BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Exovations of Middle Georgia

Phone: (478) 757-2422 (Disconnected)Fax: (478) 471-7122

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
12/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

can't complete work satisfactorily or on time.
**** ***** provided an estimate for cement fiber siding, gutters, and painting. Contract was scheduled for 25 July 2014 completion. I have pictures and emails to document the many problems. I also had a home inspection from a local reputable inspector. Major items include:
1) failed to order properly colored siding. They painted some of the siding when I specifically wanted as little painting as possible.
2) failed to order proper soffit
3) failed to clean up daily leaving a dangerous situation around commonly used doors.
4) damaged/destroyed plants around the house. Our wildflower plot was reduced to mud. Their response was "my workers don't look down."
5) Security lights were improperly installed. They mounted them with the motion detectors towards the house.
6) roof damage
7) improperly installed gutters
8) damage to drain pipes
9) numerous minor issues such as pounding nails in our deck to secure their ladders.

I sent Mr ***** the following on 30 Sep 2014:
...I sent you a condensed copy of the inspection report that specifically focused on Exovations concerns. But I will highlight that I have major water damage from improperly installed gutters and your answer? The soffits are covered under warranty. I don't believe you understand the amount of water damage and I don't envision Exovations having the expertise to eliminate water damage with the associated mold & mildew damage.

From the inspection report: "The shingles should be replaced where toe boards were nailed through the roof to install the siding on the chimney, 16d nail holes will void the shingle warranty." This underscores your inexperience and forces me to address that damage.

So far, I have a conservative estimate of damages running into the thousands and quite frankly, I can't afford anymore of Exovations "fixes." I will offer you a down payment of $15,000 with the remainder paid after repairs are completed and provide receipts in lieu of payment for all monies I spend correcting the problems.

From emails I sent over 60 days ago: "I have no confidence in anything you say. Please no apologies or promises, your word means nothing at this point. I will have the work professionally inspected. I'm also reviewing available options to get this finished..."

Bottom line - I simply don't trust Exovations can or ever will finish the job properly.

Desired Settlement
I prefer arbitration. This centers on my preference to have another company finish and have Mr *****, owner of Exovations of Middle GA pay for the repairs.

Business Response
Exovations has made mistakes on this project, but we have attempted to respond to every concern this customer has made. Throughout the project, there was always an effort to work with the customer through the issues to come to a fair resolution. The customer was aware of and agreed to all major decisions that were made throughout the project. We have never denied responsibility for any mistakes that we have made and have even done some work for free to help compensate the customer for their inconvenience.

This project was substantially complete on 9/4. We have made several efforts to contact the customer (in writing) to attempt to meet in person to resolve the issues. Unfortunately, the customer has not responded to any of our requests to meet. This communication is the first we have heard from him since 10/9/14.

Per our policy, Exovations did not collect a down payment on this project. To date, the customer has not paid us for this project (contract value = $27,315.50), including the $15,000 he agreed to pay us on 9/30/2014.

I welcome an immediate resolution to this issue. I am confident the issues can be resolved if there is two-way communication. I am always available by cell phone (XXX-XXX-XXXX) to discuss.

**** *****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While I want to discuss and find a resolution for this project, I will not discuss anything with any Exovations representative without a third party present. If BBB cannot serve as the third party, I want the home inspector I hired to act as the facilitator.

Exovations' definition of "two-way communication" - they pretended to listen, then the crew did whatever they feel like doing. When I asked why something was damaged or not accomplished, I was laughed at and told they can't control the workers. When talking became almost useless and odd destruction began accumulating (e.g. stuffing a drain pipe full of demolition debris), I started documenting using email and have nearly 60 emails detailing my frustrations with text & pictures. On one occasion, I was physically threatened by a worker after I asked them not to drive a truck with trailer over my bushes & above ground irrigation. I have two eye witnesses that stated the driver who threatened me, was not the same person that delivered the first trailer.

Stating that "Exovations has made mistakes..." is an understatement in my opinion.

Concerning the statement, "customer has not paid us for this project (contract value..." I have repeatedly offered a $15,000 down payment. Also, I don't believe the contract has been substantially fulfilled. I can provide pictures, an inspection report, and we can meet to view the project.

From 4 September to 9 October, there were back and forth emails, as I was on military duty out of town. In response to an email I sent on 9 Oct, I received an email the same day from Exovations stating "Unfortunately, I just left Macon today and am out of town..." I never heard from Exovations after that.

Bottom line - I don't trust Exovations and simply don't believe they can or ever will finish the job properly.

07/31/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Repair was supposed to be done on leaking roof.
Purchase date: 6/13/14 Invoice:*** Payment 9665.00 roof replacement. Sales Person: **** *****.
Problem roof is still leaking in the same area repair work was supposed to be done. I'm afraid if not fixed will result in water damage. Tried calling for the past month no response.

Desired Settlement
Repair the area of the leak.

Business Response
To Whom it May Concern:

Curb Appeal Solutions (dba Exovations of Middle Georgia) ceased operations in February of 2015. As such, we are not able to provide service under our labor warranty. Warranty issues relating to product defects can be taken directly to the appropriate manufacturers.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Construction & Remodeling Services, Garage Doors & Openers, Gazebos, Gutters & Downspouts, Gutter Leaf Guards, Contractors - Gutters, Home Improvements, Painting Contractors, Patio & Deck Builders, Deck - Repair, Patio Design, Patio Builder, Deck Builder, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Patio Cover, Roofing Contractors, Roofing Service Consultants, Siding Contractors, Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas, Windows - Installation & Service, Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction, Doors, Doors - Patio, Doors - Installation, Doors - French, Shutters, Storm Windows & Doors, Windows, Windows - Vinyl, Contractor - Commercial

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.