BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1997

Dick Van Dyke Appliance World

Phone: (217) 544-8180Fax: (217) 546-2778View Additional Phone Numbers3800 Wabash Ave, SpringfieldIL 62711

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1997

BBB has determined that Dick Van Dyke Appliance World meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Dick Van Dyke Appliance World's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 19 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues4
Problems with Product / Service11
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 19

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Dick Van Dyke Appliance World

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (19)
05/31/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In January 2016 we started having issues with our dishwasher. They sent 3 techs out. The third tech fixed the issue. We got charged for the first 2.
In January of 2016 we started having drying issues with our dishwasher. When the dishwasher first got installed it worked perfectly. After a year or 2 it started having drying issues. We also have a drying feature on the dishwasher. They sent out 3 technicians. The first 2 failed to fix the problem, but somehow I am being for only the 2nd service technician(****** waived the fee the first time) and now we will be sent to collections if this isn't paid. The third technician fixed the problem and it was a fuse that popped. No way, our fault. Once he fixed this issue, our dishwasher is now drying. Meanwhile, I am being charged and being threatened for collections for the 2nd technicians incompetence. Also, one technician lied on the service call saying there was a clogged filter. Even if the filter was clogged and him unclogging it the dishwasher still didn't work. Obviously, that was not the problem. May I add my dishwasher would have never been clogged! I spoke with ******, who talked to me once or twice than ignored me and made others talk to me so I had to explain the situation multiple times. This bill is still not resolved and we are being billed for something that should have no been billed at all. ****** dealt with this in a very lousy way and if I owned the company, she would have been gone by treating a customer this way! ****** also waived the first service fee from them coming out(they actually looked at a burnt up faulty wire in our dryer at the same time that they fixed), why would she charge me for the 2nd technician if it didn't even fix the problem AND when the 3rd technician said to us he made notes saying it was a fuse that popped and that was the reason it wasn't drying. I should not be charged for anything because the bottom line was a fuse that popped that was the dishwashers fault.

I have been dealing with this since January. The dishwasher finally got fixed in March. The first 2 technicians had no idea to check this fuse, but the 3rd one did. I should be charging them for my time they have stolen away from me over a fuse in a dishwasher! Charging customers service fees and not fixing the problem is fraud and a bad business practice.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking my bill to be cleared so it doesn't go to collections and an apology for taking so much of my valuable time away to deal with this issue.

Business Response
I've reviewed the following information sent to Dick Van Dyke Inc. Regarding Mr. ******. Dick Van Dyke Inc. responds as follows:

On January 27, 2016 Mr. ****** called in wanting to speak with a manger regarding his service call. He informed me of the problems that he had with the technician that came to his home. After considering all the information I had, I refunded him the 35.00 service call fee that he paid. I explained to Mr. ****** that part of the reason his unit was not working, is because he does not regularly run cleaner through the dishwasher and this would need to be done. Mr. ****** called back in and set up a service call for our technician to come out to his home to diagnose the dishwasher again. When our certified technician arrived at the home he discovered the same issue as the previous service call. The dishwasher pump needed to be cleaned out as there was a lot of debris in the pump. When I spoke with Mr. and Mrs. ****** about this service call I informed them that I was unable to refund or waive the labor on this particular service call. I explained to them that this is regular use and care of the unit and should be done on a regular basis. I also referred them back to the original conversation I had with them in January regarding this dishwasher not being cleaned properly, therefore, causing the issues it was having. In March of 2016 Mr. ****** called back into Dick Van Dyke Inc. to set another service call. Another certified technician went out to Mr. ******'s home and found that a fuse had blown and the technician fixed the issue. When I spoke to Mrs. ****** I explained to her that I could not waive the labor from the previous service call because we warranty our service calls for 30 days, and at this point we are well over the 30 day warranty.

I apologize for all of the inconvenience that was caused to Mrs. ******. At this time, I am unable to waive the labor for cleaning out Mr. ******'s dishwasher that was performed by our certified technician. If there are any other issues or concerns regarding this I am more than willing to look into that for Mr. ******.

Respectfully,
****** ******
Customer Satisfaction Supervisor
Dick Van Dyke Appliance World


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response shows that the 1st 2 techs and Amanda are incompetent at their job and that the customer pays for their incompetency. This is illegal and fraudulent. Charging me for services that didn't even fix the problem! It was an issue with the dishwasher, not at all our "dirty dishwasher." As a matter of fact, we take very good care of our dishwasher since we spent roughly around $11,000 dollars on appliances to remodel our home.

The first technician came out and said our dishwasher was not drying due to residue and to clean with dishwasher magic. He said he would charge me a service fee. I didn't like this answer because I knew residue was NOT the reason our dishwasher was not drying so I asked him to look at our dryer because it has been having issues also to maybe waive that service fee-He said that that was fair and looked at the dryer and told me since the dryer has a burnt wire he would waive this fee and get a new motherboard for it. He then made his way back upstairs to find me and informed me he could not waive the fee and changed his mind. I did not accept that response and he got a bit nervous, but I wasn't going to fight all day so I just signed it and let him leave. I then called Amanda to get this waived because I should have not been charged this fee to begin with! Amanda keeps saying she did me a favor and waived the fee when in reality I shouldn't have got charged the fee to begin with because he looked at the faulty dryer!

We took his advice though and cleaned it out TWICE on 2 full cycles and it did not clean the tiny bit of residue at all. Then we used a different brand, it helped clean all residue. The tiny bit that was actually in our dishwasher.

After this, the dishwasher STILL did not dry. So, let's assume the "residue" was the reason of it not drying-shouldn't it have fixed the problem? If it fixed the problem, I would have no reason not to pay the amount, but it did not fix the problem so we called a 2nd technician out.

The 2nd technician couldn't believe that dishwasher magic didn't fix the problem. He then concluded that the filter was clogged so he cleaned the filter out, had our babysitter sign the paper and off he went. Absolutely no phone call asking to perform this service. I never gave him permission to let our babysitter sign the paper. Our babysitter would have no idea what she would be signing. We specifically told him to call us when he comes across the problem. After he left and we read on the paper it was due to a clogged filter, I still didn't think that was the problem. I didn't even believe him because why would our filter be clogged when we take very good care of it and it hasn't had an issue for roughly around 2 years. Also, the 1st technician actually said the filter was NOT clogged! How did it become clogged from the 1st technician to the 2nd one?!?! So let's assume the dishwasher was not drying due to a clogged filter and that he was right in his diagnoses-wouldn't it start drying again since he said he cleaned it out and everything should be good to go? Nope. It still didn't fix the problem! I still am being charged for him cleaning the filter when IT DIDN'T FIX THE PROBLEM. Which is illegal! I am even being charged for a $10 billing fee because they had to bill me! They never told me it would be $10 to bill me!

I called Amanda and told her our dishwasher STILL isn't fixed even with 2 technicians that came out. She then informed me to hold off on the bill(the one for the 2nd technician) and she will send a 3rd technician out, a more specialized technician, to look at it a 3rd time because it STILL was not working and that we will re visit the bill on his diagnoses.

The 3rd technician came out and said clearly that the 1st 2 technicians had diagnosed wrongly and that it was a VALVE THAT POPPED INSIDE THE MACHINE AND THAT IT WOULD HAVE NEVER BEEN RESIDUE OR A CLOGGED FILTER! He literally took maybe 20 min to diagnose this problem and NOW OUR DISHWASHER IS FIXED!!!!! YAY!!! Finally, after 2 wrong diagnoses, our dishwasher is fixed! Not because of any of our wrong doing, but because of a valve that popped!

We should have never got charged period because it was the valve inside the dishwasher!

Her argument is the residue and the clogged filter(which is a bunch of bologna) caused the valve to pop! If that was the case than why didn't the 1st 2 technicians check this valve?!?!?!?!?!

Also, we have been dealing with this since January and NEVER got told that there was a 30 day warranty period for service work! Overall, this 30 day nonsense is absolutely insane and not even applicable for our situation.

I request to talk to the Vice President, **** to tell him what actually happened and to get my bill cleared.

This has taken so much of my time up, that I should pay the bill just to never do business with **** Van **** again. If a customer is taking so much of their time up and pushing so ******* something, good customer service would just to be to waive the fee and make the customer happy! As a business owner myself, I would NEVER treat a customer like this over $75! Refusing to make the customer happy and refusing to be truthful in your response is unbelievable and there should be a performance job evaluation for Amanda.

Thank you for your time.

Final Business Response
I've reviewed the following information sent to **** Van **** Inc. Regarding Mr. ******. **** Van **** Inc. responds as follows:

After receiving this rebuttal I decided to talk with a manufacture representative about this unique situation. I asked him if the unit needed to be cleaned would it affect the drying capabilities of the unit. He stated that sometimes that is the case. Based on what he stated I made the decision to reverse the charges that Mr. ****** was being billed for. I did this because I do not want to upset a valued customer based on it being a possibility. I created the transaction today to reverse the charges in Mr. ******'s account. If he continues to receive a bill he will need to notify me so that I can make sure to talk with the finance department again.

I apologize for all of the inconvenience that was caused to Mrs. ******. I appreciate Mr. ******'s willingness to allow me to work through this situation and resolve it in a satisfactory manner.

Respectfully,
Amanda Taylor
Customer Satisfaction Supervisor
**** Van **** Appliance World


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

09/16/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After having a service call, a part was ordered, but we are entering our third week without a repair, under warranty, being completed.
After having a service call on our washing machine, the repair person arrived, ascertained the part needed, and said the part needed to be ordered. One week after this time (Sept. 3), my wife contacted **** in the service and parts department, and she was told that the part was arriving that day. Additionally, she should receive a call soon to set up the appointment to complete the repair. The call never came. I called on Thursday, Sept. 11, spoke to **** in the parts department, and received the same message that the part just arrived. An appointment will be made on Tuesday, but my trust in the company completing the action is diminished. When I asked to speak to a manager in that department, I was told it was impossible since that person was out until next week. Companies do not run without a manager; this was a lie or, at best, a misrepresentation of situation. The company is not living up to its advertised commitment to its warranties. I should not be waiting for almost three weeks for service when the product falls under warranty.

Desired Settlement
I want the job finished by Tuesday. Additionally, I think the store manager should address the message that the manager would not be in the store until next week.

Business Response
I've reviewed the information sent to Dick Van Dyke Inc. regarding Mr. ******. Dick Van Dyke Inc. responds as follows:
We do show that the problem was in fact caused by Dick Van Dyke Inc. We do admit and apologize for that. Our parts supervisor spoke with Mr. ****** on September 11 and was able to set his repair for him. The repair was set for September 15. The last time we had spoken to Mr. ****** he was satisfied with the service that had been performed.
Dick Van Dyke Inc. does apologize for all of the inconvenience that has been caused to Mr. ******.


Respectfully,
****** ******
Customer Satisfaction Supervisor
Dick Van Dyke Appliance World


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
After talking to the acting manager, she addressed the situation including "the lack of a manager" comment and the length of time for the repair. The repair was made on the date given, and an appropriate explanation with an apology was received.

01/12/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues
01/27/2014Problems with Product / Service
06/06/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I Was given a price on 4 GE slate appliances. Was given invoice that showed all 4 appliances,delivery,Installation and taxes.Paid in full.
Paid a total amount of $4695.48 on above appliances. Shows on invoice each item purchased including delivery and installation on 2 of the 4 appliances. Realized next day that we did not need any installation done since we had already paid our contractor for installation in contract. I called dvd to tell them no installation and just to refund $167 install fee.End of story? not!Pushed back delivery to be May 20,2016 said ok. get a call wed May 11th that they want to deliver dishwasher. I told them set for later date. didn't deliver. Today Friday May 13th call again that they have delivery for dishwasher. I told then no next Friday. Felt bad so told them to deliver and I would put in garage. When delivery men showed up they said I had a balance of $27.66. I told them already paid and that they need to reimburse me (meaning DVD). He called store and explained problem as being that since we cancelled installation now had to charge sales tax and that is why I owed balance. I had already paid $222.53 taxes shown on invoice. They said that was for only 1 appliance being refridgerator. Was never told this. All added together and paid in full 4/25/16.The gentleman at DVD was rude and kept saying that I just don't get it.I tried explaining over speaker phone with witnesses that I wanted to talk to **** who wrote ticket up but was day off. Person on phone says "are you going to let a $27.66 charge bother you. I said yes since I was the one needing refunded.He just kept belittling me like I was stupid. I believe I said I was ****** and he told me to quit cussing at him. I never cussed and saw that this was going no where so just wrote a check because the delivery boys were told (****)to do there job and to take care of the cod cost like he was suppose to. Not there fault at all.Next why would they only deliver 1 appliance and not all? By now I am mad to tears and should be happy about all new kitchen remodel but am not due to rude salesman. First time to write a complaint. I run my own business and work with public and I would never treat anyone like I was treated!

Desired Settlement
I am wanting them to stick to invoice where I paid in full and to refund me for installation of $167. Should not be penalized for not letting them install then charged taxes that were more then the installation. I feel I was mislead.

Business Response
I've reviewed the following information sent to Dick Van **** Inc. Regarding Mrs. ******. Dick Van Dyke Inc. responds as follows:
I apologize that not all of the information was outlined clearly to Mrs. ******. When you purchase a built in appliance in the state of Illinois, you are either charged an install fee or the sales tax on the unit. Originally, Mrs. ****** paid the installation fees because she was going to have Dick Van Dyke Inc. install her appliances. Once Mrs. ****** notified us that she did not want the units to be installed, we issued Mrs. ****** a refund. The fact that Mrs. ****** was refunded the installation charges now means that she would have to pay for the sales tax on the original ticket. Mrs. ****** should not have had to pay the 27.66. She had a refund amount that could have been applied to that remaining balance. At this time, Dick Van Dyke Inc. owes Mrs. ****** $54.59. The refund is being taken care of through our finance department and Mrs. ****** should see it in the mail within 7-14 business days.

I apologize for all of the inconvenience that was caused to Mrs. ******. We appreciate her patronage and willingness for us to work through this situation and come to a resolution.

Respectfully,
****** ******
Customer Satisfaction Supervisor
Dick Van Dyke Appliance World

05/30/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dissatisfied with the repairs of our washer and dyer set during two different occurrences.
We purchased a GE washer and dyer set, two years ago which we paid cash for, within a year the dyer caught on fire. We called Dick Van Dyke and they were fast to respond to the repair, only to use parts of a wiring harness, instead of the full harness, which left soot in our dyer. Three weeks ago our washing machine became very loud and unsteady, we called and were set up an appointment. During this appointment the tech told us the problem was the bearings he ordered the parts and came back almost a week later. He replaced the bearings, inter and outer drum during this visit, but found a this was not the problem, it was a cracked shield. He told me "i taped it back together with electrical tape it is very quiet and you can use it until we get the new part in". I went home to do laundry and the washing machine wouldn't cycle longer then two minutes at a time. I called back to report the problem and was told that the tech was off work the next day so they would have to wait to talk to him, leaving us without a washer even longer. The day the tech came back to work i had two phone calls from Dick Van Dyke within ten minutes of each other, I then found out that the part hadn't even been ordered yet and even though they were calling to set up an appointment it was not to fix the washer it was just to see what else he had missed during the original visit. When he came back out he had to call GE to find out what was wrong with the washer, discovering that a sensor wire had been cut, and the tech thinks that he may have broke the wire, but did tell me that there was already a recall on this part that we were never told about. At this point the tech knew how upset i was over not having a washer for over two weeks, and told me that he would order the parts in my driveway before leaving ( this was on a Friday before 9 am), on Monday after 4 pm the store calls to inform me that they are just now ordering the parts. At this point we have been dealing with unhelpful people who can't seem to fix our problems and just keep ordering parts to try anything they can. The parts from the 2nd visit are not even in yet. And three weeks later we still do not have a working washer.

Desired Settlement
We were told that after four failed parts within a year it would be under the lemon law, we are now on part 5 ( inner drum, outer drum, bearing, shield and sensor) and they still are in no hurry to help us repair this. We feel that after this many failures they should replace the system.

Business Response
I've reviewed the following information sent to Dick Van Dyke Inc. regarding Mr. ******. Dick Van Dyke Inc. responds as follows:
On April 21, 2016 Mr. ****** called in stating he was having issues with his GE washer. The service center set up a service call for the technician to come out and diagnose what the issue may be. Our technician found that he needed to replace the inner and outer tub. When those parts came in our technician went out first thing that morning with the parts to replace them, only to find he needed a few more parts to fix the washer. When those parts came in **** Van **** Inc. made the decision to send one of our more senior technicians out to do the job to ensure that would be the final repair on the washer. Dick Van Dyke Inc. made this decision so that Mr. ****** wouldn't have to wait any longer and would be assured that we were handling this issue. On May 13, 2016 our senior technician went to Mr. ******'s home and completed the repair on the washer.

I apologize that Mr. ****** feels as though this issue was not handled properly. Dick Van Dyke Inc. ensures that we are ordering the parts from the correct vendor to get them in a timely matter, as well as, receiving the correct parts for the job. The senior technician informed me that Mr. ******'s washer is up and in working order.


Respectfully,
****** ******
Customer Satisfaction Supervisor
Dick Van Dyke Appliance World

12/21/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Installer did damage to our home. MS ****** stated that we signed as to NO damages. We received no copies of any paper work, so we can't dispute that.
Customer service states that me signed that no damage happened. We received no copies of any of our paper work. MS ****** did not take any of my telephone calls. My wife called on the third day and she took my call. She called me back and stated that my wife signed that there was no damage to home or appliance. She tried to talk over me and then hung up on me. She said call BBB.
We never had these problems in the past when buying from Dick Van Dyke.

Also the so called "FREE 5/10 year Warranty. We were told if they lowered the price we would NOT get this warranty. That is not free! It costs $ 300.00 or more for this FREE item.

YES, I am a person and I am upset and angry. I am an 81 yr old, 100% disabled veteran of two wars and at this time i am recovering from surgery. My wife is 77+ and is my only caregiver. She had to deal we these people on her own.

NEVER AGAIN AT DVD!

Desired Settlement
Desire a union carpenter to obtain parts and make all repairs,

Business Response
I've reviewed the following information sent to Dick Van Dyke Ins. Regarding Mr. *****. Dick Van Dyke Inc. responds as follows:
On 10/17/15 Mr. *****'s new washer and dryer combo was delivered to their home. Our sales staff then received a call stating that this new unit would not fit and that a different one was needed. The sales staff got all the information lined up and taken care of to get a new washer and dryer set out to Mr. *****. After the delivery was done I was then notified of damages to the home from Mrs. *****. I informed her I would gather all the information and give her a call back. After reviewing all the information I had found where there were two different invoices that were signed stating that there was no damage to their home or their appliance. Mr. ***** stated that he had not received any paperwork regarding this. I emailed him a copy of his paperwork on 11/10/15 showing him where the signature was stating there was no damage to their home or appliance during either delivery.
We are sorry that Mr. ***** does not feel that this matter was handled appropriately. I did explain to him all of the documents that were signed and what all the policies are.

Respectfully,
****** ******
Customer Satisfaction Supervisor
Dick Van Dyke Appliance World


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The signatures on this paper work is not my wife's or mine. My wife refused to sign this when the installer was here. Ms ****** offered my wife $75.00 to settle our claim. My wife wanted to see what it would cost to make the repairs before settling. A few days later MS ****** called and said that my wife had signed that there was no damage, and that she should have taken the $75.00. Because now she was not getting any thing.
At this time I am going to turn this over to our attorney. We are going to make a complaint to the Consumer Affairs office at the Attorney Generals Office. We are also going to make a complaint about false advertising regarding the 'Free Five/ten warranty'. The salesman stated that if he lowered the price to what I could get elsewhere we would not get the "Free warranty'. There are questions of who signed these documents with our names.
My wife ordered the unit, I only got in when I saw the price, and when the Dick Van Dyke store would not stand up and pay for the damages.I also would have asked them to return our unit had their installer not torn it to pieces before taken it out. The person representing the DVD store is not doing them any good. Our lack of Good Will from them will go a long way. We had purchased the unit that was being replaced at DVD and had always referred our friend and family to this company. No more.
****** ** *****

01/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They continually want to charge me a travel fee for every time they come out under a warranty product
I bought a Frigidaire fridge from dick Van Dyke's 2 years ago. 3 weeks a month ago it broke I called dicks to have it repaired a repairman came out to my house which is outside their service area so they charge me a travel fee which I was fine with. the service repair man told us he thinks its this art &it'll take up to 2 weeks to get it fixed. At this time is when I found out they were going to charge me again a travel fee for coming out and fixing the product once the part came in. I called the 1800 number they supplied me and their solution was to give me a loaner and we've take back my fridge to their service area. 2 weeks have gone by after the holidays I called on Monday they were supposed to call me back I had to call them back again on Wednesday finally on Wednesday she says my fridge is working just fine will send it out Friday and it'll be 3995 I didn't complain I said fine we'll go ahead and deliver it on Friday I come home Friday night my fridge is making a noise so I proceeded to call the 1 800 number on Monday morning . they are going to charge me a travel fee again to come out and fix my fridge that they did not fix properly in the first place they are telling me I have to pay every single time that they come out to my house whether it's their fault or not in the warranty it says they refused to give me to a supervisor and they refuse to let me talk to the lady that I spoke to the first time that I had all the issue and then that's when I contacted you guys because I was not getting it into them anymore with them because they're making me very angry that they refused to service this fridge that supposedly was fixed on Friday I hope you also look at the Yelp reviews for the Bloomington store I went on there and almost all of them are the same problem that they continuously charge you for coming out because they are not bringing the proper product out initially

Desired Settlement
A proper running fridge. With out charging me because its out of my service fee

Business Response
I've reviewed the information sent to Dick Van Dyke Inc. regarding Mrs. *****. Dick Van Dyke Inc. responds as follows:
Mrs. ***** contacted Dick Van Dyke on 11/10/14, stating that her refrigerator was not cooling. At this time Mrs. ***** was notified that there would be a mileage fee assessed for a technician to be dispatched, due to her residence being located outside of our service area. We then dispatched one of our Frigidaire certified technicians, who diagnosed that the evaporator and the compressor had failed. Unfortunately, these parts had to be ordered and it would take 3-7 days for it to be received. On 11/11/14 I contacted Mrs. ***** and offered to deliver a loaner refrigerator to her home, to use while we waited for the parts. To help avoid any further mileage charges, I scheduled for her refrigerator to be brought into our shop to be repaired. On 12/3/14 Mrs. ***** called to follow up on the status of the repair and I found that the repair had just been completed and everything was working fine. We then scheduled for the refrigerator to be delivered back to her home and the loaner to be picked up.
I was unaware that there were any further issues with the refrigerator since it had been delivered back to Mrs. *****'s home. We have since contacted her and scheduled for a technician to go the home to diagnose what is causing the current issue, and have instructed him to contact me directly with the outcome. I greatly apologize for any inconvenience that this has caused and hope she will allow us that opportunity to continue servicing her appliance needs in the future.

Respectfully,
Rayvin Goodbrod
Customer Satisfaction Supervisor
Dick Van Dyke Appliance World

11/24/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We had Dick Van Dyke come to the house to fix our washer. They quoted us for 2 hours of labor, finished in 40 minutes, and still charged us in full.
On Monday, 10-27-14, we had Dick Van Dyke Appliance World come to our house (Work Order XXXXXX) to fix our GE washer, which was purchased at Dick Van Dyke on June 19, 2008. During the technician's diagnosis on Tuesday, 10-21-14, we were informed it would take two (2) hours to repair the washer because the mode shifter had to be replaced, and it would involve an "extensive tear-down," according to the technician. The part was covered under Dick Van Dyke's extended warranty, so he quoted us $189.50 for 2 hour labor. However, when he arrived to fix the appliance, he was at the house for no more than 40 minutes, yet still charged us for the full two hours labor.

When we called the technician to question the 2 hour charge, he informed us that because of his "17 years of expertise," he was more "proficient," and it did not take as long as previously thought. So we again questioned why we paid for 2 hours. He then informed us that labor is not charged by the hour, rather the job itself, and that he was "not authorized to reduce a service charge," but we were welcome to contact customer service with questions or issues, and that the customer service manager would look into it, talk to him, and then call us for a follow-up.

After contacting customer service, we were first informed that the part was not covered under the extended warranty, and that it cost $130. We disagreed, explaining that the technician said the part was covered. The customer service agent tried to give us the run-around, until she finally said she would contact the technician herself and call us back, which she did. She did not, however, retract her previous statement about the part cost until we questioned it again, but still did not offer a solution to this problem.

Desired Settlement
So, essentially, we were charged for the labor, which didn't even end up being an hour, as well as the part that was supposedly under warranty. We know this because the customer service agent kept telling us that the part was $130, and half of $189.50 is $94.75, meaning we basically covered the company's cost for the part. The only plausible resolution to this situation is to refund us $94.75 which, again, is half of the labor charged.

Business Response
The Dick Van Dyke Inc.technician at the point of sale informed the customer of the estimate and they approved the charges by initialing our paperwork. However, our goal is to satisfy all of our customers' and in good faith we will honor a refund. We have contacted the customer and refunded a portion of the labor. The customer was extremely satisfied with the refund amount.
Sincerely,
John Shepherd
Sr. Vice President
Dick Van Dyke Inc.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Appliances - Major - Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/09/1993Business started: 01/01/1977
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Dennis Rieken (Owner)Customer Contact: Mr. John Shepherd (Sr. Vice President)
Contact Information
Mr. Darrell Haslett (Vice President)Mr. Bryan Horath (Vice President)Mrs. Lynn Rieken (CFO)Mr. Dennis W. Rieken (President)Mr. Paul Rieken (Vice President)
Number of Employees

60

Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers

Products & Services

This company offers appliance sales, parts, service and repair including refrigerators, freezers, ranges, dishwashers, microwaves, washers and dryers and venting systems and hoods.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 08:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 08:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 08:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 08:00 PMFri: 09:00 AM to 08:00 PMSat: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PM
Alternate Business Names
Dick Van Dyke, Inc., Appliance World

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Dick Van Dyke Appliance World

3800 Wabash Ave

Springfield, IL 62711

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3800 Wabash Ave 

    Springfield, IL 62711(309) 827-8300
    (217) 398-7867
    (217) 423-7424
    (217) 544-8180
    Fax: (217) 544-0737
    Fax: (217) 546-5198
    Fax: (217) 546-2778

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Dick Van Dyke Appliance World is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (309) 827-8300
  • (217) 398-7867
  • (217) 423-7424

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (217) 544-0737
  • (217) 546-5198
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Appliances - Major - Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.