BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/31/2006

Southern Roofing & Insulating Co., Inc.

(706) 724-3535511 Skyview Dr, AugustaGA 30901-3847

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/31/2006

BBB has determined that Southern Roofing & Insulating Co., Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Company was a member of the former Augusta BBB prior to joining this BBB.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Southern Roofing & Insulating Co., Inc.'s rating include:

  • 6 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Southern Roofing & Insulating Co., Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Southern Roofing & Insulating Co., Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
05/05/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Repaired chimney/roof still leaking and they will not respond to multiple requests for help.
In Jan *** ******* ******* and his crew replaced/repaired the chimney flashing and surrounding roof shingles. In Dec *** after returning from the Christmas break the roof was again leaking in the same location. I called the first week of Jan 2015 and told ******* was still on vacation and he would call ASAP. We never heard from them. I called again in the middle of Feb, left a voice message for ******* and nothing. Finally, calling at the end of Feb, ******* answered the phone and stated he would be out here that week. I never heard from him and he never called back. I went to the business on March **** explained by situation to the folks at Southern and they assured me that ******* or someone would be out to correct the problem and that's the last time I spoke or heard from the staff at Southern.

Desired Settlement
Come out and identify the leak, make the proper repairs to stop the water from leaking into my back sunroom as promised under warranty.

Business Response
Southern Roofing does not have a record of Mr. ******* phone call. However, Mr. ******* did stop by office and spoke with management around March **** After speaking with ******* about the situation, ******* says he tried to call Mr ******* twice from his cell phone and was unable to reach Mr ******* to schedule an appointment. ******* will need to get in the house to see where the leak is coming from and states that he will call Mr. ******* again this week to get this matter resolved.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have no records of anyone calling my home or mobile phones from Southern. If ******* called, he should have left a voice message on my home or mobile phone, both of which have message recording capabilities. If he calls either phone, I will answer, or return his call. I will schedule a time for him or anyone else from Southern to access my home to determine where the leak is.

Final Business Response
Southern Roofing has completed the necessary repairs to Mr. ********* chimney. We appreciate your help in this matter.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

09/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
New roof installed on october 2012 a leak just started and i asked them to come repair and for three weeks i have been waiting for service
I was promised a repair on sept 7 and they never showed up

Desired Settlement
I would like for another company to do the work and southern to pay

Final Consumer Response
A crew came out at 6:30 pm on 9/20 and repaired the roof. Thank you so much for all your help. I do not think I would have received any help without your intervention.

Thanks again!

Case ID: XXXXXXXX

03/18/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Roof leak after repair and help called for over 6weeks with promises about coming out on Friday or sat and no would show up are return calls
Had roof leak repair and still leaking called for over 6 weeks and no result but promises it was always be there fri or sat and no one would show up paid them $380.00 in 02/05/15 was willing to repaid for work to be done said they would call back never got one called .called about refund I was told no refund on roof repairs I called them back this morning no help sorry about this I know they been around a long time I told them about this and what I was going to do Southern roofing

Desired Settlement
I just wanted my roof repair I just want you to know about bad business I just then got to big for little jobs all they want to do is get a roof job out of repair

Business Response
***Document Attached***
Mr. ***** did call in February 2016, for a refund on a repair Southern Roofing made on 1/12/2015, see attached invoice. Southern Roofing did not originally install Mr. *****'s roof, therefore no warranty was issued. Southern Roofing will go back once on a repair that we made, within 30 days, but wasn't contacted during this time frame. I explained this to Mr ***** when he called.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was not asking for a refund all I wanted was some one to come out and make a roof repair I did not expect a refund but did said can I get my money back because they never showed up after calling for six weeks are more and never return a call as promised this started out as a new jod and never was a mention of a refund until they never showed I do not expect someone to work for nothing because I do not sorry but that is just bad business they won't to look at roof repairs just to get a roof job


Business Response
There seems to be confusion as to what Mr. ***** is asking for. Mr. ***** never made it clear to us that he wanted a new repair made, only that he wanted a refund on the repair made over 1 year prior. We would've and will still gladly provide Mr. ***** with an estimate for work needed, but regretfully, no refunds can be issued on a repair more than a year old.

01/04/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Will not complete work as promised.
Multiple promises to finish work after starting. 1/5 of job completed. Every time we call we get a promise to finish but no results. Roof has developed new leaks and our building is suffering new damages. Very poor customer service.

Desired Settlement
I would like for them to finish what they started. If they say they will finish "Next Week"....FINISH!

Business Response
We received this complaint on 9/14/15, due to email complications. All work was completed on 9/11/15. There were delays on work progress due to the extreme heat we experienced this summer. This work wasn't started until late June and this was a rather big job. We aim to please our customers and hope Mr. ********** is satisfied the overall work provided by Southern Roofing.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Although the work started in late June...contract to work was signed April 21st. I respect the fact heat was a factor as well as other weather related issues but this took 5 months in which there where multiple breaks in the heat during this time. Also, this building holds our school and we where promised, for the 4th time, the job would be done to meet our code inspections by start of school in August... which included the repairs on the inside from our roof leak. We made repairs and meet inspection. Roof was not done as promised and created new leaks and caused more damage inside to ceiling tiles, carpet and sheet rock. Even though the job is supposed to be finished, we are still experiencing leaks in the old areas as well as new leaks. All we every wanted is our roof fixed in a timely manner and put our trust in Southern Roofing to meet that need. Its a shame we have to communicate in this manner and so much trust is lost. It's also a shame after all this time we are at square one having to get other bids to do the proper repairs needed.


Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** ******* **
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@SOUTHERNROOFINGAUGUSTA.COM
The contract was signed 4/21/15. Southern Roofing was not not able to start the work until late June, due to prior commitments. Pastor ********** was unaware that my lead sheet metal foreman was only working 2 or 3 days during this time, due to ******************** being terminally ill. During this time ******************** both passed. unfortunately, when a lead employee is out it slows down production. In combination with the extreme heat we experienced at this time, it did drastically slow down progress. Southern Roofing has been out several times to investigate leaks that were reported. repairs have been made. On 9/28/15, my employees were at the church and contacted the secretary in the church office. She indicated that there was only 1 leak at that time. Southern Roofing repaired the leak on Thursday 10/1/15. The metal roof on this building is probably 15yrs or older and Southern Roofing did not install a total new roof, but proposed to fix areas that needed repairs. Southern Roofing will meet Pastor ********** the week of October 4th to resolve any complaints. An email explaining this will be sent to Pastor ********** as well.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First, we were not told the work would be "delayed" until June. Were all clients delayed or is it based on the magnitude of the project? No communication was made as to the tragedy of his foreman. And, does a business shut down because of one employee in a company this size? Does heat determine work load? How can you stay in business? Did Southern Roofing's employees go without pay during the absence of a foreman or during hot weather? Southern Roofing was contacted in April 2015 and provided information which claimed would fix all of our leaks. They have since increased. Even the initial "leaks" are still leaking. We have tried for 6 months for resolution exercising patience above which should be warranted. Pictures and videos are available as to the seriousness of our issues. Our church is partnered with the ****** ******* **** as well as the **** to provide a place to feed hungry people and also provide basketball for the youth at ***** How can we effectively provide food and activities if water is on the floor every time it rains? We want our roof repaired as repeatedly promised for 6 months. If not, we will acquire other resources.

********* ****** CFO
*** ********* ******


Business Response
These issues are are being resolved with Ms. ****** There has been constant communication between Mr. ******* and Ms. ****** and all issues are being addressed. We regret that Ms. ***** has been dissatisfied and Southern Roofing is working to rectify these issues.


Consumer Response
We have met with Mr. ******* several times during the last 3 weeks. We are still experiencing leaks (old and new). He has personally come by and saw the problems himself. Pictures and videos have been taken to further support the ongoing problem. Mr. ******* has assured us these issues will be resolved. We appreciate his willingness, but we would like the leaks repaired and our gym to remain dry. This issue is still ongoing. Complete resolution as not occurred. ********* *****


Business Response
Waiting on response from Mr. *******. He is communicating with Ms. ****** I will post an update when I get a response from Mr. *******.


Business Response
SOUTHERN ROOFING HAS BEEN OUT AND ADDRESSED LEAKS, 11/27/15 AND 11/30/15. I TALKED TO THE PRINCIPAL, AND SHE INDICATED THAT SHE ONLY SAW 1 ACTIVE LEAK IN THE CORNER. SOUTHERN ROOFING SENT WORKERS BACK ON 12/4/15 TO FIX THE 1 LEAK AND WATER TESTED THE AREA TO MAKE SURE IT DIDN'T LEAK. THIS ROOF IS A VERY OLD ROOF AND SOUTHERN ROOFING DID NOT REPLACE THE ROOF, WE ONLY MADE REPAIRS TO SKYLIGHTS, DETERIORATED SCREWS, AND RUSTED OUT PANELS. UNDER OUR CONTRACT, SOUTHERN ROOFING AGREED TO REPAIR THE LEAKS, BUT WE WERE NOT SHOWN THE LONG TIME LEAKS THAT WERE OCCURRING AT THE WALL. HOWEVER, SOUTHERN ROOFING WILL DO WHAT IS NECESSARY TO RESOLVE THE LEAKING ROOF.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Southern Roofing came out in APRIL of this year, which is 8 months ago. THEY advised us as to the repairs necessary to fix our roof. THEY did not indicate a new roof was necessary. THEY were shown the leaks on the left wall....why did we have them come out if it were only a few leaks? We have many pictures and videos shown to Mr. *******. He has been out personally to see them first hand. We are so frustrated with the poor service we have received from this company. Eight months to do a 3 week's job? And, saying you were not shown the leaks? No way. Let's just prorate the price based on the time scale taken to do the job.....hmmmmm. If it takes 3 weeks to do the amount of work they say - 15 days that would be what per day? Let's take the price and divide by 32 weeks and see how much that is based on a 5 day work week. Calculate that. We do not accept their response. Leaks ignored for months lead to further damage. Think about 8 months of leaking.....This is by far unresolved! ********* *****


Business Response
We are still experiencing technical difficulties with our email, hence the delayed response. Southern Roofing is and has been directly corresponding with Ms. ****** There has been no further damages reported to Southern Roofing nor any more leaks occurring. Mr. ******* will be stopping by today to see what Ms. ***** is speaking about in the letter she posted to BBB. Southern Roofing would like to ask Ms. ***** to contact us directly with any issues so that we are made aware of the problem and are able to tend to them in a timely manner.
**** ******* XXX-XXX-XXXX


Business Response
After checking the roof on 12/22/15, there is 1 active leak occurring. Southern Roofing will be back out when weather permits, to take another approach to fixing this leak.

12/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had a roof installed in 2008 by Southern Roofing with a twenty year warranty. I have had leaks and the business will not call me back and make arrangements to come out and repair.

Desired Settlement
repair leaks

Business Response
We roofed Mrs. *****'s house on 10/17/2008. Mrs. ***** has called several times concerning a leak that is occurring in her house. My secretary pulled her files and went over the guarantees that were issued when the roof was completed. My secretary informed Mrs. ***** that under the terms of the labor guarantee, that after 2 years there would be a service charge to make any repairs. Mrs. ***** was not willing to pay for any repairs. I will forward copies of Mrs. *****'s shingle manufacturer warranty and Southern Roofing's 2 year labor guarantee. We did go back 2 different times under the 2 year warranty 1. 10/16/08, To clean off a smudge of black on her siding, she claims were caused by shingles. 2. 8/29/2010, To put a rain diverter on the roof at Mrs. *****'s request to divert water running off a section of her roof. No leaks were ever reported until now.

07/25/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have a warranty on the installation of my home roof. This is a chronology of my efforts to get my roof repaired.On the night of 6/24/14 my roof started leaking Beginning at about 7:30 AM on 6/25/14 Made several calls to Southern Roofing and was told that *** ******* *** was the person that would call me back (no Call back)On 6/26/14 Went to Southern Roofing's office and talked to *** ******* ***On the afternoon of 6/26/14 *** ******* *** came to look at my roof and determined that the nails were not sealed. He said that he would get ****** to fix it on 6/27/14 or 6/28/14Stayed home all day on 6/27 and 6/28 but nobody came to fix the roof. I did not receive a phone call.About 7:30 AM on 6/30/14 I called Southern Roofing to to report that nobody fixed my roof Friday or Saturday. Was told, by the person who answered the phone, that he would give the message to *** ******* ***As of 11:15 AM on 6/30/14 I have not received a call from *** ******* ****** ******* ***nor anyone else will call me back about repairing my roof. I have run out of options except maybe to get a lawyer to help. Southern Roofing has demonstrated the worst customer service that I have ever experienced. I think that it is a very simple thing to call a customer and inform them of what you will do to address their concern. We are having rainy weather and I want to get my roof repaired.

Desired Settlement
I want Southern Roofing to do what their warranty says. I want my roof repaired without further delay.

Business Response
After updating email address with BBB agent **** today, I have read the complaint that Mr. ******* turned in to the BBB. The first phone call our office received from Mr. ******* was on 6/25/14. I personally answered the phone on this day and took the message from Mr. ******* which read as follows. "Tell *** ** my roof is **** leaking." I assured Mr. ******* I would make sure *** ** received his message. On the morning of 6/26/14, Mr. ******* came into Southern Roofing to see *** **. I again personally dealt with Mr. ******* on this day. I told Mr. ******* that *** ** was not in and would be back within the next 30 minutes. Mr. ******* became irate, raising his voice and swearing at me. After he insulted me and my position I hold at Southern Roofing, I offered him a seat to wait and walked away. *** ** did consult with Mr. ******* when he arrived at the office. Mr. ******* demanded that *** ** get his roof fixed "right now" and continued to swear and yell. *** ** asked Mr. ******* to leave or he would call the law. After lunch on 6/26/14, *** ** called Mr. ******* and asked if he'd calmed down. Mr. ******* said yes he had calmed down quite a bit. *** ** did go out to personally see what the damages were and advised Mr. ******* Southern Roofing would send a roofer out to fix his roof on 6/27/14 or 6/28/14. ****** (roofer) did go out and repair Mr. *******'s roof on Saturday 6/28/14. ****** reported back to Southern Roofing on Monday 6/30/14 that the damages appeared to be caused from the ice storm, there were punctures in the roof caused from a falling tree limb, which is NOT covered under his warranty. However, Southern Roofing did not charge Mr. ******* for the repairs that were made, nor has Mr. ******* called or expressed any dissatisfaction with the work that Southern Roofing performed.
Sent on: 7/22/2014 3:51:07 PM

Sent by: 24.236.105.138

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response of Southern Roofing is a fabrication. The events happened as I communicated on my original complaint. My roof was not repaired until 6/30/2014. The damage was not caused by the ice storm and a limb did not fall on my roof. If it had, I would have called my insurance agent. The damaged was caused by poor workmanship when the roof was originally installed. They did not charge me for the repair because they know that there was a broken board under the shingles that was not replaced during the installation. This caused a sunken spot in the roof and during a downpour the water puddled in that spot causing a leak.

I am sure that Southern Roofing will spin this in a way that makes them look good but I have told the truth. They do not have any idea what customer service is and I will tell everyone that I know about this poor service.

Final Business Response
Southern Roofing aims to please our customers, that is why our company has been in business over 80 years. It seems as though we have addressed and repaired Mr. *******'s roofing and warranty issue. We value Mr. Lamberts business and thank him for choosing Southern Roofing!

Final Consumer Response
I just thought of something to add to my comment.

Southern Roofing said that a limb fell on my roof but they repaired it anyway without charge. Doesn't this sound wrong since they said that I was such a bad customer and they thought a limb fell on my roof. That says that they thought that I was telling them a lie. Why would they repair my roof if they thought that I was not telling them the truth and I was such a bad customer? Seems a little fishy to me.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Windows, Screens - Door & Window, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors, Carports

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/03/2005Business started: 01/01/1914
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1965, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert D. Stevens, Jr. (Vice President)Mr. Brandon M. Stevens (Treasurer)Mrs. Gina Stevens Mr. Robert D. Stevens, Sr. (President/Owner)
Number of Employees

35

Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Windows, Screens - Door & Window, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors, Carports

Products & Services

This company offers roofing, siding, windows, screens, carports.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Roof Contractor
Roofing Scams

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Southern Roofing & Insulating Co., Inc. has received 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Southern Roofing & Insulating Co., Inc.

511 Skyview Dr

Augusta, GA 30901-3847

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 511 Skyview Dr 

    Augusta, GA 30901-3847(706) 724-3535

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Better Business Bureau of Central Georgia and the CSRA, Inc.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Southern Roofing & Insulating Co., Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

Hiring a Roof Contractor
Roofing Scams
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.