BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2011

Sam Leman Automotive Group

(309) 662-5000View Additional Phone Numbers1602 Commerce Pkwy, BloomingtonIL 61704-9608View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2011

BBB has determined that Sam Leman Automotive Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Sam Leman Automotive Group's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service8
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Sam Leman Automotive Group

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)
05/16/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/31/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

This dealership failed to look up our extended warranty information on our vehicle and charged us for repairs that are covered by the warranty. When we called they failed to return our calls. Now they tell us they cannot refund our money, we must file a claim with the warranty company. Very frustrating when you are out of town and trying to get a car repaired.
Product_Or_Service: vehicle repair

Desired Settlement
We would like them to refund what they charged us.

Business Response
Dear BBB,
We need more information to help locate this file. Can you forward the following:

1) Verify client or business name on service invoice
2) Verify which Sam Leman dealership (city) where work was completed.
3) Submit vehicle year, make, model, and VIN number.

Thanks in advance! I can not locate a service visit information or invoice with the original information supplied.
*** ****
Sam Leman Auto Group

07/31/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Sam Lemans did not properly diagnosis and or repair my vehicle. The company listed frauded and are ripping not only I but many other customers
Sam Lemans Billed me for repairs and or diagnosistics that they did not complete properly. If a customer has his car diagnosis they charged me twice for looking at my vehicle regardless of issues? Along with the repairs they did do are still a issue. Sam Lemans also made a incorrect discloser to the warrenty company to try and rip me off of more money. First issue I paid for the company listed to repair a shift issue and it is still incorrect. Second they company listed wants me to pay for a miss diagnosis for my Air conditioner, The company also adjusted the billing due to not show on the billing that I paid for the following: They played with the number to make it look like I did not pay for it and put the momey on some other service. Due to I was told a price over the phone and when I got there it was higher for the ammount of the misc shop items? Cmpany also charged everyone as stated above items and service that were not utilized HAZMAT, SHOP MISC? If this company is charging every customer $60 dollars for this if they have 20 vehicle that week they are repairing they are frauding the customer and making a killing of 1200 just on items that they are not using or utilizing. People should not be treated this way. Last as stated they gave information to my warrenty company that should of been inspected by the warrenty company. This is due to not having to deal with the warrenty company and making me pay for there incovienances. If any questions contact me.

Desired Settlement
I would like to seek the following:
a billing adjustment for the diagnosistic of my A/C, Billing adjustment for the shop misc that they hid. A billing adjust or correct repair of my vehicle that I did pay for. I would like to see refund for the diagnosistic and repairs of the shift issue due to it is not repaired properly and or a billing adjustment.

Business Response
Dear BBB,
Mr. ******** was asked to leave the facility and have his vehicle serviced at his local dealership from this point forward. He verbally abused our employees and used profanity at will. He then made a very inappropriate comment to a female employee. While his actions deserve no response, we want the BBB to be aware of some of his points:

Vehicle: 1996 Dodge Ram 2500 with @146,000 miles.

We do charge a diagnostic fee when customers come to our shop. We have trained techs who are paid for their services. Customers are made aware of the charges and Mr. ******** approved all initial work on both situations.

We also have a fee for environment/misc. charges to help cover hazmat/environment processes, in order to promote customer satisfaction we removed said charges from one of his visits.

The air conditioning issue was diagnosed as no power to the condenser and fault codes showed a possible blend door issue. We explained it to him and that we would need to investigate further. We gave him an initial estimate, but he declined the work at that time.

The transmission issue was diagnosed as a defective wiring harness. In order to promote customer satisfaction we discounted the part. The shifting improved, but per standard MOPAR instruction, he was advised that the vehicle would need to be driven in order for the system to "re-learn" the driving habits of the user.

We appreciate the opportunity to answer this complaint. No further assistance will be forthcoming to Mr. ********.

Sam Leman Automotive

07/21/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

sold me a truck that they knew was damaged
Before signing to purchase the used vehicle, asked if flaw in paint around door handle was body damage and was told that vehicles do not alway have perfect paint when leaving the factory and flaws can be seen even on new vehicles paint. my body shop showed me the damaged and repaired area and gave. About a month later I received a letter from IDOT telling me I Sam Leman put car plates on my truck and I had to go to the DMV to exchange the plates. Around that time I received a check that Sam Leman was reimbursing me for the wrong tax they charged Three months after owning was contacted buy the service department telling me they had ordered a transmission for my truck to replace under warranty but sold it so it was not replaced before I took possession they said if I wanted it I could have them put it in as it was taking space in there stockroom and It would be free because it was covered under warranty. The dealership is 50 miles from my house so this was also very inconvenient. Did not offer a loaner or any other help arranging the work until I contacted the owner. It is out of hand to have so much misleading and errors in one transaction, and no one there seems to care.

Desired Settlement
I would like the poor body work to be repaired or financial compensation The transmission I have had done and Sam Leman got payed under my warranty.

Business Response
Dear BBB,
We appreciate the opportunity to respond to this issue. Mr. ***** purchased the truck in question from a salesman who has a business relationship with him outside of the work place. The salesman was aware of the paint flaw. He explained that it was a used vehicle and some issues were expected, he then checked the CARFAX report for any accidents. That report showed no known incidents. The customer who traded the truck in question has a solid reputation with our company. After covering all of these issues, Mr. ***** continued with the purchase.
The plate and tax issue were an internal mistake by our license and title folks. We refunded Mr. ***** as he stated.
The transmission was functioning as designed, but the service department was able to get authorization for a new transmission due to the original customers concern. We were never able to diagnose said concern, but since Chrysler authorized and sent a new transmission it made good business sense to contact Mr. ***** and offer him the upgrade to a new one at no cost.
His salesman offered to bring a rental car to his residence and pick up the vehicle at no cost to the customer. He declined stating they were going on vacation and would go ahead and leave it with us.
As a used vehicle, it should be assumed that certain issues may exist. That said, if Mr. ***** still has concerns we encourage him to contact his salesman and discuss trading his unit for an acceptable one or possibly upgrading to new which should be free of existing issues.

Sam Leman Automotive

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is quite a pompous response to my problems with this dealerships ethics. I knew that SAM LEMAN would offer nothing, not even an apology. Not even for me having to make time in my day, to right there wrong with the DMV. I will certainly not trade in the sub pare vehicle they sold me back at a lose, so they can sell me a new truck. As far as there damage control trying to discredit me personally is absurd . While I was buying the truck it came up that I am a tattoo artist with a successful shop. So the salesman did arrange to schedule an appointment at my business . He did get a tattoo from me just like thousands of others have. Other than the gentleman paying me for my expertise just like any other client I do not know him or have a "business relationship with him outside the work place".
I agree the salesman did know of the paint flaw as I said earlier when I asked about the flaw, he told me it WAS NOT BODY DAMAGE, and that even new vehicles sometimes have imperfections.
The point I was trying to make with the car plate on the truck, the overcharged tax, the overlooked transmission was that this business is loosely run and I encountered quite a few of errors that would not be happening in a well managed business.
The transmission is what through it over the edge for me . I find it hard to believe that the Chrysler without any evidence sent a replacement transmission, this would be very contrary to any kind of warranty work I ever experienced. In fact the service manager told me the technician heard a hum after receiving the vehicle on trade in. He also told me he would like to get this transmission out of his store room, an It was illegal for him to call me and proposition warranty work , mind you I have never been told nothing of the transmission ever and they new when I bought it and for more than three moths after I owned it.I imagine this info the ability to sell the truck. I WAS NOT OFFERED A RENTAL contrary to damage controls statement while the dealership 50 miles away did the warranty work they told me i could get no loner, After I called the owner to complain about the entire experience, he had the salesman called me and told me he could arrange for a driver to pick up my truck and drive it to the dealership. The work was done while I was out of the country my wife however was not. the service manager told me the could take it back if my wife could not arrange to pick it up. This is not the same as offering a rental car , I do not want there driver to drive my personal vehicle 50 miles each way I did not feel comfortable with that arrangement.
This business is managed poorly and with the all problems I've encountered simple and complex no one has reached out to me to show integrity or that they even care.

04/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

*** ***** was supposed to follow up with me in regards to a car I purchased that has major issues. I called him, He hasn't called me back yet.
Wednesday February 25th I went and test drove 2 cars with salesperson ***** ****. The car I purchased was a 2005 Pontiac Grand Am. I asked ***** why the car sounded so loud and ***** told me that the noise was due to the car being an older car and the fact that the car has a big engine. The car was being sold for $4,895. I told ***** that my budget was $4,000. ***** went and spoke with the sales manager ****. ***** was told by **** to give the car to me for $4,000 because I know the receptionist ******** ****. ***** repeatedly reassured me that the car was in great condition and that I was getting a great deal. I paid $4,000 for the car that night by check. Saturday February 28th I went and had the car inspected at an automotive shop. Upon inspection the car was found to have a number of issues which actually made the car unsafe to drive. One of the main issues with the car was the lack of a muffler. So, it turns out that the car was loud due to a missing muffler. The total for all the issues with the car was at least $2,000. I immediately took the car back to the dealership. We were told by ***** to have a seat and that he would be with us shortly. The finance manager came and spoke with us, he told me that he was 97% sure that I was not going to get my money back. The sales manager **** came and spoke with us. He asked me what I wanted to happen, I told him that I wanted my money back and he said that I wouldn't get my money back. ***** stood there for the whole conversation and didn't say anything. I left the car at the dealership. I experienced terrible customer service by both **** and ***** ****. Monday March 2nd I mailed a certified letter to the owner *** Leaman. Friday March 6th I still hadn't heard from anyone at Sam Leaman so I called *** and left a message. *** told me that he didn't handle the affairs at the Commerce store, but that he was going to have **** call me. *** told me that if I was still not satisfied after speaking to **** to call him back and that we would talk about the matter. **** called me on March 6th, we spoke and still weren't able to come to an agreement. Tuesday March 10th I called *** and left a message and he has yet to return my phone call. I have not heard from anyone at Sam Leaman and I bought the car a month ago.

Desired Settlement
This is the first time that I've purchased a car from a dealership. I thought that because I chose to get a car from a dealership as opposed to a private owner, that I would have a great experience. Given the terrible customer service that I have experienced, I would like a full refund. I paid $4,000 for the car and that's what I would like back in full.

Business Response
Dear BBB,
We are well aware of this issue. ******* purchased and took delivery of a 2005 Pontiac Grand Am with XXXXXX miles on 2/25/2015. The car was sold "AS IS". ******* signed multiple documents clearly stating the condition of the purchase agreement would be "AS IS" and further stating that due to the miles it would be sold with "no warranty/tow away condition/for parts only". We can provide these documents if Ms. ***** does not have her copies or the BBB needs to confirm.
She did contact the dealership after purchase and **** ******* (Sales Mgr.) listened to her concern of the loud noise and offered to replace the muffler at no cost to her. This offer was outside the "AS IS" agreement and was done in order to promote customer satisfaction.
Ms. ***** then involved someone who represented themselves as legal counsel and further came into the dealership with two male acquaintance in an attempt to "strong-arm" the dealership into repairing he car or return her money. Due to her actions, ownership ended any communication with the client and informed her that we would not be offering any assistance as per our "AS IS" agreement.

While there is mention of "he said-she said" verbiage, these claims are always hard to substantiate, so our purchase agreement clearly states that customers should not rely on verbal statements made by anyone and should refer only to the written agreement. An "AS IS/NO WARRANTY/FOR PARTS ONLY/TOW AWAY CONDITION" statement clearly explained what ******* was purchasing and she signed eight places during the delivery explaining the terms of said purchase.

We appreciate the opportunity to respond to this complaint.

*** ****
Sam Leman Automotive Group
Legal/Compliance Manager

02/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

wiperfluid nozzle doesn't work.Car less than 2 years old,bought new from Sam LemanMorton.Told us it was caused by snow(but it hasn't worked since Nov.
Took vehicle in on January 11,2014, and had windshield wiper nozzle looked at on driver side, as it quit working mid November 2013. Bought car new from Sam Leman in February 2012. Employee told me hose came off, said something probably hit it(like a rock or something is what he said). Said he would ask his service manager on Monday if it would be under warranty. I called Monday january 13, 2014, and spoke to same person I dealt with on Saturday. Said he would call me back. About 1 hour later he called and stated that he talked to his manager, and it is probably due to snow getting down inside the hood, so it isn't covered under warranty. I didn't know snow can void a warranty, but I guess it can, according to Sam Leman....The issue I have is the wiper fluid nozzle hasn't worked since mid November, and it did not snow in Novemeber, so there reason makes absolutely no sense. I would think it would be covered under warranty regardless, it just quit working, and its under the hood. He said this isn't the first one they have seen come off. Car has 14,000 miles, is less than 2 years old, and a part quits working, they give me some bogus excuse as to why it isn't covererd. Shady organization Sam Leman Morton , Il

Desired Settlement
Will not ever go back there. Should refund $24, cost of part replaced, and employees should be dealt with as they were not truthful at all.

Business Response
Dear BBB,
We appreciate bringing this matter to our attention. We have made the proper correction in both the service department and with the salesman to help prevent future issues like this in our store.
We would like to offer Mr. ***** a free Lube, oil, and filter for his inconvenience. When he makes his appointment we will also refund the $24 for the service to his windshield nozzle.
We have made major changes including a new service manager and service advisors to the Morton store and invite **** to return!
He is to ask for either *** ***** or ********* ***** and they will take care of this issue!
Sam Leman Automotive

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would prefer they send me the $24 back via check. I don't care to wait 3 more months to get the $24(plus tax) that I shouldn't have been charged in the first place. They were quick to charge the $24, would think they would refund the money as quick as they charged it.As for the rest of their response to the issue,I hope they did make changes. Giving customers the "run around" isn't a good way of doing business. But I am glad they addressed the issue, and hopefully it won't happen again.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 09/11/1972Business started: 04/15/1963
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Secretary of State
501 S. Second St.
Springfield, IL 62756-0001
(217) 785-3000

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jon Fehr (Operations Manager)Mr. Tim Leman (Vice President/General Manager)Mr. Ben Leman (Owner)Mr. John Sheering
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

This company offers new and used automotive sales, service and parts.

Alternate Business Names
Sam Leman LLC 1, BMW of Peoria, Sam Leman Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge, Sam Leman Autostop, Sam Leman Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge-Mazda-BMW, Leman Chevy City

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sam Leman Automotive Group

1602 Commerce Pkwy

Bloomington, IL 61704-9608

To | From


1 Locations

  • 1602 Commerce Pkwy 

    Bloomington, IL 61704-9608(309) 662-5000
    (309) 662-0629

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sam Leman Automotive Group is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (309) 662-0629

Additional Web Addresses


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.