BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/08/2014

Red's Autos, Inc.

Phone: (803) 202-7000Fax: (803) 599-7138641 Edgefield Rd, North AugustaSC 29841-2416 Send email to Red's Autos, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/08/2014

BBB has determined that Red's Autos, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Red's Autos, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Red's Autos, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
11/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
reds auto is threatening to Repo our vehicle due to damage in the Brakes they repaired and now want us to pay for.
We Purchased a vehicle from Reds Auto and absolutely love the vehicle as it's very convenient for our family, two weeks into having the Dodge Durango the front brakes were squeezing BADLY so we took the car to get the brakes done at Tylers Auto in Aiken they notified us the brake callibers and rotors were bad and the vehicle was unsafe to drive especially with an infant in the car, at this time the car wasn't even stopping without excessive force to the brake
Pedal. We notified Reds Auto and dropped the vehicle off with them, after going back and forth with them for about 24 hours they agreed to fix the vehicle and there mechanic ***** would be doing the work. We agreed to pay a $50 TOWING fee and that was all, WELL now reds auto is harassing us saying we have a side not of $400 and are behind on our car payment because the money we have been giving them for the past 6 weeks has been going towards paying the mechanic or in there words "side note" we NEVER agreed to a side note and feel it is very unfair for reds auto to now be threatening us with them Repossesing the vehicle, we never agreed to paying a side note and never signed no document stating that we will. We are now scrambling trying to figure out what to do and are actually scared of dealing with this business because they are not being trust worthy and they are trying to pin us with a bill that has nothing to do with us they told us they vehicle was in top shape and ready to be driven. I am now in a hard place because I want to get a lawyer but Iam scared they will harass us more if we take legal matters towards them, please help us

Desired Settlement
i would like for them to refund our down payment AT LEAST so we can go get a reliable vehicle that is safe for my child who has special needs (Down syndrome & AML leukemia) and our Infant son. We have to drive to and from SC & GA for my sons important dr appointments, I would also like a refund if possible from the "side note" since it has not been applied to our car note it is not fair that they keep that money either. I am so frustrated with this business I don't think I want to do business with them again they give small business owners bad names . I am seeking a full refund as requested above and some harassment fees, totaling $1000

Business Response
I am confused about this complaint as the customer has possession of the vehicle and made a payment as recent as 11/08/2014. Repairs were made on the vehicle at no charge to the customer.

04/02/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I HAVE BEEN BILLED LATE CHARGES AND FEES BY THE COMPANY AND BUSINESS FAILED TO EXPLAIN OR SEND ITIMIZED BILLING SHOWING AMOUNT.
I WAS CONTACTED BY ***** THE SALES PERSON FROM REDS AUTO SALES IN ON JANUARY 3RD 2013. HE INFORMED ME THAT MY ACCOUNT WAS PAST DUE AND I NOW HAVE FEES TOTALING 500.00 DOLLARS. I TALKED TO ***** AND ASKED WHY I WAS NOT CONTACTED EARLIER AND HE STATED THAT I HAVE ALWAYS MADE PAYMENTS AND HAVE BEEN A GOOD CUSTOMER SO HE DID NOT BOTHER TO CALL ME. I WAS TOLD THE CHARGES STARTED IN OCTOBER WHEN I MISSED ONE PAYMENT AND NOW ANY PAYMENT THAT IS SENT IN GOES TOWARDS TO PREVIOUS MISSED PAYMENTS, MINUS ANY FEES. SO IF I SENT IN 185.00 WHICH IS MY BI-WEEKLY PAYMENT AMOUNT, THE BUSINESS TAKES BETWEEN 15-30 DOLLARS FROM THAT PAYMENT APPLY IT TO THE LATE FEES AND THEN APPLIES THE REMAINING AMOUNT AS THE PAYMENT. I MADE AN ATTEMPT TO GET CAUGHT UP BY SENDING FOUR PAYMENTS IN FEBRUARY TWO IN THE AMOUNT OF 185.00 AND TWO IN THE AMOUNT OF 200.00. SINCE THE BUSINESS IS APPLYING THE AMOUNT TO THE PAST BILL THE AMOUNT OF THE LATE FEES HAVE NOT DECREASED. I ASKED FOR A ITEMIZED BILLING STATEMENT AND WAS TOLD SEVERAL TIMES THEY DO NOT HAVE THAT.I CALLED THE OWNER ****** ON WEDNESDAY X-XX-XX AND WHEN I ASKED HIM TO EXPLAIN HOW THEY ARE BILLING ME HE GOT LOUD, SAID I WAS NOT LISTENING AND THAT HE WILL JUST COME PICK THE CAR UP AND HE THEN DISCONNECTED THE CALL. I REMAINED CALM, CALLED BACK AND ASKED THE SALES REP BY THE NAME OF ***** TO EMAIL ME A COPY OF THE BILLING AND HE REFUSED. I EXPLAINED THAT I AM NOT ABLE TO GET BY THE OFFICE BEFORE THEY CLOSE BECAUSE OF MY WORK SCHEDULE. HE SAID THEY WILL SEND ME A RECEIPT FOR MY LAST PAYMENT AND NO MORE. HAVE CONTINUED TO MAKE THE PAYMENTS TO REDS AUTO SALES. I EVEN SEND MORE IN AN ATTEMPT TO GET CAUGHT UP HOWEVER THEY HAVE IMPROPER BILLING PRACTICES THAT THEY REFUSE TO EXPLAIN.

Desired Settlement
I WOULD LIKE FOR THE ACCOUNT TO BE REVIEWED FOR THE ACCURACY IN THE BILLING. THE AMOUNT OF THE FEES THAT ARE CHARGED TO BE EXPLAINED. THE DATE THE FEES BEGAN. THE TOTAL AMOUNT OWED AFTER REVIEW. I NEED TO KNOW HOW MUCH IS OWED TO GET THE ACCOUNT CURRENT. I WOULD ALSO LIKE A POLICY ON CHARGES AND LATE FEES.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *****
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Mrs. ****** fell behind in her payments. I have provided copies of three letters we sent to her in an effort to inform her and heard back from her. The only reason Mrs. ****** may not have receipts is because she had moved from the address we had on file before obtaining the correct address. Mrs. ****** fell behind in her payments, we tried to notify her, and were left with no recourse other than to repo the vehicle. There were back charges involved in her late charges. We did give the vehicle back to Mrs. ****** this week she paid the repo fee and caught the payments up actually paying ahead. Mrs. ****** has been informed that if payments fall behind again the vehicle will be confiscated.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The business has not sent information in regards to the amount of their late charges as I request several times. Once business received notice of my complaint they decided to reposes my vehicle. They refused to show me the amount of each late charge. I arrived at the place of business the day after they repossessed the vehicle and wanted to pay what was owed. The owner refused my money violating Georgia Code of Laws that state the business must accept the late fees and any repossession fees in order to resolve matter and that their should be no more late payment from this date forward. I have attached copies of receipt it clearly shows no amount for the late charges and how they are calculated. I made attempt to provide new address in writing as stated in Georgia and south Carolina Code of laws Title 37- Consumer Protection Codes for remedies and penalties and salesman ****** refused to update information.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/26/2010Business started: 11/30/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Licensing - Used Motor Vehicles
237 Coliseum Dr
Macon, GA31217
(478) 207-2440

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2004, SC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wade Barnes (Owner/President)
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

This company offers sale of used cars.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Red's Autos, Inc.

641 Edgefield Rd

North Augusta, SC 29841-2416

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 641 Edgefield Rd 

    North Augusta, SC 29841-2416(803) 202-7000

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Georgia & the Central Savannah River Area. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Red's Autos, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.