BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

WOW!

Phone: (706) 364-1000Fax: (706) 364-1011

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

24 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues6
Billing / Collection Issues10
Problems with Product / Service8
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints24

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (24)
06/15/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
WOW! service technicians promised me a free HD-DVR because they couldn't solve our picture quality issues. Now WOW! is charging me for it.
We have been customers of WOW for over 3 years now and have our phone, internet & cable bundled with them. When WOW first installed our cable, we immediately experienced picture quality issues. The picture periodically became very distorted & pixelated and the sound would also periodically drop out. WOW sent technicians to our home who invested a large amount of time and effort attempting to solve our issues over many days, but were not able to do so.
The technicians enlisted my help and brought us an HD-DVR and requested that we use it to record the issues and let them know where, on the many recordings, the picture quality issues were located. I did as they asked and spent many hours recording TV shows, making notes of specifically where on the recordings, the issues were located, so that the technicians need not waste a lot of their time searching thru the recordings.
After the WOW technicians had exhausted all their options, they gave up trying to solve our picture quality issues the Lead Technician, **** ***** - from the *********** IL office - told me that I could go ahead and keep the HD-DVR for no charge. When I asked him how long I could keep it, at no charge, he said "forever, or until it breaks".
My monthly WOW invoice did indeed show a credit for the HD-DVR for the next 12 months, then, I began being charged for it. I called the WOW Customer Service Department and relayed the above promise made by their Lead Service Technician, but the CSR's said they were not authorized to continue to credit me for the HD-DVR. I then called **** ****** reminding him of what he had told me a year earlier & he arranged to reinstate the credit for the DVR. Same thing happened after the second 12 months expired. I called WOW again, the CSR's did nothing, I then called **** ****** who once again gave me the credit. Now 12 months later, **** ***** is not returning my calls, I have been charged for the HD-DVR (which I was told was mine to keep, at no charge, until it breaks ) for the past 2 months & the CSR's say there is nothing they can do for me.
I don't believe that it is acceptable for WOW employees to make promises and later renege. I was promised a free HD-DVR and that is what I believe I should get without having to fight WOW for it every 12 months. Our picture quality issues are on-going. I would appreciate any assistance you can provide in this matter.

Desired Settlement
Want to continue to keep the HD-DVR at no monthly charge as promised.

Consumer Response
WOW! has contacted me and resolved the complaint.

Thank you.

**** *******

04/10/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have had wow service since 9/15/14 or 9/16/14 and I was promiseed a $50 credit for being a referral. I t was a promotional that was temporary.
I mailed a flyer in reference to the $50 credit referral, I believe. Nonetheless, I was promised on multiple occasion that I would get my credit. When it was time to apply it, it was not applied. I was sent a late notice instead. I did not pay since it was supposed to be applied. When I called the only did $25 off it. then I was billed again. I did not pay again, they disconnected me. I called again then they applied the $25.00 but told I have to pay $40 to reconnect along with $10.00 late. I refuse to pay that. I called the president on multiple occasion. He never returned my call but only one time. I still left numerouse messages anyway. He never called back. Wow ******** for this

Desired Settlement
I want the late fee and the disconnect fee waiver so I can receive my proper services. Also apply my mom *********** her referral credit of $50 as well since she referred me. thank you.

Business Response
A credit a was issued to the account to take care of the referral credit, late charge and reconnect fee.

Consumer Response
Yes it has been taken care of. I guess I will see it reflect on my new bill that will be coming out. My mom received her credit as promised


03/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company placed a new cable to my house along the surface of the ground in October 2014 and has not yet buried it. I called them multiple times.
In October 2014 my cable (phone, television, internet service) required repair. The company apparently decided that a new cable had to be run to the house. This company then placed a new cable to my house along the surface of the ground, to be buried at a later time. Five months later I am still waiting for the cable to be buried. I have called them multiple times, and have been promised repeatedly that the work will be done. I also contacted them once on their internet site, but did not receive a reply.

Desired Settlement
Bury the cable as required.

Business Response
I have escalate the situation with the bury drop and it should be completed within the next few business days.

02/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Telephone and cable TV service do not work properly. TV Screen has black lines, shimmers and low signal pop ups, and telephone cuts off regularly.
Poor signal. Telephone cuts off regularly. Cable TV is poor quality. TV picture has black lines and screen jumps. Blue box pops up on screen saying low signal. Techs have been out here numerous times (15-20), since sept. According to Customer Service manager *******, analog service is unreliable and we should purchase a digital box to watch TV. He explained there was nothing else that could be done and I could not talk to General Manager, service manager etc.

Desired Settlement
Since they sold me "unreliable service" and I pay around 110.00 monthly for tv and phone service or they should furnish digital boxes, at no charge, since their analog service is so unreliable.

Business Response
As of 2/3/15, per the consumer, all services are working properly.

******* ******

Consumer Response
2 days following my complaint, WOW sent out 3 techs Managers and all repairs were made and Cable/ TV and internet are working very well.

09/22/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
WOW claims we did not return $275 worth of their equipment. We did not keep the receipt were told acct was clean. They refuse to remove charges.
We scheduled to end our service with WOW due to moving out of state. We scheduled for a representative to come turn off the service and collect our cable box. No one ever turned up to collect the box. So my husband had to take the box up to the company himself the day we were supposed to have movers come. He went right at opening hours and returned it to a woman he can describe. This was the morning of July 22nd. Upon coming to our new home, about 2 weeks after returning the box, I tried logging in online to see if we owed anything since I wasn't sure if the mail would be forwarded here on time for a final bill and did not want to be delinquent paying it. However, my online portal was not working because I was technically no longer a customer of theirs. So I emailed their customer service email and asked if there was any balance, specifically stating I didn't want to pay late. We have always paid our bill in full and to my recollection, on time over the course of 2.5 years being WOW customers. We were told via email our account was good and that WOW owed us money for over-payment or something. So my husband threw away the receipt showing he returned the cable box the morning of the 22nd because we were told our account was clear. Now, to our surprise, about a week ago (around the 1st of Sept. 2014) we received something from WOW in the mail. I thought it was the check they owed us. It ended up being a bill for over $275 in unreturned equipment and fees. We emailed and called to find out what was going on and we keep getting told "we can't do anything without the receipt." Finally, they sent the case to the local office and "had them look for the box with the serial number that was registered to us" but apparently had no luck finding it. I just called today to find out they couldn't find it and asked what else we can do. I was told there is nothing that can be done without a receipt, there is no higher way of appealing this bill and no supervisor higher than the woman I spoke to she would allow me to talk to flat out, we owe the money. She did, however, suggest that we could go back to the office where we returned the box and speak to the lady. But we live in Missouri now and that office is back in Georgia. I find it hard to believe this can't be appealed any further and that nothing can be done about it. We do NOT have their box. It was returned. There isn't even WOW service out here where we now live, so why would we keep it? We were good customers that always paid the bill and never had any problems until we tried cancelling service...

Desired Settlement
I expect for the un-returned equipment charge to be cleared from our account along with any other fees they have made up due to their own employee's mistake.

Business Response
The charge for the equipment has been removed.

******* ******
CEO Customer Advocate
WOW! Internet, Cable and Phone


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I accept the equipment charges being removed but also want to ensure that also means the $33.13 in franchise fees and taxes gets removed as well since those only existed because of the unretured equipment fee.

Final Business Response
The account should be cleared.

Page 1 of 2
04/12/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
balance due needs to be removed from my account
WOW! account number XXXXXXX

When I called WOW! originally (recorded telephone conversation confirms this) to order service with I was advised all fees would be waived except $25 install. We asked to have the install asap as the walls were opened up due to remodeling making it for an easier install for the technician. (That I wanted these waived to offset an early termination fee $230 with *********

However on my first billing statement there was a misc charge of $330. I was never at any point informed of a 'wall fish' charge. My fiance even assisted the technician in getting some of the cable ran down the walls (this should have been a two person job).

The technician ***** **** from ******** ****** ******** did the install on 02/13 verified this with dispatch and verbally told us all was good, no charge as was quoted to me.

I contacted WOW! immediately.
After numerous phone conversations, case numbers and promises to call back; I only received one phone call from ******* which was in response to my letter I sent them. (which stated the above)
I cancelled my service effect Feb 24th and returned all equipment back to the service center Feb 25th. This $330 charge needs to be removed from my account.

02/19 #XXXXXXXX waive wall fish charge
02/22 #XXXXXXXX corrected monthly billing as I was overcharged according to my original quote. And put in order to pull conversation recording and will send to retention
02/23 spoke with ******* cancel account, that I am not paying the $330 fee and was told I had to call back.
02/23 #XXXXXXXX ******* - supervisor ***** is working on case.

Desired Settlement
$330 due needs to be removed from my account

Business Response
Mrs. *********, signed off on the work order for the work performed. The technician spent multiple hours installing 11 wallfished outlets. The work order states the $330 price and has her signature.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

1. I was advised repeatedly that there was no charge for outlets.

2. The technician advised me that he confirmed with dispatch and verified no charge for outlets.

3. This is not my signature on the on the work order, but my fiancé who had to stay during the install as I was not advised it would take so long. It should have been a two person job, yet only one technician was sent out.

4. My fiancé assisted the technician in running the cables down the walls. MOST cables did not need to be fished as the walls were open having no drywall up making it easier for the technician to do the install

5. Received a billing statement from WOW today for $450.99 I spoke with an agent via phone who is to credit my account $70.99; but states there is a $50 install fee that is due.

6. The $50 install fee was originally and always quoted as $25. And I was told ALL fees were waived if I cancelled my account within 30 days.

02/09/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Constant Unreliable Service and Slow Speeds
I have had high-speed internet service with WOW! for eight months, Acct # XXXXXXXX, during which time I have experienced multiple connectivity issues and increasingly slow speeds. I pay for the highest plan available to my area 110 mbps, yet never receive over 20 mbps. I have had multiple service calls for connectivity issues that never seem to resolve the situation. I am a work-at-home employee who must have reliable, high speeds. This is the only provider in the area to offer the speed I require to do my job. Whenever I have a connectivity issue, my company puts me on unpaid leave until the problem has been corrected. I have lost countless work hours and income due to the poor service WOW! has provided.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have at least half of the speed I was contracted for, the lines in the area thoroughly examined for issues, a guarantee of speedy resolution for further incidences and monetary reimbursement of a good amount of the internet charges paid out for the last eight months.

Business Response
We have determined after a few visits that the cause of the problem is the customer's laptop. Verified that WOW services are working properly. Customer is calling in a IT person to look at the laptop. Customer will call back in when laptop is fixed.

12/04/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Deceptive advertising regarding internet pricing
The business lists their pricing plans here: http:*********************products/internet/speeds/georgia/fort-gordon

I signed up for the 50/5 speed tier, but presumably the same issue exists for all tiers and products.

According to this page, as a 50/5 internet-only customer I should be charged $50/month. There is no indication anywhere on this page, and as far as I can tell no indication anywhere on their website, that this is not the standard pricing plans. It was only after the technician had come and completed my installation and handed me the paperwork that I learned that I was actually being billed $70/month. I contacted their customer service who informed me that the $50 listing is a promotional pricing that you have to specifically request. There is no way for me to have known this from the information provided by WOW, and with no indication of this anywhere at all, I think that at the very least this should be viewed as deceptive advertising, if not outright false advertising.

Desired Settlement
Add a clear notification to your public website on all pricing plans that are promotional in nature, along with the actual monthly cost and when that price goes into effect.

Business Response
A clear notification has been posted at the bottom of the WOW web page explaining that the prices listed are promotional prices. Instructions are also placed at the bottom of the web page to contact a company representative for full details that include the rate of service after promotional period ends. Training has been provided to company representatives to allow new subscribers to receive promotional rates advertised.

06/30/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
30mb download, 3mb upload for $30 on website
it is clearly stated with NO (*) stating only for set about of time. or for new customers only. 30mbs download and 3mb upload for $30a month. it does not say the price will change after 12months

**********************************************************************

Desired Settlement
I want to pay $30 a month for 30mb download and 3mb upload,that would be the set price until i decide to upgrade or downgrade the service. per there websites statement. without the price switch.

Business Response
I spoke with the customer in regards to the pricing he understands that the price is not a lifetime offer. I educated him on the steps he could take to view the terms and conditions. He understood but was still unhappy. I offered to honor the 30/3 for $30.00 for the 12 month time frame as a new customer. He refused the offer. He understands he can contact us with any other questions or concerns he might have.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am happy the gentlemen said, "I educated him on the steps he could take to view the terms and conditions." But this is Not a reason they can false advertise. You can not have a webpage saying it is $30 a month for 30mb with out any other information on the page. I educated the gentleman on the page that was falsely advertising, He did say he saw that there company falsely advertised on the page. But, He claimed if I go to a different page, Not the one advertising. I will can find other information oh how they can "bait and switch" people. If terms and conditions are part of a deal they are offering it should be posted on there advertised page. They should Honor there advertised price for $30 for 30mb. Without any limitations, per the advertisement until I change it.

04/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My phone service was disconnected without my authorization or request.
On March 23, 2015 my phone service was disconnected without my authorization or request
If I can recall correctly- the representative that put in the request to have my phone service disconnected is ******** Her employee ID number is XXXXXXX. I spoke with the representative one to two weeks prior to 3/23/15 by calling WOW!
customer service at XXX-XXX-XXXX. At time I requested that my cable service be disconnected. I was told the earliest disconnect date 3/23/15 On that date my phone service was also disconnected without my authorization or request.I contacted WOW!at XXX-XXX-XXXX and spoke with several representatives and a manager. I am being told that my phone number can not be retrieved and my phone service may be reconnected within the next 24- 48 hours.

Desired Settlement
I want my phone service reconnected asap and my old phone number reinstated.I want to also be compensated for the inconvenience by discounting my phone bill.

Business Response
I'm sorry for the inconvenience we have caused you. I show service was restored on 03/26/15. I had add a $20 discount to the account the is good for 12 months. I will have the call pulled from the day you requested the downgrade with removing Cable TV.

Page 1 of 3
04/25/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Services provided were unusable for the approximately 3 months we had WOW. Numerous phone calls and service appointments and no improvement in service
On November 25, 2016, WOW was installed in our home. We ordered telephone, internet and HD TV. Shortly after installation, we noticed the internet was very slow or wasn't working at all. I called WOW's support telephone number. They ran tests and determined that a tech would need to be sent out. The tech arrived a few days later and indicated the installers did not provide us with the correct modem/router. The change in routers did not resolve the slowness/stability of the Internet service. We were unable to watch NetFlix or even browse the Internet. We ended up having to use our cell phones for Internet coverage.
In December/January, we began having significant issues with the TV service. There was tiling of the picture and the audio was undiscernible due to the constant dropping of the audio. I called customer support, and they scheduled a technician to come out. The technician came out and after his diagnostic testing revealed significant poor signal strength, he contacted another support colleague. He told me that the other technician reported that the amplifier (or other main piece of equipment) in the neighborhood was faulty and would need to be completely replaced in the upcoming days. The technician reported there was nothing he could do and left.
A short while later (that same night), another WOW technician stopped by our home and explained that he managed all the cable/equipment in our area. He indicated that it would be awhile for service to be fixed as they needed to obtain permission from the city as they needed to dig up the concrete in the street to fix the cable and replace the broken amplifier.
I called WOW customer support and they gave me a credit of approximately $20.00 for the inconvenience. Up until this point, I was still paying for services that were not working - they did not meet even the minimum advertised specifications nor could we watch TV.
After a continued lack of usable service, we decided that we needed to change providers. At this point, we had paid hundreds of dollars for unusable services. I called to cancel WOW and the woman I spoke with (after explaining the entire situation to her) assured me she would wave the final bill due to all the issues we experienced. Of course, the bill arrived a few weeks later and all the charges were listed. No one at WOW seems to recall this conversation. I have contacted WOW several times with no resolution. While I have no problem paying for products/services I use, I will not pay for services that I did not receive. All equipment was returned. I have screen shots of speed tests and videos showing the lack of picture and audio on our TVs. Before contacting the city and state, I am hoping this issue can be resolved.

Desired Settlement
I am looking for the final bill of approximately $250.00 to be waived - as promised by the customer service agent and common sense would suggest. I was unable to use the services provided by WOW due to broken equipment and a lack of proper installation. These were issues outside of my control.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite, Telephone Service - Long Distance, Internet Services, Telephone Companies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.