BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/16/2004

Calhoun's

Phone: (478) 929-0620Fax: (478) 922-06031751 Watson Blvd, Warner RobinsGA 31093-3633

0TRUSTS
0 People Trust Calhoun's

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/16/2004

BBB has determined that Calhoun's meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Calhoun's' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Calhoun's

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
02/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
******* ******
*** ******* ******
******* GA XXXXX
On Nov 2, 2015 at 6:30 pm I stopped by Calhoun auto repair to pick up my car. When I got in the vehicle they had a note stating that the back lights were not working and I should trailer the car home. I got somebody to follow behind me as I drove home (since it was still light out). As I was pulling into the neighborhood the throttle stuck and the car took off uncontrollably. The gas pedal came back up but something else got stuck. I tried the brakes (that were brand new and supposedly installed correctly) but that did nothing. I didn't want to change the gears because that would tear up my transmission amongst other things. I came to a stop sign and I couldn't slow down or stop so I turned the wheel as hard as I could, I ran up into some people's yard & thought I was going to run into their house (scared for my life). I managed to stir away but I ran their mailbox over. I got back on the road but then I was headed out to the main road into oncoming traffic. (scared 4 my life) I had no choice but to just turn off the ignition. I put the gear in neutral and turned the key and the car stopped. I jumped out of the car immediately, and I heard a loud popping noise come from under the engine & saw fire. I ran around the neighborhood screaming HELP!!! Somebody PLEASE!!! I need a fire extinguisher some water or something. A lady had a fire extinguisher, I sprayed the whole thing but it wasn't enough. I tried to get the hood open (to disconnect the battery) but it was too hot, I honestly thought the car would blow up at any moment. No one else had an extinguisher so I had to stand by helplessly and watch as my car burned to a crisp. By the time the fire department arrived it was a total loss one of the firemen said it looked like the fire started in the engine compartment & there had to have been some type of fuel leak to ignite the car. The next day I called the shop and talked to the manager *****, (I didn't mention the car burning yet) I asked him , "Hey ***** did you guys test drive the car at all?" ***** said no the back tires weren't very good so we didn't want to get it on the road. We just drove it in the parking lot (basically, they just pulled it in & out of the garage). When I told him about the fire he said" oh man I'm sorry to hear that you could've been killed, but it's not our fault". How is it not your fault your shop put this whole car together the engine, transmission, radiator etc... If something is loose leaking or connected wrong it's because you did it!!!! I spoke with Nathan the mechanic who did most of the work while the car was in the shop. He told me a similar incident occurred the 1st time he cranked it up the fuel line was loose on the side of the carburetor & when he started it up, it started spraying gas out the side & it started backfiring because the timing wasn't adjusted properly. He said "I had to hurry and turn it off before it caught on fire" his exact words. I feel like they never took the time and care they did with other cars with mine. My car kept getting skipped, overlooked & pushed to the side. I had to pull ***** to the side 1 day and ask him why, I'm current on my payments what's the problem? He said they would work on it, but every time I went back there was little to no progress. I spoke to ***** again saying this is getting ridiculous we are literally 2 or 3 hours from being finished but it's been weeks. I understand y'all are busy but my car was here 1st, I've paid all my money let someone else wait. They finally pushed it back into the garage stall. I was supposed to get it in a Friday but I got it Monday because they were finishing the brakes.
I've invested a lot of time and money into this car and after paying this shop thousands of dollars my car caught on fire and burnt up on the way home. I feel like this is the result of pure negligence on their part for not taking the time to properly inspect and test the vehicle . The vehicle was neglected the whole
time it was there and when I protested they threw it together and just gave it to me, without even as much as a road test ( who does that?).
Since the incident I've written them a letter stating how I felt and asking them if we could come to some sort of resolution. They have ignored my pleas so I have no choice but to file this complaint. You should feel bad if a car you put together leaves your shop, catches fire immediately and someone is almost killed in it, I am not looking for anything extra I am just asking that they do what is right.

Thanks in advance for your help,

******* S ******

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Brandy ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************@gmail.com
To whom it may concern:
******* ****** brought his cutlass into our shop to install the engine he had re-built in Hawkinsville. He was sending parts to us weekly from ******* ****** to put on his car. I explained to him that we would work on his vehicle when we were slow because this is a completely custom install and would have several snags since this engine combination is too large to fit and would require many modifications. He wanted his vehicle to be a streetable race car. We assembled the parts he supplied and some we had to acquire. He wanted us to install the engine and get the vehicle running, and then he would take it home and finish all the smaller repairs himself.
We advised him NOT to DRIVE the vehicle due to it not being road worthy or street legal, there were still many issues going on with the vehicle. The vehicle had street slicks for rear tires that were dry rotted very badly and unsafe to test drive. I told him we have not driven this car due to its unsafe condition. Vehicle had open headers and the proper ignition timing was not set on the vehicle because Mr. ****** wanted to install his own timing indicator at home. The customer understood this and agreed. We advised him to trailer or tow the car home for this reason. We even went so far as to leave a note on the windshield stating the fact that it was an incomplete repair and unsafe to drive attached to the driver side inside of the vehicles windshield. The note read, "We advise you to tow the vehicle home due to unsafe conditions". He decided to drive it against our wishes without insurance, proper tag, dry rotted tires, and no tail lights on a rainy night on public streets.
When he picked up the vehicle it as approximately 6:10 in the evening, the wreck happened at approximately 7:00 the same evening. The distance from our shop to the customers home is about 6 miles, depending on traffic it could take anywhere between 11 minutes and 20 minutes to get from one to the other. However from the police report that was done when Mr. ****** was arrested for illegally driving the vehicle he stated that he was on his way home from the repair shop. According to the police the vehicle was leaving the neighborhood not entering it when the accident occurred.
We do not feel like we are responsible for any damage caused by this vehicle because of the issues going on with it and the advice given about how it was not ready to be driven on the road. We feel that Mr. ****** took on all financial responsibility for damage, injury and/or loss when he drove away in this vehicle.

Sincerely,
***** *******


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not satisfied with this response and I'd like to peruse this matter further.

08/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mech punched a hole in the seat and ***** won't return my calls to fix it.
I was driving my Trail Blazer and suddenly it coughed and quit. I was only a block from home so, I walked back, got my husband (highly mechanically literate) and had him look at the car. We took it around the corner (he was able to get it started) to Calhoun's Automotive. Every car I have bought I had them look at first, when they were located on Corder Rd.
According to the owner, *****, the ignition needed to be replaced. When he returned the car to me, he had replaced the ignition - the thing where the key goes. When my husband brought it home, he said "Ok, I have to show you something, I don't think you're gonna be happy. If you're not, I will take it back." When I got in, I put the key in and turned the ignition to start the car. The ignition turned forward and then the car was on. There was no spring back like in a normal ignition turn. I turned it off and did it again. Same thing. "Hmmm. Shouldn't it like turn back a little?"
We called *****. "No," he said. "New ignitions don't do that." Now, I realize that I am only a woman and familiar only with the more simple things, but I know when something is jacked up! So hubby grabbed the Chilton manual and photocopied the "How To Install A New Ignition" and took it to *****. He agreed to disassemble and reinstall the ignition.
A couple days later I went back to pick up the car and what do you know...it has spring back! I got the car home, jumped out and as I closed the door, I noticed a hole punched into my leather seat!
Next day, I called Calhoun's and spoke to ******, I explained, she said "bring the car back up here so ***** can look at it." Next day, I took it back and showed him how it was obvious that the mechanic had either laid a tool in the seat or had one in his pocket when he got in and when he put weight on it a perfectly round little hole was punched in the seat.
He rubbed his chin, and said "ok, let me see what I can do, call me tomorrow." I called and guess what? Two months later he still has not returned my calls. I finally had the seat repaired. Lesson: find a new mechanic!

Desired Settlement
I had to have the seat repaired, it's real leather. He should refund the cost of his botched repair of the ignition since I had to print off and give him instructions on how to perfrom the repair correctly.

Business Response
To whom it may concern:
Mrs. ******* came in originally for a no start condition. We preformed our diagnostic and found that the ignition switch was bad. After calling and getting the repair approved we replaced the ignition switch which repaired the customers concern. They picked the vehicle up the same day. The next day Mr. ******* came back with the vehicle, he told us of his wife's concern with the ignition switch. We tried it with Mr. ******* present and it worked properly, every time. Even though there was nothing wrong with it, we took it apart again and reassembled it again. At that point it worked just as it had the first time we installed the new part. We explained to Mr. ******* what we had done and he seemed to be happy with the repair, though he was not unhappy with the repair to begin with, he was just trying to please his wife by bringing it back to us because she stated "it was not springing back like it had originally".
After calling us about the seat damage, ****** asked her to bring the vehicle by for us to look at it. Mrs. ******* came to us the next day stating that one of our mechanics had punched a hole in her seat, ***** ******* went out to the vehicle to check the seat. He found the hole she was referring to, but had no way of knowing if the hole had been there to begin with or not. ***** asked her to let him see what he could do and to call him tomorrow. When she did call we told her to bring the vehicle and leave it with us to find out what it would take to repair the seat. She never brought it back to us. The next correspondence from the *******'s was the letter from the BBB.
We find it rather strange that her resolution for the "problem" is to ask for us to refund the repair that corrected her ignition, rather than ask to be reimbursed for the cost of the seat repair. Our plan for the seat repair was to split the bill 50/50 even though we were not responsible for the wear and tear on her vehicle that has been driven well over 100,000 miles. This would have been a "good will" repair for customer satisfaction. We were not given the opportunity to have the seat repaired.
If you have any questions please feel free to give us a call.

Thank you in advance,
Calhoun's Automotive Repair
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I shouldn't have to split a cost of 50/50 for damage done to vehicle's LEATHER seat by a careless mechanic. I had the seat repaired by a reputable business at my own expense which was $17.00 more than the repair to the ignition. If he is so willing to split it 50/50 why didn't he just mail me a check with an apology? At NO time did ***** ask me to bring the vehicle back after I showed him the damage. I am happy for my word of mouth to stand against Calhoun's poor service. At each and every opportunity, I will tell people about my poor experience with ***** and Calhoun's.

Final Business Response
Dear BBB,

As I stated before, I would gladly reimburse her 50% of her total repair cost for the seat provided her gives us a copy of the receipt for this repair.
I apologize for any inconvenience on her behalf for the service that we provided for the ignition switch replacement. As we have stated before the repair was completed and works properly. Two people from my shop tested the switch operation, as well as her husband and everyone agreed that the repair was complete, with no further repair needed.
Hopefully this will resolve the situation with Mr and Mrs. ******* and prevent any untruthful comments as we both move forward.

Thanks you for your time and cooperation.

Calhoun's Automotive Repair
***** *******
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I'm not going back and forth on this issue any more. I've filed my complaint, which I want to remain public so when people search for a mechanic on the internet, they will see my review. Calhoun's is not a reputable company in my opinion and I will not use them again, nor will I recommend them to anyone not will I miss an opportunity to tell my story to any and all that ask.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/16/2004Business started: 04/01/2002
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 2008, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian S. Calhoun (Owner)
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
B & N Calhoun, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Calhoun's

1751 Watson Blvd

Warner Robins, GA 31093-3633

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1751 Watson Blvd 

    Warner Robins, GA 31093-3633(478) 929-0620
    Fax: (478) 922-0603

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Better Business Bureau of Central Georgia and the CSRA, Inc.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Calhoun's is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.