BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/17/1983

By Pass Auto Body

(217) 544-19652300 E Clear Lake Ave, SpringfieldIL 62703-1404View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/17/1983

BBB has determined that By Pass Auto Body meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised By Pass Auto Body's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on By Pass Auto Body

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
01/04/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unsatisfactory repair of my brand new vehicle severely damaged in a collision by using non authorized rusted out damaged non functioning used parts.
I purchased a 2014 Honda CivicVIN number 2HGFB2F5XEHXXXXXX on February 12 2015. It was manufactured on August 2014. My vehicle was damaged in an accident on June 28. Allstate insurance company estimated the damages to be under 10,000. I was assured the replacement parts would be all new Honda parts and my vehicle would be returned to its brand new state. The estimate I was given by Allstate had all new parts being used. Bypass auto body in Springfield was a good hands certified shop. I live 2 1/2 hours away and have never been to Springfield. I know nothing about this shop nor do I know anyone that does. Because of the distance away and the fact that the shop is only open Monday - Friday the exact hours that I work I am unable to personally visit the shop. I was contacted by bypass telling me my vehicle parts had been ordered and the reassembly process would begin as soon as those parts arrived. I was not notified that the new parts had all been exchanged for rusted out non functioning, non Honda replacement parts. The estimate I had contained all new parts so until I went to pick up the car I had no idea that the new parts had all been deleted from the estimate and replaced. During the repair process the shop made no attempt to contact me with any information They only spoke directly with my Allstate insurance company, specifically an adjuster named Jeff Cowell. I made contact with the shop and was told my car would be ready in a few days. I was to be contacted when it was ready for pick up. I tried to contact Allstate to see if an inspection was to be performed as I was told it would be but got no response. I was concerned about the airbags. Three airbags deployed during the accident and my entire rear suspension had been either ripped off or damaged. When I went to pick up the car I was brought to tears as the entire rear door of my brand new car was covered in scratches, grease and dirt. The weatherstripping was dry rotted and missing in sections. The trim pieces were deeply rutted. It looked like the door had been thrown across a muddy gravel parking lot ripped up covered in grease and then put on my car. I was speechless as worry filled me. If that was what I could see of the repairs looked like what was underneath where I couldn't see. I went in to the shop where I was asked what was wrong. I said new parts obviously we're not used, my new car is not new anymore. I was told that they had no problems the repair went well. As I continued to express my concerns I was interrupted and told that the car doesn't matter. I could always buy another one. I was dumbfounded and did not know what action I could take so I brought the car home to have it better inspected.
My gas tank and neck were left unattached properly and were missing bolts to secure it in place. When I attempted to put gas in it the entire unit moved Dan dropped. I was immediately concerned for my children's safety riding in the back near an unsafe gas tank. My outlet did not work. My entire interior of my car was covered in dirty handprints and smeared grease. The traction button did not work. I contacted Allstate to see what could be done. The adjuster came back to site problems and it was sent back to bypass for additional repairs. It was returned a second time worse than before. I immediately took it to have a detailed inspection and told the adjuster it did not pass inspection. I obtained opinions from local repair shops that the repair was done incorrectly with rusted out parts that needed to be replaced. I am missing multiple bolts leaving parts free floating, my breaks and reverse lights do not work, drivers seat installed incorrectly with stripped out bolts and rusted out spray painted track, non retracting seat belts, unibody was incorrectly straightened causing all exterior parts to be bent and modified and do not line up. Rear assembly entirely needs replaced, trunk does not close properly, latch damaged.

Desired Settlement
I believe the repair shop should take over the vehicle reimbursing me from the time they took first possession of the vehicle. At that time I owed $19,000. I had a brand new vehicle with brand new parts that were safe Honda certified parts that allowed my family to be tarnsported with an award winning safety assurance. By using rusted out non functioning parts that the car was modified to attach or leave free floating due to missing bolts, stripped bolts, and misalignment of underlying parts my car has been left unsafe and unrepairable. I had a brand new car I had only made two payments on before the collision. My car was not returned to its brand new state. The estimate of repairs was altered deleting the new Honda replacement parts solely by the shop without prior notification or authorization by myself. I believe the shop committed fraud. My estimate containing all new replacement parts was completely modified and deleted without my knowledge until I picked up the car and was given the modified estimate upon payment for the vehicle repairs.

I want the shop to pay off the damaged non safe vehicle from the time they took possession of it in July 2015 for a total of $19,000 so that I can purchase a different vehicle. A vehicle that is safe for myself and my children to be in and complies with all of the high safety standards that Honda has implemented on its award winning vehicles.

I purchased this vehicle specifically to protect myself and children in the event of an accident. It did. But now with the used non functioning parts and the missing bolts and the modifications the cars main function of safety relies on each part correctly identifying and reacting with the parts around it to absorb the impact is no longer a safety feature on this modified car, it actually renders the vehicle unsafe by Honda repair standards.

In one phone call I asked the shop owner if he would allow his daughter and granddaughter in this vehicle with the way he has repaired it and I was met with dead silence. That speaks volumes to me about the known lack of safety where this vehicle is concerned. Honda advocates for the use of all new Honda replacement parts and a video describing this commitment can be found on honda's website.

I'm just asking for the award winning safety assurance I had before the accident by obtaining a different new vehicle I can once again confidently transport my family. I have not allowed any of my four children in the vehicle since the accident. I have went out of my way arranging for alternate transportation to ensure their safety since my vehicle is no longer safe.

Business Response
We have completed the repairs to this car per allstate guidlines.******* ****** took the car from our shop after we tried to correct some problems and was still not satisfied,so she took it to a shop in her hometown and we have been in contact with that shop sbout working with them to correct any problems she has so she doesnt have to bring it back to us.Mrs.****** is now refusing to do that,she does want us to buy her out of the vehicle but i cannot for the price she wants,we have went out of our way to correct any issues she has but she will not agree to fix them, she has stated some of the components did not work and that is false evrything does work she did not know how to use them, and for the car being safe that is a lie,the shop of her choice in danville had told me he had did a quick inspection of the car and had seen no problems.She has also staed that the facotry warranty is no longer in affect,that is incorrect also,the factory warranty does not cover the used parts we put on the vehicle but that is when our warranty and allstates warranty comes into play.I would let my daughter drive this car without thinking twice,she is making false statemnets in this letter.We believe we have given her several oppurtunities to resolve her problems and she is refusing the options.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Allstate viewed the vehicle after it was repaired. Allstate deemed the vehicle unacceptable and THEY sent the vehicle back to you with additional repairs. You charged them for the additional repairs and received additional payment for those repairs. If there was nothing wrong with the vehicle why did you ask for and receive additional payments. You sent the vehicle back to my place of employment stating you would make no further repairs. You called me a liar just like you did in this report even though the Allstate adjuster spent 2 hours going over my vehicle and recorded and verified my complaints both in writing and pictures. When the car was returned The second time I immediately took it to the dealership where I purchased it from for an inspection. I assumed you would call me a liar again so I had a third party with nothing to gain or lose do the inspection. It was sent through their used car inspection and did not pass. The vehicle was not repaired according to Honda repair standards. Used rusted out parts were spray painted to look new and placed on my vehicle or covered with covers or simply did not function at all. The car again was deemed completely Unacceptable. I have proof of everything I have done. You and your staff have been extremely uncooperative, rude and belittling. I shouldn't have to just buy another car like I was told by your staff if mine was repaired correctly.

If you are so insistent that you have done nothing wrong. Then provide proof of purchase for every replacement part you put on my vehicle. All of the shops I got repair estimates from said they provide that service to their customers so that should be easy for you to provide.

Final Business Response
Yuo did receive a copy of our final estimate,it has a break down of everything ,including all parts that were used to repair your car.::

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/17/1983Business started: 10/01/1970
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Bitschenauer (President)Mr. Bill Bitschenauer (Vice President)
Number of Employees

11

Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Products & Services

This company offers autobody services.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for By Pass Auto Body

2300 E Clear Lake Ave

Springfield, IL 62703-1404

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2300 E Clear Lake Ave 

    Springfield, IL 62703-1404(217) 544-1965

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*By Pass Auto Body is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Body Repair & Painting

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.