BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/06/1990

Ken's

Find a Location

Phone: (478) 474-2324Fax: (478) 474-4671View Additional Phone Numbers3695 Mercer University Dr, MaconGA 31204-4905 Send email to Ken's

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Request a Quote

Request a quote from Ken's.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/06/1990

BBB has determined that Ken's meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Ken's' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service9
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Ken's

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
03/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I took my car into Ken's and told ***** the manager that I had a CD stuck in the radio and he said if he took it out it would ruin my radio (true or not I do not know) and I would have to buy another radio so I had ***** pick a radio out for me and he charged me for the transaction. When the installer brought the car to me he said the CD just popped out and he gave me the CD. I made it clear to ***** if they could get the CD out without tearing up the radio I did not want to buy a new radio. When I found out what horrible reception I got from the radio I asked for a refund and was told no. After spending $358.43 I spent another $148.73 to get a better radio which still hI hated this radio which only got 3-4 FM stations and no AM stations and there were no refunds and I was not aware. Looking at losing the $358., I spent another $148 at Ken's to put a radio that matched my car better and had buttons large enough to see unlike the first radio that had miniscule buttons and was had to navigate.So I had to buy a more expensive radio to get better reception or lose $358.00. But the 2nd radio did't get much better reception either.Also the installer ruined my wood grain consol finish. When I showed ***** he didn't offer any compensation.BOTTOM LINE: Had I been told the CD popped right out I would not have bought a new radio becuase I have a Toyota Limited Edition car and the radio was top of the line and no other radio Ken's had matched my car dash. I know ***** was not communicating with the installer because on the 2nd radio install I told ***** to let me choose where the USB port would be installed and the installer installed it in the glove compartment without asking me. As a woman this is very offensive as if being a woman is excuse enough to be ignored.Also Ken's has military murals all over their walls and to a veteran it is simply pandering. You can also read what I wrote in full detail on your complain web sit
Product_Or_Service: DVD Radio
Order_Number: NA
Account_Number: NA

Desired Settlement
Pay at least $50 toward replacement of the wood grain console that was scratched up during installation. It had not marks when I brought it to your store. And give back half of the $507.16. I should ask for all of it back seeing that all ***** had to do was tell me the CD came out without tearing up my radio, but ***** seems not to be communicating the car owners wishes to the installer for a reason. I still get terrible reception after spending over $500.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Kenny Jones, President
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ***2@email.com
I have talked to ****** Scarborough. She explained her issues and she is bringing her car to the Macon store to figure out everything.
I am here to serve the client......I will do whatever it takes to make everything perfect.

Consumer Response
One of the owners of Ken's stereo named Kenny made an appointment for me to have my car radio problems repaired at his expense on March 4, 2015. He offered to add a component to my radio without charge, in exchange I dropped the claim against the damage to my woodgrain console.
I asked him if he would speak to the manager of Ken's stereo in Warner Robins about paying closer attention to the female customers and he said that he had already spoken to *****.
But, I still stand by my issues with the Warner Robins Ken's Stero manager crossing the sales ethics line and capitalizing on his customers ignorance of the radio business to make his sales instead of informing the customer and letting them make their only intelligent decisions.
I have been a manager and I have been in sales and I know when a sales person crosses the ethics line and ***** crossed that line and I can tell that he will continue doing so.
This closes my complaint with the Better Business Bureau. I thank you for serving this community and wish you all well.
You made a difference.


11/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
purchased DVD w/camera input/remote access, outdoors cameras with installation with IP address on 10/12/2013.



As of today 11/2/2013 my installation has not been completed.

Desired Settlement
I would like for the work to be completed ASAP. I am tired of calling the Warner Robins store employees and getting no responses.

Business Response
Called Mr. ****** Small breakdown in communication. Have rectified problem. Mr. ***** will confirm.

***** *****, President, Ken's

05/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not receive the year model HDTV, Speaker, and new stand that I paid for.
TV is a 2013 model, was told it was a 2014 model. The original invoice clearly states a 2014 model.
Speaker is ******* RC-10, not a *******1 that is also on the invoice. The stand is clearly a floor model, not a new one. Has chip on it and is dirty. I discovered the price of the equipment was worth much less than what is available locally and got a $600.00 refund after I initially refused to accept delivery. I asked for a refund at that time. I started looking closely at what I received and called Sharp about the TV after questioning the store's integrity. ****** sent a new invoice with the TV year model changed. He said I would get a new stand and the correct model speaker. Original purchase date is 4/20/2013. My wife texted him and we both have called several times. ****** ****** won't return our calls. We have not received the stand or speaker we paid for. The TV is not the TV we were shown on the showroom floor. At checkout ****** said he had a "2014" model. The original invoice also didn't mention the old speaker or used stand we received. I have no confidence ****** will honor the extended warranty we paid for.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, President
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *****@email.com
My service tech, ****, has called Mr. ****** four times for two days. He has to this minute, 4:26pm, May 1st, 2013, has not called us back. I can only rectify the issue if Mr. ****** calls us back. We strive to make every client happy.
**** can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX

03/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Kens improperly installed a CD player in my car which fell out the dash when i turned and said they did not see my name in system for repair
I paid 350.oo dollars cash to have a cd player installed in the car. A week after it was installed it started moving around and scratching all my Cd's. when I returned and gave them the same number they used to put me in their system they said they could not find me.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to give me the proper harness system so that I can install it myself. I do not want them in my car touching anything again ever in life.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@email.com
Ms. ****** came in the store on Tuesday afternoon saying that her radio fell out of her dash after a car hit her. Yes, the radio on most any car would more than likely fall out of the dash if hit by an oncoming car. That is no fault of ******'s. This was installed 1 year ago. We told her we would be glad to look at it at no charge but would have to make a appointment. She wanted us to drop everything we were doing and look at her car right that second. We were not able to do that for we had cars we were already working on. She stormed out.............I will be more than happy to talk with Ms. ******. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX

Thanks, ****** ******, ******'s

03/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
No finished installation of security cameras. No refund of extra cameras not installed.
I was very satisfied with ******'s service in the past. I ordered a security system with four cameras over a month ago and I have yet to have the DVR or finished installation by ******'s. I have called several times, been hung up on 3 times and ***** tells me someone will be out to finish installation. I ordered 2 more cameras and was charged over $800.00 2 weeks ago. I want that money credited back to my card. i called today and ***** said she had to get verification on that, the cameras have not been installed and i don't even have security on the $1,900.00 I originally purchased over 3 weeks ago. please help me get the security system installed by ******'s so i can have my house protected.

Desired Settlement
I want my card refunded for the over $800.00 for the 2 extra cameras Ken's has not installed and the DVR upgrade I do not need now.I want the 4 channel DVR I paid for over 3 weeks ago installed and working. I am so shocked at the horrible service from Ken's. Please help me get this issue resolved Ken's acts like they do not want to install the DVR and get those cameras working for security my house needed 3 over 3 weeks ago.

Business' Initial Response
Mr. ****** is completely happy and satisfied. Everything in perfect working order

Thanks, Kenny *****, Ken's
478-********

Consumer's Final Response
See PDF file.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Television & Radio - Dealers, Television & Radio - Service & Repair, Audio-Visual Consultants, Sound Systems & Equipment, Musical Instruments - Dealers, Home Theater, Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers, Auto Alarms & Security Systems, Home Automation

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/06/1990Business started: 05/01/1978
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1978, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ken Jones (CEO)Customer Contact: Mr. Kenny Jones (President)Mr. Mike Jones Mr. Michael Jones (Vice President)
Related Businesses


Number of Employees

28

Business Category

Television & Radio - Dealers, Television & Radio - Service & Repair, Audio-Visual Consultants, Sound Systems & Equipment, Musical Instruments - Dealers, Home Theater, Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers, Auto Alarms & Security Systems, Home Automation

Products & Services

This company offers HDTV sales & services; home theater & custom installation; auto security systems; sound systems & equipment including installation; technical services; authorized in-store tech support services for Sony, Samsung, and Mitsubishi.

This company offers music store products and services including sales/repairs of guitars, drums, keyboards. Also offers custom shop for guitar and keyboard lessons by certified teachers.

This company offers HDTV sales & services; home theater & custom installation; auto security systems; sound systems & equipment including installation; technical services; authorized in-store tech support services for Sony, Samsung, and Mitsubishi.

Alternate Business Names
Ken's Pro Sounds, Ken's Stereo-Video Junction, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Ken's has received 4.40 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Ken's

3695 Mercer University Dr

Macon, GA 31204-4905

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 3677 Mercer University Dr 

    Macon, GA 31204-4905(478) 257-6809
    (478) 257-6499

  • 3695 Mercer University Dr 

    Macon, GA 31204-4905(478) 474-2324
    (478) 929-5367
    (800) 232-3031
    (478) 808-3438

  • 2040 Watson Blvd 

    Warner Robins, GA 31093-3625

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Georgia & the Central Savannah River Area. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Ken's is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 232-3031
  • (478) 256-3362
  • (478) 256-7268
  • (478) 808-3438
  • (478) 929-5367

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (478) 929-9313
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Television & Radio - Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.