BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Georgia & the CSRA

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/17/1995

Bucky Holland Heating & Air, Inc.

Phone: (478) 757-1060Fax: (478) 757-1083

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
06/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
called bucky holland to come out and see why unit was freezing up and pouring water done improper check
ON MAY 9, 2014 BUCKY HOLLAND HEATING AND AIR WAS CALLED OUT TO SEE WHY UNIT WAS FREEZING UP AND POURING WATER AT 3:50 P.M. A TECHNICIAN NAME ******* ARRIVED LOOKED AT UNIT AND WENT OUTSIDE AND ADDED 2 POUNDS OF REFIGERANT TO UNIT AND SAID THAT UNIT WAS LOW ON REFRIGERANT AND CHARGED $216.30 FOR REFRIGERANT AND DIAGNOSTIC CHARGE WAS DONE AND GONE WITH IN TEN MINUTES TIME NOT ENOUGH TIME TO PROPERLY CHECK UNIT OUT I ASKED HIM WOULD THAT FIX PROBLEM HE SAID YES. ON MAY 11, 2014 UNIT STARTED SAME THING POURING WATER AND FREEZING UP WOULD NOT BLOW AIR CALLED BUCKY HOLLAND ON MAY 12, 2014 CAME BACK OUT AND ******* ADMITTED HE DID NOT CHECK UNIT OUT PROPERLY THAT HE WAS TIRED AND HOT AND WANTED TO GO HOME THAT DAY SO HE THOUGHT BY ADDING REFRIGERANT THAT IT WOULD FIX PROBLEM BUT IT DID NOT AFTER LOOKING AT UNIT FOR TEN MINUTES HE CONCLUDES THAT WE SHOULD PURCHASE A NEW UNIT THAT HE DON'T KNOW HOW TO FIX AND REPAIR MY UNIT NOR DID HE HAVE TIME TO FOOL WITH IT THAT DAY.

Desired Settlement
BUCKY HOLLAND SHOULD REFUND THE $70.00 DIAGNOSTIC CHARGE SINCE THE TECH ******* ADMITTED HE DID NOT PROPERLY DO HIS JOB CHECKING UNIT OUT. WHY PAY FOR A DIAGNOSTIC CHECK WHEN HE DID NOT DIAGNOSE AND JUST ASSUMED THE PROBLEM. AND HAD TO COME BACK A SECOND TIME ONLY TO ADMIT HE DID NOT KNOW WHAT HE WAS DOING ON THE UNIT IN THE FIRST PLACE.

Business Response
According to our GPS, Mr. ****** was at the customers residence for 42 minutes the first time he went. The second time he went out there, the report shows he was there for exactly two hours. If Mrs. ****** does not feel she should have to pay the $70.00 diagnostic, we are more than happy to refund it. I will be mailing her a check for $70.00 immediately

07/18/2012Problems with Product / Service
11/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After spending ~$1200 in April on repairs and upgrades, the same problem persists.
I spent ~%1200 on repair and upgrades to our air conditioning system in April. I was assured that this would solve our problems. (Air conditioning that stops working every summer when it's at the hottest outside.) The compressor was replaced in April as well as other upgrades. We have been waiting for 2 days for someone to check it but more than that why is it still not fixed. The office manager, ******, said they do not guarantee their work. She also said in April that you couldn't expect something man-made to work. The general manager apologized in April for her comment and said he didn't do business that way but apparently that is untrue. He has been unavailable to talk to this time. Bucky Holland Air does inferior work and overcharges their customers.

Desired Settlement
I want my air to work for more than 3 months when it's not even summer. I expect the job to be done right or them to pay someone else to do it who can.

Business Response
We originally installed the outdoor unit on April 25, 2011 for the owners of the property to replace a unit that had been stolen. The warranty on the equipment was one year labor and five years parts. Dr. ***** was not involved in that transaction.
Someone from Dr. *****'s office placed a service call with our company on March 11, 2014. When our technician went out to see what the problem was, we found that the compressor on the outdoor unit was bad and needed to be replaced. When Dr. ***** was told this she became upset with the technician and told him to leave the property. Our general manager, ***** *********, talked with Dr. *****'s secretary and gave her a price of $1105.00 to do the repair. Dr. ***** called back and spoke with the office manager, ******, and told her that she wanted a guarantee that she would not have any more problems with the unit after it was repaired. What the office manager told her was that we can not guarantee that anything man made would not fail. She told her that we would warranty the repair we were making for a period of one year. She never stated that you could not expect anything man made to work. The general manager has never spoken to Dr. ***** nor has he apologized for remarks the office manager made.
On July 8, 2014, someone from Dr. *****'s office called at approximately 3:30 p.m. and stated that the temperature was rising in the office. We could not get there that afternoon before the office closed and put the call on the schedule for the following day. The next afternoon, Dr. ***** called and spoke to the office manager and told her that she was going to sue us because the unit was not cooling. We went to her office the following morning and checked out the system. The problem with the air has nothing to do with repair we made April 1, 2014. It is with a separate piece of equipment that we did not install and have never worked on. When Dr. ***** was told this by the technician, she became very upset that this was not covered under the repair we made.
As we stated to Dr. *****, we will honor the one year warranty on our repair, but that is all we are obligated to. Dr. ***** has been rude and combative with everyone that she has spoken to in our office and with our technicians. We find ourselves in the rare position of having a customer that we can not work with.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response from Bucky Holland Heating and Air contained untruths and contradictions. By their own admission, they installed the outside unit at our address on April 25, 2011 and replaced the compressor on this unit on March 11, 2014. The technician from Bucky Holland Heating and Air that came on the third day after we called stated that "everything they installed was working fine and that the Freon was leaking and that was probably what caused the unit to freeze up in March of 2014. When asked if they could find the leak, he said we would have to call someone else because we're "done." There was no actual way he could have checked the operation of the unit because the motor had reverse polarity and was running the fan backwards, as another company found just hours after he left. The technician blamed the problem on the inside unit which they did not even inspect. The Freon leak was at a valve stem on the outside unit as repaired by the other company. Staff members present that day heard the technician's remarks.

I don't know what they hoped to accomplish by contacting my landlord and don't feel that they would have done the same had I been a male business owner.

We would not have used Bucky Holland Heating and Air this past March had it not been for the conversation ***** had with my office manager and myself. To deny his comments is incomprehensible and representative of the dishonesty of this company.


Final Consumer Response
As per our phone conversation last Thursday, I think the equitable resolution would be that Bucky Holland reimburse me for for the charges paid to North Macon Heating and Cooling for the repair they had to do to get our air running. I have attached a copy of that bill. If you have any questions, please feel free to call me.

Sincerely,
***** ** *****


Final Business Response
The repair that was made by North Macon heating & cooling had nothing to do with the repair that was made by our company on April 1, 2014. We did not warranty the equipment for a period of one year, we warranted the repair we made for one year and the condenser fan was not part of that repair. The system cooled correctly from April 1, 2014 until July 8, 2014.
I am attaching a copy of the invoice for the work that was done on April 1, 2014.
Dr. ***** is under the mistaken impression that we contacted her landlord. We have not contacted them and have no reason to do so.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.