BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Sutton Carpet Co., Inc.

Phone: (309) 682-7711Fax: (309) 682-6963123 W McClure Ave, PeoriaIL 61604-3633http://www.suttoncarpetcenter.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Sutton Carpet Co., Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Sutton Carpet Co., Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Sutton Carpet Co., Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
01/04/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
SUTTON IS INCREASING THE PRICE OF OUR AGREED PRICE BY ABOUT $600 AFTER THEY REMOVED MY CARPET. I WAS NEVER GIVEN A HIGHER PRICE ESTIMATE.
I HAD AN AGREEMENT FOR THE PURCHASE AND INSTALLATION OF HARD FLOOR COVERING IN MY DINING ROOM. AFTER THE INSTALLER REMOVED THE EXISTING CARPET THEY INFORMED ME THAT IT WOULD COST $525 MORE FOR UNDERLAYMENT AND $114 MORE FOR QUARTER ROUND TRIM SO THEY DON'T HAVE TO REMOVE THE EXISTING TRIM.

Desired Settlement
I OFFERED *** ****** TO SPLIT THE DIFFERENCE FROM WHAT HE ORIGINALLY AGREED TO AND NEW PRICE BUT HE DECLINED.

Business Response
At the time of purchase, I told Mr. O'Brien that we wouldn't know the condition of the plywood under his carpet until we removed the carpet and pad. We would install the new floor over the plywood if it was in good condition. If not. we would address it at that time. Mr. O'Brien did not ask what might be necessary and how much it would cost. Unfortunately there were nails coming loose throughout the floor. That is an unforeseen situation. The installers pounded them down but the nails worked themselves loose as the installers continued to work and crawl around the room. Because we want the job to be perfect, the best solution is to put down new 1/4" underlayment. Mr. O'Brien bought a high quality vinyl plank floor and he would be even angrier if, when the job was finished, he could see nail heads causing bumps in the new floor. I offered to discount the cost of new underlayment but I can't "split the difference" because I would lose money. The flooring he bought was on sale already and he got an additional discount of more than $200 below the sale price. I told him yesterday we would add a maximum of $530, not $600. The main point is to make the job perfect.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First, an employee, ***** sold me the flooring, *** ****** sold me bathroom flooring, which was installed without issue. I was never told that there could possibly be $600 additional cost ahead of time. Secondly, the installed told me they should have never charged me for remove/replace of my base molding - it should have been estimated with shoe quarter round trim - the difference between remove/replace and shoe molding is $114 more.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New, Vinyl Flooring, Carpet Installation, Floors - Hardwood, Floors - Laminate, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/01/1990Business started: 03/01/1938
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1961, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel M. Sutton (President)Mr. Emert Emert (Salesperson)Ms. Ellie Kuykendall (Salesperson)Mr. Shawn Sutton (Vice President)Mr. David Sutton (Secretary-Treasury)Mr. Ryan Sutton
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New, Vinyl Flooring, Carpet Installation, Floors - Hardwood, Floors - Laminate, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers

Products & Services

This company offers floor covering sales and installation including area rugs, carpet, hardwood, laminate, ceramic tile and vinyl.

Alternate Business Names
Sutton Carpet Center

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sutton Carpet Co., Inc.

123 W McClure Ave

Peoria, IL 61604-3633

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 123 W McClure Ave 

    Peoria, IL 61604-3633(309) 682-7711
    Fax: (309) 682-6963

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sutton Carpet Co., Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Carpet & Rug Dealers - New

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.