BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Illinois

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2011

Familia Dental

Phone: (309) 692-4721Fax: (309) 692-4722View Additional Phone Numbers1403 W Glen Ave Unit B, PeoriaIL 61614-4705View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2011

BBB has determined that Familia Dental meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Familia Dental's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Familia Dental's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
10/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
mADE ME PAY $ THAT THEY SAID WOULDNT BE COVERED BY MY INSURANCE.INSURANCE TO COVER 100%.I WAS CORRECT.THEY REFUSE TO REFUND N JUST GIVE THE RUN AROUND
In April of 2013 I went to Familia Dental to have a check up and cleaning. Not only did they NOT clean my teeth(only brushed which I could have done myself) They told me I had to pay upwards of $45 that would not be covered by insurance. I said insurance covers 100% of routine check up, exams and cleanings. They said it would not but if it does they would refund me. As I had told them, it did cover 100% and they were paid in full by my insurance company. When I called about my refund, I was transferred to an out of state customer service who could not help me at all. Everyone I spoke to gave me the run around and refused to refund my money.

Desired Settlement
I want the total amount paid to them by myself via personal check, to be refunded IN FULL

Business Response
Good afternoon,

We apologize for the delay and any incovenience this may have caused. I am assuming Mrs. ***** is referring to the visit on 4/1/2014, since I don't see any other visit in her history. Nonetheless, I had our billing and collections department review her act since I do see that she paid out of pocket and we also received payment from her insurance.

As stated by Mrs. *****, her insurance did cover 100% of her visit, and we received payment from them on 6/25/2014. At that moment, after entering payment, her account should have reflected the credit in order for accounting to process the refund. However, it looks like the system did not update correctly to show that credit. Once again, I do apologize for this and thank the patient for her patience. Today, since the corrections were made in the act, I submitted a refund request to our accounting department. Accounting will be issuing a check for the amount we received from the patient ($42) to the address provided above. Please allow 5-10 business days to receive the check in the mail.
Regarding the cleaning mentioned, the patient did receive an Adult Prophylaxis, or cleaning. However, we want all our patients to be satisfied with the work and it sounds like Mrs. ***** is not. As a result, we would be more than happy to schedule an appointment for a redo of the cleaning (at no charge). Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

12/08/2014Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Dentists

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/28/2010Business started: 06/07/2010Business started locally: 08/24/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Business Management
Principal: Dr. Koushan Azad (President)
Contact Information
Ms. Courtney Gilles (Community Relation Coordinator)Mr. Ali Shahanaghi (Vice President)
Number of Employees

31

Business Category

Dentists

Products & Services

This company offers dental care.

Alternate Business Names
Familia Dental Peoria LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Familia Dental

1403 W Glen Ave Unit B

Peoria, IL 61614-4705

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1403 W Glen Ave Unit B 

    Peoria, IL 61614-4705

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Familia Dental is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 988-4066
  • (847) 525-4393
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Dentists

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.