BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2010

Tommy Mathewes Auto Repair, Inc.

Phone: (706) 868-7485Fax: (706) 868-07444212 Wheeler Rd Bldg A1, AugustaGA 30907-9736 Send email to Tommy Mathewes Auto Repair, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2010

BBB has determined that Tommy Mathewes Auto Repair, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Tommy Mathewes Auto Repair, Inc.'s rating include:

  • 3 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Tommy Mathewes Auto Repair, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Tommy Mathewes Auto Repair, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
05/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My car was stopping on me and spuddering as though it was not getting any gas.
I brought my car to Tommy Mathewes because it began stopping on me and spuddering as though it wasn't getting enough gas.When I brought my car to Tommy Mathewes they stated I needed ignition coils. Upon the maintenance being completed, Tommy Mathewes staff(*****) called me and stated my car was ready for pickup. Upon picking up my car, I noticed my car ran very rough and was still spuddering. I immediately notified ***** about how my vehicle was running and stated my car is running worse than it was before bringing to you and then had another reading on my dash that read "restricted performance". He stated he was to busy for me to bring it back then, but because I scheduled to go out of town and my vehicle was running so badly, I had to bring it back before the date he said he could take it. Upon returning from out of town and picking up my car they had done nothing and informed me that it was limited as to what they could do. But they said if I would pay an additional $2,500 for a PCM then it would run right, but because I had been back and forth with them and spent a considerable amount of money, I was forced to drive to the ****** dealer to ensure my repairs were reputable by the dealer. Upon the ****** dealer completing the maintenance on my vehicle, I learned that the 2&7 ignition coils were unserviceable. Remind you I was charged $190.66 for these unserviceable coils; however, because I had to go the dealer and get the maintenance issue taken care of I spent $410.00 for parts and labor. And I was also told by the ****** dealer staff that the coils Tommy Mathewes replaced were not ****** parts.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking $410.00 for the two coils and $50.00 dollars for gas because I had to travel one day to drop my car off and go back the next day to pick my vehicle up from the ****** dealer.(I Have receipts and unserviceable coils to verify)







Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@gmail.com
First of all I, ***** ********, would like to state how sorry I am for the problems that she had with her car and with the way it was handled by us. When the car came back it had a code in the control unit for a bad fuel pressure sensor, but the sensor was not bad. This was a fault code. None the less, when our customer called me from the dealer and stated that two of the new ignition coils tested bad I told her that yes I would cover the cost of having them replaced and asked her to let me know how much it cost. I asked her to give me a call or come by when she got back in town and if she could would she bring the old ignition coils back because I also could also get them warrantied. She faxed us a copy of the dealer ticket but we did not hear from her. At this point I should have personally called her but I thought she was going to call me as we had talked about on the last phone call. Several days later we received a notice from BBB so I called her right a way. I was unable to reach her by phone but left her a message to call me. The next morning I tried to call her again but could only leave a message. She came into the shop the next day and I not only apologized again but I refunded more than she had asked for. I knew that we had failed our customer and we had failed in our Christian witness so I wanted her to know that I did not take her situation lightly and that I was truly sorry.

01/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Repairs paid for resulted in additional damage which the service shop lied about.
After bringing my vehicle in to have general service(oil change, general checkup), the service shop informed me of numerous repairs that were needed, all of which were reasonable and I agreed to. However, upon arriving to pick the car up, I noticed that the windshield was now cracked at the bottom left(right in the sight line of the driver's side). I brought this to their attention and said that I did not remember this being there prior to dropping the car off. The owner and a number of the technicians came out to explain that this damage had to have been pre-existing. At the time, I didn't have any proof otherwise and simply took their word for it. However, two weeks later my driver's side windshield wiper arm broke free. Upon taking the plastic shield apart and removing the wiper arm to inspect the issue, I see a large impact damage area on the lower edge of my windshield hidden by the plastic. Additionally, the driver's side wiper arm appear to have a new nut on it. After I removed both wiper arms, I notice that this "new" nut did not fit and it's installation has stripped out the threads on the wiper transmission linkage. This caused further damage to the wiper arm. At the end of this, I have a ruined windshield, destroyed wiper transmission and a stripped out wiper arm.

Desired Settlement
Tommy Mathewes Auto Repair at LEAST owes me compensation of a new wiper transmission, wiper arm and windshield. This damage was very obviously caused by some amount of mishandling in this shop and during the attempt to see the damage caused even FURTHER damage to my vehicle. Some of these parts have already been purchased by me and I am more than willing to simply accept compensation for these(all of which I have receipts for).

Business Response
We just receive the complaint notice from BBB in the mail today, January 3, 2014 at 8:30 AM. I was surprised by this notice because the customer had called on Dec. the 30 or 31 and talked to ***** ******** about his complaint. We told him that we still don't know what happened or when it happened but we would replace his windshield as soon as he could bring his car in. He was very satisfied and is planning on bring his car in for free repair the week of January 6th. ***** ******** called the customer this morning to check and make sure that our response was still satisfactory and he said yes it was satisfactory.

07/30/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Towing - Automotive, Auto Repairing - Foreign

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/02/2007Business started: 09/01/2004
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2004, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tommy Mathewes (President/CEO)Ms. Darlyne Mathewes (CFO)
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Towing - Automotive, Auto Repairing - Foreign

Products & Services

This company offers auto repair/service including towing service.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Tommy Mathewes Auto Repair, Inc.

4212 Wheeler Rd Bldg A1

Augusta, GA 30907-9736

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4212 Wheeler Rd Bldg A1 

    Augusta, GA 30907-9736(706) 868-7485
    Fax: (706) 868-0744

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Georgia & the Central Savannah River Area. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Tommy Mathewes Auto Repair, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.