BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Georgia & the CSRA

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/03/2010

Bob Richards Toyota

Phone: (803) 279-8400Fax: (803) 819-53045512 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Beech IslandSC 29842-8544 Send email to Bob Richards Toyota

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/03/2010

BBB has determined that Bob Richards Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bob Richards Toyota's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bob Richards Toyota

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
12/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Repairs resulted in additional damage

Complaint: The repair lasted only 400 miles and now the car needs a new motor.
The car has been serviced by the dealership since it was purchased new in 2002. I was told the cooling problem was fixed. We drove the car 400 miles and now it needs a new motor. Three different service writers told us that this happens all the time. I feel like they missed the problem on the cooling system because they reported to me that they see this all the time. We spent $1,144.26 for the repair. The car has over 213,000 miles and the money could have been spent buying a new car.

Initial Business Response
Oct 21: Vehicle was brought in due to check engine light on for possible overheating. The vehicle had been taken elsewhere before being brought to us and had the check engine light cleared.

Upon inspection we determined that the cooling fan, water temp sensor, and thermostat needed to be replaced, as well as a couple of mounts. We repaired the vehicle to specifications, checked to make sure the check engine light and codes were cleared and then released the vehicle.

Nov 11: Customer brought the vehicle back in stating the check engine light was back on and vehicle was beginning to run hot. Upon inspection the head bolts had begun to strip out and we recommended a engine replacement.

This issue did not present itself at the first visit, and most likely began before the vehicle was first brought in to us due to the cooling fan not working.

We are happy to try and work with the customer in any way we can to help her with the repairs she needs, or to trade her out of it.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I thought that their repair had a warranty. I think that we should have been told before the repairs were made that the Toyota has a history of the engine failing with high mileage when they start to have overheating issues. Bob Richards Toyota and Toyota motor company has lost a customer. My mother is 83 years old and as her son I paid her bill for her because of her limited income. I would like to thank you for your time with this issue.

Final Business Response
It is a higher mileage car and unfortunately higher mileage cars are prone to more mechanical issues. As stated, had the stripped head bolts presented themselves during our inspection we certainly would have recommended further action. Also as stated, I am happy to try and work with you to towards the cost on any further needed repairs.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: On June 3 and again June 4 I sent the following email to *** ******** Toyota. They have not answered.

Reference: Deal# ****** (2009 Toyota Avalon -
On June 3 and again June 4 I sent the following email to *** ******** Toyota. They have not answered.

Reference: Deal# 103652 (2009 Toyota Avalon - ** 4T1BK36B29UXXXXXX)

Dear **** ******* and *** ******** Team,

You have made my dream of owning an Avalon come true. It met almost all of my expectations.

However, upon closer inspection, there are at least three items missing that should have been included:
1. The "Key Number Plate" or Key Number if the Plate is not found.
2. A Trunk Mounted Cargo Net
3. A copy of an 2009 Avalon "Scheduled Maintenance Guide".

Also, when I inspected the Avalon Saturday afternoon, before it was moved to the back to get gasoline, I saw a Toyota First Aid Kit in the trunk. Yesterday while putting some of my articles in the trunk, I noticed that the First Aid Kit was missing. It seems one of the employees removed it. I would like to have it returned as I considered it an accessory with the car.

Please obtain these 4 items and send them to me at my residence.
*** ******* *****
****** ***** ******** XXXXX

Sincerely yours, ***** V. *****

Business' Initial Response
We have ordered the first aid kit and it will ship by Friday. We're sorry these items were not available right away for you.

Consumer's Final Response
Heard from Bob Richards Toyota this afternoon. The representative said the Toyota First Aid Kit had been ordered and it will probably be about ten days for me to receive it in the mail. The person will telephone me when it is mailed. All is well.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

11/26/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/05/2012Problems with Product / Service
06/18/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
07/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: Company will not take responsibility for damaging my engine because they fail to change the oil.
On April 15 I went in for an oil change, drove my car for about three week and the engine light came on. Contacted Toyota and they had **** come to my hose and put oil in my car. They test the car and said it using a lot of oil. My car was looked at again on the 9th of May because **** said he wanted to watch the car closely. On June 9 **** tell me my engine is danged and it has nothing to do with not have any oil. **** the service Manager said that if the car does not have oil it want miss up the pistons and rings. In order for and engine to run you need oil. All engine part are at risk if there is no oil. I asked why was i not notified about the oil use and **** told me on June 9 because when they give oil change they can't see how much oil was used. When give and oil change you drain the oil and you can tell if you used a quart or more from changing the oil. I never received the oil change that i paid for and now my engine is bad.

Initial Business Response
On April 15, 2014, ******* ******** came into the Service Department at Bob Richards Toyota for an oil change on her 2008 Toyota Camry. The vehicle at that time had an odometer reading of 126849 miles and an oil change was performed. Then on May 1, 2014, ******* called our Service Department stating that the vehicle was low on oil upon checking it. We sent a service advisor to her home, where it was noted that the vehicle was low on oil and one quart of oil was added. The odometer reading was 128987 miles, which equates to 2138 miles since the initial odometer reading. The vehicle was driven and assessed at that time and no leaks were found. The Service Manager recommended bringing it in to be serviced. ******* brought the vehicle in and the oil was drained and refilled to proper levels to begin an oil consumption test at the cost of Bob Richards Toyota. ******* ******** came back in on June 9, 2014 with an odometer reading of 134,069 miles. The vehicle was two quarts low on oil upon arrival. The Service Manager recommended that the vehicle receive new pistons and rings to help alleviate oil usage in the 2008 Camry. ******* ******** declined this repair.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
And I also responded by saying this information could not have been true because on April 15th , May 1st I was told they could not determine oil usage. Now after June 9 they determine the oil usage in the 2008 Toyota Camry. What is the difference between oil changes that was giving on April the 15th , vs oil change on June 9. The same oil change that I received on June 9th that determine the usage of old should have been the same oil change I received on April 15th. They did not put oil in my car.


Final Business Response
On April 15, 2014, ******* ******** was given a routine oil change in which fluids were filled to proper levels. During oil changes, the collection of old oil is not measured. The customer drove the vehicle 2138 miles and noticed she was low on oil. After the vehicle was seen at her home on May 1, 2014, we recommended an oil consumption test which was performed. During an oil consumption test, oil is drained completely out of the vehicle and the vehicle is then refilled to proper levels along with an odometer reading. the vehicle is driven and oil is checked at various intervals. At an odometer reading of 5082 miles, the vehicle consumed 2 quarts of oil. This completed the diagnostic and confirmed that the vehicle is using 2 quarts of oil per 5000 miles. We have communicated this to *******. We have also provided her with a TSB (Technical Service Bulletin) which states that this vehicle has had this issue and that Toyota provided coverage up to a specified mileage. Unfortunately, *******'s vehicle has exceeded this mileage. To assist *******, we have offered to cover half of the cost of repair.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/13/2008Business started: 04/01/1984New Owner Date: 01/01/2008
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Richards (President)Customer Contact: Chris Jordan (General Manager)Mrs. Jo Griggs (Customer Relations Manager)Mr. Terry Lambert (General Manager)Mr. Jeffrey F. Richards (Vice President)
Related Businesses
Bob Richards Nissan - 5590 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Beech Island, SC
Number of Employees

30

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Alternate Business Names
Bob Richards Toyota of North Augusta
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
The Hail Season is Here
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bob Richards Toyota

5512 Jefferson Davis Hwy

Beech Island, SC 29842-8544

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5512 Jefferson Davis Hwy 

    Beech Island, SC 29842-8544(803) 279-8400

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Georgia & the Central Savannah River Area. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bob Richards Toyota is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.