BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/02/2004

TCL Auto Sales

Phone: (478) 741-9014Fax: (478) 741-9867

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
01/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I called ***** ***** to inform her that my unemploment had ended I also told her that I would not get a check in till the 11th of January 2015
The office assistance told me to bring 50.00 in towards the remainder of the down payment I did so on 12/15/2014 and that they would work with me anyway they could as long as I call of which i did on several times after the Christmas Holiday on Monday the 29th they repo the car after telling me that morning to bring in 200 more dollars of which i stated i would call them back that afternoon to let them know if i could raise this money but they did not allow me the grace of getting the 200 to them now they are saying they will hold car for 10 days of which now i owe them the monies due of 500 plus 300 more for the repo man that was very rude to me and my wife. My biggest complaint is customer service ***** ***** stated she would work with us anyway she could as long as we put effort and call and kept in touch of which i did, I had every intention on the 01/10/11 to pay this car off as my retirement money would have been in and its a lump sum of saving that I could have paid this off in full I have paperwork showing this they have left me stranded and are holding the car of which I feel is no different then allowing me this grace period to offer a payoff for the car, to my understanding this is how they do all there customers is why its bad business and although I know I am at fault on my part I also know they are gladly taking your down payment which was 800 dollars I did not even have the car for 1 month as of the 11th of Janurary the next car payment would be do, I guess lesson here is buy here pay here is just that a joke! Lesson learned!

Desired Settlement
I would like the 800 back if that is possible for the simple fact they undoubtly have no intention to allow they customers to pay the car off instead they would rather repo and keep reselling it, just mainly wanted to put this out there so that no one else falls for the fast talk of ***** ***** she talks non-stop during the sell makes all kinds of promises while she is selling you the car of which I stated had a plugged front tire on the side and she promise she would get me another tire in a few days since it was upfront of which never happen. either way I feel people that are forced to go to the buy here pay here places need should have rights to!

Business Response
In reference to Mr. ******'s complaint, on the day of purchase we discuss in detail how our contracts work at Tcl Auto Sales. We strive to satisfy our customers to best of our ability we make different arrangements than agreed upon during the signing and explanation of the contract. In Mr. ******'s case, on November 11th 2014 he purchased a 2003 Ford Explorer XLT that required a $1000 down payment. We here at Tcl Auto Sales will do what is called a pick-up payment on the down payment to insure the customer get his or her desired vehicle and this in fact is what we did for Mr. ******. On 11-11-2014 he put down $700 down to drive away, with a signed agreement to pay $100 on 11-14-2014 and $200 on 12-8-2014. The first payment on this contract was on the 11th of each month, therefore his first payment was due on December 11th, 2014. We give a 10 day grace period on monthly payments also. Mr. ****** failed to make the first and second pick-up payment arrangement. Once his monthly payment came due he did indeed pay an amount of $50 on 12-15-2014. That $50 payment had to be applied to the pick-up payment. Two signed agreement had already been broken, but with Mr. ****** making contact with our office we tried to extend his agreement as long as we could. Once the 10 day grace period lapsed we have to release it to be collected by repossession. It was picked up on 12-29-2014. We find it unfortunate that Mr. ****** is unsatisfied with our place of business. We gave it our best effort to work with him beyond contracted agreement. As for ***** talking non-stop during a signing of a deal, there is a lot of information to cover & I want to make sure it is all spoken out loud to ensure a full understanding of what the individual is signing. A refund is not available to Mr. ******.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don't except it due to on Monday at lunch time I was told if I came up with 200 that would be excepted they never allowed me to do this by end of day but they came few hours after I tall to ***** they was at my home repossessed it I had the money ***** stated I needed so as far as I am concerned I have no vehicle out of 750.00 and I had car from Nov 11th till Dec 29th ***** did not work with me.I did what she ask me to do, I would not recommend anyone to do business at this location.this is bad business!

08/20/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hello, my complaint with TCL auto sales is unfair customer service practices that include failure to relay to me proper charges, fees and payments due
My name is ******** ****** and I purchased a car from TCL auto sales in February 2014. This was done in good faith with word from a family member that they were a replicable company. I've dealt with a few used car businesses in the past that rip you off and sell you bad cars but here is my issue with TCL. In May my job and living situations changed. New job, better pay but farther from home. Also, I lost help from my spouse because of his lost of employment. So I was in a bind. I called and made arrangements with the office person. With rudeness in her tone and unwillingness to listen she quickly asked how much and when I could bring the amount in. I told her and hung up. When I did go into the office I spoke with person who sold me the car and told her that I would only like to speak with her from that point on. This was in June. My payment hadn't been paid but over the months I had been asking to have the air conditioning repaired in the car because there was a leak that adding sealant and freon didn't fix. I was told I had to pay $60 because I hadn't been given an "we owe you" on that. I paid someone else to put freon in the car which led to me finding out the bigger issue. Also within the first month the car broke down and I put a new battery in. A total of $130 for the battery. So as you may see, with my personal circumstances in a bind I still took it upon myself to do these repairs even though only a few months had passed. Not six months or a year but from the beginning I was putting money in. So when I went to inquire about how much was needed to get my car back. I was given the biggest run around ever. I didn't want to lose a car I had put 1,500 down for, a new battery and ac services. So I came in and ***** told me (because I mentioned the other woman is rude) that I needed to pay the repossession fee to get the car back. No amount was told to me just that statement. So I came back that Friday or Saturday to pay and get my car back. I assumed it was a tow fee of $50 or $60 dollars. Again this was my assumption because i hadn't been told an amount. ***** and the other office woman said we'll take care of the air conditioning issues and everything. I get there and I'm told that the repossession fee was $250! Woah! So the money I brought wasn't enough to get my car back. After I'm told that shocking amount, I leave disappointed. The following week I came back because with the help of good friends and family, I got the $250 to get my car back so I can continue to work my job and take car of my family. I get there with this amount and I'm still told a different amount! This was very disappointing! ***** sat there and told me that I had to have $535 to get my car back! This poor business handling had exhausted me. With all this, I knew a payment was due as we'll but that's not the amount I was told to bring to get my car! I feel like this is a case of trying to rip someone off when you have had them come on two occasions with money and still not return a vehicle that they have put so much down on and so much into. Please help me get this resolved because I have been ripped off by enough crooks in my life! I'm just trying to get what I deserve and that's fair treatment with businesses that have solid business practices.

Thank you.

Desired Settlement
At this point, I am seeking a refund in the total amount of down payments and costs for repairs and services that I put into the vehicle.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: S. ***** *****, VP
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@gmail.com
******** ****** purchased a 2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser on February 19th 2014. We here at TCL Auto Sales sale all cars as is unless there is the need of a "We Owe" agreement at the time of purchase. In Mrs. ******'s case there was no need of this type of agreement at the time of purchase. She did give us a call about her air conditioning and we gave her a quote on the cost to charge the A/C, to which she declined. After repossession in June due to delinquent payment; Mrs. ****** inform me that she had someone else work on her A/C. We at TCL Auto Sales clearly state during signing of the contracts that we allow a 10 day grace period on monthly payment unless other arrangements have been made. Also we clearly state that we have repossession fee of $300 in addition to the past due payment. In this case we offered Mrs. ****** a deduction of the repo fee to $250 as a courtesy to her stated hardship in job changes. There is difference in cost of repossession services and towing services. Mrs. ****** was given a courtesy call about her May payment once the 10 day grace period had laps in hopes to make arrangements to avoid repossession. Arrangements were made with our collection manager and Mrs. ****** defaulted which resulted in repossession. When Mrs. ****** came to our office with $60.00, I told her the correct amount and did not apply the $60.00 to her account as reverence to allow her more time to pay the full amount. We here at TCL Auto Sales take pride in customer satisfaction and honor the contractual agreement between us and the consumer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In response to TCL Auto Sales reply I'd like to say that when I indeed did come to the office with $60 I was told that the repossession fee was $250. I then returned with $250 as I was told. I was then still denied possession of my car. I accepted the car "AS IS" which is why I didnt make a complaint about the AC not working, nor the fact that I bought a new battery within a month of having the car because it broke down on me. My issue is simply that I made the effort to get my car back by having in total $300 dollars and was still denied. I am not in the business of throwing away money, and there is no reason why I shouldn't still have a car that I paid $1500 dollars down on. It should not be that easy for a business to just deny my payment as if my money is somehow unacceptable or not worthy, and for me to be without a car or my money. In reference to them "honoring contractual agreements", my reply is that nowhere in the contract does it give the repossession fee which leads me to believe that it can be whatever amount they please, which is unacceptable to me. I was never given anything in writing as to how much it was to get my car back, just different amounts every time I returned. Please tell me that this is not best practices for any business. Thank you and I hope to have this issue resolved.

07/31/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.