BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Chet Holmes International

Find a Location

(855) 244-1990384 Green Leaf Dr, GrovetownGA 30813-4406http://www.chetholmes.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Chet Holmes International is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Chet Holmes International's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Chet Holmes International

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
07/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contracted with Business Breakthroughs to receive: Gold Campaign: $6000.00 Includes 75 guaranteed first page search results.
I contracted with Business Breakthroughs to receive there Gold Campaign: $6000.00 Includes 75 guaranteed first page search results. AMENDMENTS (please note any additional comments or special terms below)
Client Receives All Benefits of the Platinum Campaign ? Client will receive a personalized website evaluation. The evaluation is based on 50 criteria and will clearly identify actionable items to improve your site's performance. Deliverables include a report of findings and recommendations. Programming is not included. ? Keyword consultation, research, and customized campaign strategy design ? Increased number of unique search phrases on first page of Search Engines ? Total of 13 optimized editorials are published and linked to your company website ? 6-month contract term to submit content.

In a nutshell, the company only delivered on eight (8) of the articles. There were very difficult to deal with. Months went by and i was passed continually to a different person. Finally today I received a call from the company, from yet again a different person, who admitted that they had problems with the program and she was now reaching out to help me. I told her the only thing I would accept is a total refund, which her exact words were: "That's not going to happen".

I feel like I was totally scammed by this company from day one! They did not deliver on what was offered, and made it very difficult to deal with. Although I attempted to reach out several times, I never received timely communication, and then the term of the contract ended.

I request a 100% REFUND!!!

Desired Settlement
A 100 % REFUND!

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@businessbreakthroughs.com
RE: BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX
Client contracted with Business Breakthroughs International on July 17, 2012 for our SEM Gold Campaign. It was a 6 month term for client to send in 13 articles that we would then post on the Internet. Clients' term expired and he did not fulfill his requirement. He was unresponsive for months and surfaced on April 23, 2013. It took from then to June 14, 2013 to get a return call from him to discuss his situation and remedies. In spite of this, we offered him an extension which he declined. We additionally offered the opportunity to be upgraded to one of our new SEO products so he wouldn't need to finish writing the offers. He again declined. He also then threatened us with his contacts in the FBI and that he would create "a lot of press" if we didn't refund his money. Client is not entitled to a refund; however, our commitment is still to provide him service.
The following paragraphs from his agreement noting the Final Deadline for his part and a clause that allows us to pursue alternative means to meet his expectations:
Completion policy:
ï Client must submit all articles within the contract period. If more articles than those originally specified by BBI are needed to meet the number of search results specified in this contract, then BBI will publish additional articles at no additional cost and extend the time period of the contract in order to publish them. Client must supply all content by the final deadline to be eligible for the "No-Risk Performance Guarantee" above. No refund is due if Client does not fulfill this requirement. Final deadline for article submissions will be Jan 12, 2013
Search Engine Operation and Alternative Means:
ï We cannot control how search engines operate, nor the availability of Internet services, and therefore we are not liable for lost search results due to changes in search engine functions, such as algorithm changes or changes in programming or formatting that would adversely affect your results, interruption in Internet services, or any other cause beyond our control. In the case of changes in search engine operation that change the number of search results you contracted for, we will deliver results of similar value through alternative means at no additional charge.
Although the client refuses to acknowledge the terms in his contract, we stand ready to do either the options offered to him on June 14, 2013.

Consumer's Final Response
Re: BBB Complaint ****#********(Ref#X-XXXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXXX)
From:
** ** ********** to Contacts
Sent:
Thu, Jul 4, 2013 at 8:37 am
To:
Better Business Bureau
comsec.sm.jpg (14.6 KB)
Thank you for attempting to help us. I would also like to add to my file, that I will now explore filling a class action lawsuit against Better Business Breakthroughs.

Best regards,

****

Business' Final Response
As previously addressed, client did not fulfill his responsibility in providing the agreed upon number of articles for his campaign. The comment that this program was backed by **** ****** was correct. While it is true that Mr. Holmes passed away in August 2012, the comment of 'backed by' never meant he would have personally been involved in the the client's campaign. BBI continues today delivering goods and services that are consistent with this company's founders.

Client is not entitled to a refund as his agreement terminated. Again, although not bound to do so, we continue to stand ready to work with client to provide him additional time to submit his articles, or move him into a different program.

The following paragraphs from his July 17, 2012 contract are clear that no refund is to be provided:

Completion policy:
ï Client must submit all articles within the contract period. If more articles than those originally specified by BBI are needed to meet the number of search results specified in this contract, then BBI will publish additional articles at no additional cost and extend the time period of the contract in order to publish them. Client must supply all content by the final deadline to be eligible for the "No-Risk Performance Guarantee" above. No refund is due if Client does not fulfill this requirement. Final deadline for article submissions will be Jan 12, 2013

Search Engine Operation and Alternative Means:
ï We cannot control how search engines operate, nor the availability of Internet services, and therefore we are not liable for lost search results due to changes in search engine functions, such as algorithm changes or changes in programming or formatting that would adversely affect your results, interruption in Internet services, or any other cause beyond our control. In the case of changes in search engine operation that change the number of search results you contracted for, we will deliver results of similar value through alternative means at no additional charge.

BBI has provided the service contracted for within the limitations of the less than 100% submission of articles by client.

05/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to deliver guaranteed minimum performance results for an internet Search Engine Marketing (SEM) campaign.
On October 3, 2012 *************.com (TIE) purchased a Search Engine Marketing (SEM) program from BBI from Sales Representative Daniel Lewis. This SEM program is a specific type of internet marketing strategy designed to generate what are known as "back links" to our website *************.com. At the time of purchase we agreed to purchase a performance package that fit within our budget. We purchased what was called a Platinum Package for $10,000 to be paid in monthly installments of $5,000 via our company credit card.
The Platinum performance package required TIE to submit 13 articles (specific to particular keywords to accommodate back linking criteria) within a 6 month period. (The 13th article was submitted to and published by BBI on 2/12/13). BBI was to publish these articles on their proprietary website NationalNewToday.com for SEM purposes. BBI did perform this function in a relatively timely manner. Under the Platinum performance package BBI guaranteed these published articles, in combination with BBI's unique skills, abilities and proprietary knowledge would produce a minimum of 75 "first-page" search results when the general population conducted internet searches for the specific keywords used in the SEM campaign
At the end of the 6 month article submission period (March 3, 2013) BBI could only demonstrate 29 "first-page" search results. This represents less than half of the guaranteed results. Per BBI's No-Risk Performance Guarantee: "We guarantee the number of "first page" search results specified in your contract. We guarantee that if you follow our instructions, your articles will appear on a wide variety of search phrases on the first page of search engines as specified in this contract."
In light of the dismal results of the campaign, after 6 months of doing exactly what BBI had instructed us to do, to include SEO improvements to our website and YouTube channel we lost confidence in the fact the BBI could perform as their guarantee had expressed. There were no measurable, quantifiable or verifiable results produced by the campaign.
On or about 3/6/13 we expressed our displeasure and disappointment with the results produced by BBI's SEM campaign. As expected, BBI contacted us and made every attempt to retain us as a customer. We were contacted by ***** *******, President, Client relations/Ombudsman, Director, Core Story Development/Business Coach. At first there were pleas for us to understand the complexities and nuances of internet marketing (SEM and SEO). As an internet company we are very aware of these complexities and nuances and fully understand that after 6 months and the corresponding results this campaign was not going to produce the results BBI had guaranteed. We politely declined any further involvement and requested a return of our $10,000 at their earliest convenience. At this time we were told BBI does not grant refunds and we would be contacted by another BBI representative, apparently someone of higher authority than ***** *******.
On 3/15/13 ************ had a conference call with ***** ******* and ***************. Mr. *****s is apparently the president of the SEO division of BBI, however his email address and correspondence associates him with er.org (Employment Research Institute). We are not familiar with this company and unsure why we are receiving correspondence from them. In fact, we have never seen any form of correspondence from Mr. *****s or BBI to demonstrate Mr. *****s and BBI are affiliated in any way.
Upon continuing to voicing our displeasure with the results BBI and requesting a refund of our $10,000 Mr. *****s informed ************ that we would not receive a refund, to contact our attorney and he would donate $500 to any fees our attorney charged us to continue our request for a refund.

Desired Settlement
TIE is requesting a lump sum refund of $10,000 and is not interested in continuing a business relationship with BBI.

Business' Initial Response
Mr. ****** is partners with the client in our files, ************. The client company has failed to complete the number of articles agreed to in the contract dated October 3, 2012. Per their contract, they were to submit a total of 25 articles to be published by April 3, 2013:
"Completion policy: Client must submit all articles within the contract period. If more articles than those originally specified by BBI are needed to meet the number of search results specified in this contract, then BBI ****** publish additional articles at no additional cost and extend the time period of the contract in order to publish them. Client must supply all content by the final deadline to be eligible for the "No-Risk Performance Guarantee" above. No refund is due if Client does not fulfill this requirement. Final deadline for article submissions ****** be Apr 03, 2013." BBI former representative ********* spent time above and beyond by meeting Mr. ****** weekly to help guide and help him through the process.

Mr. ****** and Mr. ****** decided not to finish writing their articles trying to equate 50% work with 50% results, which is not realistic. Mr. ****** has been the primary contact for this client. The client has failed to diversify his message as he puts in the exact same phrasing in every one of his articles so there is not much room to wiggle as we look for phrases. This was explained to him in the beginning and along the way to help guide him to have the most effective articles to maximize the publication results.
In an effort to work with them, Ms. ******, President of Client Relations met with both of them; however Mr. ****** was rude and disrespectful, and hung up leaving Mr. ****** to work with Ms. ******. It was pointed out that BBI had not failed to deliver since our guarantee is based on the completion of the articles from the client.

Client was offered an upgrade to an alternative service in lieu of writing the remaining articles since the contract specifically says: "Search Engine Operation and Alternative Means: We cannot control how search engines operate, nor the availability of Internet services, and therefore we are not liable for lost search results due to changes in search engine functions, such as algorithm changes or changes in programming or formatting that would adversely affect your results, interruption in Internet services, or any other cause beyond our control. In the ****** of changes in search engine operation that change the number of search results you contracted for, we ****** deliver results of similar value through alternative means at no additional charge."

Introduced Mr. ****** to ****** on 3/15/13 to discuss moving him to our newly launched, upgraded SEO programs. From there, Mr. ****** (affiliated with BBI to provide these services) assigned a technician/representative to meet with Mr. ****** for a brief intake to get his program going. However, Mr. ****** has refused to meet with the representative who would be working on his behalf on the alternative program which makes it impossible for the technician to properly serve him. In light of that, Mr. ****** was offered an extension to complete the remaining 12 articles of his original campaign.

BBI's President of Client Relations has made numerous phone calls and emails (between 2/26/13 and 4/19/13) in an effort to help this client achieve his desired results; however, he refuses to follow the original agreement requirements, and/or meet with the technician that can work on the alternative, upgraded campaign for him.
Business Breakthroughs has lived up to the agreement and has been stalled at this point awaiting remaining articles from client. We continue to stand ready to work with this client and ****** give him an extension to complete his articles for the originally contracted program, or move him into an alternative program that best fits his company goals.

Copies of the signed contract, emails detailed notes from telephone conversations, etc. available upon request.

****** M.A. ******
President, Client Relations
Business Breakthroughs, International

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
BBI's most recent rebuttal is testament to the reasons for our request.

Based on the performance package we purchased BBI continues to point the finger at Truth In Equity (TIE) for non performance, but has yet to express the performance of the SEM program purchased. This was also a point of contention during our relationship; BBI NEVER expressed-in any form-performance results up to the point of our refund request. BBI failed to perform basic services as it relates to relaying performance results for the 6 month performance package we purchased. How can any company continue to make demands on their customer when they are not willing or fail to perform the most basic level of customer service? Did our $10,000 buy us any customer rights or did our $10,000 simply buy us the right to be BBI's customer?

Per BBI's accusation of Mr. ******'s failure to produce viable articles: if BBI recognized that the quality of the articles was not sufficient to produce desired results then why did BBI continue to publish submitted articles? Each and every submitted article was first reviewed by Mr. ********* and after Mr. *****' acceptance/approval each and every article was submitted and reviewed by BBI's internal staff. Again, if submitted articles did not meet performance standards then why were they published? Why were they not returned for editing and further counsel provided so as to ensure a quality product? Would these services not be included as stated in BBI's company literature?

ïKeyword consultation, research, and customized campaign strategy design

Further more, why was TIE held to a higher performance standard than dictated by BBI's standard proposal? The following are excerpts from BBI's standard proposal which are the basis by which we made a purchasing decision.

Platinum Campaign: $10,000 -- Includes 75 guaranteed first page search results
(This is the performance package TIE purchased)
ïTotal of 13 optimized editorials are published and linked to your company website (satisfied by TIE)
ï6-month contract term to submit content (satisfied by TIE)

Diamond Campaign: $15,000 - Includes 150 guaranteed first page search results
(This is the performance package upgrade BBI granted for the price of the Premium Package above.)
ïPremium package. Doubles the Platinum package with an $5,000.00 price break
ïTotal of 25 optimized editorials are published and linked to your company website
ï12-month contract term to submit content

As stated above; the Diamond Package allows for a 12 month term to produce the required number of articles to achieve performance goals. Why was TIE required to produce 25 articles in a 6 month period (as stated in BBI's response to this complaint) when the performance package we were operating under granted a 12 month time frame to produce 25 articles? BBI did not disclose to TIE the requirement to produce 25 articles in 6 months when the upgrade offer was presented and accepted. This appears to be a deceptive practice on behalf of BBI in the event that a customer is displeased with the service and performance results of BBI's offerings.

It is quite obvious that BBI holds their customers to a higher level of performance then they do for themselves. BBI only holds itself accountable to their claims to perform while it holds its customers accountable to performance standards they themselves are immune.

Again, as stated clearly throughout this complaint process; TIE has performed and met the minimum standards set forth by the performance package we purchased (Premium Package). At the end of 6 months TIE requested a performance review to verify that the minimum of 75 first page views had been satisfied. It had not. At the 6 month interval program performance fell well below 50% of the guaranteed minimum of 75 first page views. It was at that time TIE recognized the failure of BBI's SEM program and requested a full refund. If program performance had produced as claimed by BBI then TIE would have gladly continued to perform as the performance package we were operating under (Diamond Package) dictated.

BBI has failed to produce the minimum results as stated in their own literature, but continue to claim that TIE is the ultimate cause of the programs failings. It is BBI's failure as a marketing company to adapt their offering and approach to satisfy and/or perform in specialized markets. It is their failure to perform under demanding circumstances yet they continue to point the finger at their customer to perform at a higher standard than they hold themselves accountable. TIE is not interested in additional or alternative services offered by BBI. One failed effort is evidence enough that BBI can not deliver on their performance claims for our market niche. TIE requests a full refund of $10,000.

Business' Final Response
Mr. ****** is partners with the client in our files, ************. The client company has failed to complete the number of articles agreed to in the contract dated October 3, 2012. Per their contract, they were to submit a total of 25 articles to be published by April 3, 2013:
"Completion policy: Client must submit all articles within the contract period. If more articles than those originally specified by BBI are needed to meet the number of search results specified in this contract, then BBI ****** publish additional articles at no additional cost and extend the time period of the contract in order to publish them. Client must supply all content by the final deadline to be eligible for the "No-Risk Performance Guarantee" above. No refund is due if Client does not fulfill this requirement. Final deadline for article submissions ****** be Apr 03, 2013." BBI former representative ********* spent time above and beyond by meeting Mr. ****** weekly to help guide and help him through the process.
Mr. ****** and Mr. ****** decided not to finish writing their articles trying to equate 50% work with 50% results, which is not realistic. Mr. ****** has been the primary contact for this client. The client has failed to diversify his message as he puts in the exact same phrasing in every one of his articles so there is not much room to wiggle as we look for phrases. This was explained to him in the beginning and along the way to help guide him to have the most effective articles to maximize the publication results.
In an effort to work with them, Ms. ******, President of Client Relations met with both of them; however Mr. ****** was rude and disrespectful, and hung up leaving Mr. ****** to work with Ms. ******. It was pointed out that BBI had not failed to deliver since our guarantee is based on the completion of the articles from the client.
Client was offered an upgrade to an alternative service in lieu of writing the remaining articles since the contract specifically says: "Search Engine Operation and Alternative Means: We cannot control how search engines operate, nor the availability of Internet services, and therefore we are not liable for lost search results due to changes in search engine functions, such as algorithm changes or changes in programming or formatting that would adversely affect your results, interruption in Internet services, or any other cause beyond our control. In the ****** of changes in search engine operation that cha

Industry Comparison| Chart

Training Programs, Lecture & Seminar Bureaus

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/03/2009Business started: 09/13/1991
Business Management
Principal: Mr. Marc Pearl (General Manager)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mikki Shepard (Pres Client Relation) Amanda Holmes (CEO)
Number of Employees

8

Business Category

Training Programs, Lecture & Seminar Bureaus

Products & Services

This company offers business growth training programs; coaching and consulting as well as business support service; education-based marketing and web design.

Service Area

International

Alternate Business Names
Empire Research Group

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Chet Holmes International

384 Green Leaf Dr

Grovetown, GA 30813-4406

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 14622 Ventura Blvd.
    Suite 1018 

    Sherman Oaks, CA 91403(855) 244-1990

  • 384 Green Leaf Dr 

    Grovetown, GA 30813-4406

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Better Business Bureau of Central Georgia and the CSRA, Inc.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Chet Holmes International is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Training Programs

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.