BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/2011

Familia Dental

Phone: (847) 525-4393Fax: (217) 679-2899

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
06/13/2013Billing / Collection Issues
02/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Inferior and fit of upper denture. Do not stand behind dentures.
3-7-12 had teeth extracted. Paid with Care Credit card. Received teeth. went back 11-09 for adjustment. Was charged another 144.00 for office adjustment. 10-24-13 - whole plate cracked down the middle. Was told it would be another charge of 144.00 to repair and another 144.00 to adjust them after repair. I paid 722.00 out of my pocket and Medicaid paid the balance. For all the money I spent and the state paid I have an upper plate that is of no use and a big debt. They told me they do not guarantee any of their work and would not negotiate the price for repair. I had to start all over, pay more money to get upper dentures. I was told that the ones from Familia were 3 centimeters off in the fit. They do not charge for adjustments and stand behind their work. Since Familia did a lot of work for Medicaid I wonder how many other people are stuck with plates they can not use and since Medicaid no longer pays for plates have to go without teeth because they can't afford new ones or the charge Familia would charge to repair their old ones. Most plates last many many years. Noone has ever heard of a plate cracking after 1 year. I should have ordered off the internet. I would have had a better fit and only be out 20.00.

Desired Settlement
some adjustment in the charges for the plate. The teeth extractions not included. I am a senior citizen living on social security and am left with a big monthly payment on credit card for payment of teeth I do not have.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** **** Team Leader
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX EXT3834
Contact Email: *****@familiadental.com
Good afternoon,

Although I do not have resolution yet, I wanted to let you know that our Clinical Director is looking into the patient's complaint. Within 48 hours a resolution should be received.

Thank you very much for your patience.

***** ****
Team Leader
Patient Care Dpt.
Familia Dental LLC.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would be willing to go to ***** and swear on a Bible that I did not drop my teeth at any time. I did pay for the reline. I was certain they would claim I dropped them because that is the one thing I cannot prove and is my word against theirs. I do not want the teeth repaired. They are made of very thin cheap material and were not correctly fitted. I went to a reputable dentist and was fitted for a new plate at half the price of the onces from Familia. Only when I put the two plates side by side did I realize how cheaply made the dentures were. They are correct in stating that well made dentures are almost impossible to crack. They were so ill fitting that I stuck to a soft diet and did not bite down on anything harder than a cracker. These were not well made dentures. I ordered a cheap pair of plastic teeth on the internet that are for appearances only. I wore these while waiting for my dentures to be made. The cost was $20.00. I can still wear them. They lasted longer than my plate from Familia did. When I put the two pairs side by side there is not much difference in the structure. They did start to crack in my mouth. I rubbed my tongue on the roof of my mouth and felt it. I removed the dentures thinking something was stuck on them and that's when I noticed the crack that kept getting wider and wider. I still have the cheap dentures that Familia sold me and the state paid part of. My next step is to send a complaint to the Illinois Attorney Generals office since the state did pay a portion of the bill. Familia should not and will not get by with gouging low income people and the State of Illinois. I have every receipt for the services I received from Familia except for the charges they billed to the State of Illinois. I will contact my local office and get a copy of those.

Final Business Response
I do apologize for the delay in the response. Nonetheless, clinical director has reviewed the case and has provided the following information. Unfortunately, the information provided in the patient's complaint is not accurate regarding the history of her dentures. Mrs. ** **** has been a patient of ours since March 2012. On her 3rd visit to our office ( in May 2012 ) we started fabricating upper and lower dentures for her. This process requires 5 different visit and lab work between each visit. Her denture was delivered to her on July 2012. She then came one more time in November 2012 for a reline (which is normal after you deliver a new denture). This is always done at no cost to the patient since a reline is included in the price of a denture. Her reline was completed and delivered to her within 2 weeks. Mrs. ****** came to our office on October 24th 2013 with broken denture.

Due to the fact that inside the oral cavity dentures will always have enough support from the intaglio surface, it's almost impossible for dentures to break when they are inside the mouth. They can and will break, however, if they are dropped on a hard surface or if pressure is put on them outside the oral cavity. Unfortunately, neither us nor any other dental office can provide a warranty for those kinds of accidents.

Even though we do not repair broken dentures for any of our patients, as an act of compassion ** will repair her dentures at no cost to her.

If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX EXT 3834.

***** **** ::

06/10/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Dentists

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.