BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/09/1990

Youmans Chevrolet Company

Find a Location

Phone: (478) 746-2020Fax: (478) 746-3188View Additional Phone Numbers2020 Riverside Dr, MaconGA 31204-2051

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/09/1990

BBB has determined that Youmans Chevrolet Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Youmans Chevrolet Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Youmans Chevrolet Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
05/06/2015Problems with Product / Service
07/02/2014Billing / Collection Issues
11/05/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

NO one at the Youman's has customer service experience.
I orginally had my vehichle towed to Youman due to the service agent telling me it was the closest one to me location. THe mechanic worked on my car for a little over 3 weeks, the car was shaking real bad and just wouldnt accelerate. ******* adv the price of fixing my car was going to be a little over 4,000, but if I tipped the mechanic real good that it would be okay since he knew my fiance's father. I went to pick my car up and a day later it was doing the exact same thing I took it back to them the next day but they wanted me to leave the vehichle adv i couldnt just leave the vehichle due to my only transportation. He adv he couldnt give me a rental car because I was out of my warranty, I adv him I've been in my warranty the many times I brought my vehichle here, I just couldnt leave it. I called the district GMC and they adv to go to another dealership and see what they could do, I went to FIVE STAR in Warner Robins on Watson and they adv they couldnt do anything for me due to the fact that the odometer is no longer working due to Youman working on the vehichle, they then transferred me to a district coporate level and i adv of the above they told Youman what I adv them of tipping the mechanic real good, ***** told me his representive wouldnt say anything like that because he's been with us for 9 years. I adv I wouldnt lie about anything like that, he chuckled and I said "instead of you trying to resolve the situation you're making it worse, should you really be working on my vehichle with such animostiy towards me" he said "you're right, come get your vehichle now" I told him he's really acting like a ******** right now and he then disconnected line, i called coporate to see what they could do, they adv me to speak with the manage of the place, called Youman back and asked to speak with manager after several attempts I finally spoke with *****, he advised itwas nothing he could do for me, I asked where could I report ***** and ******* he said "You can tell me, but its really nothing I can do" I told him, I know its nothing you can do, becaus eyou all are in cahoots with eachother, he basically brushed me off. I went to Five Star Wednesday on my day off, got there as soon as they opened and didnt leave until 6pm. Coporate adv it was nothing they could do for me, they would only give them one free hour to determine if youman was indeed the reason the car was never fixed, they adv I didnt have a paper trail, I told them alot of work ******* did he did without writing anything up because he knew my fiance's dad. They adv Youman refused to do anything with the car. Five star is now working on the vehicle.

Desired Settlement
I want something done about *****, ******** and ***** they are only out for self they don't care about the customers they hurt.

Business Response
Ms ******** car was returned to our shop with complaints which were not related to the original repair. If we had damaged Ms ******** car or not properly completed our repairs, we would have agreed to continue to work on Ms ******** car. Ms ******** was unhappy with our response and called my service manager a *******. She later called and spoke with our GSM, ***** *******. ***** listened to Ms ******** story and also spoke with another person who was listening in on the call. ***** advised her to take her car to another shop. We also do not agree that we tried to solicit a tip from anyone. We would prefer that Ms ******** continue to do business with Five Star

08/24/2015Problems with Product / Service
07/17/2015Problems with Product / Service
09/28/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 05/09/1990Business started: 01/01/1930
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Licensing - Used Motor Vehicles
237 Coliseum Dr
Macon, GA 31217
(478) 207-2440

Type of Entity


Incorporated: June 1986, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George E. Youmans, Jr. (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Kevin Franchi (General Sales Manager)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Youmans Chevrolet Company

2020 Riverside Dr

Macon, GA 31204-2051

To | From


2 Locations

  • 2020 Riverside Dr 

    Macon, GA 31204-2051(478) 746-2020
    (478) 746-8531
    (478) 749-1769
    Fax: (478) 746-3188
    Fax: (478) 746-3188
    Fax: (478) 746-3188

  • PO Box 276 

    Macon, GA 31202-0276

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Georgia & the Central Savannah River Area. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Youmans Chevrolet Company is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (478) 746-8531
  • (478) 749-1769

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.