BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/04/1996

Guardian Security Systems, Inc.

Phone: (478) 329-9211

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They did not monitor my security system as stated in my contract. Also they installed my phone lines improperly leaving us without internet service.
About 6 months ago I noticed that my security service was not being monitored. I called to check on it and was told it was fine and since my contract says that it would be checked monthly I assumed that they were right yet they still were not monitoring. I then stopped paying. About a month ago I received a letter stating that I owed over 150.00 dollars and they were going to discontinue service. Since they already discontinued service I didn't see what I owed and wrote them a letter back. They then called and wanted to check my system and sent a serviceman. When he arrived he was late and when he left I had no internet service because of what he did to our phone lines. I then called guardian and cancelled this service. Now I am being threatened with collections for the rest of my contract. I would like this account wiped clean with a 0 balance and this service cancelled since I don't feel as if they held up their part of the contract (didn't monitor, didn't check the system monthly and didn't provide competent people to fix the system in my home). All they did per there contract was bill.

Desired Settlement
About 6 months ago I noticed that my security system was not being monitored. When I called to ask about it I was told that it was fine. Since my contract says that they check it each month I assumed that it was connected correctly yet it still went unmonitored. I stopped paying for the service. Last month I received a letter with over 6 months of charges and I responded back with a letter explaining why I had not paid. They called and sent a serviceman to my home. When he arrived he was several hours late and when he left he had uninstalled my internet service. Frustrated I called and cancelled the service. Now I have been sent a letter saying that I owe even more ( thru the rest of my contract) and that they are sending it to collections. My point is that this contract was for a service that was not occurring. I don't think I should have to pay for something that I was not receiving and did not know that something was wrong with the connection because they obviously weren't checking the system monthly either. Furthermore I shouldn't have to pay because of the way the serviceman left my phone lines. I still don't have internet service because I am now having to wait for the phone company to come fix wat guardian did

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@yahoo.com
We connected Mrs. ********'s system on March 16, 2012. No one from our company ever told her that the system is fine when she called in like she says. When someone calls, we test their system with them over the phone and if the communication does not go through, then we send a technician out to see why.
There is absolutely nothing in the contract that says we test her system monthly. It does say that they are responsible for testing their systems.
I just spoke to her last night and she said that 6 months ago, she set off the alarm and no one called back. She said that happened a couple times. She should have called us and told us that their is a problem. She cannot just choose to stop paying. That's not the way businesses operate. Example: If her phone or cable or internet stop working, she would call them and ask them to fix it. She wouldn't just stop paying. We sent a technician out to her house on August 9, 2014 and fixed all her issues and she was suppose to pay the balance. She did not pay it. Her husband signed a service ticket saying all had been fixed. A few minutes later, she realized that her internet was not working. She called in to our office and and both the technician first and than myself personally offered to send the technician back out there immediately. Her husband hung up on me.
She says she stopped paying 6 months ago, but we received a payment of $85 on her account in June 2014.
We will be happy to send out a technician and I will personally accompany him to her residence to fix any issue she has but we must receive payment.
In her original contract, it states that in the event of a default, the entire balance of the contract is due immediately plus all collection and attorney fees. We will enforce that. There will also be an additional $350 charge for the communicator attached to the system if she does not allow us to remove that part of the system from her house.
We understand that problems with systems can occur. They are electronic components and you have to allow us to come and fix your issues. The service call we did on August 9, 2014 is the only service call she has ever had at her house, so it's not like she has had many problems and we have been out there several times. Again, it's always up to the customer to tell us something is not working. She should have contacted us the very first time she set off her alarm and did not receive a call back.
Thank You
***** *********
President


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
He did not address the fact that when the technician was called in to fix the problem that he spliced into my existing internet connection and destroyed it. After the technician left, we learned of this and called them back. They did say they would send someone out and fix it, but since we had already waited for over half of a day for the technician to come out the first time, we told them to forget it and to cancel our service altogether. When we called in the phone company to fix the internet, they examined the job and stated that it should have never been spliced in like that and that the technician from guardian should have put in a new line to the system. When I spoke to Guardian, they insisted that it was my fault the internet was not fixed and when I explained that I wasn't going to wait any longer for the service to be fixed than the half day that I had already waited, they explained to me that was just service business and that I had to deal with it. (I believe this conversation was recorded, check it). In regards to the payment made in June, yes I made the payment even though it was not being monitored. I made it because I PAY MY BILLS!!! I was not sure when monitoring had ceased and to be fair, I sent in a back payment. I do not consider it fair to have to pay when the service was not in effect. In regards to the phone call I made to find out if we had service, this did take place. We had a fire alarm go off in the house and I mistook it for the other alarm. I called them and asked about the system while I had someone on the phone. The president also stated that they were not supposed to check the system. The reason that I thought that they were supposed to do that is because that is what I was told after an incident that occurred in April 2012, shortly after we had the system connected. The alarm went off at my home, medical, fire and police were dispatched. When we asked what set off the alarm, we were told that someone hit all 3 of the alarms. NO one was home at the time to hit them, so when we told them that, they "researched" it further and told us that it was set off as a test of the system and that they routinely tested it. That's why I thought they tested it. Either they lied then and they had no idea why it went off, or they are lying now! As far as me testing the system, I did make several attempts to do that. My system says that I have to consult my owner's manual to test it. I have no manual because the system was installed when I purchased the house. When Guardian connected it, they did not leave me a manual. So, how should I know how to test it. And why would I even need to if they were telling the truth about testing the system themselves? As far as the communicator attached to the system, it is not functioning, nor has it functioned in over 6 months. They can uninstall it any time they want that is convenient for me, but I am not going to wait all day for a convenient time for them to show up like I did when they messed up my internet connection. If we make an appointment like we did then, then as a customer receiving a service from them, I expect them to honor it. And by the way, when I questioned the president about the service and they half day that I lost, his explanation was that my husband was mistaken, that there wasn't a set time for the technician to be there, he was to be there between 9 and 11. When I said that was funny, because the technician called a little after 11 and apologized for not being there at 9:30 when the appointment was, the president of the company started backtracking and stammering trying to cover up being caught in a lie. Oh, and when the technician called and told me that he was late and apologized, I told him that was fine because until he messed up my phone system it was. Long story short, I have not been treated fairly by this company. They have not been concerned about my safety or that of my family's safety until their money was not being paid. That's when they wanted to fix all of the problems. It does say on the back of the bills to test the system, but I think that is there to cover them for situations like this- to throw the blame for the system not working correctly back on the customer.

Final Business Response
This will be our final offer to Mr and Mrs ******** before the account goes to collection on October 1, 2014.
Allow us to Remove our communicator from the house, Pay the Balance on the account as of right now which is $184.52 and everything is over.
We will only take a Cash payment or a credit card payment. Visa, Discover or Master Card.
If the account goes to collection, the entire contract will be turned in plus all attorney and collection company fees as well.
Thank You
***** ********
President

Industry Comparison| Chart

Security Control Equipment & System Monitors, Television Sys & Equipment - Closed Circuit, Security Systems Consultants, Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service, Intercoms Systems & Services, Home Theater, Home Automation, Fire & Smoke Alarm Systems

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.