unable to replace his cameras under the original warranty. Mr. ******* is able to purchase cameras separately if he needs to replace any defective hardware.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My original contact with Zomodo to inform them about the defective camera was July 26 or XX XXXX. I was informed to end pictures and original receipt which I complied with. Upon receiving my documents Zomodo sent me an acknowlgement with RMA number on July 27, 2015 at 3:28 pm. It did not state in that email that I had to return the camera otherwise I would have. I did not receive a follow up email and forgot about the claim until I sent an email several months later inquiring about the replacement for the defective camera. Zomodo claims they sent me an email on July 28, 2015 to return the camera but I never received this email and it was never provided to me. The claim was made before the warranty expired and Zomodo is refusing to fulfill their warranty policy. I will not settle on purchasing a replacement camera because of the warranty policy. Thank you

Page 1 of 5

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers, Electronic Equipment & Suppliers - Service & Repair, Security Control Equipment & System Monitors, Security Cameras, Surveillance Equipment, Sales & Service

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 04/26/2010Business started: 08/07/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity


Incorporated: March 2000, IL

Business Management
Principal: Mr. George Champaninh (Zmodo Technical Support Supervisor)Mr Kevin Wan (President)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers, Electronic Equipment & Suppliers - Service & Repair, Security Control Equipment & System Monitors, Security Cameras, Surveillance Equipment, Sales & Service

Products & Services

This company offers the sales of digital video recorders, security cameras, and surveillance systems.

Alternate Business Names
CCTVHotDeals.Com, EP-Surveillance, Zmodo Technology, Home Security 361

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for EP Technology Corporation U.S.A

1401 Interstate Dr

Champaign, IL 61822-1173

To | From


3 Locations

  • 1401 Interstate Dr 

    Champaign, IL 61822-1173(217) 903-5675
    (866) 888-2452
    (866) 551-6881
    Fax: (217) 351-7825

  • 1604 S Neil St 

    Champaign, IL 61820-7212

  • 1606 S Neil St 

    Champaign, IL 61820

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*EP Technology Corporation U.S.A is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (217) 351-2001
  • (217) 903-5675
  • (866) 551-6881

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (217) 351-2929

Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.