BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2011

Dick Van Dyke Appliance World

Phone: (309) 827-8300Fax: (217) 546-5198

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service14
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints18

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (18)
11/09/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I've received a bill for a service call when I was told clearly on the phone the service call would be free of charge since I'm still under warranty.
The Dick Van Dyke store in Bloomington and the offices in Springfield need to be held accountable for the way they treat their customers! I wish I would've read all the horrible reviews on them before I purchased a stove. I purchased a stove from the Bloomington store in May 2015. For starters, the stove was delivered without oven racks!! Their suggestion was that I drive back to the store (which was 40 miles from my home) and they would give me the racks from the floor model!!! In the mean time, they would order me a new set. I made the 40 mile trip and when I arrived at the store the man tried to tell me the oven I purchased only had two racks when I knew the oven I purchased had 3 racks!! After finally agreeing I should have 3 racks, I drove back home only to discover the racks were too narrow. They just fell through the side brackets!!! I called back and spoke to **** (the salesman who sold me the stove) and he said he had personally ordered me the new set so I should have them in a couple of days. Days went by without racks, so I called **** again. After researching, he found that there was no order anywhere for my new oven racks!!!!! Needless to say, almost ONE MONTH went by before I received racks. I was without an oven for nearly a MONTH!!!!! That is not an acceptable way to run a business!!!

That's only the first part of my complaint!! In September, my stove top appeared to have bubbled up on the ceramic top. I had tried cleaning and scrubbing it with the cleaner according to the instructions I received, but could not remove the bubbles. I wanted to make sure there wasn't something wrong with the top, so I called the store in Bloomington and told the girl what was happening and asked what I should do. She immediately said "We'll send a tech out to take a look at it. Since your appliance is still under warranty, there will be no charge to you."
The tech (*****) used a knife and scraped and scraped and finally got the bubbles off. Then he said "the bad news is, I'm gonna have to charge you $60 for this call since there isn't anything mechanically wrong with the unit". I explained to him that the girl I spoke to simply told me there would be NO charge. Then ***** said "You don't have to pay it. I'll put on the work order what you were told when you called in and I'll turn it in".
Well guess what......I got a bill a couple weeks later for $60!!!
I called the store in Bloomington and was told they would not reverse the charges because the girl I spoke with (who had scheduled the service call) said she had explained the warranty in full with me and that I was fully aware of what the warranty covered!!!!! That was a total LIE!!! Each person I spoke with to try to resolve this was very, very rude!! I finally asked to speak to a manager and was connected with ****** in the Springfield office. She was absolutely the worst of all and should not even be in a manager's position!!! She totally stuck up for the girl who said she explained the warranty to me and when I asked ****** for the girl's name and if I could speak to her, ****** said in the nastiest voice "NO, I won't give you her name and you don't need to speak to her". She threatened to send the bill to collections if I don't pay the $60!!!! After this incident, I will discourage EVERYONE I know from doing business with a Dick Van Dyke store!!! I am fed up with them!!!!
How can they be in good standing with BBB when they run a business that way??? They need to treat their customer better. I'm surprised they have any business at all!!

Desired Settlement
I'm simply asking that they take the $60 charge off of my account.

Business Response
I've reviewed the information sent to Dick Van Dyke Inc. regarding Mrs. *****. Dick Van Dyke Inc. responds as follows:
On 6/1/15 the service department received information regarding Mrs. ***** not receiving her oven racks. We completed the proper paperwork to order those racks. We sent the racks directly out to Mrs. ***** on 6/15/15. On 9/23/15 our service technician went to Mrs. *****'s home to diagnose what was wrong with her stove. When the technician was out he determined that it was not a mechanical failure and that Mrs. ***** would have to pay the service call fee. The technician diagnosed that there was food caked on the top of the stove and he cleaned it off for Mrs. *****. Mrs. *****'s warranty certificate states "This protection plan is for mechanical failure, and not valid for the cosmetics of the appliance. The plan does not cover anything connected externally to the appliance." We informed Mrs. ***** on 10/13/15 that she would have to pay for the service call fee and that it states it in the warranty paperwork. The service representatives know the warranties and policies and make sure to notify every customer under warranty of the possible charges that they may receive.
We are sorry that Mrs. ***** does not feel that she has been treated fairly through her whole experience. Reviewing all the information that we have, Dick Van Dyke Inc. has decided in a good faith we would like to refund Mrs. ***** her 60.00 service call.

Respectfully,
*************
Customer Satisfaction Supervisor
Dick Van Dyke Appliance World


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept the refund of the $60 service call. Apparently the service representative I spoke to was either new or was not trained correctly since she did not notify me of possible charges. She just simply told me there would be no charge for a service rep to check my stove since it was still under warranty. Hopefully she has been informed of the mistake she made and will be able to inform customers correctly in the future.

Thank you,
****** *****

10/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We bought a refrigerator 5/28/13. After several service calls and failure to repair the unit, Whirlpool replaced it. Just over 1 year later, it failed
We called Dick Van Dyke, where we purchased the unit on 8/25/2015 because it wouldn't cool. They came out on 8/26/15 and worked on it most of the day. The repairman thought it was cooling when he left. Overnight it quit cooling. We called them on 8/27 and informed them it isn't working. There is a one year Whirlpool warranty which is over but Dick Van Dyke gives a 5 years warranty. This unit is well within that 5 years. 9/1/2015 they made another service call. Second service call visit.
Technician installed 3 parts Evap coil - Compressor - (can't decipher other item on the invoice). The installation lasted 7 hours with 3 different technicians working the project. (10:45 am to 6:00 pm) When the technicians left we were advised that the refrigerator was cooling. At 6:00 pm, we filled ice trays and put them in the freezer to gage the freezer functioning. The refrigerator seemed to be cooling.

Checked the ice trays during the night and found a thin film of ice forming on the water in the trays.

XX-XX-XXXX - Issue still present.
At 7:00 am: No ice had been made and the water in the ice trays no longer had the thin film of ice. The freezer no longer felt cold. The temperature in the freezer was 46 degrees . The temperature in the refrigerator was 48 degrees. The harsh chemical smell was back in the refrigerator and in the whole kitchen.

Sent email describing the problem to Dick Van Dyke service call center. Response from call center at 8:30 am. Technicians would be scheduled to resolve the problem and call center would advise us when the service would be formed. Technicians were unable to correct the problem.
Dick Van Dylke's decided to pick up the refrigerator and attempt to repair it at the store. They will be giving us a loaner until something is done to correct the problem.

XX-XX-XXXX - XX:XX AM - Dick Van Dyke picked up our refrigerator and delivered a loaner refrigerator that could only be installed in our garage.
XX-XX-XXXX - I talked to the Dick van Dyke Service Department. They had not started repairing the refrigerator yet. Said they had to order a tool for the repair. Asked what our options were - repair or replace. They said they had to repair it and would schedule it for repair today (XX-XX-XXXX). They will call when it is ready to be delivered.
XX-XX-XXXX - No call from Dick Van Dyke I called them and it took half the afternoon to get back with me. I was told they had to order a tool and it just came in today. This was the same story ***** gave me Thursday morning. I told them someone lied to me and I expect a call tomorrow to tell me who and why. They are not going to start working on it until Wednesday, 9-16-2015.

XX-XX-XXXX - Called and talked to ******. She claimed she had tried to get the unit switched out with Whirlpool but was turned down. There was a part they needed to fix our unit on national back order. It just happened to come in that day so she said it was shipped next day air so it wouldn't be long before they got ours fixed.
X-XX-XX I called them again and was told only one of the parts had come in. They are waiting for another part that was back ordered. We have been without a refrigerator working in our kitchen for 36 days. Every time I talk to them, I get a different story. I have bad knees and it is terribly inconvenient to have to go downstairs to my garage when I need something from our fridge.

Desired Settlement
I paid for a top of the line refrigerator and I want the same. I have no faith in this unit as I have had to throw out two units full of food because of its failure. That is over $600 worth of food lost.

Business Response
I've reviewed the information sent to Dick Van Dyke Inc. regarding Mr. ******* Dick Van Dyke Inc. responds as follows:
We understand that this repair has been frustrating and time consuming for Mr. *******. We have been working with the manufacture to receive the parts that are needed to fix Mr. *******'s refrigerator. After parts delivery being pushed back from the distributor, We informed Mr. ******* that the part would be in on October 5, 2015. Once we receive that part on the 5th we will complete the repair. We also explained to Mr. ******* if the part does not come in on the 5th we would provide him with a brand new refrigerator.
We are sorry that this has taken the time it has. We want to make sure that Mr. *******'s refrigerator is completely fixed before sending it back to his home. We would also like to offer Mr. ******* the maximum amount allotted for food loss of $100.00.
Respectfully,
****** ******
Customer Satisfaction Supervisor
Dick Van Dyke Appliance World

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
After a frustrating wait, I have to say that ****** and the Dick Van Dyke Company have come through. They are replacing my refrigerator this week. I am now completely satisfied.

09/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I hired them to replace the water lines on my refrigerator in January. They did not get the lines tight and water leaked on my floor
I had****** from Dick Van Dyke repair a water line in January, In March I noticed a spot in front of the refrigerator. I blamed it on my 4 year old daughter. On Friday May 22 I walked into the kitchen and found a pool of water in front of the refrigerator and pulled it out to find the damage and the leaking water line. I tightened the water line and mopped up the water with towels. I immediately called Dick Van Dyke and they said they would return my call on Tuesday. They called today to inform me I needed to turn it into my insurance company.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to pay to repair the damage to the floor.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** Talor
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@appliance-world.com
I've reviewed the information sent to Dick Van Dyke Inc. regarding Mr. ********. Dick Van Dyke Inc. responds as follows:
We had been out to Mr. ********'s house on 1-16-15 to replace the water valve on his refrigerator. He then called us on 5/23/15 to let us know that there was damage to his hardwood floors. He stated it was our fault from the repair in January. He informed me that he tightened the water valve and the leaking stopped. He wanted us to pay for the repair of his flooring. I informed Mr. ******** that too much time had lapsed and that we were unsure if it was our repair that caused the leak. I informed him to turn it over to his homeowners insurance. He was unhappy with this decision; therefore, I told him he could turn his complaint over to the BBB.
We are sorry that this has happened to Mr. ********'s flooring. If it is determined that this leak was caused by our technician, we will then take the proper action to take care of Mr. ********'s and the damage to his flooring.
Respectfully,
****** ******
Customer Satisfaction Supervisor
Dick Van Dyke Appliance World


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I want them to accept responsibility for this faulty repair. I have informed them that I did notice a discoloration in the flooring in front of the refrigerator in mid to late February, I assumed my 4 year old had spilled something however, there was nothing there simply discoloration of the actual wooden maple floor. On the Friday before Memorial Day there was water on the floor in front of the refrigerator. I pulled it for the first time to check on where it was coming from. You can tell that I do not pull this out to clean behind by the photos. When is the last time you pulled your refrigerator out? The leak around their replacement part was soaked and had ruined the material on the back of the refrigerator, the corner of the floor directly under their attempted repair. I then tightened the valve and the leak stopped and then I took Bath towels and mopped up the floor. Before putting them in the washer, purchased by Dick Van Dyke. I am waiting for an estimate to submit

Final Business Response
Good morning,
Dick Van Dyke Inc. has decided to go ahead and refund the 458.00 to Mr. ********. I created the refund today and it will be sent out this week. If you have any questions feel free to contact me.

04/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Want to charge a service fee to come back out to repair what was faulty from their first repair job.
On January 24, 2014 I called to have Dick Van Dyke's look at our washer because the gasket seal around the door was leaking. On January 30, I was told they would be out that day but only after I paid a service call fee by credit card. The technician stated he had to order the part. The actual repair did not take place until February 5, 2014. That part just fell off the washer door. When called to ask them to come and correct the problem, I was told they would not come out unless I paid another service call fee. This time, they called it a "diagnostic fee". I explained that they did not need a diagnosis, that the part they installed simply fell off. I was again told, that is their policy. I am supposed to have a guarentee for this work for 90 days. After being told that this is how they do this, I asked to speak to the manager. I was not allowed to be connected to one but was told that someone would call me back. I did recieve a call a few hours later. The woman said her hands were tied, as they only honor the diagnostic fee for 30 days. I asked to speak to the head manager and again was told they would not connect me but they will forward the information to them. I feel that they are not honoring their guarantee by charging us to come back to the house to repair either a faulty part or one that was put in incorrectly. I also feel that when a customer has an issue and asks to speak to a manager, they should honor the request.

Desired Settlement
I would like for a repair technician to come and replace/ repair the part that they initially installed with no added cost.

Business Response
The customer scheduled a service call for a Whirlpool washer on January 24, 2014 stating that the washer was leaking. Our technician inspected the washer and found that the bottom front of the gasket was wrinkled and causing the washer to leak out the front of the door. Our technician went back to the home on February 5, 2014 and replaced the gasket on the door. On April 1, 2014, the customer contacted Dick Van Dyke Appliance World stating that the gasket was ripped loose on the door of the washer.
Our diagnostic fee is guaranteed for 30 days, unless the customer was to decline the repair at the time of diagnosis. All parts and labor is covered for 90 days. I do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused the customer, and after reviewing the information we have decided that the customer would not be responsible for the second repair of the washer. Our technician went to the residence on April 1, 2014, and he diagnosed the issue with the appliance. He spoke to the customer on April 3, 2014, stating that he did not charge the service call fee and parts and labor would also be covered.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
First, I never reported that the gasket was "ripped loose". I reported that the gasket fell off, big difference! I spoke to the technician that came the second time and was told that the part was installed incorrectly by the first technician. At that time, which was after they recieved notice from BBB, he said they would waive the diagnostic fee. I reported Dick Van Dyke to BBB because I was repeatedly told we had to pay a new diagnostic fee, regardless of the outcome. Because they did waive the fee, I am satisfied. Because of the persistance needed for them to come and correct their mistake or to talk to a manager, I will not call them again.

06/03/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have lots of damage done to my property by the Dick Van Dyke delivery guys. They are refusing to pay for all of the damages after I turned in proof
On 05/05/2016 I had Dick Van Dyke deliver my appliances at this time they arrived extremely late and while they were moving the old appliances out they damaged several different areas of my house. They ripped my laundry room floor which was an older flooring but everything else that they damaged was just remodeled and all new door frames, doors, and thresh holds. They also left a pocket knife at my house that was were my young son could get to it. I sent Dick van dyke pictures of the damages and a detailed description of my complaint. They said to get estimates and they will take care of it. After getting an estimate from the Licensed contractor that previously did all of the work to my home Dick Van Dyke responded that they believe that the damages were pre-existing and that they will pay only $500.00 of my $2600.00's in damages. I told them that I have evidence that I am telling the truth cause the work was done by a City Grant from the City of Bloomington. I contacted the Community Development Inspector that was in charge of work that was done to my house and he gave me pictures of everything they put in (doors, thresh holds, trim,etc) with the dates the job was finished which was 02/01/2016. I sent that to dick van dyke along with the inspector's contact info and the licensed contractor's info which proves that it was not pre-existing damages. Dick Van Dyke said that they was issuing a check for $500.00 and that if I want to go through the BBB I could do so. I have not recieved anything from Dick Van Dyke as of 05/24/2016. I want them to pay for all of the damages done to my house as indicated in the estimate that I had done upon their request.
****** ****** was the customer service manager who I was dealing with and she was rude and inconsiderate to me on several occasions even implying that I was lying to her about the damages. I have all the emails and pictures that I sent to her. I am a single mom of 2 and I live pay check to pay check and I put everything I can into my home to make it nice for my family and they came in and just tore it apart and then refuse to stand good for the damages done.

Desired Settlement
I want Dick Van Dyke to pay for the full amount of damages done to my house including replacing all of the vinyl floor in the room because it cannot be patched. I also want the delivery charges removed because it was not done to my satisfaction.

Business Response
I've reviewed the following information sent to Dick Van Dyke Inc. Regarding Ms. *****. Dick Van Dyke Inc. responds as follows:

On May 6, 2015 Ms. ***** called in stating that when the installer was there he caused damage to her home. Once I received the pictures I looked them over to see if the damages are something that our installers caused. I called and spoke with Ms. ***** and explained to her that in these situations we typically offer a monetary amount for the damages. Ms. ***** stated that she would call her contractor that worked on her house previously. I explained to her that she was more than welcome to submit in an estimate and we would review the amount we could give her. Once the estimate was received it was clear that it was a very high amount for repairs. I explained to Ms. ***** that based on the pictures and information I had all I was able to give was 500.00. Ms. ***** was very upset and insisted that we turn this over to our insurance company. I explained to Ms. ***** that this is not a situation that we would turn over to insurance, and we are offering a prorated amount to fix the damages which is the same thing our insurance company would do. Based on the pictures I received it is evident that some of the damage is not consistent with what we typically see with damages from our dollies or our appliances.

I apologize for all of the inconvenience that was caused to Ms. *****. I created the 500.00 refund on May 18, 2016. Once the refund is created it takes 7-14 business days to be received in the mail.

Respectfully,
****** ******
Customer Satisfaction Supervisor
Dick Van Dyke Appliance World


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
All damages done to my property was done by Dick Van Dyke. I have pictures from what my house looked like before they delivered my appliances. The contractor is the same one that originally did the work. The City of Blm. Was in charge of the work so I have pictures of all of the new doors and dates the work was finished. I wll attach pictures of the damages.

Final Business Response
I've reviewed the following information sent to Dick Van Dyke Inc. Regarding Ms. *****. Dick Van Dyke Inc. responds as follows:

When I spoke with Ms. ***** regarding the before and after pictures I explained to her that we still could only offer the $500.00 compensation for the damages. Some of the pictures were not consistent with what we typically see when there is damage done during an installation. Furthermore, we would only pro rate the amount for the flooring, as we only caused a minor tear in the flooring. I am not saying that we did not cause any damage to Ms. *****'s home, but I am stating I do not think that all of the damage was caused by our installer.
I apologize for all of the inconvenience that was caused to Ms. *****. I have already created the $500.00 refund for Ms. ***** and she should be receiving it in the mail soon.

Respectfully,
****** ******
Customer Satisfaction Supervisor
Dick Van Dyke Appliance World

07/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Requested return of service call fee.
4-29-15 - Contacted Dick Van Dyke in Bloomington IL re my Amana refrigerator/freezer malfunction - advised them the problem was the evaporation fan which was not operating properly. 5-1-15 Initial visit by serviceman - agreed the evaporation fan was not operating properly - said he could repair the appliance with a $128.32 replacement part - I agreed to pay that if it would repair the appliance. He stated he would order the part which should take 3 to 7 days. 5-18-15 - they called, had received the wrong part, should have the correct part in 2 additional days. 5-20-15 - serviceman could not repair the appliance with the new part - said the appliance could not be repaired. 5-22-15 - a neighbor offered to look at the appliance, order a part for less than $12,
and repaired the appliance which is now working perfectly. I requested a refund of my $60 service fee but was denied by 2 different people in their "service" dept.

Desired Settlement
Refund of $60 service charge.

Business Response
I've reviewed the information sent to Dick Van Dyke Inc. regarding Mrs. ******. Dick Van Dyke Inc. responds as follows:
Mrs. ****** called into our service department because her refrigerator wasn't cooling properly. We dispatched out one of our factory trained service technicians to Mrs. ****** residence. When the technician arrived he diagnosed a faulty defrost control. We tried ordering a direct factory replacement, but the OEM part wasn't available for purchase any longer. Our service technician tried using a generic defrost control which didn't work.

We informed Mrs. ****** that we were unable to repair her refrigerator due to the unavailability of the part from our suppliers. She felt since we were unable to repair the appliance that we should refund her the service call fee. We shared with Mrs. ****** that we offer a $25.00 coupon towards the purchase of a new appliance, but since we did diagnose the refrigerator we wouldn't refund the service call fee.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused to Mrs. ******. We appreciate her patronage and hope to earn back her business in the future.

Respectfully,
****** ******
Customer Satisfaction Supervisor
Dick Van Dyke Appliance World

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
on April 29, 2015 I spoke to Dick Van Dyke's service department - gave them the make and model of my refrigerator/freezer and told them the evaporator fan was not working correctly - would run but not at full power. on May 1, 2015 a serviceman from Dick Van Dyke arrived - agreed the problem was the evaporator fan and said he could repair it with a $128.32 part (all of this is on their work order #XXXXXX). I was told it would take 3 to 7 days to get the part and repair the appliance. Over two weeks later they called and stated they had received the wrong part and it would take another 2 days to get the right part. When the serviceman arrived with their part he realized that part would not correct the problem - picked up his tools and left. A neighbor then asked if he could look at the appliance figured out how to make the repair - ordered a part which cost less than $12 and completely repaired the Amana refrigerator/freezer. Finding their service completely unacceptable I spoke to their store manager in person - who also agreed they had not handled this situation properly and that he would have the store's supervisor call me the next day. I received a call from a young lady that would only say "we never refund a service charge" discounted the fact that I told them the problem before the serviceman even looked at the appliance and that his knowledge of the appliance was inadequate. Since I stated the exact make & model of the refrigerator/freezer and the part that was not functioning properly, they should have sent a service person with knowledge of that type of appliance. Since that failed to happen, I feel it only fair that they return my $60 service fee. Thank you!

01/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charged diagnosis fee, unable to diagnose, unable to repair - breach of agreement and unwilling to refund diagnosis fee.
On 12/3/2014 Dick Van Dyke repairman visited our house to diagnose a refrigerator water/ice dispenser problem. Diagnosed as a bad board. Paid $60 via check#2213 at this time. Return visit 12/11/2014 to replace board, stated that replacement board was bad. Return visit 12/15/2014, stated that he had brought wrong part. Return visit 12/16/2014 stated he was unable to diagnose the issue and advised us to call manufacturer Electrolux (Frigidaire) - I asked him what I was supposed to tell them and he said he didn't know. He indicated that the Dick Van Dyke repair office would call me the next day. Despite repeated call by myself to their office (speaking each time to "*****", no return calls until today 12/31/2014 from "Raven" who indicated her boss "**** ********** would not refund the money. I asked how to escalate and was told no escalation possible. I asked how to contact store manager or owner and was told that I was not allowed to do that either. Asked to be put to "**** ************* office and was sent to voicemail that was not his voicemail. Proceeding at this point on social media and by contacting listed company owner and CEO. Request your assistance in filing due to breach of contract, as they never did diagnose the issue, yet alone fix it. Especially grievous is the issue of not return calls in order to try and make my situation "go away". Terrible business practice and totally in breach of their contract and approach to appliance services.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking the return of the $60 diagnostic fee as the diagnosis was never completed and Dick Van Dyke ceased to even continue trying - to the point of not sending out any further repairmen and also avoiding or ignoring multiple calls to the office for service.

Business Response
My service technician shared with me that we called the manufacture from Mr. ******** home to assist us with diagnosing the appliance. My technician also shared with me that you were given the part numbers of the parts that failed. The service technician's notes indicate you would call our company if you were interested in repairing the refrigerator. The technician's notes further state that when he called the manufacture he requested for them to pay for the repair parts. Our technician was trying to get the manufacture to pay for parts on your 10 year old refrigerator. Our service call fee is to diagnose the issue with your appliance. It is obvious to me that if we called for technical assistance from your home, and the part numbers were given to you, then services were rendered.
Therefore, the diagnostic fee will not be reimbursed to Mr. ******** for services that were rendered.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Point by point from the response:

- The service technician did call the manufacturer from our residence for assistance.

- The technician did not give me any part numbers at any time, either verbally in written form.

- The technician asked me to call the manufacturer but did not explain what I was supposed to ask them to do. He also indicated that their shop would call me the next day with further advice. No return call received for several weeks despite repeated calls by myself to this shop.

- I don't know why the technician would have requested the manufacturer to pay for parts on this 10 year old refrigerator - that just seems ridiculous. We asked Dick Van Dyke to figure out what was wrong and we were always willing to pay for both the parts and labor associated with the repair. Why would he ask the manufacturer to pay?

- Yes their service call is to diagnose the issue. I never received any diagnosis, part numbers, etc. from the technician. In fact he visited multiple times to replace one part he thought was at fault but that did not fix it. It was at this point that Dick Van Dyke just "gave up" and kept my original payment and avoided my requests for status/return calls for approximately 2.5 weeks.

- In the very end of a final conversation with the VP noted in the original complaint he testily (and rudely) provided me with the part numbers for all of the functionality involved in the door ice/water dispenser. I am quite aware that if I basically replace the entire door infrastructure the thing will start working again. He could not and would not tell me which part or parts were at fault, meaning in effect that they provide absolutely no diagnosis for my problem other than that the water/ice dispenser was not working and that one or more of the parts involved in that functionality was faulty.

I fail to see how anyone can read this and not see that it is an absolutely ridiculous situation. I believe a more correct term for this is fraud. Not sure how bad a day the VP was having but if he had been the least bit courteous on the phone I would probably be upset. But poor/no service and rudeness? That demands a response.

If you regularly look to BBB for recommendations on businesses I would say stay well clear of **** Van Dyke appliances. Business must be pretty rough if they cannot admit they failed in this case and return the diagnostic fee.

I know it is just $60 but I have plenty of time on my hands, so I am going to take this complaint to the Illinois Attorney General's office next and continue to see what I can do about getting the word out on Dick Van Dyke and their service. Also please note that I submitted some feedback on their website which they declined to post as well, meaning that they "tailor" their feedback so it obviously cannot be trusted. On the internet this is referred to as "astro-turfing". Common actions for poor/underperforming businesses to try and get a leg up on better competitors through fake marketing and referrals.

I request that based on the information I have provided here, which is all true and factual, that BBB downgrade their rating of Dick Van Dyke appliances. They do not deserve the current rating they enjoy.

12/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I believe a gas valve was replaced that was not needed.
I had a gas smell that I thought was coming from my stove. I contacted DVD and they diagnosed a bad gas valve, a $270 part. It was installed a few days later 11/7/2014. The gas smell remained. I called them again and they said they could find nothing wrong. The gas smell continued. The gas company was finally called and a leak was found where the pipe came through the floor and was fixed within 5 minutes at no charge. This was easily acessible to the other repairman. I am not sure if this was fraud coupled with incompetence but the old valve they removed and left looked brand new. than god I did not have a fire or explosion due to this.

Desired Settlement
My total bill from them was $340. I want a 50% refund of $170. I had to take a half day off work for this "repair". This amount does not even come close to my lost wages as I have no paid time off.

Business Response
I've reviewed the information sent to Dick Van Dyke Inc. regarding Mr. *****. Dick Van Dyke Inc. responds as follows:
Mr. ***** contacted **** *** Dyke Inc. on 10/24/14, stating that there was a gas odor coming from his range. On, 10/31/14 one of our GE certified technician was dispatched to the home to diagnose the issue. After, extensive testing with an electronic gas leak detector, the technician found the odor to be coming from a faulty valve. The valve had to be ordered and on 11/7/14 the technician was sent back to the home to install the part. Upon completing the repair, the technician completed another series of to ensure that the new part did not have any leaks. On 11/10/14, Mr. ***** called stating that the range was still not working properly, at this time the technician found the range to have no leaks and operating properly.
Although, I fully believe that the technician correctly repaired the range and ensured that there were no leaks after the fact, I would like to offer Mr. ***** the refund of $170 to compensate for any inconvenience that this may have caused. As a valued customer of Dick Van Dyke, we hope he will allow us the opportunity to continue servicing his appliances in the future.



Respectfully,
****** ********
Customer Satisfaction Supervisor
**** Van **** Appliance World

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Although this was my initial request, I realized I had not factored everything in when I initially submitted the complaint. This should have been fixed for the cost of a service call, $60. I also lost half day of wages to be home for the service call. I think they can do better.$200 and we will end this. There is also a pending complaint w The attorney general.

12/22/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a refrigerator from Dick Van Dyke Appliance World under their no risk warranty for 5 years and now they will not fix the refrigerator.
I want my refrigerator fixed as promised under the warranty.

Desired Settlement
I want them to fix or replace my refrigerator as indicated on the warranty.

Business Response
Dick Van Dyke Inc. has read the complaint filed by Mrs. ******* and responds as follows.
Mrs. ******* purchased a General Electric refrigerator on March 12, 2010 with our exclusive 5 year 10 year warranty. She called into our service department in October 2014 because her refrigerator wasn't cooling. We immediately dispatched out a factory trained technician to diagnose her refrigerator. The technician diagnosed a faulty Evaporator cover. Unfortunately, the evaporator is on national backorder from General Electric.
Dick Van Dyke Inc. offered to give Mrs. ******* a loaner refrigerator at no cost to her until her replacement part arrived. Mrs. ******* declined the loaner because she has another refrigerator in her garage. General Electric offered Mrs. ******* an inconvenience fee of $150.00 for the additional wait time. General Electric also offered Mrs. ******* an additional one year of manufacture warranty if she waited for the part. Mrs. ******* opted to wait the extended period of time to receive the additional warranty coverage from General Electric.
In December 2014 the part is still on national backorder. I instructed my staff to enact the provision of our protection plan that offers the customer a prorated value for their appliance. Our 5 year 10 year warranty contract states that "If the appliance cannot be repaired according to the manufacture due to unavailability of parts, the prorated value of the appliance over a five year period will be deducted from the retail price of a replacement appliance if purchased from Appliance World". Mrs. ******* doesn't qualify for the pro-rate at this time, because according to the manufacture the part will be available. We only offered Mrs. ******* the pro-rate to try an assist her with a new appliance if she didn't want to wait for the replacement part.
Again, we apologize that Mrs. ******* is upset at the length of time it has taken to repair her appliance, but she has declined every offer that has been given to her. She is only interested in receiving a replacement refrigerator, which is outside the scope of our protection plan.

Respectfully,
**** ********
Sr. Vice President
Dick Van Dyke Inc.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr. Shepard stated that the part may never be received and instead of honoring their no risk warranty as advertised on their website and in TV and radio media, he offered me $150 instead. The refrigerator that I have does not work and they advertise that they will fix it.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Appliances - Major - Dealers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.