BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Georgia & the CSRA

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Fagan Cabinetry & Cabinet Refacing

(803) 641-2728View Additional Phone Numbers420 Beryl Dr, AikenSC 29803-3666 Send email to Fagan Cabinetry & Cabinet Refacinghttp://View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

CLOSED

BBB Accreditation

On 02/27/2014 this company's accreditation in BBB was revoked by BBB's Board of Directors due to failure to eliminate the underlying cause of complaints on file with the BBB, unresolved complaint(s), and failure to maintain minimum BBB Rating.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Fagan Cabinetry & Cabinet Refacing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • 6 complaints filed against business
  • 3 complaints filed against business that were not resolved.
  • BBB Accreditation was revoked because the business failed to honor its accreditation agreement with BBB.

Factors that raised Fagan Cabinetry & Cabinet Refacing's rating include:

  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Fagan Cabinetry & Cabinet Refacing

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
02/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contract was breached when Mr. ***** could not complete the project and did not refund our deposit.
We signed a contract with Fagan Cabinetry to paint our kitchen and bathroom cabinets in April of 2013. A deposit of $1700 was made to Mr. *****. On July 1, 2013, we received a letter from Mr. ***** stating that he could not complete the project and that our money would be refunded in 15 days. After repeated phone conversations, voice messages and texts, we have not received our money, even though he has stated numerous times he would do so. We are a military family and worked hard to save every penny for the betterment of our home. We have been more than patient and generous, and deserve our money.

Desired Settlement
We want our refund, plus time spent attempting to collect our refund, $2,000.

Business Response
Please inform the ******** I will start making payments 2/7/14/14

Final Consumer Response
Mr. ***** did not make a payment as he stated he would, nor has he contacted us. This is the same behaviour that he has shown since last fall. Each week he would claim he would pay us but would not follow through. At this point, we either want the payment in full, the job completed or a Complaint will be filed in Small Claims Court.

Final Business Response
I did mail the payment Saturday just like I told them I would. I have a copy of the receipt. It was a money order for $50 which we agreed on 2/7/14 every week until the balance is paid plus an additional $300 for their trouble.

10/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contractor fails to complete work as contracted and fails to perform as advertised. Not licensed as advertised.
We contracted with Fagan Cabinet Refacing( ****** *****) on August 7, 2013 to reface our cabinets, provide and install new counter tops/sink/plumbing and provide and install new Cabinet Doors and Moldings and to complete work by September 17, 2013. Mr ***** was in receipt and cashed two checks from us as down payment for the Materials for this contracting work. Copies of these cashed checks in the amounts of $2366.00 and $1183.00 are posted as cashed to our account. . Mr ***** has not performed as advertised or as contracted. Mr ***** advertises his work hours from 8 AM to 5PM and contracted to complete our work by 9/17/2013. . As of this date September 19, 2013 Mr ***** has performed work on our job a total of less than 8 hours. He sends a worker over for a couple of hours each day to work but has provided none of the supplies he promised in the way of counter tops, cabinet doors/ Hardware, molding or sink and now he refuses to return our calls where we are inquiring about completing our work. It is already past the date he contracted to complete our work 9/17/2013. Our Kitchen is torn up and we are required to be present each day to allow workers access but contractor ***** does not show for work and no worker representing ***** Cabinet Refacing has yet to work a full and normal 8 hour shift to complete our work . We have contacted the State of South Carolina Contractors Licensing Board (Ms ******* ******* XXX-XXX-XXXX, ***************@llr.sc.gov) and was informed that although Mr ***** is advertising as licensed and bonded, Ms ******* stated ****** ***** has no State License For Performing this work.
We contacted Mr ***** to remodel our Kitchen because of his BBB affiliation. Mr ***** has not been reliable and used deceptive advertising to gain our business. Mr ***** is not appropriately licensed according to State of South Carolina licensing Board representative Sherrie *******, who we contacted on September 16, 2013. We are requesting that Better Business Bureau assist us in requiring this contractor to perform as contracted and complete our work.

Desired Settlement
We are asking for full refund of price paid Mr ***** in the amount of $3549.00 plus the amount of 1000 dollars for our time and inconvenience past contracted completion date of 9/17/2013.

Business Response
You are not required to have a "state license' only a city license for the type of work I do. (Cabinet work) And outside the city the county doesn't require a license. As for working "8 to 5" shift, I post my hours 8 to 5 because I have people calling all hours 7 days a week. That does not mean I will be on a job personally from 8 to 5. That is why I have hired help. This guy has "stalked out" my daughters address on the internet, left notes on her house and a house I haven't lived in for 7 years. The work will be completed although I am going to delete the countertop from the contract and issue a refund for that portion of the job so I can expedite completing the job and get away from there.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
To: BBB
Mr *****'s responses here are so preposterous as to question his thinking to continue this rhetoric. If the BBB will review the photos we supplied, you will note the date stamp on the bottom right of photos. The pictures were taken on 9/30/2013, and a full 13 days past the date Mr ***** agreed in our contract that the remodeling work would be completed. The cabinets as of today's date remain as they were pictured in these photos supplied to BBB. If Mr ***** feels it necessary to continue his assertions that we are the offending party in this dispute, it may be necessary to hire a home inspection service to determine the quality of the small amount of work Fagan Cabinet Refacing performed and obtain a written estimate of the costs to repair the damage this company caused to our property.

******* and ******** ****

Final Business Response
These people are deceptive and tell half truths. I did not threaten them. They are the ones who blatantly threaten to drag my daughter into this pretty much saying "they will use whatever they can. " My daughter works for an attorney and I told them they could be getting theirselves into some serious trouble. They lied and sad my helper gave them her info. My helper only knows my daughters first name. He stalked her info on the Internet and trespassed on her property . i will be happy to forward you the entire emails so you can see for yourself. As for the pictures, these are pictures of where we still needed to finish covering but ran out of material. I had the material but now the plans have changed obviously. He also told me Monday he would not do anything else if I called **** and let her know the arraignments for Friday. Since then I received a letter yesterday and this complaint today. Another mistruth.

09/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid them money and have not received any work or communication
On June 25th I signed a contract with *** ***** and was told that it would take 2-3 weeks. After the 3rd week. My wife called Mr. ***** and it has been one lie after the next. Then he told us that he was 4 weeks behind. Which was never said during negotiations. We where told last week that the cabinets where almost done. Only to find out yesterday that he has done nothing. After no contact. This is where I am

Desired Settlement
I want my 2600.00 returned

Business Response
I had told the ******* I was about 4 weeks out. We got tied up finishing another job and could not get the cabinets in in the time frame they needed. I had been working out of town spoke to Mrs ****** Monday and told her what was going on. She said she still wanted me to do the work be Use she said she knew I did good work. After this conversation she proceeded to call one of my suppliers and trash me to them. I called yesterday to tell her I was giving her money back after that. She will. Be refunded the full deposit amount in the next couple days.




Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The first time that Mr. ***** said anything about 4 weeks was 2 weeks after he got his deposit. Mr. ***** told my wife the cabinets were near complete. Then the following week it was look at this cabinet place and pick one of their cabinets. So my wife called them to see how long that would take. That business asked who was putting them in. So when Mr. ***** says "trash him to his supplier" He means tell them how he operates. A refund is coming in a couple of days written by him in his response. That was August 1. Then it would be sent overnight on 8-7-13. Well today is the 8th still nothing. Just like everything else out of Mr. ****** mouth a big LIE! I just don't understand Mr. ***** is so good at what he does, and is in such demand. Did nothing and bought nothing for our job.Why is it taking so long to get this refund? We paid him cash money on June25,2013

Final Business Response
I have made arrangements with the ******* to make payments toward their refund.

03/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 8/19/13 signed contract for services and $375 given to order supplies.has not started job, won't return calls, phone now disconnected, website down
ON August 19,2013 I signed a contract with Mr. ***** for cabinet refinishing services. Total cost was $750 and he required half up front to order supplies. I paid $375 by check #****. Since that time He has avoided phone calls or sometimes would answer stating he had been sick, or that his helper quit. Would give a date to show, then never call or come. Now, his phones are disconnected and his website is down. The # listed on contract is XXX-XXX-XXXX and the website is refacepro.com. I found an address for Windy Mill Rd, North Augusta, SC and also an address for Beryl Rd. Aiken SC.

Desired Settlement
Full refund of deposit of $375

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@gmail.com
I sent Mr ****** an email and let him know in the midst of everything going on, I just forgot to mail his refund and will get it in the mail to him.

Final Consumer Response
I just wanted to let you know that we haven't received our refund. See below for the email correspondence between my husband and ***.
Before we started with emails, he had told us numerous times he would send it. As you can tell, if this is able to slip his mind, it's not a priority for him. I feel that we've been very understanding and even offered to accept half now and half later. But still no check.

Thank you for your efforts.

****** ******


Final Business Response
Talked to Mr ****** today. Refund will be mailed this Friday 11/22/13

03/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Owner of the company signed a contract with us. Collected $3200 and never did any of the work.
*** ***** of Fagan Resurfacing is a coward, a thief, a cheat, and a Big liar. He entered into a contract with us June 2013 based on his advertisement and testimony on his website. We also paid 2of 3 payments and have been given the run around for four months now. He continues to ignore and not return phone calls. This project has left our kitchen in a mess. It is incomplete leaving us with a shell of a kitchen. After all the numerous calls and questions it has been lie after lie. The cabinets have been in south Ga and the countertops are coming in NC but have never made it for installation. The one employee that showed 2 or 3 times expressed that he was not paying his employees and then eventually didn't see them anymore. When *** did show he did not stay long and very little progress was ever made. We continuously asked and told even more lies - first the project was supposed to be completely within 2 weeks. Then we were told by him that he was 4 weeks behind or that will be returning in the morning or I was having transportation problems. Either way the kitchen is nowhere near completion. We had finally had enough and in the process of getting with a lawyer. After 3 months and the last week of October we had had enough. On October 30/31 day he claimed he would either complete the project this week or would return all of our money. A few days later and his business/mobile number is disconnected or no longer in service (go figure). Well after visiting this the BBB and seeing the other complaints and similar horror stories, I am sure I will need to follow through with a lawyer. In the meantime, the house/kitchen is a complete disaster. No one deserves to have their hard earned money stolen by this professional con man and is quite fitting that he deserves to receive some jail time for all the money he has stolen and for the time and suffering he has put customers through.

Desired Settlement
My refund over of $3233. The two payments received for services that were never completed.

Business Response
I will be trying to work this out with this customer and resolve this issue. Unfortunately, this year has come with tons of problems. Bad economy, health issues ect. Up until about 4 months ago, I had an A rating and good reputation. I am working diligently to resolve all matters and restore my name.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The only response we would like to hear from him right now is the returning of our money so we can get our kitchen repaired. This has been a nightmare. Again just return the money!!! So we can fix our home. That is the only way to resolve this issue!

Final Business Response

****** *****
3:33 PM


I had talked with an attorney they hired on Nov 26 and she said she would get back to me. So far she hasn't . I called her today but did not get an answer.

***

03/05/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Kitchen Cabinet Refacing, Countertops, Cabinets

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/12/2007Business started: 05/01/2010
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rob Fagan (Owner)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Kitchen Cabinet Refacing, Countertops, Cabinets

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMSat: 08:00 AM to 05:30 PMSun: 08:00 AM to 05:30 PM
Alternate Business Names
Fagan Cabinetry & Cabinet Refacing

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Fagan Cabinetry & Cabinet Refacing

420 Beryl Dr

Aiken, SC 29803-3666

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 420 Beryl Dr 

    Aiken, SC 29803-3666(706) 829-2452
    (803) 641-2728

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Georgia & the Central Savannah River Area. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Fagan Cabinetry & Cabinet Refacing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (706) 829-2452 (Disconnected)
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.aikencabinetrefacing.com
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Kitchen Cabinet Refacing

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.