BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1994

Apple Enclosures

Phone: (478) 929-2701Fax: (478) 929-2794301 Watson Blvd, Warner RobinsGA 31093-3405 Send email to Apple Enclosures

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1994

BBB has determined that Apple Enclosures meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Apple Enclosures' rating include:

  • 6 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Apple Enclosures' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Apple Enclosures

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
11/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Apple Enclosures has failed to schedule survey and repair of damaged screen panels of pool enclosure they installed 4 years ago.
We contracted with Apple Enclosures in 2009 to install a screen room enclosing our swimming pool. We are not displeased with the structure itself, only the lack of quality of the screen sections. Last year (2012) we noticed several of the side panels had begun to tear along their vertical edges at the mid-point of the panels. They were not seperating at the spline. They were tearing. It took many phone calls and finally a BBB complaint to get ****, the owner of Apple Enclosures to come out to look at the panels. He said he had never seen screens do that. He scheduled a technician to replace the screens at no cost to me, since the screens are warrantied for 10 years.

Once again this year, several other of the screen panels have torn in the same general area. I first attempted to contact **** about the problem in July 2013. I left numerous messages with his secretary. When I finally reached him in August, he said he would "fit me into his schedule within the coming week." I did not hear from him over the next 3 weeks. I again called and spoke to ****. Although he offered no apology for not calling to make an appointment with me, he said he would call and come out within the next 2 days. It has now been over a month since he promised to come out wihin 2 days. He has my home and work numbers, both of which are connected to reliable answering machines. He has not left any messages for me.

It appears that the installer, in his hurry to complete the job tore or critically weakened the screen material while installing them. Interectingly, the top and slooping top panels, installed by a different member of the crew, have not torn or seperated.

I get the impression that ****, since he is aware of his crew's shoddy workmanship, is attempting to avoid warranty repair work.

Desired Settlement
I expect Apple Enclosures to honor their warranty and replace screen panels damaged during installation or defective in their construction.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Mr. ******** can contact me directly to set up a appointment for this week. XXXXXXXXXX

Final Consumer Response

11/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company will not respond to a repair request. I have contacted the company for 3 week requesting a repair from the initial installation. Now 4th week
Apple Enclosures glassed in our back porch at the end of July at a cost of $6,190.00. The owner of the company, ****, is the person I dealt with. After completion of the job I called him and told him I wanted him to come by and check out a few potential problems with holes in the sliding door facing. I told him bugs were coming in the holes and one tree frog got through the hole. He said he would come by and check it out. I have called weekly since then and he still has not come by or scheduled a visit to check out the problem

Desired Settlement
Fix the problem with the sliding door frame.

Business Response
A meeting took place last week to look over the concerns of Mr. ********. It was determined that the issue he had was with a factory notch in the door. The notch is essential to the door and is factory weatherstriped to prevent air loss and insect filtration. Apple will be in contact with homeowner to discuss

05/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Built screen enclosure in July 2012. After completed roof above back door leaked called several times for repair came 2x's to fix still leaks.
now will not return my calls have gone to place of business 3x's to discuss this with him. I have been very patient but its been almost 1 year and the roof still leaks. The job has been paid in full.

Desired Settlement
I would just like the leaks repaired.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
We have been out to the home several times on scheduled appointments and have no access to the structure. We cannot look at the issue unless we have access. We will be happy to make another attempt . Please call me directly to set up a time

Consumer's Final Response
They did not schedule appointments with me because they were made aware of locked gate to the back yard evidentley they just showed up assuming I was home.

07/10/2014Problems with Product / Service
12/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have holes in my screen and was not notified prior to installation there was a possiblity that insects could destroy the screen.
Apple Enclosures here in Warner Robins, Ga installed a screened in patio for me and my husband about 3 years ago. We have been getting holes in the screen almost immediately after installation. Apple has made the claim that the holes are due to spider eggs in which the manufacture ****** Inc says is impossible. Instead they claim the holes are due to grasshoppers chewing through the screen. Either way when the screen was installed there was nothing said stating we will need to take preventative maintenance against insects getting through the screen.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking that the screen is replaced at no charge to me with a material that can withstand outside elements.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********. Owner
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
I responded to this a week ago .
A few months after we originally completed the job we went over to do a service call. At that time apple informed the homeowner that they had a pest issue and not a screen issue . Apple replaced the damaged screen free of charge because it was only a few months old. The homeowners have had the same issue again several years later so I told them the same thing about the pest issue and gave them the screen manufacture information. Although the screen manufacture was under no obligation to do so they have provided a heavier screen for the homeowner. They can contact me to come by and pick up the screen or apple can install it for cost of labor. $250.00
**** XXXXXXXXXX

07/05/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure by Apple Enclosure to honor warranty on defective,inadequate and failure of material and parts.
I entered into an agreement with Apple Enclosures to erect a Sunroom on my existing deck. An agreement was initiated on 6/1/2007 in the amount of $18,559 total; with an Addendum attached bringing the total price to $20,634. On or around 6/11/2013 (during hard rains) Sunroom begin to leak around the seams. I contacte Apple on numerous occassions to no avail (left many voicemail msgs); and finally received a response from someone. They came out and inspect (Spouse at home), and stated that they were doing us a favor by even coming out, and stated that "repairs would be my responsible", and left my residence in an unprofessional manner. I have since again tried numerous times to get in touch with Apple, disputing their claim that this should be their responsible to repair these leaks, since my copies state "All walls to be insulated glass windows and door to be prime door, and Roof to be Elite insulate roof, with 10 Year Warranty. I believe Apple should stand by their guarantee of quality materials and stated Warranty.

Desired Settlement
Damages to furniture, floor, and cleaning mole & mildew from walls. Time and material used to extract water during hard rains. Also, amount of repairs to correct the leaking Roof. Estimate unavailable at this time

Business' Initial Response
On or around 6/11/2013 I went to the home of the Merchants to inspect a leak in the patio roof. After looking and learning of the age of the sunroom I informed the homeowner that they needed some maintenance work on the seams of the roof. This is covered by our two year workmanship warranty from time of installation. Their warranty expired in June of 2009. The manufacturers ten year warranty is for material defects.Routine maintenance is not covered. With respects to Mrs. Merchants combative and uncompromising attitude Apple will not be offering any of its services to her in the future.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Enclosures, Screen Enclosures, Windows, Awnings & Canopies, Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Contractors - General

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/15/1992Business started: 04/01/1979Business started locally: 04/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Georgia Construction Industry Licensing Board
237 Coliseum Dr
Macon, GA 31217-3858
(478) 207-2440
http://sos.georgia.gov/plb/construct/

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Toby Register (Owner)
Related Businesses

Number of Employees

15

Business Category

Swimming Pool Enclosures, Screen Enclosures, Windows, Awnings & Canopies, Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Contractors - General

Alternate Business Names
Apple Outdoor Living, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Apple Enclosures

301 Watson Blvd

Warner Robins, GA 31093-3405

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 301 Watson Blvd 

    Warner Robins, GA 31093-3405(478) 929-2701
    Fax: (478) 929-2794

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Georgia & the Central Savannah River Area. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Apple Enclosures is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Enclosures

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.