BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/28/2007

Sunbelt Auto Saver

(706) 792-11003145 Peach Orchard Rd, AugustaGA 30906-3520 Send email to Sunbelt Auto Saver

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/28/2007

BBB has determined that Sunbelt Auto Saver meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Sunbelt Auto Saver's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Sunbelt Auto Saver

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
09/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This dealer will do anything for the sale and does not take responsibility for issues going on with the vehicles they sell.
On June 10,2014 i purchased a 2013 Dodge Charger from this dealer as an out of state purchase. When I saw the car online and called the dealer I was in contact with the finance manager ******* *****. The car was listed a purple in color I asked was it painted that color he told me he wasnt sure he thought so. This was the first lie, he knew the car was painted from the original color. All of our contact was done by phone because I do kive in another state. We worked out a deal by phone and scheduled a time and day to pick up the car. When I got to the car I noticed that it actually was repainted from the original color, which I was ok with. To rewind when I arrived the car was not on the lot, someone had to take get to run it through a car wash. Why it wasnt done onsite, I dont know. When William came back with the car and I went to go look at it, the first thing he told me was I would have to put air in the tire because he wasnt able to put air in them all. This should have been my first red alert but I just said ok. I went in and signed the paper work which I didnt really look over (and I should have), but I assumed that I was dealing with a professional and we had already worked out a deal. One thing I did notice was that ******* had my address info wrong, but he refused to correct it. So I finally take the car home and within the first week I notices some things wrong, there was a panel that was broken off and screwed down on the inside of the door, the trunk didnt work properly, the back doot look was not working, and the tires kept losing air. I called ******* and advised him of these issues and he told me to call Dodge because the car was still under warranty as well as the tires. So I made an appoint with Dodge and had them check the car out. Let me also mention I was told by this dealer that this car had been through a 100 point inspection. When Dodge check the car they advised that the issues with the car were not covered under warranty because they are things that were broken when the car was repainted and that if this car had went through inspection the dealer should have caught these issues. I ended up having have the trunk wires replaced because thay had been cut, the back door lock had to be repaired and a new panel put down on the inside of the door trim. They also asked why would I be referred to them about tires that didnt come from Dodge they were Michelin tires. So I called ******* back and he was know help at all he refused to take any responsibility for the way he sold me this car and I also had to threaten them with legal action because they would not send me my contract. In between all of this I received my paper work from the bank that was providing the loan and when I saw the amount I was financing I called ******* because it was not the amount we agreed upon. He charged me $200 extra on the selling price and he also added an extended warranty and never advised me that it would add another $1000+ to the selling proce. When I asked him about it he informed me that he didnt want to talk about it because the contract was already signed! Wow! So getting back to the part issue I went to get the tires checked one of the back tires had nails in it and the other back tire had a bolt that was stuck on, so I called ******* again and advised him and he told me that the tire place I was at messed up the bolt....the guy from the tire place over heard him and couldnt believe that they wouldnt take responsibility for something as small as a bolt on a tire. I ended up having to get the bolt broken off and replaced and that tire also had three nails in it. The point is this car had never been expected it and these are not trustworthy people. Buyer beware when dealing with them and make sure you check behind them because I consider them to be "slicksters". I would never do business with this dealer again and definitely would not refer anyone to them because their business practices are not up to par.

Desired Settlement
I need the tires replaced on the car, just the back two because those are the damaged ones and there is still a panel in the car that seems to be coming apart that needs to be fixed. I also would like the car to actually go through their so called 100 point inspection and I would like documentation of what was inspected, because I believe there are also internal issues going on with the car because white smoke comes out of the tail pipes when the car is running.

Business Response
In response to the online complaint by ********* ******, CASE# XXXXXXXX

On 06/9/2014 ********* showed up to her appointment to lookover and test drive the Dodge Charger. ********* seemed very happy with the color.
After which the sales person gave her the Car-Fax report . At this point she looks over the report and says that she is very happy with the car. ********* is now ready to go over all the numbers to purchase the car.
********* read and signed the purchase order and contract along with the buyer order to the Dodge Charger.
Two weeks later ********* calls to tell me she needs new tires . I advise her to come in so I can have my services department lookover any issue she my have. The appointment was set but she never showed.
One week later ********* calls me and say that her tires has nails in them and I knew it at the time of the sell. I advised her the we had the car checked at our service centers and passed ******* any issue.
Further more I asked her could it be possible driving from Augusta to Columbia a total of 77.78 miles and back and forth to work you could have picked up some nails on the highway.
At this time ********* tells me she will get a lawyer and would not have any other contact with me.

Sunbelt Auto Saver has given ********* every chance to help her with the issue. We feel the issue with the tires are a direct result of her driving on the highway and common roads.
We have provided her with Car-Fax report and a car with only 17,641 miles at the time of purchase.
********* is not forthcoming with the statement of 100 point inspection. She was told by the sale person the car had been safety checked and is ready for sale.
We have provided her with great service and safe car to own.

******* *****
Sales Manager

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First Mr ***** is not telling the truth. My first and only time at this establishment was the day I took the car home which was on 6/10/14. Please advise me of which sales person gave me a carfax, he cant because I never dealt with any of there sales people I printed the car fax offline before even speaking with him. Second the car had a little over 23k miles not 27k. I never took the vehicle out on a test drive my first drive in the vehicle was after I signed the paperwork for it, the vehicle was not even on the lot when I got there someone named william was out washing it. Also I contacted before two weeks because when I first took it to the Dodge dealer (upon Mr *****'s request) I had only owned the vehicle for 10days this was the only reason Dodge did the work they did under warranty when it really shouldnt have been covered. Mr ***** has just proved himself to be a bad business man on top of a LIAR! He did not offer me to come in to have his service department look over the car because he insisted it had already been done. What he did offer was for me to come back and check the tire but that was after pushing me off on Michelin which I had already had an appointment that they set up with someone else and since me and Mr ***** had alreay had words back and forth and went ahead and let Michelin authorized dealer look over them and tell me the problem because I refuse to rely on the word of a LIAR. I also didnt tell him I wouldnt have any other contact with him he stop taking my calls and tried to push me off on others. Yes I did tell him if I didnt receive my paper work that had already been signed by myself and my cobuyer that I would get a lawyer involved. ******* did not offer all this help he is stating he did and his story does not add up. This was the worst service I have ever received froma car dealer and I wouldnt recommend them to anyone. And again who is this sales person he is claiming I spoke to from day one he is the only person I have ever dealt with. Untrustworthy...Dishonest...Unreliable...Terrible Customer Service

Final Business Response
In response to the online complaint by ********* ******, CASE# XXXXXXXX

On 06/9/2014 ********* showed up to her appointment to lookover and test drive the Dodge Charger. ********* seemed very happy with the color.
After which the sales person gave her the Car-Fax report . At this point she looks over the report and says that she is very happy with the car. ********* is now ready to go over all the numbers to purchase the car.
********* read and signed the purchase order and contract along with the buyer order to the Dodge Charger.
Two weeks later ********* calls to tell me she needs new tires . I advise her to come in so I can have my services department lookover any issue she my have. The appointment was set but she never showed.
One week later ********* calls me and say that her tires has nails in them and I knew it at the time of the sell. I advised her the we had the car checked at our service centers and passed ******* any issue.
Further more I asked her could it be possible driving from Augusta to Columbia a total of 77.78 miles and back and forth to work you could have picked up some nails on the highway.
At this time ********* tells me she will get a lawyer and would not have any other contact with me.

Sunbelt Auto Saver has given ********* every chance to help her with the issue. We feel the issue with the tires are a direct result of her driving on the highway and common roads.
We have provided her with Car-Fax report and a car with only 17,641 miles at the time of purchase.
********* is not forthcoming with the statement of 100 point inspection. She was told by the sale person the car had been safety checked and is ready for sale.
We have provided her with great service and safe car to own.

******* *****
Sales Manager


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
******* ***** is definitely getting his people mixed up, this response he is giving does not pertain to me. I can show my bill with the list of calls and how soon I called after my purchase date of 6/10/14. I can show the contract I signed which would be dated 6/10/14 and what the mileage was when I received it. I can see if I still have the car fax that I printed online which listed the mileage and it was nowhere near the mileage he is listing. I can also show paper work from dodge verifying what day I first took the car to them and the problems the had to fix, which was less than two weeks from the purchase date. I really am amazed at the fact that ******* is not being honest. Also ask ******* to show verification of the safety check of this vehicle. He more than likely wont be able to because Ive already asked and was advised they have no documentaion of the safety check by someone named William. Also I would like ******* to tell me who this imaginary sales person was. He was the sales person he was the only person I dealt with on this sale. I wonder if you need to be a great LIAR to be a finance manager, if so he will go far in his career. I wouldnt refer anyone to this dealer ven if they were giving away free cars! I will also send in all documentation I have from this purchase.

11/20/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/01/2007Business started: 01/01/1959
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Licensing - Used Motor Vehicles
237 Coliseum Dr
Macon, GA 31217
(478) 207-2440

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1966, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Watson (Vice President)Mr. Ken Harris (Manager)
Related Businesses
Sunbelt Nissan - 3300 Washington Rd, Augusta, GA
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

This company offers used auto sales.

Alternate Business Names
Southside Imports, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sunbelt Auto Saver

3145 Peach Orchard Rd

Augusta, GA 30906-3520

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3145 Peach Orchard Rd 

    Augusta, GA 30906-3520(706) 792-1100

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Georgia & the Central Savannah River Area. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sunbelt Auto Saver is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.