BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central Georgia & the CSRA

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/06/1990

Ken's

Find a Location

Phone: (478) 474-2324Fax: (478) 474-4671View Additional Phone Numbers3695 Mercer University Dr, MaconGA 31204-4905 Send email to Ken's

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/06/1990

BBB has determined that Ken's meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Ken's' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service10
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 11

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (11)BBB Closure Definitions
11/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: purchased DVD w/camera input/remote access, outdoors cameras with installation with IP address on 10/12/2013.



As of today 11/2/2013 my installation has not been completed.

Initial Business Response
Called Mr. ****** Small breakdown in communication. Have rectified problem. Mr. ***** will confirm.

***** *****, President, Ken's

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: Did not receive the year model HDTV, Speaker, and new stand that I paid for.
TV is a 2013 model, was told it was a 2014 model. The original invoice clearly states a 2014 model.
Speaker is ******* RC-10, not a *******1 that is also on the invoice. The stand is clearly a floor model, not a new one. Has chip on it and is dirty. I discovered the price of the equipment was worth much less than what is available locally and got a $600.00 refund after I initially refused to accept delivery. I asked for a refund at that time. I started looking closely at what I received and called Sharp about the TV after questioning the store's integrity. ****** sent a new invoice with the TV year model changed. He said I would get a new stand and the correct model speaker. Original purchase date is 4/20/2013. My wife texted him and we both have called several times. ****** ****** won't return our calls. We have not received the stand or speaker we paid for. The TV is not the TV we were shown on the showroom floor. At checkout ****** said he had a "2014" model. The original invoice also didn't mention the old speaker or used stand we received. I have no confidence ****** will honor the extended warranty we paid for.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, President
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *****@email.com
My service tech, ****, has called Mr. ****** four times for two days. He has to this minute, 4:26pm, May 1st, 2013, has not called us back. I can only rectify the issue if Mr. ****** calls us back. We strive to make every client happy.
**** can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

03/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: Kens improperly installed a CD player in my car which fell out the dash when i turned and said they did not see my name in system for repair
I paid 350.oo dollars cash to have a cd player installed in the car. A week after it was installed it started moving around and scratching all my Cd's. when I returned and gave them the same number they used to put me in their system they said they could not find me.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@email.com
Ms. ****** came in the store on Tuesday afternoon saying that her radio fell out of her dash after a car hit her. Yes, the radio on most any car would more than likely fall out of the dash if hit by an oncoming car. That is no fault of ******'s. This was installed 1 year ago. We told her we would be glad to look at it at no charge but would have to make a appointment. She wanted us to drop everything we were doing and look at her car right that second. We were not able to do that for we had cars we were already working on. She stormed out.............I will be more than happy to talk with Ms. ******. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX

Thanks, ****** ******, ******'s

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: No finished installation of security cameras. No refund of extra cameras not installed.
I was very satisfied with ******'s service in the past. I ordered a security system with four cameras over a month ago and I have yet to have the DVR or finished installation by ******'s. I have called several times, been hung up on 3 times and ***** tells me someone will be out to finish installation. I ordered 2 more cameras and was charged over $800.00 2 weeks ago. I want that money credited back to my card. i called today and ***** said she had to get verification on that, the cameras have not been installed and i don't even have security on the $1,900.00 I originally purchased over 3 weeks ago. please help me get the security system installed by ******'s so i can have my house protected.

Business' Initial Response
Mr. ****** is completely happy and satisfied. Everything in perfect working order

Thanks, Kenny *****, Ken's
478-********

Consumer's Final Response
See PDF file.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/25/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised written warranty or guarantee

Complaint: ****, told me that I could depend on him and his service if I would keep a TV purchase that I told him that I could buy online for $2k cheaper.
I wish I could report a happy experience of service, I can not. I purchase a TV from ******'s then did online research, yeah my bad. I paid more than $2000.00 more for the TV than i could have gotten it online. I called ******'s the next day to inform them that I intended to return the TV. **** the owner spoke with me and convinced me to keep the TV, that I would need his service in the future. Yeap, today I needed he to replace the lamp in the TV. The service manager told me that the replacement bulb would be $199.00 that I would need to pay for it prior to them holding it for me. At which point I told him that **** had told me he would take care of this TV. He called me back and told me that **** said he did not remember telling me that but that he would split the cost of the lamp with me. I told ****( the service manager) that I could buy one online for $40.00. He told me that I could not, and to be careful of what I was buying(a common theme I guess, because that is exactly what **** told me about buying the TV online). I told him that in fact I would not buy their lamp due to their memory loss, but also because I only expect people to be as good as there word. I am not going to do business with them in the future, and am now very sorry to have been convinced to overspend by $2000.00 with this store. I would suggest that any one interested in electronics to purchase them online. Caution, Owner has memory loss after the sale. Owner wants to over-sale and under-deliver.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, President
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *****@email.com
Mr. ****** stated that he bought his TV in 2009. That is 4 years ago. He calls and states a problem he has with his TV and wants it fixed for free. He says if we don't fix it for free he will never come back. I called to try to resolve the issue but he is convinced that we should have fixed his TV that is 3 years out of warranty for free.
He stated I should have fixed it for free to keep him as a client. Does that even make any sense at all? I don't understand that. My service tech, ******, offered the part needed half of our normal cost, to which he said he could get it cheaper online, which is fine. We do have a full 1 year exchange warranty on the part he needed which online does not offer. We sell the original part, not a China knockoff. I don't understand why he is upset with ******'s when we have done nothing wrong. It's 3 years out of warranty. Did I say it was 3 years out of warranty? Our normal cost of the part needed is $199, which was offered to Mr. ****** for $99 out of good faith with the same 1 year warranty. However, I do appreciate Mr. ******'
past business.
Thanks, ****** ******, ******'s
XXX-XXX-XXXX (personal mobile)

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Television & Radio - Dealers, Television & Radio - Service & Repair, Audio-Visual Consultants, Sound Systems & Equipment, Musical Instruments - Dealers, Home Theater, Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers, Auto Alarms & Security Systems, Home Automation

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/06/1990Business started: 05/01/1978
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1978, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ken Jones (CEO)Customer Contact: Mr. Kenny Jones (President)Mr. Mike Jones Mr. Michael Jones (Vice President)
Related Businesses


Number of Employees

28

Business Category

Television & Radio - Dealers, Television & Radio - Service & Repair, Audio-Visual Consultants, Sound Systems & Equipment, Musical Instruments - Dealers, Home Theater, Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers, Auto Alarms & Security Systems, Home Automation

Products & Services

This company offers HDTV sales & services; home theater & custom installation; auto security systems; sound systems & equipment including installation; technical services; authorized in-store tech support services for Sony, Samsung, and Mitsubishi.

This company offers music store products and services including sales/repairs of guitars, drums, keyboards. Also offers custom shop for guitar and keyboard lessons by certified teachers.

This company offers HDTV sales & services; home theater & custom installation; auto security systems; sound systems & equipment including installation; technical services; authorized in-store tech support services for Sony, Samsung, and Mitsubishi.

Alternate Business Names
Ken's Pro Sounds, Ken's Stereo-Video Junction, Inc.
Industry Tips
Getting Your TV/VCR Repaired
HDTV Brings New Meaning to TV Watching
Safe & Sound: Securing Your Home

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Ken's

3695 Mercer University Dr

Macon, GA 31204-4905

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 3677 Mercer University Dr 

    Macon, GA 31204-4905(478) 257-6499
    (478) 257-6809

  • 3695 Mercer University Dr 

    Macon, GA 31204-4905(478) 808-3438
    (478) 929-5367
    (478) 474-2324
    (800) 232-3031

  • 2040 Watson Blvd 

    Warner Robins, GA 31093-3625

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Georgia & the Central Savannah River Area. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Ken's is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 232-3031
  • (478) 256-3362
  • (478) 256-7268
  • (478) 808-3438
  • (478) 929-5367

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (478) 929-9313
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.