BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2010

O'Brien Imports of Bloomington, Inc.

Phone: (309) 664-1222Fax: (309) 661-30632029 Ireland Grove Rd, BloomingtonIL 61704-7103



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2010

BBB has determined that O'Brien Imports of Bloomington, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised O'Brien Imports of Bloomington, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on O'Brien Imports of Bloomington, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
06/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased the car on 3/26/2014. At that time I also purchased $4,296 in warranties and a Quantum shield coating for the car. I changed my mind three business days later and cancled the warranty and the coating. I was told the loan had already went to Kia finance and that I would see the $4,296 come off the loan in 4 to 6 weeks. After 6 weeks the money had not been refunded and I went in and they said they would check on it and email me but never did. After two months I went in again and they said they would call or email me and never did. It has now been two months one week and the money has still not been subtracted from my loan and I am paying the finance charge on this money. On a side note I paid sales tax on $1,298 of the money and I was told that could not be refunded to me.
Product_Or_Service: Kia Soul, Warranty and Quantum Shield coating.
Order_Number: Dael # XXXXX
Account_Number: Cust # XXXXX

Desired Settlement
I want Kia to take action on this matter and refund the money off of my loan. I also think they should be able to refund the sales tax I paid on the $1,298.

Business Response
We strive to complete all cancellation requests in a timely matter as there is no benefit to delay. All requests are filed and then completed once per month. Unfortunately this cancellation was filed improperly and therefore delayed.

We have cancelled all the products Mr. ******* has requested along with the sales tax on the Quantam shield. The total amount of the cancellation being forwarded to Kia Motors Finance is $4339.69.

Check # XXXXXXX will be mailed to Kia Motors Finance on 6/10/2014.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

04/15/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
09/23/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
the dealership used a bait and switch type of fraud to get our information and ran an unauthorized credit report on us without our consent.damaging us
I also sent you another email detailing this transaction on your other website. O'Brien Import autos misrepresented to us several times the price and info on a specific car. A Buick Enclave, 2010. We were repeatedly told the price was asking $21,000. We were told to get more info on payments and all the cars features we needed to go inside and fill out a form. We asked why in the world would we have to do that, we were told the computers were down,and it was necessary to get the information. We wanted to know what a payment might be on that car at $21000 with our car as a trade in? We were told the Enclaves excessive miles is why it was priced at only the $21000. We are seniors and do not drive as much as we used to and the salesman told us that their dealership offered a forever lifetime warranty on the drive train, so the miles sgouldn't be an issue for us to worry about.

After we were in the office the salesman had to leave us for a minute he said. He eventually returned and took our form after he told us computers were still down. He left again then later returned again with his finance manager! We were taken back by that, we were given a paper that quoted a whole different price for the Enclave (now the asking was over, $26,700!) and a ridiculous low trade in for our 2006 Murano. We refused and asked what the heck was going on? They said oops they had misquoted us the first price on the Enclave. To make a longer story shorter we left vowing never to return, when we found a much better car at another dealership we found that O"brien had run a an credit inquiry on us which shows up on our report negatively! We never authorized them to run a credit check, they never had the car at a price they led us to believe so henceforth the transaction would have been fraudulent. We never came to any agreement with them on any vehicle and never will. We believe they baited us with one price then tried to take advantage of our senior status, ran an unauthorized credit check and damaged our chances of getting the best rate for our new car. The credit agency said the inquiry from O'Brien took us from very good to only fair. That would stay on there until next month which by then we would lose out on the car we finally found and were happy with. We found a newer Enclave with many many less miles at a very good price and many more features. If we lose this because the payments are going to be to high due to the rate being higher than needs to be, we are considering suing! We want O"Brien to call Trans Union and remove that Inquiry, (and any others that may be necessary) and refund us what ever expense it costs us to buy down a to a reasonable rate. We want an apology from them in writing pertaining to their fraudulent business practices being stopped asap. Thank You,

Desired Settlement
Please see above, We want O"Brien to contact the credit bureaus and explain the error they made so our credit score goes back up asap. To agree to repay us any costs we need to make to attain the reasonable rate/payment by buying down the rate to obtain the correct rate. We also demand a letter of apology for their deceptive practices, which we believe are fraudulent.

Business' Initial Response
I reviewed all source documents & interviewed sales manager & salesperson surrounding Mr and Mrs ********** visit on July 9. Although, I don't believe we intended to conduct fraudulent business practices, we did, however, fail in our processes to help our customers. The price of the car was misquoted by the salesman and the credit report was requested before an agreement was reached to purchase the automobile. An agreement was never reached. Therefore, there was no reason for the credit inquiry. Mr. ******** did complete a credit application giving us permission to run a credit inquiry but that was not his intention when he completed the application. I have spoken to Mrs ******** and apologized and sent them a written apology and have agreed to buy down the interest rate if, indeed, this inquiry has prevented them from qualifying for a better interest rate. In addition, I have sent them the forms needed to complete a Consumer Dispute Request to remove the inquiry.

Business' Final Response
From: Alec McKean
Sent: Monday, September 23, 2013 3:46 PM
To: Shellese Ehrat
Subject: shumaker cancelled check

copy of cancelled check to consumer in the amount of 350.00.

01/20/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/14/1995Business started: 05/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Secretary of State
501 S. Second St.
Springfield, IL 62756-0001
(217) 785-3000
http://www.sos.state.il.us/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1999, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dan O'Brien (President / Owner)Customer Contact: Mr. Alec McKean (Vice President/General Manager)
Number of Employees

55

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Products & Services

This company offers the sales, service of new and used Nissan, Hyundai and Kia vehicles.

Alternate Business Names
Extreme Motors Nissan, Extreme Motors Kia, Extreme Motors Hyundai

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for O'Brien Imports of Bloomington, Inc.

2029 Ireland Grove Rd

Bloomington, IL 61704-7103

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2029 Ireland Grove Rd 

    Bloomington, IL 61704-7103

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*O'Brien Imports of Bloomington, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.