BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2008

Remodeling Solutions, LLC

Find a Location

(217) 423-8827View Additional Phone Numbers1005 N Water St, DecaturIL 62523-1022View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Remodeling Solutions dba Re-Bath of Illinois services Central Illinois and Eastern Iowa. Re-Bath specializes in custom bathroom remodeling.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2008

BBB has determined that Remodeling Solutions, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Remodeling Solutions, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Remodeling Solutions, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
06/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Proposal Flawed, 3 day cancellation issue, charges not described on contract.
We contacted ReBath for an estimate to add a shower to an existing half bathroom. A total cost of $9,014.00. We put down $4,132.00 deposit.

The job was to accommodate an elderly gentleman with a walker and wheelchair in order for him to take showers. The existing fixtures were to remain in their original positions.

After measuring the walker and the wheelchair and the space between the wall and the fixtures, the use of the walker and wheelchair in the bathroom after job completion would not be possible. The plan was flawed.

The salesperson then added a line to the contract indicating that I waived my right to the 3 day cancellation. I did not see this written on the contract and would not have signed it if I had. However, according to Illinois Public Act 91-0230 under the contract section item 4, it states that if the sale is made in my home, which it was, "the contractor cannot deprive you of this right by initiating work, selling our contract to a lender, or any other tactic."

We feel that the expediting of this job through the waiver on the contract constitutes a tactic and is an unfair and deceptive business practice.

Due to unfortunate circumstances we cancelled the contract after one business day and asked for a refund of the down payment of $4,132.00.

Rebath refused to refund the deposit stating that the shower basin and other materials had already been ordered. While this may be true it is unlikely that the factory started work on this basin within 24 hours and the order could have been cancelled without any cost to us.

We were then informed that there would be a minimal fee, and later learned that this fee was $800.00 - This fee was to include $400.00 for shipping and $400.00 Administrative fees. None of these charges were specified on the contract. We assert that these charges are unfair and deceptive.

We filed a dispute with our Credit Card company and we are filing a complaint with the Attorney General's Consumer Fraud Bureau.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking a refund of the deposit in the amount of $4,132.00.

Business Response
In reference to BBB Complaint Case #XXXXXXXX, we are disputing these charges based on the contract and conditions contained there-in signed by Ms. ***** *******.

Ms. ******* signed a contract to remodel her bathroom for eight thousand two hundred sixty five dollars, $8,265, on May 8, 2014. In addition to the contract, she also signed an addendum in which she waived her three day right to cancel the contract. This was done because she requested to expedite the ordering of her remodeling materials, in order to receive a wall color that was being discontinued by our manufacturer. These terms were discussed and agreed to at time of sale and as such, her materials were ordered on May 9, 2014.

Ms. ******* left a message with our answering service on the evening of May 12, 2014, stating she would like to cancel her contract. In response, Justin Colclasure, her sales consultant, phoned her on May 13, 2014, informing her she had waived her right to cancel. At a later date, he spoke with her husband, *** ******* informing him that although we were not obligated to do so, we would refund them their deposit, minus $800 for a restocking fee. Mr. Foster agreed to this..

Ms. ******* is seeking a refund in the amount of $4,132.00. However, on May 30, 2014, we received a letter from our credit card processing company stating Ms. ******* had disputed her charges, resulting in a transaction charge back to our account. We are currently disputing this, however, to date, Ms. ******* has already received her full refund.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
To date we have not received a full refund of the deposit in the amount of $4,132. When ReBath refused and stated that there was a minimal fee for cancellation we found out days later that the minimal fee was $800.00 it was explained that there was a 400 dollar shipping fee and a 400 dollar administrative fee. This was not described as a restocking fee. At no time after we cancelled the job were we informed that we would get nor did we receive a refund of our deposit.

No such refund appeared on any credit card statement to date.

We assert that we cancelled after 1 business day. We do not understand why ReBath was unable to cancel the factory order before it shipped.

Further Mr. ****** did not agree to this charge but was told what the charge was to be. He also did not think that the $800 dollar administrative fee was minimal as previously described by the salesman nor justified. We continue to ask for a full refund of the deposit as no work was started. We were within the 3 business day cancellation period mandated by Illinois state law.

The credit card company charge dispute was the only remaining course of action available to us.

We would also like to restate that the job was not designed properly as we measured the walker and the wheelchair that needed to access the shower and would not have fit past the toilet and the wall. The job would not have been done to our satisfaction if it was completed.

We do not want to pay for materials and services which we did not receive.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Bathroom Remodeling, Bathtubs & Sinks - Repair & Refinish, Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs, Kitchen Remodeling, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Additional Information

top

According to the company, they have taken over the outstanding contracts entered into by Re-Bath of Central Illinois, Ltd., Peoria.

BBB file opened: 12/12/2000Business started: 06/01/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Zarndt (President/Managing Direct)Customer Contact: Ms. Lisa Richars (Business Manager)Mr. Eric Altenbernd (Production Manager)Ms. Sara Zarndt (Operations Manager)
Number of Employees

18

Business Category

Bathroom Remodeling, Bathtubs & Sinks - Repair & Refinish, Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs, Kitchen Remodeling, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Products & Services

This company offers bathroom and kitchen remodeling and is an authorized dealer for ReBath products. Services include bathtub replacement, tub to shower conversions, steam showers, bench seats, grab bars, and Safeway Safety Step.

Service Area

Central Illinois, Southern Illinois, Quad Cities and Eastern Iowa

Alternate Business Names
ReBath of Illinois

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Remodeling Solutions, LLC

1005 N Water St

Decatur, IL 62523-1022

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 1401 N Veterans Pkwy Ste 19 

    Bloomington, IL 61704-2201

  • 1005 N Water St 

    Decatur, IL 62523-1022(217) 423-8827
    (217) 359-8827
    (618) 344-8821

  • 530 1st St W, HWY 67 

    Milan, IL 61264

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Remodeling Solutions, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (217) 523-8827
  • (309) 823-8827
  • (309) 693-6476
  • (217) 359-8827
  • (618) 344-8821
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Bathroom Remodeling

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.