BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/27/1989

Georgia Power Company

Phone: (888) 660-5890Fax: (478) 784-5959960 Key St, MaconGA 31204-5810

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/27/1989

BBB has determined that Georgia Power Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues9
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Georgia Power Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (16)
10/15/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

I am asking for a payment arrangement.
I just moved from an apartment to a house. The bill in the house is extremely higher than what I am use to. I had a previous arrangement, but I want able to pat the full $800. So I paid what I could and it left me with a past due balance on my 3rd months bill of $250.00. I asked could I get some type of arrangement on the past due amount because the bills are higher than what I'm use to and Noone was willing to help. I can't have my power shUT off I have 2 boys and one uses and breathing machine at night and I'm pregnant.

Desired Settlement
I just want a payment arrangement on the $250.00 until 9/24/15. So that my services won't be interrupted due to my son's breathing machine.

Business Response
Left message for Ms on XXX XXX XXXX on 9/21 so that we could make arrangement with her out of local office. Ms has not returned my call. She may call me direct at XXX XXX XXXX or Supervisor at XXX XXX XXXX and we will review account with her. Ms can leave voicemail with best times to contact her if she does not receive live answer.

Consumer Response
I called the contact numbers provided and left message with my name and contact number.

Consumer Response
Please close this case issue has been resolved.

09/09/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Requiring the customer to deposit $145 dollars for "repeated delinquencies" as stated in a letter which is inaccurate.
I attempted to make a payment for a roughly $227 bill for Georgia Power. I realized that the payment did not go through on September 5th using the Georgia Power app on my phone. After contacting them, they informed me to contact my bank and my bank was not able to give a reason. I have the sufficient funds and am not able to find why the payment did not occur. Georgia Power refers to it as a "check bouncing" but I only do online transaction so no check was involved. Georgia Power gave me a $30 fee which is unfortunate but I willingly paid it without complaint.

Today, I found a letter in the mail stating "due to repeated delinquencies" I now am required to deposit $145 dollars to Georgia Power. I called and asked for an example of my repeated payment issues to which the customer service representative basically told me it is what is.

I want to know how a customer who has only been in two billing cycles has repeated payment issues. My first payment went through accurately and on time and this past payment became an issue due to a system fault I assume. I am still making my payment (which hasn't gone through yet even though I did it on Sept 5th) within the deadline for the bill.

Desired Settlement
Not requiring myself to deposit $145 for a false claim or valid evidence of repetitive payment issues to where it is "repeated delinquencies."

Business Response
Spoke with Mr. ***** 9/8/14 and as a one time courtesy will cancel the $145.00 billed deposit. Asked Mr. ***** if there was anything else I could help him with and he stated no.

07/30/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Georgia power reported me to the credit Bureau due to unpaid bill never received notice and was unaware I even had a balance.
I was reviewing my credit reports and notice that Georgia Power reported me to the credit Bureau my account for Georgia Power #XXXXXXXXXX. I was unaware that I even had a balance $109.84 reported to credit bureau $110.00 called today 04-12-2014 and spoke with rep. she just offered to take my money I told her I was unaware of the balance never receieved a notice or phone call she even called my phone number out to me still the same as of today . I'm highly upset with the way that they handle collections no phone call no collection letters and they waited until 2012 to post to my credit. The reason I'm just now checking my credit score is because I have been unemployed since August 2012 due to school and I moved out of my apartment at the **************** in 2009 due to health reason I was not able to pay I payed them off and why would I leave a balance with your company knowing I owe you and plus the cost of paying off the balance with my apartment complex was higher I would never ever leave such a small balance knowing that it can get reported to the credit bureau what about the deposit that I put down to get service I never had my service disconnected so if I had a balance it should have went towards that why no contact trust me if I owe someone I'm paying them

Desired Settlement
I want them to take this off of my credit report equifax, transunion, experian this is the only collection account that I have on there please please remove this I was unaware of a balance no collection notice no phone calls still to this day if I owe you I will pay I need complete history of my account before I pay my deposit amount I put down and why it was not applied to the balance and please send in writing that this will be removed before I pay if I owe anything please take care of this asap this is having a negative impact on my credit in with today's market credit is everything

Business Response
Thank you for sending me a letter via USPS regarding the customers concern. Due to being away from the office I have only recently received the correspondence. We do take each concern seriously and are presently looking into the details of the matter. A response or personal contact with the customer will be made as soon as possible and not later than Friday, May 9.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have not received any response from this company no letter, nor a phone call

Final Business Response
As a courtesy to Ms. ****** we will request a deletion of this item from the customer credit file. Our schedule is to report once a month on the last day of the month which will be July 31. The time period for Equifax to process is generally at least five to ten days after they receive our report. Ms. may expect deletion to occur sometime mid to late August. Again, we appreciate Ms. clearing the past due amount and hope to provide her with service in the future.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did receive a response from the company Georgia Power. I notified BBB on 05/27/14 and I was not pleased with the way Georgia Power was trying to resolve the issue. I received a bill and a history of my account and I stated I will pay if I owe. I paid the $109.84 as agreed 06/13/14. I read the response from Georgia Power. I'm being very honest with BBB and Georgia Power, only contact that I have received from Georgia Power is a bill and a breakdown of my billing history the BBB response stated they tried to contact me by phone that is a complete lie my phone is always on unless it's a Sunday I cut off from 11am-1:30pm for church which Georgia Power is closed and if they are open I do have voicemail and my voicemail is never full. I hate that this company has to lie and said they tried to call me the bill that I received has my correct contact information. I understand that they don't care but it's having a negative impact on my credit. I will be satisfied when they move this collection from my Equifax report. So, I'm asking them to please remove this from my Equifax my balance is zero with Georgia Power.

01/09/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

I have a complaint with Georgia Power and how unfair they are being about a $373.00 bill.
******* ***** Account # XXXXX-XXXXX
As of today 12/19/2013 I have a balance of 373.68.
My last payment of $100 was made 11/1/2014.
According to GA Power, you cannot go two months without making a payment or you will be subject to disconnect. It has not been two months. I applied for energy assistance with the EOC on 12/17/2013. At the event GA Power had a representative there to apply vouchers/pledges to accounts, but his computer was down. We were told to call GA Power ourselves if we needed to. Before this event I did not receive any final warning of my balance. So when I called to say that I applied for assistance (a program they are fully aware of or they would not have sent a representative), I was told that they needed a voucher to keep my services that would be cut on Christmas Eve. I explained to them that the EOC was behind of making the pledges and that their representative was unable to handle his part at the event. I was told that they would note this. Today, 12/19/2013, I have started receiving prerecorded messages every two hours from XXX-XXX-XXXX with a constant reminder that if 293.00 is not received then my lights will indeed be disconnected without notice. My issue is that since I called and told an employee that I applied for the assistance I have been hit with so much opposition regarding my bill. Through the federal assistance program, the business has to make a pledge or send a voucher, as I stated the EOC is a week behind in this. I am disturbed as to how I cannot get some patience regarding 373.68, when the pledge will be for 350, thus dropping my balance down to 23.68 and whatever new balance would thus be paid on time and every subsequent payment after as I would be caught up on the bill. Instead I am now being badgered for 293.00 payment. If this is not paid what will happen is a full balance of 373.68 plus whatever amount is generated on the 24th will be due, plus deposit or fee. I do not dismiss my part in this, but I am unemployed only receiving 710.00 in Social Security for my son, with rent of 389. During the summer months, it was hard to budget and balance with one month's bill was 250 or more. Between the months of May to October I paid out the equivalent of what I paid in rent and still catching up. But why disconnect service thus leaving and almost 500 balance that would take at least 2 months to pay off and I'm not sure if federal assistance applies to disconnected accounts and even if it did, after the 4-6 week processing I will still be without lights. It just seems a bit much and a bit harsh to say you cannot wait a week or so for a pledge that will come before the actual credit is applied, but to now demand 293.00 the day before Christmas Eve. And this has nothing to do with gifts or even Christmas, I do not have $300 to pay GA Power nor to spend on gifts, since this seems to be the sarcasm going around. I just feel that its wrong the way they are going about it and practically turning down what would be a better situation for both parties if they just waited a week.

Desired Settlement
I am looking for GA Power to give me time. Time for the EOC to process the pledge. Again a pledge of $350 on a $373.00 bill, with $293.00 being demanded of me by Monday, when the pledge should come in by the end of next week and I would be paying the $23.68 left and the amount that will be billed on 12/24/2013 on time, which is usually by the 10th of the next month. I already know that I qualify for an extension I was told that by the automated portion of customer service. I declined them because i do not have the money, but instead asked for some time for the pledge/voucher to be processed from an actual employee. All I need is about a week's time. By the 1st of January, the pledge would be in and my payments of my leftover and my current balances would also be paid, practically leaving my bill to zero.

Business Response
Thank you for making us aware of Ms concern. I have reviewed her statement to the BBB and her account with our company. It does appear that Ms account has been updated with the voucher information she referenced and she has made a payment arrangement with us, as well. We believe this issue has been resolved but welcome Ms to contact us if she has further questions. We also encourage Ms to keep her arrangement regarding the amount and date she committed to pay and we can always go back over that with her if she needs to call for confirmation. We value Ms as a customer and appreciate her business.

Final Consumer Response
Spoke with consumer who stated that issue has been resolved.

08/23/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Being billed for 788.00 after having so many issues paying my bill. I need to know why it is ok to bill someone for not being able to pay their bill.
I as a customer have a bill that regularly for from 400+ to 200+ back 400, based on an income go 733.00 (rent is 409) so it doesn't leave much left. This month instead of the 400, I have a bill for 788.00. They tell me first it was because of higher usage, then because my account is delinquent. The first woman I talked to, whom yes I was mad, I was rude, tells me she was going to waive the deposit but I was rude (as If I had no right to be mad, how can I not be after a doubled bill and my account history). While I make arrangements, I still make payments every month. I say, I'm being punished for being poor, they say I'm not. How is that? If I could cover my bill on time I do not get a deposit, I have trouble and you double it. The next person I talked to says "unfortunately we can't waive it." It's either one or the other. First punishment for not being able to pay and no relief because I was mad about being blindsided by an almost 800 bill that is more than my entire income. "To protect Georgia Power". That is what I kept being told. I am the one who needs the service, how am I protected from my service being cut off? They say, they will help me make arrangements, which is what they've been doing all year, so you offer to continue doing that I've been doing this entire time only to subsequently charge another deposit again. I say if you can waive it, why charge it? I asked for the logic, not policy, LOGIC behind making a deeper hole for a customer and no one can give me logic. So next month, when they want 400+ dollars and I can't pay it, my service is cut. I will then owe the ENTIRE amount plus more deposits to get it cut back on. It is wrong. My account number is XXXXX-XXXXX.

Desired Settlement
I want to not be charged 150.00 extra dollars for not being able to pay 230.00 in their time frame, based on my 733.00 income. Something I have to tell them every month to make them understand the why behind my payment arrangements. I got behind one month and have been catching up ever since, but a payment is consistently made, I do not roll it over and over to some obscene amount as if I completely disregard my service.

Business Response
We have reviewed Ms. account and believe that her issue has been resolved. Ms was eligible for rate that did not require a deposit. A representative from our office has personally reached out to Ms and offered her assistance locally if she has any more questions concerning the new rate.
Thank you for making us aware of the customer's concern.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Firstly, no one reached out to me. I don't know why that lie is offered. And they account I have now is prepay, which the deposit is still attached to. They're "helping" me was to convince me that I used 7-8 dollars a day in usage. So I would prepay for the usage. Once I switched however, I find that my usage is 9-10, going on 11 dollars a day. So I know have to pay double what I was paying for service. That's 70-80 dollars a week, minus 25% that goes to my old balance (where the 150.00 remains). So for my service that's 100+ a week, times four. That's 400+, when I was told at 7-8 dollars it would more like 200+, which I was already paying monthly. In order to go back to regular sevice I would have to tack on an extra 400 for a deposit. So their "help" has not helped at all. The next time they should be truthful about what they've done, how they explain their services and the truth about a customers usage which at $10/daily I would have turned down prepay. Now I'm stuck, going by what they are telling me and it not being so.

Consumer Response
Georgia Power's agents give false information to customers.
I already have a complaint with them about a deposit. Based on that high bill, one of the agents suggested I go on prepay at $7-8 a day. ($49/weekly) minus 25%, so 63.00, 250.00+ a month. My old bill was 231.00, but to keep the disconnect notices, the due by, the late fees, I agreed to prepay based on $7-8 a day I was quoted. I was told when I switched over if I wanted to switch back I would have to pay a deposit (two months bills), $400+. When I switched over, the $7-8 a day that I was told I use was a lie. My rate the first day was $9.31, it then went up to $10+, to almost $11. I sit at $10.56, even with turning my AC off most of the day which I was told accounts for half my usage. Usage has not dropped. Right now, two weeks into prepaid I have already paid out almost $200 and would have to produce another $200 before the end of August. Now as of today, when I called to ask "why and how can a method of billing can be suggested to me that doubles what I was having an issue paying all year". I'm lost of what kind of customer service that is. So today, I learn that not only do I have to come up with 400+ for a deposit to switch back, I would also have to pay the deferred balance I was having trouble with in the first place which is $641+. $1000+ dollars. For a suggestion made to me 2 weeks ago that was supposedly to "help" me.

I'm not even sure what a resolution would be. There is no other power company, so I have to be ok with being given false imformation. I mean they can get away with it, by saying this is your bill and even though we've now suggested a method that puts your back against the wall, to get back you will have to pay 5X what you were struggling with in the first place. I mean, who is going to care? Not the agents job to help I guess, because they get paid either way. I'm tired of being lied to by this company. It's not like I can switch services back to my lessor struggle or even switch companies.

Business Response
We were disappointed to hear our customer still had concerns after our representative had called her on 8/5 and we thought all was resolved. The representative and myself reached out to Ms again on 8/12 and talked with her regarding her account and how we might assist. We have offered to have an energy auditor assist her on site at her home to determine why her usage is higher than she would like and we have offered to go over the itemization of her bill and show her where the deposit has been removed. Ms was scheduled to visit our office on 8/15 but did not make it in to our office. We encourage her to come in and let us walk through her billing with her and try to assist her further and to also follow through on letting us set up a free audit. We do want to insure Ms has all the information available to assist her in understanding her billing and usage.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes, ************ called again. ************ did a run of the mill handling. First she classified what was done as a "miscommunication". She then tried to relate herself to me, by checking off the things we have in common, like an upstairs apartment. Yes, the audit was offered and the itemization was offered. The problem is though, I do not have a "misunderstanding of my billing or usage". You tell me I use $7-$8 dollars in usage, it's very well understood. My usage is not $7-$8 as I was told. I was then told by ************, that it is common practice to "guess-stimate" (her words) how much usage someone uses. She informed me that she, "guess-stimates" a higher rate, so that when the customer sees that it's lower than her "guess-stimate" they feel relieved. My thing is how do you "guess-stimate" a prepaid bill. How do you explain to any customer, that they're usage is just a thought up number when the point of prepaid is to pay the EXACT amount. See, my usage is 10.70. I cannot "guess-stimate" that tomorrow I will only use $8 so I pay $8 and my power still be intact. *************s solution is to get my usage down to the incorrect number that was told to me in the first place. How is that there is a chart that measures my usage and puts a number to it, yet the customer service agents can just take a wild guess at what that number is. They can then tell the customer that number, allow them to change their method of billing and when that number is wrong have no accountability for it. I can't go back to how my bill was. ************ says, if I pay my bill in full they will help me with the deposit. To that I say, if I could pay my bill in full, I wouldn't have been charged a deposit for delinquency, I would not have been suggested prepay service at $7-$8, as "helping" me. I would not now be on the 20th day and already paid out close to $300 and still have to come up with more to finish out the month. I have to accept that Georgia Power accepts no wrongdoing in what I feel was false advertising to get me to agree to something that would hurt me in the end and that is malicious. To understand that by the time September ends, I will have paid them close to $800, which is ironically close to the amount I complained about in the first place. To understand that I am paying $150 more each month, which is equivalent to the amount of the deposit I complained about in the first place. No amount of auditing and showing me itemized charges will change that. I do not trust Georgia Power and yet sadly, I have to remain in business with them. For the record I did not show up to the office because it's already an insult how this is being handled over the phone, I get more and/or conflicting information when I talk to anyone from Georgia Power, so having it done in my face voluntarily was not on my to-do list. I agreed to something under false pretenses and now I'm being drowned by it like quicksand, based on trained Georgia Power associates and their "guess-stimates" and "miscommunication".

11/07/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Georgia Power sold me Whole Home Surge Protection in May 2012. They didn't honor their claim of coverage up $40,000.00 for losses.
1 Sep 2014 - we suffered a lightning surge. It burnt out a 55" Samsung indoor TV, a 46" Skyvue outdoor TV, a Brookstone USIM Astro massage chair and a Goldrite pool chlorinator.
2 Sep 2014 - When I contacted Georgia Power about making a claim under the Whole Home surge protection program I bought into in May 2012, it took them five days to show up. That was after a couple of calls from me.
5 Sep 2014 - Their assessor offered us $250.00 for $8000.00 worth of electronic equipment, furniture and pool cleaner. The rationale was the surge didn't come through their equipment on the outside of my house. I asked him what person would sign up for a program that only paid off in those circumstances. I specifically said it sounded like a TV game show premise.
8 - 19 Sep 2014 - It took me EIGHT business days to finally get someone at a decision making level at Georgia Power to speak to me....EIGHT days! Even then the person I spoke with was the regional manager for Good Cents, which is the subcontractor that administers the program.
6 Oct 2014 - He finally sent an email to ***** ******** of Georgia Power who never budged off the offer of $250.
I gave them instructions to immediately remove their piece of equipment from my home.
I informed them I was filing a complaint with BBB about the WORST customer service I've ever received in addtion to the false claims about Whole Home surge protection.
I would tell EVERYONE I know of the horrible customer service and false advertising claims about the surge protection program.
I would also be considering a small claims court resolution.
8 Oct 2014 - Even then they caused me problems when one of my cable TV boxes failed completely immediately after they removed the surge protector.

During the EIGHT business days trying to speak with a Georgia Power decision maker I literally begged during some of the calls to be given a name, telephone number, email address of someone that could make a decision.

At no time, when I brought this to management attention at both Good Cents and Georgia Power did either of these managers offer an apology or a token increase to their insulting $250 offer simply based on their incredibly POOR customer service. It was as if they didn't believe me.

I never asked for a specific amount to settle this claim nor did they offer any above the $250 settlement insult.

I would have been assuaged by an offer of $1000 - $2000. My replacment and repair costs for the four items totaled approximately $2200. They never asked for that figure either.

As far as I'm concerned, this is a perpetrated fraud on their part. I asked both managers about the fact that the program was called Whole Home Protection when I signed up but significantly it doesn't have the same name today.

Desired Settlement
I alluded to this in my complaint above. My replacement and repair costs were approximately $2200. Original value of the items was approximately $8000. I was not asking for full replacement value.

I will also be contacting Flint Engergy company to inquire about possibly moving my service away from Georgia Power to Flint.

In my neighborhood, those two power companies checkerboarded the neighborhood. Every other home is serviced by one or the other. I had the misfortune of drawing Georgia Power.

The Georgia Utilies Commision office in Atlanta told me that would be between the two companies.

I didn't chose Georgia Power, they were chosen by someone else.

I can't stress enough the anger I have over this process taking so long and their AWFUL customer service and failure to acknowledge it. I also urged them to go back and get those recording they use for "training purpose" and listen to how much interference I ran into JUST TRYING TO GET THE RIGHT PERSON ON THE PHONE! Horribly unprofessional!!!

Business Response
Thank you for making us aware of our local customer's concern regarding one of our product offerings. We value our customers and want to provide them with world class service. In order to better understand Mr.'s concern, I contacted the department that handles this program. Based on Mr.'s account of what occurred, reimbursement is not warranted due to specific warranty exclusions. Mr. has after submitting this concern with the BBB requested the $250 customer service guaranteed that was offered due to Mr.'s lack of satisfaction. It is my understanding that this is being processed for customer.

Consumer Response
I want to be clear about my accepting the $250 from Georgia Power. I only asked for that AFTER they removed the surge protector (as I asked) but I had to have Cox cable come out because my cable service was lost IMMEDIATELY after Georgia Power removed the surge protector.

I wasn't going to let them get away with one more act of HORRIBLE customer service.

I did not see any ability to respond at your website to Georgia Power's response. That is why I've sent this email.

Thank you
*** *****

11/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

This complaint is in reference to an agreement being broken that was discussed on 8.26.14
On August 26th, I received a call from ************ in reference to a voicemail I left the previous day. I am currently unemployed and have been late on my power bill, because I do not qualify for unemployment and have no income. While the power bill has been late, it is always paid and I have never had a service interruption. I received a letter stating that I had to pay a deposit in addition to my bill, which is why I called Miss*******. I explained to her that the agencies that GA Power gives for assistance do not provide assistance, and that I do not have money for a deposit because of my current situation. Miss******* advised that she would waive the deposit. I advised Miss******* that I would have the power bill current in October because I will receive student loans and could get the bill current. Miss******* stated she would notate the account and all was understood. I just received a letter stating that I am required to pay a deposit again. I feel like Miss******* did not keep her word, as October is not yet here and I have not yet had the oppurtunity to fufill the agreement that the bill would be caught up by the end of October. I feel as is GA Power behaved as though they could do what they want at the expense of others. There is no other power company that provides service to the city, and power is necessary to maintain lease conditions, and I feel as if they know that they monopolize Macon GA

Desired Settlement
I would like the deposit waived, as stated in the agreement during the phone conversation that took place on August 26, 2014.

Business Response
Thank you for making us aware of our customers concern as we appreciate the customers business. We believe this concern has been resolved as customer has been contacted, system billed deposit has been cancelled. Deposit was unintentionally billed and Ms did not notify us directly to make us aware of issue. We apologize for the inconvenience and have made payment arrangements with customer on regular billing. Ms has direct number to Supervisor and is welcome to call us back if she has any further issues.

10/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I paid my bill on October 1,2014 to Georgia Power . I went online to make a payment arrangement and it would not allow
II went online to make a payment arrangement at Georgia Power and was unable to do so because on Georgia Power system it has noted I paid the bill today ; yet I paid it on October 1, 2014. I feel Georgia Power needs to make sure it post the credit on the same day it was paid.

Desired Settlement
I want payments to be posted it the same day bill is paid.

Business Response
Although, it is correct that Ms did not pay exact amount of online arrangement on 10/1, this was not the reason for the account being coded to not allow any more on line payments as stated in first response. Upon further research, the reason Ms is unable to make on line arrangements is due to a default of a prior arrangement on July 31. Again, we regret the online option is no longer available but Ms can make arrangments via phone 24 hours a day with a CSR. We do encourage Ms to allow us to serve her in this way.

09/09/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details


Desired Settlement

Business Response
We appreciate you making us aware of Ms. concern. We had a representative reach out to Ms. last week in order to make an appt to meet her at her home to perform an audit, review any equipment concerns and review billing. We believe are representative has been able to assist Ms in better understaning what is causing her usage amounts. We will continue to be glad to work with Ms and she may contact us if she has any additional questions or needs any assistance in making pymt arrangements.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is Ms. ****. Yes a representative came out, talked with me about the usage amounts, gave me a few pointers on lowering the bill, however, this does not solve the initial problem in question as to why the bill is astronomical. I still don't understand. You all keep saying the meter is not the problem, but I'm still at odds as to what is the cause. I will however get with the complex management regarding this issue and will also keep in touch with Mr. ******** regarding some paperwork.

Final Business Response
We regret that Ms service was disconnected for nonpayment. Ms should always call to make arrangements if she is not able to pay by due date. Our company did make an arrangement with Ms to have her service reconnected and we encourage her to keep the arrangement. An energy audit was performed by our auditor as previously stated in our response. Ms meter was tested and found to be accurate. Ms advised our representative work had been done to ac/heat unit and we encouraged her to provide paperwork regarding repair. Ms has not provided paperwork. We encourage Ms to work with her landlord regarding internal equipment issues as no problem found with metering equipment and bill reflects her actual usage. Several reommendations for Ms to reduce her usage were made by the auditor and have been shared with Ms. These recommendations will likely help Ms. in lowering her usage if she so chooses. We appreciate Ms as a customer and regret that she has been dissatisfied.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I disagree because a Georgia Power Rep told me in order to get my service back on I had to pay over $600 plus make arrangements to pay over $400 otherwise it would remain off. I didn't think that was fair either when it wasn't totally my fault the reason the bill is at an astronomical amount, yet I don't know what to do if the Manager will not supply me with the documents I need to submit to your company. They certainly do not consider the customer when it comes to matters like this. I feel it unfair I was disconnected and charged a fee considering all the factors involved. I do appreciate the auditor coming out and advising me on options to help reduce the bill and I have taken his advice. I feel like I've been left hanging out on a limb because of all this. If another power company becomes available for customers, I will definitely be the first to sign up and leave this company alone. I guess since they have a monopoly in this city it entitles them to treat people any way they choose and charge people such high rates when they know the financial problems in this country.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electric Companies

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 07/27/1989
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas Wicker (Vice President-Central Region)Customer Contact: Ms. Debra Harrison (Customer Service Manager)
Related Businesses
Georgia Power Company - 908 Ball St, Perry, GA
Georgia Power Company - 117 S Calhoun St, Dublin, GA
Georgia Power Company - 1840 N Columbia St, Milledgeville, GA
Number of Employees


Business Category

Electric Companies

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Georgia Power Company has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Georgia Power Company

960 Key St

Macon, GA 31204-5810

To | From


1 Locations

  • 960 Key St 

    Macon, GA 31204-5810(888) 660-5890
    Fax: (478) 784-5959

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Better Business Bureau of Central Georgia and the CSRA, Inc.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Georgia Power Company is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Electric Companies


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.