BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/14/1984

Fleener & Roberts Automotive

(217) 877-82062740 N Main St, DecaturIL 62526

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/14/1984

BBB has determined that Fleener & Roberts Automotive meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Fleener & Roberts Automotive's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Fleener & Roberts Automotive

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
12/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid 515.00 for my truck to be repaired, and as soon as I left it wouldn't start again. The mechanic wouldn't produce a invoice for repair.
On saturday 10/18/2014 I was called to pick my truck up from Fleener & Roberts with the mechanic ****** **** informing me that it was fixed. When I arrived ****** told me the problem was bad gas, he allegedly saved some of a white liquid in a Gatorade bottle that was supposedly emptied from my gas tank. I paid ****** $515.00 cash, when I asked for a receipt he told me that the computers where down and that he would produce a invoice for me on the following Monday. He also told me to put premium fuel in the tank after I left. So the truck started once and was running rough, I went straight to the gas station after I left Fleener and Roberts, after I pumped my gas the truck wouldn't start again, so I had to call a tow truck and have the truck towed back to my house not 15 minutes after paying $515.00 for repairs. When I contacted ****** **** 45 minutes after leaving his business to inform him on the situation with truck, I kindly mentioned that he may have mis-diagnosed the problem on the truck, at that point ****** completely cussed me out telling me how long he has been a mechanic and how he doesn't make mistakes. He then told me not to bring the truck back to Fleener and Roberts because he wasn't going to do anything about. He told me to go **** myself and that he wasn't going to repair anything or refund my $515.00. I've called several times leaving voicemail messages stating I need a invoice for parts and labor for the truck, so I can turn over to my insurance and to the Attorney Generals office for the complaint I'm filing. I went back into Fleener and Roberts on Friday 10/31/2014 to get a invoice and again ****** told me that he wouldn't give me a invoice for repairs or labor, and that I can contact his attorney Guy Casey. I am seeking full refund of $515.00 plus $35.00 for the tow truck I had to call right after leaving their business.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking full refund of $515.00 plus $35.00 for the tow truck I had to call right after leaving their business.

Business Response
Fleener & Roberts Automotive is very proud of our reputation. We are sorry for his problem but Fleener & Roberts Automotive has never worked on a truck or car for *****************************************
Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have a tow truck bill from my address to Fleener and Roberts, it was towed there on the instruction of ***********. Who is the person who worked on my 1998 GMC Sonoma . I can forward the name of the driver and number of Swift towing if necessary.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
they are lying, or completely ignorant of the business action by their employees, the truck was towed there, and worked on by employee ************. please have the owner or manager of the business call me

********************* Thank you

Final Business Response

Recently we received your letter concering the above mentioned case filed by ********. Since the letter didn't refer to sending a response on the BBB complaint website, we assumed a written response to you was being requested. If we were suppose to respond on the BBB site, please let us know.
In response to the question you had, we do have an employee of that name that works for Fleener & Roberts Automotive.
We are not aware if he worked on a vehicle for a ******** Or not on his own time but since Mr. **** states the work was paid directly to the mechanic indicates it must have been done personally between Mr. **** and the mechanic.
We know that our mechanic did not work on a vehicle for Mr. **** through Fleener & Roberts Automotive.
Thank you.
************ Fleener & Roberts Automotive

04/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I want a refund of the money i spent to have my car repair based on awful repairs that could have potetially damaged my car permanently.
2003 Dodge Stratus. I can provide dates at a later time but i had my vehicle towed due to my car shutting off in the middle of ****** st to fleener and roberts. ***** told me it was the starter and that originally would cost $440. I told him it was after the holidays and i didnt have that kinda of money. i told him to check around for a used one and get back with me. He called 30 mins later with an estimate of 287.00 for everything. I was desperate for my vehicle back so i told him to fix it. Not even a week later my car quit again!!!! i asked him to tow it again and find out what the problem was. He told me that he wasnt sure because the car would not start at all but i need a timing belt and worst case scenerio i would need pistons and a couple other things in total would cost $1500. I told him that the car could sit cause ther was no way i had that kind of money. Nevertheless i kept calling around trying to get a cheaper rate and i was told to just get the timing belt put on and go from there and so i did. He quoted me two different prices for the belt alone. so the belt ended up starting the car but he said he need to charge me for a crank shaft. In total this costed over $600. Again i payed him. After having the car for about a wseek or so i went in to get an oil change. The mechanic asked me had i recently had some work done under my hood. I said yes. He said that someone had not replace my antifreeze and my overflow jug was on the wrong side of the car disconnected and could have damaged my water pumped or worse locked up my motor. I called fleener and spoke with ***** again about what i had just learned and requested half of my money back. He refused he said it wouldnt have affected anything on my car. I said to him since he was so sure it wouldnt he shouldnt have a problem with if something were to go wrong in the next week or so he would fix it for free. He said that was fine. I got off work later that day and i was spilling antifreeze on the ground. I went up there and had him look at it and sure enough my radiator was busted. he told me i had to pay for the part which was $216 and he wouldn't charge me labor. I refused at this point his mechanics did not put my car back the way it was and i had no way of knowing how extent the damage was because of their screw up. I have no idea if when they replaced the starter or the timing belt they did it correctly and would have left me without a vehicle permanently.

Desired Settlement
Because of the nature of the damage it could have caused and the extent that i dont know about due to driving the car around like that for well over a week and not replacinig the parts of the car in their places-shotty work at best i am requesting the money i spent for the timing belt and the money i spent to get someone else to do the radiator because they could not be trusted to do so.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:
This letter is in response to your letter concerning our repairs to a 2003 Dodge Stratus on the above case #.

We regret that you had more problems with your vehicle but you have to remember that it is an older vehicle with over 178,000 miles that needs work.

The vehicle was towed in for no start. We put on a starter which was used per customer's request to save money. This fixed the problem of not starting.

The vehicle was towed in again for no start and it had a broken timing belt.This repair fixed the problem of not starting. The radiator leak was because of a broken tank on the radiator. The vehicle also had other problems.

We guarantee our work tht we perform and can not
guarantee it fixes all problems a vehicle may have at that time or any additional future problems that may arise. We are sorry we can not offer any refund.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The information about the radiator leak is not true nor was it ever communicated with me when i picked up the car. The radiator was busted because of the poor job of putting my car back together to begin with. Driving a car for weeks with little to no.antifreeze in it did cause damage to my radiator. If this issue is not rectified in a timely manner j will proceed to civil court.

Final Business Response
When we worked on her vehicle, we did not break her radiator and do not intend on paying her for a new radiator or any refund on her previous work.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They did bust the radiator that will be proven. That is why when I called ***** the first time (which he was on speakerphone) he agreed that if something else happened with the car within two weeks to bring it in and he would fix it. Just so happens it was later that day. In addition when I did take it in ***** offered to fix it for free if I purchased the part. He was fully aware of what was damaged considering the work he had done on it previously but never said a word. It was not busted before they got the car should not have been busted when I got it back. At this point I will proceed with court.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1984Business started: 01/01/1964
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kenneth Bean (President/Owner)Mrs. Rosemarie Bean (Secretary)
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

This company offers auto & truck repair services.

Alternate Business Names
FRJ Corp.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Fleener & Roberts Automotive

2740 N Main St

Decatur, IL 62526

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2740 N Main St 

    Decatur, IL 62526(217) 877-8206

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Fleener & Roberts Automotive is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.