BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Georgia & the CSRA

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Master Buick-GMC

Phone: (706) 855-9400Fax: (706) 855-53693710 Washington Rd, AugustaGA 30907-2867 Send email to Master Buick-GMChttp://www.masterautomotive.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Master Buick-GMC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Master Buick-GMC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Master Buick-GMC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
09/26/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am requesting the repair cost of my vehicle.
I purchased a 2008 Infiniti on July12 this car was promises to be inspected and service Drove the car to New York where I live and with in the first week the check engine light came on. Took the car to a trusted family mechanic who said the problem was a sensor. This was reported to the assist sale manager in the uses car department who reimbursed me for the problem. About ten days later on August 16 the check engine light came on again. The next business day I took the car to Infiniti of Manhasset LI Here is where the real problem with the engine was discovered and the cost is 5351.00 to restore the car.

Desired Settlement
I would like to return the car to the dealership and receive a full refund or have the dealership pay for the cost of repair in the tristate area from an Infiniti dealership

Business Response
We have been in contact with the customer, and have already paid for some goodwill repairs on the car, which is opposed to our policy. Any repairs that need to be done on a car that has been sold must be approved and performed by our dealership. We would be happy to look at the car to determine if there is actually a problem and then address the issue, but we can not simply repair an issue that we have never seen and verified for ourselves. The customer has been told that we need to see the car before we will approve any repairs at our cost.

12/05/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
07/01/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
failure to honor warranty on ongoing brake light issues. Rude customer service.
purchased new pontiac 2006 G6. At about 24K miles we noticed the break ,lights began to work in reverse (on when they should be off and off when they should be on). Also, cruise control and cigarette lighter failed to work. Please note that over the years these issues have recurred and it could be weeks or months before we even recognize that these issues were occurring. We rarely use cruise control or the cigarette lighter and the driver has no idea the back lights are malfunctioning. We discover these things only when my husband is driving behind me or when someone at a gas station has told us. Car was taken to be fixed numerous times and would work for a short period and break again. At one point engineers in detroit were contacted (according to service people and now being denied by management) because of the facility lack of ability to fix the situation. At that time I was told by a service member that this particular problem would be warranted for life because it was an inherent defect in the car, also now being denied now. We took the car to be fixed again this morning. Not only were we treated extremely rudely, we were told we would have to pay for the service. I spoke with the owner, **** *******, who basically called me a liar, that no part would ever be warranted for life. After getting off the phone with him we searched the internet and found there is a recall for G6s of that year for the exact problem we have been having. We called Mr. ******* to tell him of the recall and he denied one existed. I then called the GMC customer help/complaint line to lodge a complaint. She put me in touch with the NTHSA. I have registered a complaint with them as well. Currently there are about 9,000 registered recalls with the number expected to exceed 550,000. we had been customers of Master Buick since the 90s and have never encountered such rudeness and blatant lack of customer service.

Desired Settlement
An apology from owner **** ******* ******* (service manager), and ****** (service person), all of whom were rude. ****** called my husband a scam artist or words to that affect and was otherwise very rude. He should be removed from his job at a minimum. ******* essentially called me a liar. Mr. ****** also called me a liar, saying he wasn't but perhaps my memory is faulty. That is rudeness unbecoming of the owner of a customer service organization.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******, Owner
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ********@masterautomotive.com
The last time the ******* visited our dealership was in December of 2012, when they complained of the cruise control not working. Upon our inspection, no problem was found an the cruise control was working properly. The work on the cruise control that they refer to was performed by our dealership on April 2, 2010. All that was done was replacing a fuse, which corrected the problem.
When Mr ****** brought the car to us yesterday, he refused to let us diagnose the problem, because there would be a charge associated with the repair. He believes that we should perform the work under some warranty. 45,000 miles and 3 years two months have elapsed since the work was performed on the car. Even if the problem were the very thing we did in April of 2010, their warranty on that repair would have ended over two years ago. We have done other repairs in 2009 on the cruise control, which also would not be warrantied any longer. We are very sorry that they have a problem with the car, but our warranties are not forever, as they claim that we told them.
As for any recall outstanding on their car, I ran an inquiry, and as of this date there are no outstanding recalls.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There is a recall with the ******** ************** ******* ****** Administration . The confirmation number is XXXXXXXX. As we have told mr *******, many times, replacing the bulb is like putting a band aid on the problem. It works for a short period of time, then blows again and the brake lights fail to work properly without the driver knowing. This problem began in 2008 and has never properly been fixed, so YES, we do expect them to handle the problem at no charge. It was never fixed. You can google "2006 g6 with brake light problems" and see quite clearly there is an inherent flaw in this model.

Business' Final Response
As of July 1, 2013, the ******'s specific VIN is not on the recall list, meaning that their specific car is not one of the affected cars. They are not eligible for the recall.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/19/2006Business started: 08/17/1937
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Licensing - Used Motor Vehicles
237 Coliseum Dr
Macon, GA31217
(478) 207-2440

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1966, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Will Schafer, III (President/Owner)Customer Contact: Mrs. Kathy Hensley (Owner)
Related Businesses
Master Chevrolet-Cadillac - 3625 Richland Ave W, Aiken, SC
Number of Employees

36

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Master Buick-GMC, Inc., Master Automotive
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
The Hail Season is Here
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Master Buick-GMC

3710 Washington Rd

Augusta, GA 30907-2867

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3710 Washington Rd 

    Augusta, GA 30907-2867(706) 855-9400

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Georgia & the Central Savannah River Area. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Master Buick-GMC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.