BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/21/2006

Overhead Door Company of Augusta-Aiken

Phone: (706) 736-8478Fax: (706) 736-5647

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
08/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
About two months ago, my garage door opener started to not work properly.
As I stated this problem with my garage door opener started two months ago. I checked with my neighbors around me and they were having the same problem. I called Overhead Door company and was told that **** ****** was doing some testing which interfere with garage door openers working properly. The person stated they were going to meet with **** ****** Signal personnel to see what could be done. Slowly, it got to the point the my garage door opener stop working completely. I called again and was told that giving me another garage door opener would not fixed the problem. I went to the office on July 29 and was told that I need to buy a part to put on my garage door and it would cost $45. The service fee would be $85 to install the device. I left the office because I could not afford to do to send that kind of money. I though about it some more why should I as the consumer pay the cost of fixing this problem when I did not created the problem. There are over ten difference neighborhoods that have Overhead garage door opener. Imagine how much money the company is going to make off customers for a problem we did not cause. I think it is unfair to ask me to pay $150 because my garage door is defective now.

Desired Settlement
I want whatever needs to be done to fix my garage door and it should not cost me a penny.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ** ******* Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@knology.net
Quoting from a report from the Government Accountability Office (GAO) dated December 1, 2005. "To address homeland defense needs and comply with government direction that agencies use the electromagnetic spectrum more efficiently, the Department of Defense (DOD) is deploying new Land Mobile Radios (LMR) to military installations across the country. The new LMR system operates in the same frequency range 380 to 399.9 Megahertz as many unlicensed low-powered garage door openers, which have operated in this range for years. While DOD has been the authorized user of this spectrum for several decades, their use of LMR between 380 and 399.9 MHZ is relatively new. With DOD's deployment of the new radios and increased use of 380-399.9 MHZ range of spectrum, some users of garage door openers have experienced varying levels of inoperability that has been attributed to interference caused by new radios. The goverment owns a wide range of radio frequencies, but many household devices are allowed to operate in these frequencies. These devices are known as Part 15 devices names after the document the FCC maintains that regulates the devices. Part 15 devices includes baby monitors, cordless phones, computers, garage door openers, wireless mouses, radio controlled toys, wireless headsets and many other common devices. These devices are ususally low-power and not under continuos use. DOD is the authorized user of the 380-399.9 MHZ spectrum, it was under no obligation , according to the FCC, to identify of mitigate potential interference with Part 15 devices that may also be operating on that spectrum. Even if DOD has attempted to identify Part 15 devices, there is no documentation available as to where such devices operate. Users of Part 15 devices are not tracked by federal agencies in the way that licensed users are tracked. Nevertheless, because garage door openers operate as unlicensed devices, they must accept any interference from authorized spectrum users. The FCC has long permitted devices employing relatively low level radio frequency signals(Part 15 devices), such as garage door openers, cordless phones, personal computers and computer peripherals, to be operated without the need for a spectrum license. While such operations are unlicensed, the device themselves are not unregulated. The FCC's rules require that the manufacturer of such devices obtain equipment authorization before marketing such devices. An entity seeking certification of a device must submit an application to the FCC or a Telecommunication Certification Body an accredited entity authorized by the FCC to approve equipment certifications. The application must provide detailed technical and administrative information about the device, include equipment test data, and the applicant must submit a filing fee. This is the most time consuming of the three FCC euipment authoriztion procedures."
With all that being said, we started receiving calls about remote control problems June 5, 2013. These problems increased as the week went on. Monday June 10, 2013 I called FT. Gordon to inquire about the LMR system that I had read about in a garage door magazine publication around 2006-2007. Tuesday June 11, 2013, after several phone calls to the base I finally got in touch with *** ******** who is in charge of the Electro Magnetic Spectrum at the base. He explained to me that they were installing the LMR system and it would become permanent around July 16, 2013.
The solution to the remote problem can be solve 2-different ways 1-replace the unit or 2-retrofit a dual frequency receiver to operate in a lower frequency range. We at Overhead Door Company of Augusta along with our corporate office have offered a new receiver at a discounted rate dating back to 2006 if we did install the opener. Also, we are repairing at 0 cost to our customers if we had installed these units within the last 2 years. We feel like we are trying to accomodate our customers/community with the best and most economical repair that we can. We are not trying to" make money off of our customers for a problem we did not cause" as stated by Mrs. ****. These discounted options that we provide are for our customers/community. We as a company did not have to provide this or try to accomodate for these problems. We tried to help by offering these discounted options. Bottom line is that the government owns these frequencies and if they decide to use this range with a high powered radio device they can. The garage door manufactures have been certified and approved to operate under the FCC guidelines. We as a company have no control over that. If we were "trying to make money" we could have chosen not to provide these discounts. I will be more than happy to repair Mrs. ****'s garage door problem but if she is not in the date codes provided I can not provided this repair for free. Please let me know how I can be of assistance. Thank You.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
august 8, 2013

I HAVE THE DATA CODE PROVIDE. MY HOUSE WAS BUILT WHEN MY NEIGHOR HOUSE WAS BUILT.HE HAD HIS GARAGE DOOR FIX BY OVERHEAD LAST WEEK FOR $54 FOR THE PART AND $85 FOR THE LABOR. THIS IS WHAT PROMPT ME TO CONTACT THE BBB BECAUSE I THOUGH IT WAS UNFAIR THAT I HAVE TO PAY ALMOST $150 TO FIX A PROBLEM THAT I DID NOT CAUSE. NOONE FROM THE COMPANY HAS CONTACTED ME ABOUT FIXING MY GARAGE DOOR OPENING AT A DISCOUT PRICE.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Garage Doors & Openers, Fireplaces

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.