BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/28/2009

Auben Realty, LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (706) 305-1551Fax: (706) 945-17891918 Central Ave, AugustaGA 30904-4126 Send email to Auben Realty, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/28/2009

BBB has determined that Auben Realty, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Auben Realty, LLC's rating include:

  • 4 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Auben Realty, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Auben Realty, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
04/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The house we have recently moved into has unaddressed safety hazards and was not move in ready. Our requests to fix the house have been ignored.
Auben Realty is a horrible realty company that does not have the management able to handle its properties. My husband and I are military and have moved over 12 times in four years and have experience when it comes to moving into houses. When we saw the house online that we picked from Auben's website, it did not depict the house in the shape it actually was in when we showed up. And when we finally were able to move in, the house was not move in ready. There was a large concrete slab in the middle of the backyard that was not only an eyesore but a huge hazard as it had sharp edges all the way around. Auben advertised a fully fenced in back yard, however the house is not fully fenced in. It is missing a whole side of fencing along the backside of the back yard, and the only reason it is still contained is because the neighbor happens to have a fence. Several issues inside the house were reported at move in, including a broken dishwasher door that leaks, a broken sink that leaks, the concrete slab in the back yard, and a malfunctioning dead bolt lock. The back yard was covered with rusty wire which our dog not only pulled up but my husband stumbled into while looking at the absent fencing. Auben sent a contractor over to fix these things, and all they have done is remove the concrete slab, cover the deep hole it made with sand (destroying the yard) and breaking the deadbolt on the house to the point where it does not lock anymore. None of the other issues reported have been addressed, and it has been two weeks since we have moved in.
Our house is in a very bad neighborhood. Upon move in, no trash was picked up around the house, and it was in a dirty state. We found a used crack pipe and two large empty beer bottles by our side door indicating trespassers had been drinking and smoking crack in our yards. When we relayed this information to Auben, we requested they pay for a security system to ensure the outside of the house was safe. They refused to consider that, and so on top of the overpriced rent we now have to pay an additional fee just to keep the house safe. All of the houses surrounding us have security systems.
To top it all off, the house came without a phone jack port ANYWHERE in the house. When we called Auben, we asked them to wire the house for a phone jack so we could have the basic commodity of internet. They responded that internet is not a necessity, even though it is 2015, and that they supposed residents in the house would just use cell phones for communication. They did not offer to take money off our rent if we installed the ports using another company, therefore adding value to the house. They simply left it as "tough luck deal with it."
My husband visited them in person and spoke with the project manger in charge of the property. After an hour of small talk and schmoozing, the property manager agreed to look into having the same contractor who did a horrible job on the house to wire the house for internet. Ten days later we have heard nothing, and the contractor, when we contacted him, knew nothing about it.
Furthermore, the house uses a central gas heating system, and has no carbon monoxide detectors.
Auben staff have been unsupportive in helping us bring the house to a livable state. We pay 950 dollars a month for the house, and it is not worth any bit of it. When the house value is calculated on ****** and ******* rent is placed at 800 dollars a month for that house considering location and size.
While we do not need lowered rent, the **** we have been through with Auben guarantees we will be moving out once the year is up and will never use them again for rental services. We will be spreading the word to those who work on Fort Gordon as well, since nobody wants to deal with the headache we have dealt with.

Desired Settlement
Fix our house. Install internet ports, it is 2015 and nobody "doesn't use internet." Make the house safe by installing a safety system so random hoboes do not drink and smoke crack in the yard. Fix the items we have requested to be fixed, and consider refunding part of our security deposit and lowering our montly rent because the house was anything but move in ready and the state it is in does not warrant almost 1000 dollars a month.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** - CEO
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *****@aubenrealty.com
***** ********* and *********** ******** first applied for a property managed by Auben Realty on January *** 2015. After selecting a few homes, changing move-in dates, the applicants finally moved into *** ***** ****** on 3**/2015.

The home the tenants moved into was a completely permitted renovation. As with any renovation, there were a few items that an inspection would not reveal. Many times, small leaks and other items are not present until repeated use after a tenant has moved into a home. The tenants provided a list of items that needed to be corrected on their move-in inspection. A work order was created, and all items have been addressed.

Augusta, Richmond County specifically, is known for historic neighborhoods and older homes. *** ***** ****** was built in 1911, a time in which no phone jacks could be found in any home. This home specifically never had a phone lines installed. It is not the practice of our firm to install cable or phone ports. Tenants are given authorization to have any of those installed for their convenience.

On 3/**/15, Ms. ********* informed our office that she would be having a security inspector come out because of her concerns with the neighborhood. A report of the findings was never provided to our office. The Fair Housing Act of 1968 prevents any real estate brokerage from making comments on neighborhoods, or steering clients into a specific area. What Ms. ********* feels to be an unsafe neighborhood is the place many of her neighbors call home, and have lived for many years. The residence is located just a couple of blocks away from the ******* ******* *****

Upon multiple complaints by the tenants, they were given the option to break their lease without the full termination policy our company normally upholds. The tenants declined the offer, and remain in the home. As previously stated, all maintenance concerns have been addressed and Auben Realty is in compliance with local, state, and federal laws regarding the home.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We understand the house is old. We understand many people call the area home, however that is not an excuse to not maintain the same level of security they all seem to feel they need on their houses.
We did not break the lease because we would have lost our 1200 dollar deposit on a house that is not even worth that much. We aren't rich.
Also, the issues in the house were only resolved after I filed this claim, and barely. We now have a backyard of sand because Auben is too cheap to use dirt. The first time the contractor came to the house is managed to break our deadbolt and that is about it.
We never had a security company come out to our house because they estimated it would cost an additional 70 dollars a month to secure the house. That would make the total we pay monthly on the poorly rennovated structure 1,020 dollars plus utilities.
And good luck finding people who will rent a house that you did not bother to put phone lines in. Again, only the bare minimum was done to make the house liveable and we are stuck with it because we cannot afford to move out.
Thank you for the weak respinse that did not even attempt to resolve any of our concerns.


03/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Advertised house stating it was fully renovated as per Auben Realty website, house was not completed upon move in.
On 01/24/15 we went to Auben Realty to sign a lease for **** ****** Ct. At the office we were presented a standard move-in inspection sheet, which was completed on 01/19/15 by ***** *** of Auben Realty. This inspection form showed what was in good condition and what was in bad condition and needed to be changed or repaired. Before given the key to the house we asked if all conditions that needed attention were taken care of, A representative of Auben Realty stated yes every thing was changed or repaired.

When we arrived at the house we took our copy of the inspection sheet and started looking for the problems that were stated on the sheet. Between the 19th-24th of January none of the problems were taken care of. The problems are as followed: 1) whole house was not cleaned before move in date and smelled. 2) front and back yard not cleaned, tree, brush, and some trash debri not cleaned. 3). Every sink in the house had leaks, not just little drips. 4). Thermostat needed a battery, never replaced battery. 5). Hallway light switch needed face plate never had one. 6) some outlets not working not fixed also painted over can't plug stuff in. 7) light in laundry room not working never fixed. Those where the items on the sheet.

We moved into a house that had no working water hot or cold, and no heat due to the heater never being connected. We called the office and advised them of the situation. A repair person finally came at 10pm to turn on the water at the street. The repair man came back the next day to temporarily hook up the old heating unit until a new heating unit can be put in on 01/29/15. It took till 01/30/15 to realize why the hot water was not working properly the heating element was burned out due to no water coming into the house and the water heater being on with out water. The washing machine hot water piping was never hooked up. These problems were taken care of except the yard it's still dirty and I was advised Auben would get someone to clean it.

On 2/4/15 wife advised me while I was at work that raw sewage was coming from the back up pipe in the front yard so we had toilet paper and feces in the yard. That was fixed but a cap was never put on. This house also has plumbing problems due to very old iron pipes the are clogged no matter how much u snake then they are still clogged. On 02/08/15 our tub started collecting water while we shower and took a long. Time to drain. Also some days while flushing the toilet dirty water would return back into the tub. Advised the office and someone came out to fix the problem but it still continues.

My wife tried to clean clothes twice and water has come out of the drain in the laundry room causing a flood in the laundry room and kitchen. This caused the lamenant floor to bubble and if not taken care of will cause mildew. The first time it was repaired and it still it gets clogged. I went under the house to see if I can snake the pipe for washing machine drain and couldn't , the end cap is rusted shut. While under the house also observed a leak in the waste pipe which raw sewage water comes out making the smell we noticed the day we moved in. The pluming in the house is as old as the house and needs to be changed. Also observed illegal electrical work that was done to the house, wires hanging down and not secured, splices that should be secured inside a junction box are exposed. It's a fire hazard waiting to happen, and this is suppose to be a remodeled house. Auben has put our lives at risk with this illegal electrical job Property management doesn't always return calls we have to call more then once, several times. When repairs are done they are not done in a timely manner we have to take time off and lose pay. This house should have never been rented out till all major problems were fixed. It's like trying to drive a lemon with a fresh new paint job still not going to work right.

Desired Settlement
We should not have to pay for March rent but we are going to, so that we can show that we are good tenants even though we have all these problems since we moved in. Be reimbursed for the days of missing work. We want all problems fixed or we get or security back move us to another house with out problems with Auben paying moving expense. The lease should be voided due to false info about the house being ready to be moved into when it wasn't.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** - CEO
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *****@aubenrealty.com
The tenants live in a property that Auben Realty manages. However, this particular homeowner has their own maintenance team they insist on using. All work orders were received and dispatched in a timely manner.

As CEO of Auben Realty, I was unaware that the tenants were experiencing unresolved issues until the BBB complaint was received in my office. We immediately contacted the homeowner as well as their maintenance department.

As of 3/16/15, we were informed by the tenant that all issues have been resolved with the exception of an electrical problem that is scheduled for repair later this week based on the tenant's schedule. Our property manager asked the tenant if Auben Realty could do anything additional to rectify the situation. The tenant responded that just having the maintenance items addressed and some landscaping items taken care of would suffice.

We take great pride in our BBB rating, and are committed to excellent customer service. If there are any additional complaints the tenants have, please have them contact me directly.

08/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have had an ongoing plumbing issue that is yet to be resolved. We are filing this complaint because this is our second occurrence within 5 months.
We moved into this duplex on January 24, 2013, which is managed by Auben Realty. Within the first week we started having issues with water leaking from the faucets and appliances missing. Three weeks after we moved in we started hearing the sinks, bathtubs, and toilet make a bubbling sound. We didn't know what it was so we called the realty company. It took them 2 days to get someone out here. By that time, we had sewage coming up through our bathtub. Our neighbors also informed us that our sewage line is tied into our neighbors line in this duplex. When the maintenance man got here, he was not qualified to resolve the issue.The only thing he could do was dig up the ground in front of my unit and try to clean it out some so that we could get some relief. When he started digging, water was constantly coming out of the ground. I called Auben at least 5 more times to get someone out here to fix the issue. They did not apologize about the inconvenience at that time until I started mentioning the BBB and news *** They then apologized and said that they would have it taken care of. I went down to voice my concerns to the owner of the company, ***** Long story short, I told him we paid all of our money in time and were entitled to a move in ready location. They would not adjust anything off of the rent, nor would they release my deposit even though my lease agreement states I am entitled to it. So I decided to give them a chance to properly fix it without taking legal action. They sent someone out who put flags up in our yard. Nothing was done past that point. It is now the end of July and the same problem is occurring only worst. Friday July 26, I went to use the restroom and right before I sat on the toilet I noticed it was filled to the rim with water and small chunks of feces that had flown out of the toilet onto our bathroom rugs. The bathtub now has large chunks of feces, tissue and other sewage. I called Auben once again at 1 pm. ******* apologized this time and said they would have someone right out to get this resolved. It is now Monday July 29 and I waited to see if they would at least have someone over here first thing this morning since they didn't send anyone right away like they said and no one came. We went to pay our water bill and informed them of the situation and by the time we got home they were here. It was nothing they could do, it is the responsibility of the realtor. By this time it was 11:30 and no one had been sent from Auben. So we called again and spoke with *******. He assured us someone would be here within 30-45 min. No one arrived until 2:00pm, and they sent the same maintenance guy, ****** who is always great in assisting us with house repairs but they knew he couldn't fix the problem. They finally called their plumbers out when I told them I was going to BBB. They are able to fix the issue and get us on separate lines to keep this from happening again, but auben has to give the go ahead. They are not willing to adjust our rent once again even though we can't shower, use the restroom, or our running water. We have been commuting to north augusta, sc just to eat and keep up with hygiene because water was even beinning to back up in the sinks and we are scared to use or drink the water. Instead of providing sanitary living conditions to their customers, it seems Auben Realty is more interested in saving money. They know what needs to be done to fix this issue and after five months, nothing has yet been done. The plumbers have unclogged the line to give us some temporary relief, but since my neighbor and I are on the same line its just a matter of time before it backs up again. I am a paying customer and I pay my rent on time every month. I have never had this problem with the rental company I had before. I also had a personal landlord I rented from last yr and if I had a problem he came right away or the next day and he lived in North Carolina and I was in S. Carolina. This is not Customer service

Desired Settlement
I would like for the lines to be separated from these units to prevent this from happening to any future tenants because it is unsanitary and unlivable under these conditions and a huge inconvenience considering the price of gas and not to mention paying bills here and also having to contribute to others' households for food and hygiene because we can't use our water. I would also like my bathroom professionally cleaned for the remainder of our time here. We would like our rent adjusted because we have been spending extra money commuting to north augusta and for the use of other family members utilities and water. We would also like to be released from this lease agreement with a 30 day written notice and for our security deposit to be returned.

Business' Initial Response
Response to Complaint Activity Report


******** ***** and **** ***** moved into a property that we manage on January 24, 2013 located at **** ***** ******* Augusta, and GA XXXXX.

On January 31st, Ms. ***** phoned in a work order stating her bathtub faucet was leaking, kitchen faucet was leaking, and there were no stoppers in the kitchen sink. This issue was addressed, and corrected, on the same day by a member of our maintenance team. No appliances were missing as stated in her claim.

On February 6th, Ms. ***** reported a sewage problem to our office at 8:28am. A member of our team addressed the report the same day, and the issue appeared to be resolved.

Ms. ***** continued to insist that the sewage lines for **** and **** ***** ****** were tied together. Our maintenance team worked in close contact with the city to be proactive to prevent any future issues, and verify that this was not the case. The lines were dug up. It was clearly visible that the lines were in-fact separate, which was verified by ******* Utilities.

On February 13th, Ms. ***** once again called into our office to complain that her heater was blowing out cold air. The root of the problem was determined to be the fact that Ms. ***** did not have active gas service at the property. She arrived at our office to complain to ***** who does not own Auben Realty which can be verified be Better Business Bureau records, that all advertisements stated the home contained all electric utilities and appliances, which was not the case. At this point, given the amount of issues our company experienced with Mr. ***** and Ms. ***** in such a short amount of time and the verbal abusiveness directed towards our office staff from the tenants, they were given the opportunity to break their lease with no penalties, which they declined to do. This was our attempt to resolve the situation. We would rather have a satisfied customer than a customer we would never be able to appease despite our best efforts.

On July 26th, Ms. ***** reported another problem with the sewer line at her property. Two members of our maintenance team were dispatched the location. One member unclogged the line for temporary relief, while the other member professionally cleaned the bathroom.

On July 29th, Ms. ***** reported that they were having the same issue again. A licensed plumber was dispatched, and once again unclogged the line for temporary relief until the line could be replaced to prevent this from occurring again. Ms. ***** demanded a reduction in her rent, which was declined due to the fact that the items have been continuously addressed in a timely manner.

On August 7th, The licensed plumber replaced a 90-degree bend in the sewer line with two 22-degree bends and the issue has seemingly been resolved.

Auben Realty, LLC. is a realty that manages almost 300 hundred rental homes and we have yet to have a legitimate complaint filed against us to the Better Business Bureau.

12/10/2013Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Residential Property Sales, Property Management, Real Estate

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/22/2009Business started: 09/01/2004New Owner Date: 09/01/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Natalie Walls (Realtor/Owner)Mr. Allen Bonds (CEO)Mr. Tyson Schuetze (Owner/President)
Related Businesses
Auben Homes - 1918 Central Ave, Augusta, GA
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Residential Property Sales, Property Management, Real Estate

Products & Services

This company offers property management services and real estate brokerage/sales.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Auben Realty, LLC

1918 Central Ave

Augusta, GA 30904-4126

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1918 Central Ave 

    Augusta, GA 30904-4126(706) 305-1551
    Fax: (706) 945-1789

  • PO Box 1459 

    Augusta, GA 30903-1459

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Georgia & the Central Savannah River Area. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Auben Realty, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Residential Property Sales

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.