BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/29/2011

PolarMech

(706) 836-8655PO Box 7369, North AugustaSC 29861-7369 Send email to PolarMech

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/29/2011

BBB has determined that PolarMech meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised PolarMech's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on PolarMech

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
12/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Polar Mech wanted to raise the price of the work and then refused to finish the contract.
We were provided a contract from Polar Mech Heating and Cooling, LLC, in which we were given 30 days to accept the contract at the $12,500 price. We signed the day it was given to us, thus agreeing on the $12,500 price of the contract.

We had this signed contract with Polar Mech to install an A/C system for our new addition to our home. Polar Mech did the rough in and installed the 3 units to the wall inside. The two outside units would be installed near the end of the project (2 inside units connect to 1 outside unit). We paid Polar Mech $9,725.00 of the $12,500 contract, at the rough in stage on 6/20/2012. Because of false liens on our property we were not able to get the house to the point where the A/C units could be installed until ~June 2013. Polar Mech came out in ~Apr/May 2013 to fix a code violation found by the City of North Augusta Inspector. Polar Mech wanted to charge us to fix this code violation. We told him this was part of his contract. He agreed and fixed the violation at no additional charge to us. At this time, we informed ***** ********, owner of Polar Mech that we were ready to have the outside units installed. ***** ******** informed us that the cost of the 2 outside units had gone up $1,100 each and we would owe him another $2,220 on top of the remaining $2,775 still owed on the contract. He stated the 2 outside units cost ~$4,800. Mr. ******** stated that we had already paid for the installation of the units; we would be paying "just the equipment that was left to buy." The labor and other materials for the final install had been paid as part of the $9,725 we had paid earlier. We checked with another A/C company and they checked with the A/C distributor, who told them A/C units would go up no more than 5% over a years' time, however our particular units had not gone up in price AT ALL. We asked Polar Mech to honor our contract or show us proof the units had gone up. We told Mr. ******** that we would pay any increase he had to pay, but we needed proof of the increase. We told him what the distributor said. ***** ******** stated that he only did our job as a favor to our builder, his friend, **** ******** of Prescott and Sons Construction; otherwise he would have charged more from the beginning. ***** ******** told us that because of problems we had with the builder (Mr. ******** put what our legal system defines as a false lien and will be discussed in a court hearing at a later date) his contract was now null and void. He said he had the right to refuse service and he refused to finish the job.

The 3 indoor units come with serialized remotes. Mr. ******** refused to give us those remotes. We had paid for those remotes and because they are serialized, they will not work with any other units but he still refused to give them to us.

We had to hire another company to finish the job that we had a contract with Mr. ******** for. It cost us even more money because we had already paid (at Mr. ********'s demand) for labor and material that had not been completed. We owed Polar Mech $2,775 for the remainder of the job which included the labor and install of the 2 outside units. Mr. ******** states these units were ~$4,800 therefore we had already paid for part of these units before he refused to finish the job. So Polar Mech was paid for labor they did not complete and partially for material that they did not deliver, however they refused to finish the job.

Desired Settlement
We are requesting $2589.33. This amount represents $5364.33 we had to pay the new company minus the $2775 that we owed Mr. ******** had he completed the contract.

Business Response







NEW SC# XXX-XXX-XXXX SC# M XXXXXX GA# CN XXXXXXX
Po box **** ***** ******* ** XXXXX-XXXX
November 11, 2013


Attn: **** ****** Case# XXXXXXXX *******@csra.bbb.org

In regards to complaint filed by ***** ***** about Polar Mech Heating And Cooling LLC.

The contract between Mr ***** and PMH&C was drawn up June 1, 2012, and signed by both parties 6/1/12. A signed copy of contract can be delivered upon request. The contract amount was $12,500.00 which only $9,725.00 was paid which $642.00 of that were finance charges due to paying by credit card which was not supposed to be method of payment. So PMH&C received $9,083.00 of the $12,500 which relates to about 72% of total payment. 80% of the job was completed, but was held up due to all construction permits being pulled by the General Contractor, ******** & **** ************ for non- payment and breach of contract issues by Mr *****. Therefore we could not complete the remaining part of the job due to the electrical needed to be run but couldn't because of these issues.

After 2-3 other GC'S such as **** ***** with ***** **** builders also pulled his permits for non-payments, along with the landscaper ******, with ******* *** ***** ************ all along with ******** * **** placing leans on the property and then the city of North Augusta placing daily fines for un- permitted work, I believed that the *****'s were not only un-trustworthy, and completely out of money, and owed these companies hundreds of thousands of dollars, that it was best and within my rights to refuse service to this customer. Not only did my contract clearly state that PMH&C was not responsible for weather or construction delays, but that my scope of work from start to finish shouldn't take longer than 2 weeks. Also the contract stated that the prices given were only good for 30 days, this being said, the *****'s contacted me 1 year later wanting the remainder of the job finished all the while still having numerous leans and lawsuits rendered upon them by most all the other contractors involved for non- payment, and at the same price given 1 year ago. Not only has the cost of equipment, gas, ect ect. gone up, but also the mechanical permit pulled by PMH&C was no longer valid after 6 months, so another $60+ dollars we would incure that was not budgeted for on this job.

I have spoken with many other HVAC contractor's along with officials at the City of North Augusta and SCLLR about this situation and ALL of them agreed that the *****'s received more than what they have paid for. So in light of all the turmoil, leans, threats, tantrums, lies, and threats that have come from the *****'s to me and other contractor's I felt that PMH&C would not step foot back on that job site until all the other contractors had been paid in full and all the leans had been cleared up along with any pending lawsuits. Also the price of the job went up $2,200.00 within that years time which the *****'s were not willing to pay for. The "code violation" as they put it was corrected by PMH&C for no extra charge, but I couldn't understand how the work done, passed 2 mechanical inspections previously, but now it didn't, that's because at the time when the work was done and between the time the electrical inspector come out, the code rule for the comm. Wire we used had actually been changed/revised. Again, we were not happy about this extra cost in material's, labor, ect. a whole YEAR after it had already passed inspection, we did what needed to be done with NO bill given for that work done.

Not only was I advised by my lawyer's, city officials, and SCLLR not to go back on jobsite, due to Mr *****'s Mental demeanor, and my workers and I witnessing him pitch a T- total tantrum like a 2 yr old when dealing with Mr ******** and ****** with ******* *** ****** I felt it was best to refuse anymore services to him or his wife.

In short, my contract stated clear terms to which they agreed to in writing which were breached. Not only did they receive 80% of the work while only paying for 72% of it, but they are STILL in litigations, or at least they were until Mr *****'s own attorney stopped working for them, for NON PAYMENT. I will attach a copy of the original contract that they signed, a signed copy can be faxed upon request. Please read over it carefully and you will see that the contract was clearly null and void after 1yr and 3 weeks time. Also before I finished the work, which seemed as if they had no intention of paying me either and then I would have to get in line behind all the other contractor's they owed
massive amounts of money too, along with added attorneys fees as well.




Respectfully Submitted by: ***** ********/ OWNER Polar Mech Heating & Cooling LLC.


Consumer Response
Ms. **** ******

This is our response to ***** ********'s of Polar Mech's response.

At approximately 11:30 on 11/11/2013, ***** received a text message from ***** ******** of Polar Mech. His text stated, "Keep it up'and I WILL sue you for SLANDER!! Try Me'" We do not feel this is appropriate behavior for a business owner and just wanted to let you know so you could add it to our file. All of our statements in our compliant were true.

We have seen Mr. ********'s reply on your website and it is full of lies and very disparaging remarks about us. To begin with, ***** ******** states our payment included finance charges. At the time of payment, ***** ******** stated that we could pay with credit card with no additional charge.

***** ******** states that several general contractors pulled their permits for non-payments of "hundreds of thousands of dollars" and this is not true. **** ***** was our contractor who finished the job after **** ******** abandoned our project; **** ***** never pulled his permits, he finished the job and has been paid in full. We have cancelled checks and credit card receipts to prove we have paid all bills submitted to us. Not only have we paid all vendors, we continued to have work done and have completed all construction and yard work on our home and these new vendors have been paid in full! He also states the city imposed daily fines for having un-permitted work done on our home. This is another lie as permits were obtained for our job site. The only permit in question was a permit for a small building in which **** ******** of Prescott and Sons Construction did not get a permit and then lied to the City and State Officials and said he did not build it. The SC LLR has since fined **** ******** for failure to get a permit.

There have been NO threats or lies made to Mr. ******** by us! However, we received a threatening text from Mr. ********. Mr. ******** states he witnessed tantrums between ***** and the contractors; however Mr. ******** was never here at the same time as the other contractors. Mr. ******** states we were not willing to pay for the $2,200 increase in price. We told Mr. ******** that we would be more than happy to pay for any extra out of pocket expense he incurred; however we requested proof that he had done so. He refused to show us this proof.

It did take almost a year for us to be able to have the A/C units completed but this was because one subcontractor who was owed money from our landscaper and who had caused our retaining wall to fall due to his negligence put a lien on our home for money the landscaper owed him. Secondly, the original builder put a lien on us, as he stated to our landscaper, "just because he could." He also stated, "I am going to keep them tied up in court for years!" For these 2 reasons, we were unable to finish this job until those liens came off of our property. Mr. ******** gave us this proposal which was good for 30 days and when we agreed to it, he could start within 2 weeks. We all agreed and signed the proposal the same day on 6/1/2012.

As far as the code violation that ***** ******** states he did at no cost to us; we are submitting an email where Mr. ******** tells our builder that he will charge us $350 to come out and remedy the code violations.
____________________________________________

This is the email regarding planning to charge us for the code violation:
***** ******
From: **** ***** <****@mcgeehomebuilders.com>
Sent: Wednesday, January 9, XXXX XX:XX AM
To: ***** ******
Subject: 28 PC (Mini Split Conduit)
*****,
As mentioned yesterday ***** of Polar Mechanical checked with **** ****** (City of NA Electrical Inspector) regarding
Item # 4 on his December 14th correction notice and the open Type TC cable Polar Mech ran for the mini splits must be
put in conduit and it can be flexible conduit.
***** texted me and said the labor and material for doing that would be an extra expense and if you want him to do it
the cost will be $350.
I had my electrician come out and estimate the cost of doing this and the price for Zapata to do this is $420.
If you wanted to use ***** at Polar Mech and wanted me to coordinate and run the payment thru my company the price
to you would be $405.
If you wanted ***** to do it without my company being involved it would be $350.
Let me know if you want my help on this.
Thanks,
****


Business Response
Mrs. ******* here is the original contract which they signed. I highlighted in red the terms in which they clearly broke which rendered this contract null and void. Please keep me informed of proceedings or if there is any thing else you need from me.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/27/2011Business started: 12/01/1986Business started locally: 12/09/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Georgia Construction Industry Licensing Board
237 Coliseum Dr
Macon, GA31217-3858
(478) 207-2440
http://sos.georgia.gov/plb/construct/

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Thatcher (Owner)
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

This company offers air conditioning installation and repair.

Alternate Business Names
Polar Mechanical
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • PO Box 7369 

    North Augusta, SC 29861-7369

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Georgia & the Central Savannah River Area. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*PolarMech is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.