BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/22/1999

SCANA Energy

Phone: (877) 467-2262Fax: (478) 405-2004View Additional Phone NumbersP. O. Box 26306, MaconGA 31221-6306

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

SCANA Energy serves households and businesses as a leading natural gas marketer in Georgia. The company also has a regulated unit, SCANA Energy Regulated Division, selected as the state's only regulated natural gas provider.




BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/22/1999

BBB has determined that SCANA Energy meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised SCANA Energy's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 29 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

29 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues19
Problems with Product / Service9
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 29

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on SCANA Energy

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (29)
08/18/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My service has been shut off for late payments twice with very little notice though I overpaid bill both times for future bills. They have now kept al
I travel constantly and receive sporadic income. Service shut off 1st time when payment was credited by Scana the following day (overpaid to include future billing). That payment had been scheduled online and was delayed by bank due to timing of weekend. 2nd time overpaid to accomodate amount owed and 2 additional months payments (approx) but service shutoff with no notice. I called and spoke to multiple agents who passed me on to supervisor after supervisor. They stated "we can't call everybody" as a reason for no notice (I had specifically given my cell phone to be contacted when this happened last time) and I had just figured out Billpay online which I used here. I found out my service had been shut off when i contacted the billing department specifically to ensure I would get both paper and online bills so as not to make any errors. I also explained I my return home had been delayed as I had to unexpectedly fly to ******** to assist an elderly relative who was having surgery. I wanted to pay the now 75 reconnect fee as before but could only pay it by leaving the service off for 2 months (the reconnect fee was what I would have paid those 2 months). I do not have enough money to pay the bill AND a fee. I am making my family go without hot food for 2 months just to meet their fee and pay them. As I was being transferred to the 4th or 5th person (on phone for 2 hours +) to negotiate this arrangement I was hung up on. Their record say that I hung up on them which I did not. Called again this week when I had 2 hours to spend repeating this whole dance and found out after about 90 minutes that this decision had been made for me to pay not 75 reconnect fee but you instead billed me a 150 termination fee, though I do not want to terminate before contract ends, I want to pay the reconnect fee. I was then informed my 2 months additional payments I sent for future billing had gone to a balance owed on a former closed account 58.32 (they say was opened 8/1/14 closed 4/14/15) AND for their 150 fee so I now owed them money instead of visa versa. I was never notified of any former account outstanding balance and had paid a 60 fee specifically to have it reconnected. Because they closed then reopened my account, I should have 8 months towards the 1 year contract but that credit for months paid seems to have disappeared. The billing has been so complicated that it takes each agent 20-30 minutes to straighten it out themselves. 150 deposit was added then removed, apparently an old balance exists somehow, fees added and utter confusion. I have overpaid as often as possible as a show of good faith and to avoid any future problems but I have been treated like someone who they do not want as a customer.

Desired Settlement
-I want to pay the 75 reconnection fee in the manner discussed (go ahead and take the money I would have spent on the 2 months gas and put it in your greedy pockets while providing me with no service). This is the only way I can afford to pay that fee. I cannot afford to pay the fee and the gas simultaneously.
-Explain to me why I was never notified of the former outstanding balance, why you let me pay my account down to zero repeatedly without ever making me aware there was another balance and why you feel justified taking the money from what I paid forward to provide my family with gas for the next couple months to pay for this.
-Refund the 150 termination of contract fee as I did not terminate it, you did involuntarily. I should have 8 months toward the contract from the last go round credited.
-Also please review your demands to shut people's gas off so quickly when they have a history of paying (even overpaying) their bills due to sporadic income. Treat people as if you want them to stay with your company, not as if you just want to harm them by taking fees and leaving them with both no money and no services. This process has been vindictive and ugly.

Business Response
I spoke with Ms. **** regarding her complaint and explained the disconnection process. I also confirmed we are in compliance with the Georgia Public Service Commission Rules and Requirements related to disconnection of service for non-payment.
The customer had enrolled in a fixed rate contract for 12 bills, with a $150 early termination fee assessed if the account is closed prior to the 12th bill. The fee was included on her final bill and is valid. As a courtesy and in an effort to resolve the matter, I agreed to credit the $150 early exit fee. Ms. **** is satisfied with this resolution.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

01/22/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been charged for using an excessive amt of Therms - when my home is all electric except for emerg heating if needed for temp below 5 dgrs.
I have been with this company since 2005 that is over 9 yrs of history; however, in 12/2014 and 1/2015 my Therms increased x17 plus tripling the bill and I do not even use gas. I have been paying to have gas coming to my home only for backup emergency purposes only in case the temperature drops below 5 degrees outside and that has never happened. I pay Atlanta Gas through Scana Energy. I contacted Scana on 1/13/2015 and they in turn contacted Atlanta Gas and was told that the meter is correct and they will not be sending anyone out again. For an entire time I have been receiving services the maximum therm usage p/mo never amounted over approximately 2-3 therms, however, for Dec2014 (67 Therms)/Jan2015 (50 Therms), Altanta Gas Light asserts that I used Therms that is impossible seemingly my home is all electric except for backup emergency heating for my heat pump. Atlanta Gas Light is attempting to commit fraud/theft! Attached is a copy of my 24-month billing history, you tell me if this makes sense! Especially no one has been in the home since the 1st wk in Dec 2014 and the heat pump has been set and left at 50 degrees. They have been patronizing and dismissive of my concerns!
Bill Date Electric Charges Gas Charges Other Utility Charges Taxes Total Utility Charges Other Charges Remaining Balance Total Due (at Billing) Payments
01/09/2015
$0.00 $60.38 $0.00 $4.23 $64.61 $10.00 $75.65 $150.26 $0.00
12/09/2014
$0.00 $70.70 $0.00 $4.95 $75.65 $0.00 $0.00 $75.65 $28.15
11/06/2014
$0.00 $26.31 $0.00 $1.84 $28.15 $0.00 $0.00 $28.15 $23.75
10/08/2014
$0.00 $22.20 $0.00 $1.55 $23.75 $0.00 $0.00 $23.75 $23.76
09/09/2014
$0.00 $22.21 $0.00 $1.55 $23.76 $0.00 $0.00 $23.76 $23.22
08/08/2014
$0.00 $21.70 $0.00 $1.52 $23.22 $0.00 $0.00 $23.22 $23.22
07/09/2014
$0.00 $21.70 $0.00 $1.52 $23.22 $0.00 $0.00 $23.22 $46.47
06/09/2014
$0.00 $21.70 $0.00 $1.52 $23.22 $0.00 $23.25 $46.47 $0.00
05/08/2014
$0.00 $21.73 $0.00 $1.52 $23.25 $0.00 $0.00 $23.25 $24.85
04/08/2014
$0.00 $23.22 $0.00 $1.63 $24.85 $0.00 $0.00 $24.85 $29.54
03/10/2014
$0.00 $27.61 $0.00 $1.93 $29.54 $0.00 $0.00 $29.54 $49.10
02/07/2014
$0.00 $45.89 $0.00 $3.21 $49.10 $0.00 $0.00 $49.10 $29.64
01/09/2014
$0.00 $27.70 $0.00 $1.94 $29.64 $0.00 $0.00 $29.64 $25.79
12/09/2013
$0.00 $24.10 $0.00 $1.69 $25.79 $0.00 $0.00 $25.79 $24.09
11/06/2013
$0.00 $22.51 $0.00 $1.58 $24.09 $0.00 $0.00 $24.09 $23.23
10/08/2013
$0.00 $21.71 $0.00 $1.52 $23.23 $0.00 $0.00 $23.23 $22.72
09/06/2013
$0.00 $21.23 $0.00 $1.49 $22.72 $0.00 $0.00 $22.72 $22.73
08/07/2013
$0.00 $21.24 $0.00 $1.49 $22.73 $0.00 $0.00 $22.73 $22.73
07/08/2013
$0.00 $21.24 $0.00 $1.49 $22.73 $0.00 $0.00 $22.73 $22.73
06/06/2013
$0.00 $21.24 $0.00 $1.49 $22.73 $0.00 $0.00 $22.73 $22.76
05/07/2013
$0.00 $21.27 $0.00 $1.49 $22.76 $0.00 $0.00 $22.76 $24.78
04/08/2013
$0.00 $23.16 $0.00 $1.62 $24.78 $0.00 $0.00 $24.78 $25.64
03/07/2013
$0.00 $23.96 $0.00 $1.68 $25.64 $0.00 $0.00 $25.64 $25.10
02/06/2013
$0.00 $23.46 $0.00 $1.64 $25.10 $0.00 $0.00 $25.10 $25.09
Total: $0.00 $658.17 $0.00 $46.09 $704.26 $10.00 $98.90 $813.16 $589.09

Desired Settlement
1st of all I desire an apology for the way I have been treated and an acknowledgement that this change is erroneous. Secondly, I desire someone to make immediate corrective actions (bill adjustment) so I can pay my bill. I want to know what date my meters are read and who is scheduled to read it - I want to be on site every time my meter is read for I see Scana nor AGL can be trusted

Business Response
The following email was sent to the customer on 1/16/15, advising her that AGL's escalation team has confirmed they will investigate to confirm whether or not meter is operating properly and that the reported usage is correct:

"To: ******@outlook.com
Responding Agent: ****** ******
Subject: RE: Informal Dispute Resolution #XXXXXX-XXXXXX#
Date Sent: 1/16/2015 5:26:57 AM
Attachments:


****** *************:

I apologize if my response failed to address your concerns. The Georgia Public Service Commission requires all certified marketers to bill the customer based on the meter readings provided from Atlanta Gas Light Company (AGL).

We have emailed AGL's escalation team requesting a meter investigation and review to verify meter is operating properly and to confirm meter readings. I will notify you when they respond to our request. I have exempted the account from disconnection for 30 days to allow AGL time to complete their investigation. If a meter reading error has occurred, billing will be adjusted according; however, if their investigation confirms that meter is operating properly and meter readings are correct, the outstanding balance will be due. If readings are confirmed, you may want to consider having your gas equipment checked to ensure your equipment is operating properly.
Thank you,
****** ******
SCANA Energy"

The customer also filed a Georgia Public Service Commission complaint, which is being addressed by Atlanta Gas Light Company. AGL's visit to the property is scheduled for 1/21/15.

Heat pump emergency systems, or back-up systems, typically operate when outside temps reach 35 degrees.

I will contact the customer as soon as AGL completes their investigation.




11/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Scana Regulated service techs only provide cut off notices to some residents, according to the customer service dept. This is discriminatory.
Scana Regulated techs practice discrimination in who they give notice to. My service was disconnected and I was not given any information regarding when it was shut off. I had no idea it was cut off until the following day.

Desired Settlement
I want my reconnect deposit and reconnect fee of $200.00 refunded because I was not made aware that the gas was cut off even though it was paid the morning of the disconnect. I was home almost all day. No tech came to my door, no notice was left. Scana's customer service stated that they don't have to leave notice but that they do leave notice at some homes. This is discrimination. Why am I not given a notice but others are? If they had announced their presence then I would have let them know that the account was paid and I would not have been charged $200 to reconnect.

Business Response
I spoke with Ms. **** on October 23, 2014, and provided details related to the disconnection. On 10/3/14, SCANA Energy mailed the final notice advising of pending disconnection if payment of $60.43 was not received by 10/10/14. The notice was mailed certification of mailing to the service address. No payment was received by the 10/10 deadline and the request to disconnect was sent to AGL on 10/13/14, then completed by AGL on 10/16/14. Customer's payment was received the morning of 10/16/14; however, AGL's technician already had the disconnect order in the field to be worked. Disconnection is valid and in accordance with Georgia Public Service Commission rules.

I explained that Atlanta Gas Light Company owns the metering equipment and distribution system used to deliver her natural gas service. The disconnection request was sent to AGL and AGL's service technician completed the disconnection on 10/16/14. Ms. **** contacted our call center on 10/17, the next day, to have service restored and also contacted AGL with questions related to the door tag left by their technician. The reconnection order was completed by AGL on 10/20/14 as scheduled.

As a courtesy and based on previous months' account payment history, I credited the $150 deposit. However, I confirmed that the reconnection charge is valid and will not be credited. Customer is satisfied with this resolution.


05/12/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
my son and I are disabled and scana took 2 weeks to turn gas back on after. Full bill was paid -even with Drs verification
Gas was turned off-we paid bill in full plus reconnect fee on 4 24 16-it is marked in our file that both my son and myself are disabled-they said it would take four days to restore-we asked that ****** call before they arrive- they did not and came to our house 4 28 16-service not restored-I called and they stated that it would be Monday 5 2 16 between 8 - 12- I mentioned again that someone was home when the guy came out and that he did not call or ring the door bell and that we are a disabled household-I was told that yes it is in your file but it will be next Monday before someone can come out essentially leaving 2 disabled people without hot water and a stove to cook food for over 9 days-the bill has been paid plus all of their outrageous fees and because we are on a fixed income caused us additional financial hardship and emotional and physical damage with both my son and myself being handicapped. I even talked to a supervisor and had my Dr send in a letter stating the disabilities and it is clearly in our file -I'm not sure what the honorable people at BBB can do at this point-but big corporate companies like this shouldn't be able to do this to the unfortunate. I would go all electric if that was an option-but scana is the only gas company in the area and it's a shame that people get treated this way and there's no restitution or recourse to have it corrected-their "wee don't care" attitude is what is wrong with the world today and I feel sad that my son has to be awakened to the cruel fact that, though you are disabled people will care less and continue with their bullying tactics and offer no help to you- I did explain to him that the BBB was one of the last great groups left in the world that will fight for your rights and for any disservice that has been done -thank you for being there and I hope that Scana will take a hard look at their business model

Desired Settlement
We only ask Scana to help the disabled - going 9 days without service is inhumane and though we could pursue this toward pain and suffering and personal damages - we ask that service be restored immediately and reconnection fees waived and or accredited to the account and that when dealing with a disabled household and fixed income work with them and if it is neccessary to disconnect make sure that all avenues of resolution have been explored-

Business Response
Review of the account confirms that the disconnection is valid and in accordance with the Georgia Public Service Commission Rules. I have left the customer a message requesting call back to review the following information.

SCANA Energy billed this account on 3/4/16, total due $198.99. Email notification was sent to the customer. No payment was received and the account billed again on 4/4/16, current charges of $79.13, past due $198.99, $.01 interest credit, total due of $278.11. The bill included first notice of pending disconnection if payment of $198.98 was not received by 4/19/16. Email notification of billing was sent to the customer. The final notice of pending disconnection was sent to the service address, via certification of mailing, advising the past due balance of $198.98 must be paid by 4/19/16 to prevent disconnection. The notice provides additional information regarding availability of payment arrangements and to contact our call center for assistance. There is no record of customer contacting our call center to discuss the account status or to request an arrangement until 4/25/16, after the service was disconnected.

The customer's service was disconnected for non-payment on 4/25/16 at 9:46 a.m. by ******* *** ***** Company ****** The customer's online payment posted to the account on Monday, 4/25/16 at 3:36 pm. The customer contacted our call center at 3:40 pm to advise of payment and the reconnection order was scheduled for the first available date in ****** system, Thursday, 4/28/16, 8-12 am, customer onsite. Review of this call confirms that customer advised our representative to schedule the reconnection and that someone would be home. The customer did not choose the entrance instructions "call before going." The *** technician went to the home and no one was available. The reconnection order had to be rescheduled for the first available date, which was Monday, 5/2/16. ******* *** ***** ******* agreed to expedite the order based on receipt of a medical letter the customer provided and the service was reconnected on Friday, 4/29/16.

SCANA Energy's first notice and final notice of pending disconnection advises our customers to contact our call center if assistance is needed to prevent the disconnection; however, there is no record of the customer contacting our call center prior to disconnection. The reconnection charge helps cover ****** fee to reconnect service and we are unable to honor Mr. *******'s request to issue a refund.

I will discuss this information with Mr. ******* when he returns my call.

05/03/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i never signed up for a variable rate with scanna.My rate went from 49 cent a therm to 93 cents a therm. T he bill is more that i make in two weeks. I
high rates0

Desired Settlement
keep my rate i signed up for.

Business Response
I have made unsuccessful attempts to reach the customer at the phone number provided. I will provide the following information as soon as the customer returns my call.

Review of the account confirms that the customer's fixed rate term expired with the March 2015 bill. SCANA Energy made several attempts to reach the customer (phone calls, rate renewal letter, bill notifications) to select a new fixed rate plan prior to the fixed rate expiration; however, Mr. ***** failed to respond and the account billed on the SCANA Variable rate plan effective with his April 2015 bill.

04/14/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Services was interrupted for $123.60 but I did not receive a late notice. Now I have to wait several days before being reconnected.
On Tuesday, March 29, Scan Energy disconnected my service for $123.60 which I did not receive a late notice. I immediately posted a payment. However, they charged me $75 plus and additional $150. My service has never been interrupted therefore this should provide me with a courtesy. I have also been with Scana for 10 years. Why do customers have to pay an additional deposit when we already made a $150 deposit at time of startup. It is also unethical for Scana to collect payments but fail to restore services until days later. Customer service stated that if we have any medical issues I still had to wait several days before someone would come out to restore services. I paid all of the fees but why am I still penalized by having to wait several days. This is more of a ethical and moral issue.

Desired Settlement
I would like an explanation of why I have to pay $150 deposit a second time. I would also like a credit for the $150 deposit. There also need to be changes to how long it takes for services to be restored.

Business Response
Review of the account confirms that disconnection was in compliance with Georgia Public Service Commission Rules and requirements. The customer's first notice of pending disconnection appeared on her March 8, 2016 bill, advising the past due amount of $123.60 must be received by 3/23/16 to prevent disconnection. No payment was received and the final notice dated 3/16/16 was mailed via certification of mailing to the service address, advising customer the $123.60 must be received by 3/23/16 to prevent disconnection. No payment was received and the disconnection request was sent to ******* *** ***** ******* on 3/24/16, then completed on 3/29/16. The customer paid the amount needed to reconnect service and we agreed to bill the deposit. The customer's original deposit, paid in 2004, was refund to the account in November 2006. The reconnection order was scheduled for the first available date in ****** system, 3/31/16. Service has been restored.
I spoke with the customer and provided information and resolution. The customer is now satisfied with the resolution.

04/08/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Gas disconnection without warning via phone call or letter and no note left on the door. I was told "we can't call everyone, they should leave a note"
Due to health issues my payment was late but showed in my online account details that past due and current due could be paid by 3/23. On 3/17 my service was disconnected without notice via a phone call, no voice message, or letter warning me of this, and no note left at my property that a service agent had been here. I was told by a "customer service agent" that she could see they did not grant me a phone call as a warning. After 3 years of service, granted I was late paying a few times but have never gotten a warning call and have never asked for a payment arrangement or exception or reimbursement of late fees, I am told to pay $75 reconnect fee and $150 deposit before they can reconnect my service. (If I had that kind of cash laying around, I would have paid the bill already, it was only $91.) My problems are with their lack of interest to work with their customers, no warnings before shutting down service and requiring me to pay for a reconnect when this could have been avoided through clear communication, and then my having to wait 3 days for a reconnect while I'm also required to take a full day off work to wait for the service agent to show up "sometime between 8am and 5pm).

Desired Settlement
I would like a reimbursement of the $75 reconnect fee. If I had been aware of the potential disconnect, I would NOT have been waiting to pay the bill as I had the money scheduled to pay on the due date not any sooner.

Business Response
I spoke with Ms. ********** on 3/29/16 and addressed her concerns related to the disconnection. I confirmed that disconnection is valid and in compliance with Georgia Public Service Commission Rules and requirements. I also confirmed that reconnection was scheduled for the first available date in ******* *** ***** Company's system, 3/23/16, as soon as the required $75 payment posted to the account on 3/21/16. On 3/23/16, Ms. ********** called to advise the *** technician arrived when she was unavailable and service was not restored. The reconnection order was rescheduled for the first available date in ****** system, 3/25/16. Service was reconnected on 3/25/16 as scheduled. I provided additional information and addressed all concerns.
The $150 deposit has been waived and will not be assessed to the account. Ms. ********** is satisfied that she will not be required to pay the $150 deposit and considers the matter resolved.

04/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Had to wait for days to get appt, missed work to wait for technician who didn't show up yet company says he did.
With no notice, gas was turned off on Friday morning 3/18 due to late payment, payment made same day. Could not get appt for reconnect till Tuesday 3/22 between 12pm-4pm. Missed work in order to be home and available, and called in the morning to confirm. Called company again at 3pm when service technician still had no shown up. At just after 4pm, called again and was told that he had come and left a door hanger (which he did not). No one called the gate or knocked on the door and no door hanger was there. Was told that they had no control over service and that the earliest it would be is Thursday. I know we live in an apartment but deserve the same treatment as people living in single family dwellings. The service technician absolutely did not show up nor leave anything and when called the company again at 5:30pm was told there was no way to hold anyone accountable nor were we, as consumers allowed to call ** *******. This is a utility company and people need their utilities and, unfortunately, when there is no competition, this is the type of service to SOME consumers that is completely acceptable. You can ask for a supervisor only to be told over and over there is nothing that can be done (rudely)

Desired Settlement
Simply would like to receive proper customer service, reconnection, and due to their inability to hold their contracted service technicians accountable, a waive of reconnect fee.

Business Response
I have left a message requesting call back from the customer to discuss.
Review of the account confirms that disconnection is valid and in compliance with Georgia Public Service Commission Rules and requirements.
On 2/25/16, Mr. ********'s account billed and reflected a past due balance of $60.19 plus current charges of $74.60, total due $134.79. This bill included the first notice of pending disconnection if the past due amount, $60.19, was not paid by 3/11/16.
On 3/4/16, the final notice was sent, advising the customer the past due amount of $60.19 must be paid by 3/11/16 to prevent disconnection. This notice was mailed via Certification of Mailing, which does not require signature, but verified by the US Postal Service as being processed for delivery. No payment was received and no payment arrangement requested by the customer. The disconnection request was sent to ******* *** ***** ******* ***** on 3/14/16 and completed by *** on 3/16/16. *** owns the distribution system and metering equipment used to deliver natural gas service to customers.

All service orders, including reconnections, are scheduled through ****** system for the first available date and are worked by *** technicians. Any issues related specifically to a technician's handling of an order are beyond SCANA Energy's authority and should be addressed directly by ******* *** ***** Company.

I have confirmed that the reconnection was completed by *** on 3/24/16. The reconnection charge is valid and includes ****** charge to reconnect service.

I will explain to the customer when he returns my call.

Page 1 of 6

Industry Comparison| Chart

Natural Gas Companies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/22/1999Business started: 10/01/1993Business started locally: 10/01/1998
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 2000, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Helen G. Stembridge (Regional Manager)
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Natural Gas Companies

Products & Services

SCANA Energy provides natural gas service to approximately 460,000 residential and business customers across Georgia. We offer competitive prices, flexible payment options, customized rate plans and friendly, reliable customer service.

Alternate Business Names
Scana Services, Inc.
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • P. O. Box 26306 

    Macon, GA 31221-6306(877) 467-2262
    (404) 760-6245
    Fax: (478) 405-2004

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Better Business Bureau of Central Georgia and the CSRA, Inc.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*SCANA Energy is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (404) 760-6245
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Natural Gas Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.