BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/31/1990

AAA Pool Supply, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (478) 922-5222Fax: (478) 953-3012View Additional Phone Numbers449 Dunbar Rd, Warner RobinsGA 31093-1201

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/31/1990

BBB has determined that AAA Pool Supply, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised AAA Pool Supply, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on AAA Pool Supply, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
01/31/2014Billing / Collection Issues
09/01/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Company fails to respond to our phone calls regarding multiple issues
In 2013 we hired AAA pools for an in-ground pool. The approximate cost: $27,000.00 When the company began, they broke the irrigation lines. We were assured this would be fixed. We continued to follow up with them even before laying the concrete. We were told it would not be an issue and they would be able to fix the sprinkler system. After the pool was complete, we were told that they fixed the system although it was not fixed. After talking with the owner and his employees several times, we were told they did not break the system and that they do not specialize in sprinkler systems and instructed us to contact an irrigation specialist. One of the employees, ***** came over, dug up where the sprinkler lines connect and said it was put back together correctly and that we would need to have someone else fix it if it didn't work but continued to tell me it wasn't there fault. I contacted the irrigation company that put our system in and received a quote to fix the system. I was told the wires for the system are missing and that it was indeed damaged by AAA. AAA refuses to return our calls for this problem. We also had to have them dig up part of our concrete to fix jets that recessed into the concrete. This in turn has left our concrete in a fashion that is not acceptable for the amount of money spent to purchase the pool. Also, AAA had to replace the electrical system within the fist year because the system completely failed at no fault of ours. Since the electrical system was replaced, the screen had been flashing in which we attempted to contact them several times and were only left with the options of leaving messages. The screen was replaced this year and we received a bill for the labor which should have been fixed when it was malfunctioning from the beginning. We have several issues that need to be resolved and I can not get anywhere with the company. Every time I call, I am asked to leave a message.

Desired Settlement
We would like for AAA to have an irrigation company repair our irrigation system to working condition. Also, the bill we received, we would like it to be reversed.

Business Response
We as a company feel as though we have gone above and beyond for this customer by fixing the piping that was broken during the process of pool installation.Even though we are not obligated to fix the pipelines, as the customer is responsible as stated in the signed contract that we have. Please see section 2 of the terms and conditions on the contract. The bill received was for the labor portion of the work done, only the materials were covered under warranty. The work performed this year was to replace a display for the salt system which was different than the main board that we replaced in 2014 under warranty. Also, in 2014 we replaced their salt cell at no cost to them, even though it was not covered under warranty due to it freezing and cracking. We have agreed to take off the $100 bill due at the customers request.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As stated in the first sentence of the response, the piping was not fixed. I have asked for a copy of our contract numerous times with no success. I have a list of all the dates I have attempted to contact AAA. As a customer, we were never advised that the irrigation system would be non-functional after the install. We were assured through out the process that our irrigation system would be fixed. To date, the system does not work.

Business Response
As a company it is or policy to let the home owner know that they are responsible for any irrigation that is damaged due to the installation of a pool, as stated in the contract that was signed by the plaintiff. We have gone above and beyond our responsibilities by going out multiple times to try and fix the irrigation at no charge, even though we are no responsible for that. We have explained this to the homeowner multiple times. All other issues were delt with in full at no charge to the home owner, even though they were non warranty issues.

09/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

On 7/11/14, I put a $3200 downpayment on a Rainer Hot Tub that cost $6564.65 the balance was to be paid on delivery. The Hot Tub arrived on 7/30/14.
On 7/30 the tub came but, the delivery guys claimed that there was not enough clearance around the door to safely get the Hot Tub in. They had my contractor remove paneling above the door frame and as an after thought said that wasn't going to work either. They even asked for a blanket to help ease it in, and had the contractor to remove the steps, but they never tried to get the Hot tub in. I had been told that the delivery would be late in the afternoon, because the delivery people had another job before mine. They arrived at 4 pm. As the 6 0r so delivery men stood around, we could hear they talking. One said he was tired, another said he wanted to go home. Another commented on a room for a Hot Tub and laughed. They did not want to try to get it in. Then a paper was shoved at me and I was told to sign it if I wanted it delivered. If they damaged it they would not be liable. Or they said they would leave it in my backyard and we would have to get it in. I refused to sign the paper or have them leave it in the backyard. So I told them to take it back. It took almost 2 weeks for me to get my partial refund. I called and left message after message for the manager which were not returned. I called after one week and was told that they would have the manager to call me which he never did concerning my refund. When I went in on 8/15, they give me a check for $3050. I asked what happened to the other $150 they said that they took that out for restocking/delivery fee. This Hot tub was on display outside of the store, a floor model that was being sold at a discount. When I asked what restocking, because it was outside, not in a box. The woman said didn't the manager tell you about that, and I said no. She then said that I was lucky, she usually charges 20%. I said I am not lucky when someone steals my money. In the time that I came to the store, there was never any mention of restocking fee, they charged $150 for a delivery fee. Even when I came in to ask for my refund, they said nothing about a restocking fee. They didn't show any signs about a restocking fee and nobody ever mentioned it in all my many calls to them about my refund. I am filing this complaint because it was wrong what they did and I don't want them to get away with it.

Desired Settlement
I want my other $150 because the delivery guys were giving excuse after excuse to not deliver the tub, they were totally unprofessional, and it was not my fault that they did not try to deliver the hot tub.
Finally, when I went in to ask for my refund, the lady gave me a slip of paper with my name, address and telephone number on it with the following words written below my information "Hot Tub wouldn't fit, Mail refund check for $3200.00"

Business Response
Ms. ******* came in and put half down on the purchase of a spa. We scheduled and set up the delivery for the spa at her convenience. We were told that the spa was going on an open concrete slab. Once we arrived to deliver the spa, we were surprised to see a newly built enclosure around the entire slab. Ms. *******, was informed that if we installed the spa, we would not be able to guarantee it fitting in the small doorway without scratches. We never suggested using a blanket or removal of steps, but was a suggestion of. Ms. *******'s contractor. Ms. ******* was given the option of either leaving the spa in the backyard, putting it in the building with chance of scratching or bringing it back to the store. She then demanded us to take the spa back to the store then demanded a refund. Ms. ******* was charged a delivery fee and a restocking fee and was refunded the half down she paid for the spa. We do have a return policy clearly in place at our store entrance which states that ALL returns are subject to a 20% restocking fee.

05/31/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

AAA has failed to fix problems associated with the original building of pool and other items associated with its construction.
I contracted with AAA pools in may of 2007 to build my pool. It was to be 20 X 40 with enough depth to swim laps and dive off a 3' high board in the deep end. The pool itself was to be lighted, with salt water, a heat pump and have a recessed remote controlled cover. Along with the pool AAA pool was to put in a large deck and patio area the was to be covered in Kool Deck coating. This deck was to have a 3" wide drain in it to stop water from collecting. They were to reposition my propane tank and put gas lines in under the deck that would run to my BBQ grill and household fireplace. The deck was to have 3 post lamps to illuminate the pool area. Included in the package was $2,000 for landscaping to include re-sodding the yard, shrubs around the pool and a drainage system (due to the pools location). Part of this drainage system was a French drain system on the west side that would drain into a collection basin that was to have an automatic pump sending the water out to the front street using a pop up drain at the curb.
What I got from AAA pools was a pool started in May that was not finished until September. A deck that started flaking immediately with a 1' wide drain that did not prevent water collecting. A liner that warped in less than a year. A pool cover that was not recessed and tore within a year. No French drain system. No collection basin and no pump. The workmanship was horrendous and it took years to get many of the items fixed.
Over the years AAA has returned to "fix" the problems, but they are never serious about it. As of right now I have a deck that has larger areas with no kool deck that looks awful. (AAA scraped up much of these areas, but they never repaired them.) I have a catch basin that was installed with no cover, so, when it rains water collects in it from the rain not the runoff from the yard. AAA did finally put in a French drain. It is 12" deep and not the 3' deep that ***** (one of the owners) told me was required. AAA put a pool cover pump in it that was not automatic and is not intended for this use. I myself had to buy and install PVC pipe on this pump to get the water to empty out of the basin. (I eventually replaced the pump with a submersible sump pump that I paid for out of pocket and did the piping and installation myself. I also made a temporary cover for the basin with a wire mesh as dirt and other debris kept washing into the basin.)
It turned out that the cover on the pool was ripping because the cover box that AAA built was not centered on the pool. AAA came out and tore up the old deck and put in a new area of concrete with a new box. The problem is that they did not put in any expansion joints and this concrete will eventually crack. They also did not put a new cover over the pool cover box (the old cover is too small), so I have a falling hazard around my pool. The new concrete was also built 5" higher than the old deck, so, I have a tripping hazard around my pool. AAA knows of all these problems, but they want me to pay for it even though this was all part of the original contract. They did put in a 3" drain on the deck, but did not finish the work, I did. They did pour new concrete, but left it unfinished and dangerous. They have been out to scrape the deck, but they never put down any new coating. AAA has told me the warping of my liner is due to water under it due to runoff from the yard (which is why the French drain was to be installed in the first place).
AAA always starts with big promises of fixing the problems, but they never finish the job and end up causing more problems. All I want is the project to finally be fixed. Since I have finished the catch basin all I want is the liner replaced since it is warped. I want expansion joints put in the concrete to keep it from cracking. I want a proper cover over the box that holds the pool cover to prevent injury (this should include some sort of ramp to prevent tripping).I want the deck re-surfaced.

Desired Settlement
I want the liner replaced since it is warped. I want expansion joints put in the concrete to keep it from cracking. I want a proper cover over the box that holds the pool cover to prevent injury (this should include some sort of ramp to prevent tripping). I want the deck re-surfaced.

Business' Initial Response
May 21, 2013
I regret to inform you that all items of concern are not under warranty. Though we have previously
addressed Mr. *******'s concerns, we are no longer in a position to continue addressing issues outside
the warranty. We are more than happy to address any concerns Mr. ******* may have, However, we will
have to charge the customer for the service.
Mr. ******* still has outstanding bills with are company. As a measure of good faith AAA pools will zero
out his account leaving no outstanding debt due.
We are also willing to touch up paint where needed. However, the liner and pump are out of warranty
and will incur charges if service is needed.
We are also willing to work with the customer in providing a new liner at cost.
***** *******
AAA Pool Supply, Inc.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is obviously not a serious response to my complaint and can only be addressed in the following manner. Items cannot be under warranty that were not installed or completed in the first place. No cover over the drain basin cannot be "out of warranty" when it was never installed. When the work on my Kool Deck was never completed (scraped clean of some area of Kool Deck and not repaired) "out of warranty" does not apply as the work was not finished. No pump installed in the drain basin cannot be "out of warranty" as the pump was never installed. The safety cover for the automatic pool cover was never installed, so, it cannot be "out of warranty". The rebuilding of the box for the automatic pool cover was caused by AAA not building the box correctly in the first place. Their replacement box has no expansion joints. Not putting in the expansion joints is work never done and therefore cannot be "out of warranty". As for the outstanding bill Mr. ******* addresses, inappropriately, in this complaint is work that I never authorized and that his company cannot prove they ever did. There is no piece of paper with a signature authorizing the work and neither my wife of I were present when this work supposedly took place. I have asked repeatedly for some proof I or my wife authorized the work that he says was done and all I get is a bill with no specifics. Nobody pays for work that they did not authorize or were not present to witness without proof of services rendered. By the way the item that was supposedly fixed still does not work, so, if they did do any work it did not fix the problem.
Mr. ******* promised me numerous times over the last few years that he would fix all these problems and every time some workers come out and scrape and dig for a few days and then disappear. I have had mounds of dirt in my back yard with open trenches. I have a deck covered with scrapings, but no new work. I have a drain pit sitting in my back yard with no cover collecting water and debris. I have an open cover pit running along the deep end of my pool right under the diving board that any child can fall into. At this point I would rather AAA pools never comes back out to my house as they cause more problems than they fix. I will fix all the problems out of my own pocket.
Anybody can read this complaint and they are more than welcome to come see the work that AAA did on my pool. Anybody can come see the safety hazard caused by the lack of any cover over the automatic cover storage pit. Anybody can come see the Kool deck where it was scraped off and not repaired over the last 6 years. I welcome people to look at the workmanship of AAA pools and how they address legitimate concerns. AAA pools is very persuasive in what they can and will do for you, but their execution is far from their promises.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Swimming Pool Service & Repair

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 07/31/1990Business started: 01/01/1974
Type of Entity


Incorporated: October 1974, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Bertram (President)Mr. Tony Mantooth
Number of Employees


Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Swimming Pool Service & Repair

Products & Services

This company offers swimming pool supplies, above-ground pool sales, in-ground swimming pool construction; also spa and hot tub sales.

Alternate Business Names
AAA Supply, Inc .

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for AAA Pool Supply, Inc.

449 Dunbar Rd

Warner Robins, GA 31093-1201

To | From


3 Locations

  • 5140 Mercer University Dr 

    Macon, GA 31210-4001(478) 475-0027

  • 321 S Houston Lake Rd 

    Warner Robins, GA 31088-6366(478) 953-3007

  • 449 Dunbar Rd 

    Warner Robins, GA 31093-1201(478) 922-5222
    (478) 957-6006
    Fax: (478) 953-3012
    Fax: (478) 953-3012

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Georgia & the Central Savannah River Area. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*AAA Pool Supply, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (478) 957-6006

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.