BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/25/2008

Malone's Seamless Gutters & Roofing

Phone: (478) 784-7614Fax: (478) 784-7614View Additional Phone Numbers109 David Coley Rd, MaconGA 31216-5780 Send email to Malone's Seamless Gutters & Roofing

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/25/2008

BBB has determined that Malone's Seamless Gutters & Roofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Malone's Seamless Gutters & Roofing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Malone's Seamless Gutters & Roofing

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
05/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Gutters were installed improperly resulting in damage to roof.
Had new roof and gutters put on in June 2011. Noticed leak in roof in February 2013. After having roofer come back to inspect, we noticed that gutters had been installed improperly thus causing leak. Called Mr. ****** and he sent someone out to change gutter cover from above the starter shingle to below the starter shingles, therefore leaving screw holes in all of my starter shingles. Spoke with Mr. ****** on February 26, 2013 asking that he come and look at damages to starter shingles that would not had been done if gutters were installed properly in the first place. He told me that he would silicone all the holes, but I assured him that it was a brand new roof and that I wanted him to replace the starter shingles back to the way they should have been. I have not heard from Mr. ****** since this conversation.

Desired Settlement
To have starter shingles replaced.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: Richard ****** - Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@cox.net
Case # XXXXXXXX
In response to ****** ******'s complaint stating that gutters were installed improperly at ********* ***********, Ga. XXXXX resulting in damage to his roof. I would like to start by saying my company takes great pride in providing excellent workmanship and quality products to our customers. The leak Mr. ****** had in his roof was not caused by our company installing the gutters and gutter covers incorrectly. Mr. ****** stated to me that he had trouble with the company that installed his roof. He had the roofers come back and fix the leak which was nowhere near the gutter covers we installed. Mr. ****** stated that the roofer told him that the gutter covers we installed were installed incorrectly.
The starter row of shingles consists of two layers. Gutter covers are typically installed one of two ways. Option one would be to install the covers between the two layers of shingles and option two would be to install under both layers of shingles. We originally went with option one for Mr. ******'s gutter cover installation. Option one requires lifting the top shingle and sliding the gutter cover over the second shingle. A screw is installed through the gutter cover, the 2nd shingle and into the decking. Mr. ****** contacted me and wanted to go with option two and to make him happy we reinstalled the gutter covered as he requested at no additional charge. By changing to option two as Mr. ****** requested, this left a hole in the middle shingle which does not cause any water leakage due to the fact that this shingle is covered by a top layer of shingles. I also offered to fill the holes with silicone at no charge which Mr. ****** refused. The gutter covers are functioning properly with no leaks and should last for many years to come, yet Mr. ****** wants me to replace the shingles with screw holes with new shingles which is not necessary. I've tried to satisfy Mr. ****** and I'm sorry he is not happy.

Consumer's Final Response
See PDF file

Industry Comparison| Chart

Gutters & Downspouts, Siding Contractors, Painting Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/21/1997Business started: 10/01/1997New Owner Date: 01/01/2001
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dickie Malone (Owner)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Gutters & Downspouts, Siding Contractors, Painting Contractors

Products & Services

This company offers gutters, roofing, exterior painting and siding.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Malone's Seamless Gutters & Roofing

109 David Coley Rd

Macon, GA 31216-5780

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 109 David Coley Rd 

    Macon, GA 31216-5780(478) 784-7614

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Georgia & the Central Savannah River Area. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Malone's Seamless Gutters & Roofing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (478) 256-3640
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Gutters & Downspouts

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.