BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/05/2009

Autoplex of Augusta

Phone: (706) 855-8808Fax: (706) 855-8807

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
05/04/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was a victim of dealership fraud.
See below

Desired Settlement
I purchased a used 2009 ****** ***** vin#***********XXXXXX On 3/**/2015.Dealer number XXXXXXXXXXX.deal *******. Saleperson was ****account person *****. They sold me the car. I left with the car the same day and they told me that the bank would call me to verify everything and then I was good to go. Then a week later they called and told me the they needed the vechile back because ******* credit would not finance it Because I worked for a temp agency. The sales guy *** knew I did. I put who I worked for********* on the application. I put 1000 down cash that day and they drew 200 out of my bank account on 3/**/15.on the car with the promise of a pick up Note of 800 with that the told being a 2000 down payment. *******(salesperson) and *****(account) told Me I could not get my down payment back. That they need the car back because ***** made a mistake. I would like to get my down payment back. I also put 2 new tires on the veChile.I feel that the dealership made the mistake and I should get my money back. The mistake was on them. The settlement I would like to receive is my 1200 I paid for the down payment and 130 for tires I put on the vechile .

Business Response
This case has been resolved. Mrs. ******* and our dealership came to an agreement. She has received her money back, minus repossession fees and has been credited back for her tires.

11/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
October 9,2014 I purchased a Suzuki Forenza. Seeking a replacement, refund, or to cover the cost of repair of the car from a different mechanic.
On purchased the car on October 9, 2014 (2008 Suzuki Forenza). The engine light was on but I was told by the lying sales rep *** that its just needed transmission fluid. The next day I picked up the car after it was supposedly serviced. On Sunday October 12, 2014 the engine light comes right back on. I was told by my brother that my car was leaking pinkish fluid everywhere I go. I take the car back on Monday stating that the engine light came back on and my car is leaking transmission fluid. I take the car back in to the dealership picked it up the same day and the sales rep stated that it was leaking transmission fluid because it needed the seal replaced. Another rolling 24 hours go by and the engine light comes right back on. This time I could not take it right back in to get fixed by the dealership because I have a full time job. I take it in for the third time to get serviced because of the engine light again, in less than two weeks for another issue involving the oxygen sensor that needed to be replaced. The dealership replaced the so called sensor on Thursday, October 16,2014. I don't drive my car everyday only when I go to work. So on Tuesday, October 23, 2014 comes around I notice that the engine light has come on once again. They sold me a lemon car with a warranty. In order to use that warranty I have to pay a $100 deductible to possibly get my car fix. I just paid $1000 down plus the cost of insurance less than two weeks ago. I was promised that my car would fully serviced before I took it home a day later. So far it has had various transmission problems and sensor problems. The dealership knowingly sold me this car with all of these problems. I took the car back for them to fix and after the third time with them not exactly fixing the car and its all problems. I want them to either give me another car, take the car back and refund my money for the down payment or pay the $100 deductible so I can get my car fixed from a different mechanic other than the sorry mechanic at the dealership. I got ripped off by purchasing a lemon car that the dealership refuses to fix less than two weeks after getting the car and after the repairs were promised.

Desired Settlement
I'm seeking my full down payment of $1000 and to return the lemon car. Or a different working car with no transmissions issues. Or for the dealership to pay the $100 deductible to get my car fully fixed at another mechanic.

Business Response
Ms. **** purchased the Suzuki Forenza through Credit Acceptance which came with a 2 year 24 mile warranty. She is more than welcome to use it. These are used vehicles and we can not predict what will happen to them as we do not know the history on how the vehicle was taken care of. We only know what a Carfax will tell you, and that is if it's been in an accident. Our mechanic inspected the vehicle and fixed the problems that Ms. **** presented, out of good business measures. Also, according to her contract Ms. **** signed, she understood that these are used vehicles and that multiple issues can occur, because there is no way to insure that it won't. She also understood that she could have the vehicle inspected by her own personal mechanic before purchase. According to the Lemon law, it only pertains to new vehicles that have a manufacturers issue and not to used vehicles. Ms. **** needs to simply take her vehicle to get fixed. We can no longer have anything to do with that. Ms. ****'s down payment is the part of the money that the bank would not finance, due to her credit.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The same issues still remain. This dealership sold me an overpriced lemon vehicle with expensive repairs that still need to be made. It's obvious the mechanic didn't inspect the vehicle before I picked the car up the day after the purchase. If the vehicle had been inspected the very first overnight stay at the shop, the second visit fixing the leaking transmission and the third trip fix for a faulty sensor wouldn't have been needed less than two weeks after the purchase. The standard warranty only covers certain repairs. When I purchased the car the salesperson stated that the car had been inspected and only needed transmission fluid which was false information. The salesperson also stated that the vehicle had a 30 day warranty so those supposed repairs weren't out of good faith. And after the third session with the mechanic in less than two weeks, the company denies the 30 day warranty.

Final Business Response
I am unsure why Ms. **** was told that there was a 30 day warranty. We do not have a 30 day warranty at all. So anything that did come up with the vehicle in the last month have been fixed because of good measure. As I have stated before, the lemon law only pertains to brand new cars. These are used vehicles. The vehicle was properly inspected when the vehicle was here. If our mechanic and engine machine can not does not pick up an issue, than we can not fix it. Ms. **** brought the vehicle and whatever codes that were picked up by our machine were fixed. If the problem is still occurring Ms. **** needs to get a mechanic to look at the vehicle if she is uncomfortable with our mechanic. That is why there is a 2 yr 24 thousand mile warranty. This warranty covers her engine and transmission.

03/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought the vehicle, took it to the mechanic to have it checked, found that they sold the vehicle with hole in the engine and was repaired by jb weld.
Purchase a 2004 Dodge Durango on 2/22/2013, picked the vehicle up from the dealer on 2/25/2013. Took the vehicle to a mechanic to have it checked out because we smelled oil burning. The mechanic gave us a list of everything that needed to be replaced and fixed. I went back to the dealership on 3/01/2013 to ask them about fixing the vehicle and they told me it was my problem and it was wear and tear. They weren't going to fix it. On 3/05/2013 went to another mechanic to have it looked at and fixed and they showed me several other issues that were wrong with the vehicle. They said not only were the said issues from the first mechanic that needed to be replaced, the mechanic showed me where someone had fixed a hole in the engine where a rod had gone through. The hole was fixed with jb weld and perma-tex. The rear axle wheel seals are leaking and the rear differential seal is leaking fluid. The front brake rotors need to be resurfaced. The parking brake needs to be replaced. The oil pan needs to be replaced because the rod knocked it and bent it when it went through the engine. I am told that it is not a good idea to drive the vehicle because it's not certain how long the jb weld will hold the engine together or how much fluid is in the rear seals and rear transmission. I have pictures date and time stamped as to when I had the problem looked at.

Desired Settlement
I am looking to receive the $2000 that I put as a down payment back so that I can get another vehicle. I am also want to receive the money that I put towards getting insurance for this vehicle totalling $118.85. I would like a vehicle that is safe and dependable. I would like to have that vehicle inspected by my mechanic prior to buying the vehicle.

Business' Initial Response
The customer and our company have come to an agreement. We have taken her out of that vehicle, placed her into a new one that her mechanic has inspected and says is safe. We strive to make sure our customers are completely happy with their purchase.

02/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Autoplex - did oil chg & replaced battery, did a safety chk of wheels, brakes, rotors, & fluids. DID NOT do a diagnostic error check before selling.
Sat 12/29/12 my son & I test drove an 04 Mazda 3s, sales rep ***********. Believing this used car dealer was as reputable as larger used car dealerships, ie meaning they sell fully tested & functional vehicles, my son put $200 down & signed the papers. Mon 12/29/12 he went to his bank & got a cashiers check, then went back to Autoplex to complete the transaction, $8,041.93, and get the car. Later that evening the AT light, then the check engine light came on. We put in 1 quart of oil (although they said they did any oil change on 12/7/12) & enough transmission fluid to raise it from the 1 mark to the 2 mark on the dip stick. The AT light went out but not the check engine. Cam drove the car fine for 3 days with the chk eng light on, before taking it to AutoZone Fri 1/4/13 to run a diagnostic computer check to see what the errors were. There were several: 1 for shifter, 1 for tranmission, & 2 for sensors. They advised going back to AutoPlex to have them run there own diagnostics, confirm any issues, and fix. We went back to AutoPlex Sat 1/5/13, they showed me paperwork where they did an oil change & changed the battery, but said they sold the car as-is, basically not going to help. In their paperwork it was noted that they took possession of the car on 12/4, oil change 12/7, battery chg on 12/13, then sold it my son 12/31. Mon 1/7/13 my son complained the car would no longer go into 4th gear when in auto drive nor was he able to use the manual mode on the shifter. When i back it out of the driveway to test drive it, putting the shifter in reverse yielded a notable ka-chunk! After my test drive i rechecked the trans fluid, this time it didn't even register on the 1 mark, so we filled it back up. Tue 1/8/13 we drove it to Gerald Jones Mazda on Gordon Hwy to see Marty in the service dept. He called me back stating that the errors indicated that the transmission would have to be replaced. I plan on picking up the paper work tomorrow with estimated costs for repair, which will probably be expensive.

Desired Settlement
We paid $7300 + $200 filing fee + GA tax totaling 8041.93. We feel they sold us a non fully operational & unsafe car having a faulty transmission, and would like a full refund. They can retake possession of the car.

Business' Initial Response
The customer and his father both test drove the vehicle on three separate occasions. The vehicle was checked by the father and driven for several miles. While this vehicle was in our possession, there were no issues. Our mechanics inspected the vehicle and replaced the battery, changed the oil, and finished the inspection, with no issues. After the customer and the father were fully satisfied, they decided to buy the vehicle. They put a deposit down on the vehicle and purchased the vehicle with a certified check, as we do not take personal checks. During the contract, the customer was asked several times if they would like to purchase an after market warranty, due to the low price that was given to them on the vehicle. Because of the price, it left no room for a warranty. The customer was asked 4 separate times during the contract if they wanted to purchase a warranty, and all 4 times, the customer responded. "No, we do not need that". The vehicle was sold As-is and the customer was fine with that. We can not offer any more assistance for the customer, as we have already offered a warranty.

Consumer's Final Response
Fact is they don't check the vehicle. Kicking the tires and checking the oil & battery is not a real inspection. Every dealer & auto mechanic knows that a complete diagnostic computer check is necessary to determine issues. Autoplex took the cheap route & failed to do so! We negotiated a lower purchase price, which should not result in the loss of Autoplex's standard 30 day warranty. They wanted us to purchase a 3rd party warranty for $2000, which we are not required to so. The fact remains the AT error light came the day my son got the car & putting more transmission fluid in it made it go out. So I believe they knew about this & made sure the trans fluid stayed filled, just so they could sell the car & wash their hands of having to lose money by fixing it! Fact is, they sold us an unsafe vehicle and they should be held accountable to fix it or refund our money!

09/05/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.