BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/12/2006

J. D. Byrider

Phone: (706) 736-5543Fax: (706) 736-3977

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
07/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
JD Byrider did not deliver the appropriate paperwork (title) to SC DMV until the 44th day post my purchase of a used car with 45 day temp tag allotted
While in the office of JD Byrider on 7/13/15 for car a/c repair, I (******* *****) asked ******** (financial rep) if she had the documents needed to obtain my tag with only 5 days left on expiration on my temporary tag. She informed me that she had just received the title from florida in the mail and was taking it personally to SC DMV to be processed due to SC laws on 7-15-15. I am a resident of SC and purchased a used car in Georgia at J D Byrider 45 days prior of 7-17-15. ******** told me she would call me on 7-15-15 when she returned to work to let me know it was there. When I did not hear from her on 7-15-15, I called that evening to find out the status and was told due to an accident on interstate 20 that stopped traffic she would not have made it to the dmv before they closed and she would take it in the AM of 7-16-15. I called ******** again at approx. 1045 AM 7-16-15 and was told by ******** that her courier was leaving the store now with the paperwork. I paid my property taxes and headed to the DMV at 1200 and again at 1305 with the DMV telling me both times my tag had not been processed yet. I then called ******** back where she told me the processing was in the states hands and the DMV would issue me an extended temp tag for free. I then called the SCDMV where they informed me this was the dealerships responsibility due to them waiting so long to bring the paperwork to the DMV in SC. I called ******** back and was told she was busy and would call me back in which she never did on 7-16-15. as of 1530 on 7-16-15 the paperwork was not processed yet. I work all day on 7-17-15 and may not be able to go to the DMV nor have the gas to drive back to the dealership (40-45 minute drive) to obtain an extended tag. This has put me in the situation of not being able to drive my car this weekend due to no tag or taking more time off work to handle the DMV and/or paying a penalty for not obtaining my car tag before my temp tag expires. All due to dealership waiting till the 44th day of my purchase to handle their end of the paperwork with SC.

Desired Settlement
Payment of late fees if late fees are obtained and a more timely manner of handling paperwork (title) for the customers in the future to allow more time for them to pay and deal with DMV to obtain their vehicle tags. People have to work to make their car payments and time off taken to deal with the dealerships lack of concept of time should not be at the customers expense. The car can not be driven to get to work either if the customer can not obtain a tag before 45 days post purchase.

Business Response
First and foremost, I would like to apologize to Ms. ***** for the negative experience resulting from this situation. I won't even attempt to justify our lack of urgency with a defensive response. We had some internal changes in personnel at this location in the last few months, and our sole experienced person, ********, just recently returned from a leave of absence. As a Georgia dealer, the majority of our tag related work is with that state, and the newer personnel was not familiar with the nuances of a South Carolina deal and necessary tag work.

With that all said, I spoke to Ms. ***** and the staff at this location several days ago to solve this dilemma. We agreed to deliver her another temporary tag to her jobsite so she wouldn't have to drive to us and could have use of the vehicle over that weekend. Last I heard, that was done on Friday 7/17 and her tag/title work with the state of SC should be complete soon if not already done.

She is more than welcome to contact me if this issue is still not resolved.

*** ***


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the business response)

07/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Repair of A/C to work properly never resolved and Customer service from the Service Manager and *** in Corporate office was terrible
I began my a/c issue back on 02/28/2014 with my A/C not blowing properly. The air was always blowing out hot air. I did take my car to the dealership for my A/C issue back in 2013, It work primarily the entire summer until around the beginning of the fall when the air stop working properly. So I said I'll just wait until I get a little bit more money to get my air looked at again next year which is 2014,I returned back to the service dept back on 04/16/2014 until my car was overheating and smoking so then and there I wanted to include my a/c to get check due to upcoming season change of spring to summer. I didn't want to ride around in a hot vehicle also.I was without my car for about a week, thankful my uncle allow me to drive his vehicle, I then received a phone call from Mr. *** the service manager, *** stated they are still working on my vehicle due to the fan was not working properly and that they had to find a wire to get the fan to work, so I was like that is fine. So then I received another phone call on the Wednesday stating that my car was ready for pick up, one of my main questions were, is the a/c running cold, he replied, it was working like icicles. I said that was great and laughed. Not to mention my check engine light was on then and when I picked my car and proceeded to leave, I told my uncle before I left the check engine light is on and he advised me to go back and ask why is it still on, by the way Mr ***, initally did not tell me the check engine light was still going to be on in my vehicle, and so when I went back in he stated i was going to mention it to you but the light should not cause any type of issue and should basically possibly reset itself. So 1 1/2 went car was blowing pretty well until Sunday afternoon it was hot that evening, the air discontinue from working properly. so then i took it to the shop and was explaining my situation to *** the service manager and i was like I don't know what to do he jokingly started saying you could roll down your windows......lol...not very funny....and when i went to him on 04/16/2014-i told him i just lefted the doctor and my blood pressure was up and was causing headaches i didn't want to hear that so he told me to bring it on Monday. I said ok and headed off to work. So i received a call from the surveyor and she asked me questions about my service and i gave her my honest feedback for improvement purpose and rate my service a 2. The girl who call me was ******* very professional and courteous. I asked her where could I file a complaint she stated to start with the ** of the local office, if there is no resolution contact the customer service line at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX, she also stated she was from the corporate office. I then contacted the local office and s/******** the sale rep told her my issue and left message with her due to ** being in a meeting. I waited never received phone call until Wednesday i received call from J D Byrider, i was busy and they left message, listened to message and there was ***, service manager message. I returned the call and he stated to me since i rated the service a 2 on the survey i would need to take my vehicle someone elese to get repaired and my appointment was cancelled. I was shocked and livid. I then researched the email address to customer service sent and letter and receipts attached received a phone call from *** from corporate he stated he apologizes for the issue i stated that was great i explained my concerned to him even though he was not present and he stated he spoke to *** about the unpleasant behavior i experience and stated the appointment was still back on and that they would give me an estimate i was furious an estimate i understood it was not covered under warranty but my a/c issue was never resolved and I didn't have the time to keep going back and forth so explain my issue he kept talking over me in which a co worker overheard the conversation on how mr *** was talking all over me and then he hung up me

Desired Settlement
I believe I should receive the refund on the unnecessary chaos they have caused they did not finished there duties. I even had to go to advance auto to get the code read for the check engine like being on which is a p0481 meaning the car needs a new fan or fan module..but the fuses in the relay would need to be checked. I can't believe the customer service I received from Mr. *** after the 2nd complaint I made with customer service and Mr *** responded and I was nicely explaining my issue with car being resolved due to 2 different occasions and the service department is still wanting me to charge me. Repair what you never did. Mr *** is not able to answer to this because he is not a mechanic nor was he there. He is very rude and hung up on me twice while I pay my car note on time to help my credit and this is the type of treatment I received. There is an issue when I am not going back to the service on a new issue. It is the same issue that is not being resolved. I feel that I am being rip off. Is this ethical? Mr. *** is very arrogant and does not allow a person to speak while me having this issue. I am in customer service and I feel it is other party to be the listener and try to resolve the issue. I am not a happy camper.

Business Response
Mr. *****,

Again, I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. We will be happy to address your AC concerns. I have instructed the service department not to charge you an inspection fee or any labor charges to diagnose what the problem is with your AC. This will save you between $40 and $100. After we determine what the issue is we will give you a written estimate for the cost of repair. We will also provide the parts for the repair at our cost and only charge $30 per hour for labor these 2 factors will provide a significant savings.

As far as a refund for the repairs done to your AC in the past...you were only charged for the time the technician spent on your vehicle.

Sincerely,
*** ******



Consumer Response
i want to submit my receipts where they charge me for a/c work in 02/28/2014 in which i left the dealership and air not working and also in April 2014

Final Business Response
we are unable to refund any part of the labor charged. I can offer a $25 credit toward the repair bill.
thanks
*** ******

Consumer Response
Mrs. *****,

Hi, how are you. This is Mr. ***** ***** **. I am letting you know about the closed case of XXXXXXXX in which the business did not honor there response. I am totally disappointed. Mr. ******, noted on my account that We are unable to refund any part of the labor charged. I can offer a $25.00 credit toward the repair bill. I never received the credit at all and the loan and repair is paid off. I do not have this vehicle any more and this case was created before I even traded in this vehicle. I am very disappointed on how a business will flat out lie to me. This is not how you treat customer. If there was anything else that need to be explained thoroughly he should have stated that when the case was opened. Also, I would love for my refund check of $25.00 to processed immediately and mailed to the address in which the company has the correct address. The grading scale for this business should be dropped. The business did not honor what they said.

Thanks so much. My contact phone number is XXX-XXX-XXXX


Business Response
This case has been closed. We offered Mr. ***** a credit toward his future repair of his Air conditioning. Mr. ***** traded in the vehicle without giving us the opportunity to make good on the agreed upon terms.
We wish Mr. ***** nothing but the best with his new vehicle and thank him for his business.

*** ******


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept the response from Mr. ******. His response is "This case has been closed. We offered Mr. ***** a credit toward his future repair of his air conditioning. Mr. ***** traded in his vehicle without giving us the opportunity to make good on the agreed terms. We wished Mr. ***** nothing but the best with his new vehicle and thank him for his business." This statement shows nothing but running around my issue. First and first most Mr. ****** what you just responded back on was not and clearly was not mentioned on 05/12/2014. Please read your response very carefully. What you responded on 07/16/2014, is not factual. Please reread. You stated that we can offer a $25.00 towards the repair bill. Nothing more nothing less. Please do not beat around the bush. Secondly, I closed the case thinking that I was going to receive a credit on my repair bill in the amount of $25.00. I never received it after going back and forth with you (Mr. ******) about this issue. So I am pointing out the not owning up to your words because this is not right and very wrong to treat someone like me. Please own up to your annotations on 05/12/2014 because you clearly did not do so. I am requesting my check of $25.00 to be pick up at the Augusta location instead of being mailed. I am not happy about this. This is how you treat people who paid there car note on time and had faith in bringing my vehicle to your organization for repairs. Obviously, Mr ****** you need to reread you response on 05/12/2014. The issue has not been resolved since your note and you as a business man should know to be thorough the first and final time. This goes to show you on how my air conditioning was repaired. Beating around the bush not resolving and not completing what I was expecting you to complete. So Mr. ****** if this is so true about a credit toward my future repair of the air conditioning, why in heavens did you not mention this on 05/12/2014. Because any business person would have been real about the situation and annotated this information not wait 1.5 months later saying something totally different. Please refund my $25.00 so I am able to pick my check up at the J D Byrider location in Augusta, GA.

Thanks

11/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i HAVE HAD TO PUT MY CAR IN THE REPAIR SHOP 3 TIMES IN 6 MONTHS; EACH TIME THEY SAID MY CAR WAS REPAIRED IT WAS NOT.
THEY HAVE NOT REPAIRD MY CAR PROPERLY AND THIS IS OUTRAGEOUS!

Desired Settlement
REPLACEMENT.

Business Response
We have covered the repairs under warranty each time the customer has had an issue. Mrs. ********** has only paid the deductible of $25 for each visit.
Mrs. ********** has not made an on time payment since 3/2013.
We will be happy to see what is wrong with the vehicle and do all covered repairs with the deductible of $25. we will also complete any need repairs that are not covered by her warranty at an agreed upon price.
Sincerely,
*** ******
VP

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.