BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/28/2012

Central Georgia Technical College

Find a Location

Phone: (478) 757-3400Fax: (478) 757-3513View Additional Phone Numbers80 Cohen Walker Dr, Warner RobinsGA 31088

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Career and technical education.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/28/2012

BBB has determined that Central Georgia Technical College meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Central Georgia Technical College's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Central Georgia Technical College

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
12/19/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
CGTC made an error issuing the HOPE and strategic workforce grant into my financial aid and then 10 weeks later is looking to be paid back.
This complaint is for the Fall 2014 semester. I received $715 from the HOPE Grant and $500 from the strategic workforce grant along with Pell grant for financial aid for the current semester. My tuition and fees were taken from these grants. I received a refund of $698 after buying my books through the Pell grant. Two weeks ago I received notice from Central Georgia Tech that I used all of my HOPE and that I would no longer get that aid for the following semesters. Then yesterday (11/12) I received a notice from them stating that I owed $1215 for student fees, pell book charges, and my pell refund. So I immediately called the school to figure out what was going on. I had to put a ticket in and wait for them to call back. They called today (11/13) and stated that I was not suppose to receive the HOPE or strategic workforce grant and that is why I owed them $1215. The bill that they sent does not say any thing about these grants, so the bill was also incorrect. They are supposed to check into what a student gets for financial aid before issuing it. And now they are basically punishing the student for their error. I am allowed to finish out the current semester but my final grades will not be released to me. I will not be allowed to register for the following semester which I won't be doing since of the constants problems. And if I want to transfer to another school they will not release my transcripts. And this is all due to an error made in their financial aid department. I did my part and filled out the forms they required and they could not process my financial aid correctly. I do not have the funds to correct their error. My wife had surgery in mid September and my 4 year old son is having eye surgery on December 18, so our funds are tight.

Desired Settlement
I feel like since this was an error made on the schools part that the student should not be the one to correct it. I don't believe that I should have to pay this back.

Business Response
CGTC processes financial aid for the federal gov't and the State of GA. Mr. ****** rec'd HOPE, SWDIG and Pell aid in the 201512 term. Due to a computer glitch between our system office and GA Student Finance Commission (GSFC), his hours were not correctly reflected. GSFC personnel informed CGTC of this error and reduced the aid that was originally awarded to the student for HOPE and SWIDG. Located on the CGTC website - www.centralgatech.edu/studserv/finaid.html is the following statement: "Please note that Central Georgia Technical College is required to follow federal regulations when determining your award and reserves the right to adjust your award at any time. Any adjustments made will be available to view via your BannerWeb account." This same statement is listed in student award letters that are mailed out to students. Since this aid comes from GSFC and USDOE, CGTC must follow the rules and conditions stipulated by these outside sources. CGTC personnel would be happy to discuss how Mr. ****** can file an appeal with the school or repayment terms. Our VP of Administrative Services, ******** *******, can be contacted at XXX-XXX-XXXX or ********@centralgatech.edu.



Industry Comparison| Chart

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities, Schools - Business & Vocational

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/01/2001Business started: 04/06/1990Business started locally: 07/01/2001
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1990, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Ms Danielle Steele (Project Specialist)Dr. Ivan H. Allen (President)
Number of Employees

501

Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities, Schools - Business & Vocational

Products & Services

Career and technical education.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 03:30 PMSat: ClosedSun: Closed
Alternate Business Names
Macon Technical Institute (see CGTC), MGTC, Middle Georgia Technical College, Middle Georgia Technical Institute - former name, CGTC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Central Georgia Technical College

80 Cohen Walker Dr

Warner Robins, GA 31088

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 3300 Macon Tech Dr 

    Macon, GA 31206(478) 757-3400

  • 54 Ga Highway 22 W 

    Milledgeville, GA 31061-6604(478) 445-2300

  • 80 Cohen Walker Dr 

    Warner Robins, GA 31088(478) 757-3501
    (478) 988-6800
    Fax: (478) 757-3513

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Better Business Bureau of Central Georgia and the CSRA, Inc.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Central Georgia Technical College is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (478) 988-6800
  • (478) 757-3501

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (478) 988-6835
  • (478) 445-2334
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.