BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/05/2009

Autoplex of Augusta

Phone: (706) 855-8808Fax: (706) 855-8807

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
05/04/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was a victim of dealership fraud.
See below

Desired Settlement
I purchased a used 2009 ****** ***** vin#***********XXXXXX On 3/**/2015.Dealer number XXXXXXXXXXX.deal *******. Saleperson was ****account person *****. They sold me the car. I left with the car the same day and they told me that the bank would call me to verify everything and then I was good to go. Then a week later they called and told me the they needed the vechile back because ******* credit would not finance it Because I worked for a temp agency. The sales guy *** knew I did. I put who I worked for********* on the application. I put 1000 down cash that day and they drew 200 out of my bank account on 3/**/15.on the car with the promise of a pick up Note of 800 with that the told being a 2000 down payment. *******(salesperson) and *****(account) told Me I could not get my down payment back. That they need the car back because ***** made a mistake. I would like to get my down payment back. I also put 2 new tires on the veChile.I feel that the dealership made the mistake and I should get my money back. The mistake was on them. The settlement I would like to receive is my 1200 I paid for the down payment and 130 for tires I put on the vechile .

Business Response
This case has been resolved. Mrs. ******* and our dealership came to an agreement. She has received her money back, minus repossession fees and has been credited back for her tires.

11/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
October 9,2014 I purchased a Suzuki Forenza. Seeking a replacement, refund, or to cover the cost of repair of the car from a different mechanic.
On purchased the car on October 9, 2014 (2008 Suzuki Forenza). The engine light was on but I was told by the lying sales rep *** that its just needed transmission fluid. The next day I picked up the car after it was supposedly serviced. On Sunday October 12, 2014 the engine light comes right back on. I was told by my brother that my car was leaking pinkish fluid everywhere I go. I take the car back on Monday stating that the engine light came back on and my car is leaking transmission fluid. I take the car back in to the dealership picked it up the same day and the sales rep stated that it was leaking transmission fluid because it needed the seal replaced. Another rolling 24 hours go by and the engine light comes right back on. This time I could not take it right back in to get fixed by the dealership because I have a full time job. I take it in for the third time to get serviced because of the engine light again, in less than two weeks for another issue involving the oxygen sensor that needed to be replaced. The dealership replaced the so called sensor on Thursday, October 16,2014. I don't drive my car everyday only when I go to work. So on Tuesday, October 23, 2014 comes around I notice that the engine light has come on once again. They sold me a lemon car with a warranty. In order to use that warranty I have to pay a $100 deductible to possibly get my car fix. I just paid $1000 down plus the cost of insurance less than two weeks ago. I was promised that my car would fully serviced before I took it home a day later. So far it has had various transmission problems and sensor problems. The dealership knowingly sold me this car with all of these problems. I took the car back for them to fix and after the third time with them not exactly fixing the car and its all problems. I want them to either give me another car, take the car back and refund my money for the down payment or pay the $100 deductible so I can get my car fixed from a different mechanic other than the sorry mechanic at the dealership. I got ripped off by purchasing a lemon car that the dealership refuses to fix less than two weeks after getting the car and after the repairs were promised.

Desired Settlement
I'm seeking my full down payment of $1000 and to return the lemon car. Or a different working car with no transmissions issues. Or for the dealership to pay the $100 deductible to get my car fully fixed at another mechanic.

Business Response
Ms. **** purchased the Suzuki Forenza through Credit Acceptance which came with a 2 year 24 mile warranty. She is more than welcome to use it. These are used vehicles and we can not predict what will happen to them as we do not know the history on how the vehicle was taken care of. We only know what a Carfax will tell you, and that is if it's been in an accident. Our mechanic inspected the vehicle and fixed the problems that Ms. **** presented, out of good business measures. Also, according to her contract Ms. **** signed, she understood that these are used vehicles and that multiple issues can occur, because there is no way to insure that it won't. She also understood that she could have the vehicle inspected by her own personal mechanic before purchase. According to the Lemon law, it only pertains to new vehicles that have a manufacturers issue and not to used vehicles. Ms. **** needs to simply take her vehicle to get fixed. We can no longer have anything to do with that. Ms. ****'s down payment is the part of the money that the bank would not finance, due to her credit.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The same issues still remain. This dealership sold me an overpriced lemon vehicle with expensive repairs that still need to be made. It's obvious the mechanic didn't inspect the vehicle before I picked the car up the day after the purchase. If the vehicle had been inspected the very first overnight stay at the shop, the second visit fixing the leaking transmission and the third trip fix for a faulty sensor wouldn't have been needed less than two weeks after the purchase. The standard warranty only covers certain repairs. When I purchased the car the salesperson stated that the car had been inspected and only needed transmission fluid which was false information. The salesperson also stated that the vehicle had a 30 day warranty so those supposed repairs weren't out of good faith. And after the third session with the mechanic in less than two weeks, the company denies the 30 day warranty.

Final Business Response
I am unsure why Ms. **** was told that there was a 30 day warranty. We do not have a 30 day warranty at all. So anything that did come up with the vehicle in the last month have been fixed because of good measure. As I have stated before, the lemon law only pertains to brand new cars. These are used vehicles. The vehicle was properly inspected when the vehicle was here. If our mechanic and engine machine can not does not pick up an issue, than we can not fix it. Ms. **** brought the vehicle and whatever codes that were picked up by our machine were fixed. If the problem is still occurring Ms. **** needs to get a mechanic to look at the vehicle if she is uncomfortable with our mechanic. That is why there is a 2 yr 24 thousand mile warranty. This warranty covers her engine and transmission.

09/05/2014Problems with Product / Service
10/11/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.