BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/27/2011

William Mizell Ford, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (888) 554-2368Fax: (706) 437-9436View Additional Phone Numbers330 US Highway 25 N, WaynesboroGA 30830-2736 Send email to William Mizell Ford, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/27/2011

BBB has determined that William Mizell Ford, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised William Mizell Ford, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on William Mizell Ford, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
02/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bad service and sale complaint
I purchased a 2013 chrysler 200 lx from mizzell ford on12/12/2014 and traded in a 2002 pontiac firebird. I test drove the car and wad happy with it until i figured out that the car never went thru the UCI on it. We were gave a appointment and took it there and was told evry thing wud n done that day. Did not happen.was told had to order a couple parts. Said they wud call when parts came in but the balancing of tires were not done, brakes were not looked at. The paint is chippin off the back bumper and stains on back seat. Was also not told the power train warranty was still good where we wudnt have to purchase it on loan so payment wudnt b high on that car. Salesman did not kno bout the UCI he claimed. Bad business deals are made. I wont buy from them again.

Desired Settlement
Have them to make sure when we take the car back for them to put the parts on the car that they take care of the oil stain that is on the backseat that I had told them about in the beginning and to touch up the bumper in the back where the paint is peeling off of the car. Could have told us that the powertrain warranty was still open on that vehicle so I would not have had to purchase the extended warranty of $1780 where my payment would have been about 250 a month instead of 286 for 72 months that I am going to have to pay now I just want the car right when I take it back for them to put the parts on. I will never purchase a vehicle from them again.

Final Consumer Response
******* ****** <*********@icloud.com>
9:01 PM (11 hours ago)
Reply
to info
I **** ****** wud like to retract my complaint on mizzell ford cus all service and parts with my vehicle have been resolved thanks to mr ******* ******* himself.

03/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unreasonable interest and options added to contract that aren't there. Finance company has class action suits against them& Sales person was dishonest
I went in to Mizell with a mini-van in mind. My bank (***) already okayed an $18,000 loan with 6.5% interest which I thought was high. Now I have a Chevy HHR for 16,000 with 15.5% interest(which was on the last page I had to sign)I'm going to pay $346 a month for 72 months. My wife looked up ********* on line and there are 3 different class action suits that she found and hundreds of complaints against the way they handle their customers. I would be glad to scan them and send them to you if you'd like. I can't believe Justin didn't know that and when he raised the price of the car with false options.THAT should of shown me how dishonest he really is. I went ther on February 27th. Please let me know if you need more information.

Desired Settlement
I want the van I went out for and finance through my bank if the offer still stands. Otherwise, I want Mizell Ford to find a good finance company, write an honest contract, give the correct credit rating and help me get out from under this nightmare. I have no desire to be involved with a class action suit against ***************** USA and I have no desire to keep this loan with them and I feel William Mizell owes me that.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** (GSM)
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@mizellford.com
Mr *********** was given the options on what he could buy based on our approvals. His approvals are limited due to the amount of income he can prove thru his job as a painter. If he does not like the lender that gave him the best approval, then we recommend he refinances his loan with his lender of choice. He was shown the van of interest and a deal worked up on that unit. He was given the option to buy it and what it would take with our lenders approvals. We are only the middle man with Lenders and cannot be held responsible for any lawsuit or customer service. Mr ****** was very appreciative and happy upon leaving our dealership with his HHR. We take pride in our standings and reviews and recently won Dealer of the Year with Dealer Rater. We want all of our customers to be happy with their purchase. Mr ****** has not once contacted the dealership to discuss his displeasure, or his unhappiness in his decision. We value his business and worked very hard to get him into a vehicle.

10/11/2012Problems with Product / Service
08/07/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
12/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dealership failed to provide service promised to customer by salesman.
I purchased a 2014 Ford Edge SEL on July 12,2014. When I purchased the vehicle, I pointed out to the salesman that the cargo net and cover were not installed, I also asked about having mud flaps installed. The salesman promised to take care of those things and said that they would have to be ordered and I would need to bring the vehicle back to the dealership when the parts came in to have them installed and it would only take about an hour or two. I asked him if he could recommend someone to do my window tinting. He said not to worry about it, he would take of that as well. Before I left the dealership with the vehicle on July 12,2014, I pointed out to the salesman, a scratch in the paint on the front driver side fender and the fact that the cleaning that was supposed to have been done had not been. Of course, he said that he would take care of it. I trusted that he would but unfortunately, I was wrong. I got a call from the salesman saying that the items were at the dealership and I needed to come in to have the work done and even suggested that we could go to lunch while the vehicle was being serviced. The day that I went back to the dealership, the salesman was not there and noone knew what I was talking about. Another salesman tried to help me after I explained what had taken place. I was told that the individual who sold me the vehicle was there earlier but had left because he had "gotten into it with another customer". We tried to call him several times and left messages but he never answered nor did he return my calls. The salesman who was trying to help me asked if I would be willing to just trade the vehicle I had just purchased for another one on the lot. I told him that I would if it would be an even trade. He said he could do that and even did a test drive. I liked the vehicle I drove and asked if that one would be an even trade. I was told it would be so I waited for the salesman to get back with me. When he came back the story was different, he said I could trade but it would cost me a couple thousand more. I told him that's not what he said. He laughed and said that's the best he could do and because it was the end of the model year they didn't have another vehicle like the one I bought and couldn't get one. I asked to see the service manager and was taken to his office where I explained what had taken place and was told that sales is totally separate from service and he didn't know anything about what I was telling him.He said he would have to go talk to someone else when he came back he explained to me that the salesman had not put anything in my folder about the service he had promised and there was nothing he could do. I asked if there was anything they could do about my loose ignition. He explained about mass production and it was "just the luck of the draw". I asked to see the owner. Mr. ****** came to the service department and I explained everything. He said he was not aware of the situation and said that he had tried to get in touch with the salesman who sold me the vehicle but was unable to as well. He apologized and asked what he could do, I told him I would appreciate it if they honored the promises. He said that the salesman didn't do what he should have but he would honor the promises. I would need to take my vehicle to whoever I wanted to tint my windows and they would reimburse me and I would have to bring my vehicle back to get the other items after they came in. He had them take my vehicle to the shop area to look at the ignition.I was told there was nothing they could do about the looseness. I made another visit to the dealership which was wasted time. I was promised a vehicle to drive while my vehicle was being worked on. When I arrived, They did have a vehicle for me to drive but it was filthy inside and out.I complained and was told if I had been there on time the vehicle would have been ready.I did not take the vehicle.I left with the parts that were ordered and no service.

Desired Settlement
I expressed my concerns to not only the service department manager who gave me the impression that he could care less, but to the dealership owner as well.I feel that I have been treated unfairly and had I been a male or of a different *********, I would not have to file this complaint. I told them they could have their truck back just give me back my 2008 Honda Accord that I traded in. I got a chuckle and was told I couldn't get it back because they had already sold it. (2 weeks after I traded it) And I couldn't return the truck because it would go against my credit as a repo so I'm stuck with it. Initially, I just wanted everything my vehicle was supposed to come with and what the salesman promised.I would have even settled for the vehicle I test drove when I was offered the even trade but because of all that I have had to endure, I want to give them back this vehicle and get back in the 2008 Honda Accord LX. Every time I get behind the wheel of that 2014 EDGE SEL, I get a sick feeling in the pit of my stomach. This has been the WORST CAR BUYING EXPERIENCE I HAVE EVER HAD. I want the 2008 Honda Accord LX, they can have this EDGE and no reflection on my credit report.

Business Response
Mrs ******* came to the dealership about the concerns on her 14 Ford Edge when her salesperson was not here Service Manager **** ********** spent a considerable amount of time with her before he went to Mr ****** about her issues. He explained the dealerships "We Owe" system for options or work after the sale and that there was not a "We Owe" in her deal about the issues she addressed. After we were unable to contact the salesperson Mr ********** agreed to order the cargo net that was missing at the time of delivery. He also told her that he would order the mud flaps she said she was promised. He explained that the dealership does not do window tinting but told her that if she could have it done by someone she knew and to send us the bill and we would reimburse her. Concerning the scratch he explained that the vender who does our touch up work came to the dealership on Wednesdays. As that this was not a convenient day for her to come to Waynesboro she was told that if she could take it by Flying Colors in Augusta they could repair the scratch at no charge to her. As to my knowledge she never took the Edge to Flying Colors to have that done. While she was here the ignition switch was looked at by a Ford Master Certified Tech but determined that it was operating properly. Before she left to go back to Beech Island her gas tank was filled up for her inconvenience.
Mrs ******* brought the Edge back in when the parts that had been ordered came in. We were going to put her in another vehicle for the day as she needed to go back to work however she complained that it was not clean so it was washed to be loaned to her. She complained about the deodorizer that had been used in the car and asked for her car back. She asked for and was given the mud flaps and cargo net that had been ordered. During this trip to the dealership she also asked about a cargo cover which was not discussed on the first visit.. When being shown that the cargo cover was not standard equipment on her vehicle but was part of an accessory package that her vehicle did not have she left unhappy.
We attempted to do the things Mrs ******* said she was promised. If Mrs ******* wants to bring her Edge in on a Wednesday morning Flying Colors can touch up the scratch and we will also install the mud flaps she was given. If she has had the window tinting done she will be reimbursed if she brings us the invoice from the vender who did the work. She only needs to contact Mr ********** to schedule an appointment. I would estimate that it would take 3 hours to do those 2 things.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response is exactly as I expected after my experience with the dealership. Mr. ********** is correct about my tank being filled and about the parts being ordered. He said they explained the cargo cover did not come standard with my vehicle and they ordered the net and mudflaps. What was ordered was the net mudflaps and cargo cover. As for me asking for my vehicle I did not ask for it when they looked at the ignition...it was as I stated in my initial complaint I asked that it be returned when I returned to the dealership to have the work done that I was promised and was told it had already been sold. At that time I had not signed over the title. As for the cleanliness of the loaner... my complaint was not that the outside of the vehicle wasn't clean it was the inside and I did tell them the deodorizer was too strong. He was also. Orrect in that I was told that I could go have my windows tinted and take my vehicle to the body shop and they would reimburse me. It was not Mr. ********** who agreed to order the parts or even have my ignition looked at. In fact he spoke to me as if I was lying about what was promised and as I stated previously,that my ignition "was just the luck of the draw these things happen with mass production." It was Mr. ****** who had them to order paets and check my ignition. I haven't spoken with him since that evening. I can have my windows done and send them the receipt for reimbursement. I see they also did not respond to my statement about the other salesman and the testdrive that took place BEFORE I ever went to the service department. Their response gives the impression that I am just a complaining customer who lied to get extra parts. I earn enough to pay for what I want and firmly believe that we should treat people like we want to be treated. I am not at all satisfied with the response. I wish I had taken pictures of the inside of that loaner but I did not think 8t would come down to this. Being a God fearing individual I was trying to exercise patience and understanding.

11/29/2012Problems with Product / Service
08/06/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Renting & Leasing, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/30/2006Business started: 12/06/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Licensing - Used Motor Vehicles
237 Coliseum Dr
Macon, GA31217
(478) 207-2440

Fire Marshall/Mobile Homes
2 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive West Tower #620
Atlanta, GA30334
(404) 656-4254

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Mizell (President/Owner)Mr. J.D. Collins (General Manager)
Number of Employees

30

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Renting & Leasing, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for William Mizell Ford, Inc.

330 US Highway 25 N

Waynesboro, GA 30830-2736

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 330 US Highway 25 N 

    Waynesboro, GA 30830-2736(888) 554-2368
    Fax: (706) 437-9436

  • PO Box 828 

    Waynesboro, GA 30830-0828

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Georgia & the Central Savannah River Area. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*William Mizell Ford, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (706) 554-2114
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.