BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2005

Forts Toyota of Pekin

Find a Location

Phone: (309) 382-4000Fax: (309) 382-4005View Additional Phone Numbers120 Radio City Dr, PekinIL 61554-1574View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2005

BBB has determined that Forts Toyota of Pekin meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Forts Toyota of Pekin's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Forts Toyota of Pekin

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
09/11/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a 2010 used RAV4 that only included one key to the vehicle. I was promised a second key by the salesman and since then the company.
I purchased a 2010 used RAV4 from Pekin Toyota. Since it only came with one key, they (Nate, the salesman) promised me a second key within the week. I exchanged over 10 emails with **** and never got my key. I then emailed ******* **** (general manager) and finally received an email from Kevin Carrington (sales associate). ***** also called and left me 2 voice mails saying he was new to this story, but would fix this problem and give me my key. I talked to ***** over the phone and he said he would contact me when the key was ready. Months went by and still no key or phone call at all. I recently went in for an oil change and talked with ***** in person who sent me over to their other building to talk with ***** ****** (Sales Manager). ***** said he would look into it and check their paper work and get back to me. He took down my name and phone number and assured me this would be straightened out. This was well over a week ago, I have since emailed ***** and still no response. I then told him if I didn't hear from him, I was going to contact the BBB. I have numerous emails (14+) of this issue over a second key to my used RAV 4 and 2 voicemails left to me guaranteeing this key to be made for me and still have not received it. At this point it is obvious to me they have no interest in honoring their word and are trying to get me to spend the $200 plus to purchase this key from them.

Desired Settlement
All I wish to receive is the key for my 2010 RAV 4.

Business Response
We are contacting Mr. ******* today to let him know we will be getting him another key made.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The business called me and left me a voice mail saying that I can come in and pick up the key I was needing. They got the job done and contacted me about it right away.

03/03/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On Thursday July 9,2015 I test drove a Toyota Tundra at Forts Toyota. At the time of the test drive I noticed that the Tundra had a new bed liner. I asked the salesman(*** ******* about rust in the bed of the truck and he replied that it was clean. This conversation was witnessed by **** ******* On 12/3/15, I had a topper installed on the truck and the Central Illinois Line X. At this time, I had them remove the new bed liner. Once the bed liner was removed, it was apparent that there was extensive rust in the bed of the truck. On 12/4/15, I took the truck to Fort's Toyota and talked to the Svc. Mgr. ****. He took pictures of the truck and said he would file a claim with Toyota and call me the first part of the week. A week later on Friday 12/11, I called **** back and he told me he would call me right back. He never called. A week later on 12/18 I was finally able to talk with **** again. He said that Toyota was willing to cover 25% of a new bed because the truck was made in 2009 and the warranty was at 5 years. At this time, he instructed me to call Toyota and file a claim. I called Toyota on Friday 12/18/15 and spoke to ******. I explained that I had expressed concerns during the test drives about the Tundra's reputation for having rust in the beds. ****** reiterated Toyota's stance that the truck bed was out of warranty because even though it is a 2010 model, it was made in 2009. I explained I felt Fort's was fraudulent by not disclosing the rust when I specifically asked about it. At this time he asked if I wanted to file a claim against Fort's. I filed the claim on Friday 12/18/15. ****** said Fort's have two business days to contact me. On Tuesday 12/22/15 I was contacted by ****** ****** from Fort's. She said the business manager was out of town on vacation and I would be notified when he returned. ****** called on Tuesday 1/12/16 and said Fort's was not responsible for any wrongdoing. She explained *** ****** was no longer with the company (he was fired).
Product_Or_Service: Toyota Tundra

Desired Settlement
Replacement of the rusted bed of truck

Business Response
Mr. ******** 2010 Tundra VIN number 5TFUM5F18AXXXXXXX does have rust on the bed. It was not discovered until after he purchased this vehicle because it was covered by a bed-liner that was installed on 1/5/2010 when the truck only had 520 miles on it. This bed-liner was installed at Galesburg Toyota. It is documented by Toyota using Toyota's National Service History. The RO number used by Galesburg Toyota was XXXXXXX. I am attaching a printout from Toyota documenting the installation of this bed-liner.

The rust on the bed is unfortunate. I also have no idea what he was told by Ben because he no longer works for us.

It appears to me that Mr. ******** is trying to imply that we knew about this rust and tried to cover it up by describing the truck as having a "new bed liner" The documentation I have provided clearly proves that this was not the case because the bed-liner was installed over 6 years ago.

This truck is over 6 years old. It is not uncommon for vehicles of this age to have rust somewhere on them.

Toyota as a manufacture did offer to pay for a portion of the cost to replace the bed of his truck. Most manufactures would not even do this because of the age of the truck.

Based on the fact that, I have proven through documentation, that this truck had a bed-liner installed many years prior to it coming to our possession. I feel that we did not intentionally try to mislead Mr. ******** like he is implying.

:******** bedliner.pdf:

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As I stated previously the bed liner appeared to be new.When I ask Mr Weaver if there was rust in the bed of the truck his exact words were "it is clean".This conversation was witnessed by Keli Scotti.*** ****** was employed by Radio City Automotive at this time.The age of the bedliner or *** ******* termination have no bearing on the fact that I was told there was no rust in bed of truck.I believe this is a case of fraud and Radio City Automotive is responsible.The service manager **** did tell me that Toyota was willing to pay 1/4 of cost of new bed.This offer was never made in writing and is unacceptable.

Final Business Response
We have already proven that the bed-liner was in the truck before it came into our possession. The bed-liner covered the bed of the truck. This prevented both us and Mr. ******** from seeing the condition of the bed of the truck.

The truck was made available for inspection to Mr. ******** before he purchased it, just as are all of our pre-owned vehicles are.

We recommend that Mr. ******** take advantage of Toyota's offer to pay for a portion of this repair.::

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1996Business started: 01/01/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Secretary of State
501 S. Second St.
Springfield, IL 62756-0001
(217) 785-3000
http://www.sos.state.il.us/

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Pat Fort (General Manager)Mr. Mike Fort (President)
Number of Employees

35

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Products & Services

This company offers new and used automotive sales & service.

Alternate Business Names
Radio City Automotive, Inc., Toyota of Pekin

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Forts Toyota of Pekin

120 Radio City Dr

Pekin, IL 61554-1574

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 120 Radio City Dr 

    Pekin, IL 61554-1574(309) 382-4000
    (309) 696-5200

  • PO Box 877 

    Pekin, IL 61555-0877

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Forts Toyota of Pekin is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (309) 696-5200
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.